Author:
Category:

Africa Simone's "Hafanana": a set of whimsical sounds with deep meaning behind them

An anthem for racial equality in the 1970s? It's hard to imagine, because the politics of attitudes toward certain races in those days were critical. But one African singer was able to cross out all racial prejudices and make famous a composition that almost every Russian knows. Read about the iconic "Hafanana" in our article

Singer Afrik Simon - the story of the creation of the song "hafanana" and the profound meaning of her text

Rapidly popularity in music African-American performers who come from USABut with African roots. In their music you can often trace some kind of ethnic traditional motivesBut for the most part their work is geared precisely toward commercial promotion. But more than 45 years ago, in the 1970s, music for real Was saving the worldespecially Africanfor he was immersed in a series of conflicts.

Afrik Simon - Mozambican musician of Brazilian descent became famous in Africa, South AmericaThe most important thing is that you can't get away... Soviet Union! Simon's career took shape in an amazing way: it began at the African streetswhere young Afrique and his friend entertaining performancesThe African man was a great success in the world of music, accompanied by guitar playing, songs, and traditional African dances. Then the African's talent was noticed director one metropolitan hotels downtown Maputo and invited Simon to perform in the evenings as a musical accompaniment at the restaurant hotel, which the future star successfully coped with.

The cheerful Afrik Simon
The cheerful Afrik Simon

The story of a song that was a hit in the USSR

The real international fame came to Africa Simone after he moved to Europe. One music manager really liked style and charisma guy. He suggested that he move to London and create a musical show there. In the British capital Africa gained invaluable experience to perform in other cities, where he also learned a huge number of languages and became a true polyglot.

After a successful concert activity African concentrated on career and records studio compositions, albums. At the same time he decided that the rhythmic dance musicwhich reflects the singer's unique style, are more suited to exotic languagesrather than European ones. And this was the right decision for the commercial success of the hits Africa Simon.

Afrik Simon in the 1970s
Afrik Simon in the 1970s

There was a successful single in South America «Mr. Barracuda», written, however, in Spanish, but the real hits are «Ramaya»The following are some of the most important «hafanana»The Soviet Union's chant was written in African dialects, which gives it a distinctive "highlight.". «Ramaya» - song in Swahili, one of the most significant languages of the African continent, and «hafanana» - in language Shangaan of the South African Tsonga people.

The most amazing thing in the story of the song's creation «hafanana» is that the unusual mixture of bright energetic music with African motifs and incomprehensible for most listeners language have made a real the furor:

"We got together in the recording studio with the musician Stan Regal and started picking a tune for the song. I didn't set out to make a hit song, I was just making music. I wouldn't say it was anything out of the ordinary, it was an epiphany... I felt like I was just doing my normal job.hafanana".

Deep lyrical meaning, thought-provoking

The first time you listen to it, it seems that the song only carries kit reproducible soundsbut in reality this is not the case. In fact, the composition is about equality of race before God. At the time in history when the song was written, it was, one might say, a real breakthrough in the lyricism of musical lyrics. «hafanana» perfectly matched time and spirits of what is happening in Africa and on other continents, despite people's lack of understanding of words filled with cheerful Afrikom Simon.

Cover of the African Simon's hits compilation
Cover of the African Simon's hits compilation

Afrik calls for renunciation of the use of force, hostility, and says everyone needs to get busy "khafanana." and unite. The exact translation of this word from tsonga does not exist, but the singer himself admits that the generalized meaning of the expression "Relax and don't get distracted by little things.". It is worth noting that at the end of the composition the lyrical hero admits that his call is not heard by others: in outro you can notice the sounds shootings and blasts.

Consequences of withdrawal «hafanana» in Soviet Union were anything but. crazy: igniting power African motives have contributed favorably to of the singer's popularityand sales of the greatest hits disc were more than 30 million copies. The song literally played from every Soviet iron, appeared at discotheques in pioneer camps and institutes, and on Soviet radio stations. The performer even came to Soviet Union to record a television program in 1979.

"Hafanana", in turn, appeared in one of the episodes of the popular Soviet cartoon "Well, wait a minute." and has become a favorite with children.

Why is Africa Simon no longer heard of? What does the singer do today?

After leaving «hafanana» such commercial success was no longer known Africa SimoneBut this song had a significant impact on his later life. career and status. Now he is called to perform at the music festivalsThe singer does not release any new music.

Afrik Simon now
Afrik Simon now

For example, Africa became a guest of honor at the Ukrainian festival "Tavrian Games."He also frequently comes to Russia and performs «hafanana» at festivals "Autoradio" - "Disco '80s" and "Legends of Retro. FM».

What I'd Say is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...

Muddy Waters and Mick Jagger rock out on stage - the best collab in blues history

Bluesmen Muddy Waters and Mick Jagger: biography, collaboration, joint performance Collaborations between rock musicians are not a new phenomenon. The Beatles and Eric Clapton, Queen and David...

John Entwistle: Meeting Pete Townsend, the formation of The Who, and an importance that went beyond being "just a bass player

Biography of The Who bassist John Entsville: career, discography, legacy It is those who play the four-string guitar and are responsible for the rhythm section who are joked about the most...
Related Articles

The story of a sweet-voiced beauty: Hope Sandoval

All about singer Hope Sandoval: youth, star rise and success Sometimes underground artists don't want to become famous because the big labels that find them after some...

The Residents - the most mysterious rock band in history

All about the band The Residents: the history of emergence, mystique and style In the music industry, there are quite a few musicians who have become popular due to their originality. Such performers are usually...

Lemmy Kilmister and his best movie roles

All about Lemmy Kilmister: band success, movie roles, biopic about the legend Rock stars who have made music their life and made huge contributions to the genre have shown...

The famous hit of the band "Zero," the clip to which everyone has seen

History of the song "I'm Coming, Smoking" by the band "Zero": interesting facts, clip "Song about unrequited love for the Motherland" is an album with unconditional hits, which is among the iconic...

She gave us a childhood: we remember the legendary Yelena Kamburova

Everything about Elena Kamburova: childhood, development of creativity, fame Not every viewer can appreciate the artist's soulful contribution to creativity, but there are people who understand...

Автор:
Категория:

«Hafanana» Африка Симона: набор причудливых звуков, за которыми стоит глубокий смысл

Гимн расовому равноправию в 1970-х? Тяжело себе представить, ведь политика отношения к определённым расам в те времена была критической. Однако один африканский певец смог перечеркнуть все расовые предрассудки и сделать известной композицию, которую знает почти каждый россиянин. О знаковой «Hafanana» читайте в нашей статье

Певец Африк Симон – история создания песни «Hafanana» и глубокий смысл её текста

Стремительно популярность в музыке в последнее время набирают афроамериканские исполнители – выходцы из США, но с африканскими корнями. В их музыкальных произведениях зачастую можно проследить какие-то этнические традиционные мотивы, однако по большей части их творчество заточено именно на коммерческое продвижение. А вот больше 45 лет назад, в 70-е годы XX века, музыка по-настоящему спасала мир, особенно африканский, ведь он был погружен в череду конфликтов.

Африк Симон – мозамбикский музыкант бразильского происхождения прославился в Африке, Южной Америке, европейских столицах и даже в… Советском Союзе! Карьера Симона складывалась удивительным образом: она началась на африканских улицах, где юный Африк устраивал вместе с другом развлекательные выступления, сопровождающиеся игрой на гитаре, исполнением песен, традиционными африканскими танцами. Затем талант африканца заметил директор одной столичной гостиницы в городе Мапуту и пригласил Симона выступать по вечерам в качестве музыкального сопровождения в ресторане отеля, с чем будущая звезда успешно справлялась.

Жизнерадостный Африк Симон
Жизнерадостный Африк Симон

История песни, которая была хитом в СССР

Настоящая международная слава пришла к Африку Симону после того, как он перебрался в Европу. Одному музыкальному менеджеру очень понравился стиль и харизма парня. Он предложил ему перебраться в Лондон и создавать музыкальное шоу там. В британской столице Африк получил бесценный опыт для выступления в других городах, там же он выучил огромное количество языков и стал настоящим полиглотом.

После успешной концертной деятельности африканец сконцентрировался на карьере и записи студийных композиций, альбомов. Тогда же он решил, что той ритмичной танцевальной музыке, которая отражает уникальный стиль певца, больше подходят экзотические языки, а не европейские. И это стало верным решением для коммерческого успеха хитов Африка Симона.

Африк Симон в 70-е годы
Африк Симон в 70-е годы

Был успешный в Южной Америке сингл «Mr. Barracuda», написанный, правда, на испанском, но настоящие хиты – «Ramaya», попавшая в чарты развитых стран, и «Hafanana», шлягер в СССР, были написаны на африканских диалектах, что придаёт им отдельную «изюминку». «Ramaya» – песня на суахили, одном из наиболее значимых языков африканского континента, а «Hafanana» – на языке шангаан южноафриканского народа тсонга.

Самым удивительным в истории создания песни «Hafanana» является то, что необычная смесь яркой энергичной музыки с африканскими мотивами и непонятный для большинства слушателей язык произвели настоящий фурор:

«Мы собрались в звукозаписывающей студии с музыкантом Стэном Регалем и начали подбирать мелодию для песни. При этом я не ставил себе цель сделать хит, просто сочинял музыку. Я не скажу, что это было что-то из ряда вон выходящее или какое-то прозрение… Мне казалось, что я делал обычную свою работу, – Африк Симон о записи «Hafanana».

Глубокий лирический смысл, заставляющий задуматься

При первом прослушивании кажется, что композиция несёт в себе лишь набор легко воспроизводимых звуков, однако в действительности это совсем не так. На самом деле композиция повествует о равенстве рас перед Богом. В тот исторический период, когда была написана песня, это, можно сказать, был настоящий прорыв в лирике музыкальных текстов. «Hafanana» идеально соответствовала времени и духу происходящего в Африке и на других континентах, несмотря на отсутствие у людей понимания слов, исполненных жизнерадостным Африком Симоном.

Обложка сборника хитов Африка Симона
Обложка сборника хитов Африка Симона

Африк призывает к отказу от применения силы, вражды и говорит, что всем нужно заняться «хафананой» и объединяться. Точного перевода данного слова с языка тсонга не существует, однако сам певец признаётся, что в обобщённый смысл этого выражения – «расслабиться и не отвлекаться на всякие мелочи». Стоит отметить, что в конце композиции лирический герой признаёт, что его призыв не слышат другие: в аутро можно заметить звуки перестрелки и взрывов.

Последствия выхода «Hafanana» в Советском Союзе были что ни на есть безумными: зажигательная сила африканских мотивов благоприятно поспособствовала популярности певца, а продажи диска с самыми известными хитами составили больше 30 миллионов экземпляров. Песня буквально играла из каждого советского утюга, появлялась на дискотеках в пионерлагерях и институтах, советских радиостанциях. Исполнитель даже приезжал в Советский Союз на запись телепрограммы в 1979 году.

«Hafanana», в свою очередь, появилась в одном из эпизодов популярного советского мультфильма «Ну, погоди» и стала любимчиком у детей.​

Почему про Африка Симона больше не слышно? Чем сегодня занимается певец

После выхода «Hafanana» такой коммерческий успех больше не был известен Африку Симону, однако эта песня существенно повлияла на дальнейшую его карьеру и статус. Теперь его зовут выступать на музыкальных фестивалях, организуемых на постсоветском пространстве, но новой музыки певец не выпускает.

Африк Симон сейчас
Африк Симон сейчас

Например, Африк стал почётным гостем украинского фестиваля «Таврийские игры», а также часто приезжает в Россию и исполняет «Hafanana» на фестивалях «Авторадио» – «Дискотека 80-х» и «Легенды Ретро FM».

Как сложилась карьера Сергея Захарова после тюрьмы: непростая история знаменитого баритона СССР

Жизненный путь эстрадного певца Сергея Захарова Эстрада появилась в 60-х годах прошлого столетия как неповторимый стиль советской песни. По сравнению с современной российской поп-музыкой она...

«Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: последняя песня, исполненная королём Пресли

Всё о песне «Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: когда и кем была исполнена, история и каверы Потеря кумиров всегда очень травматичное событие, но как...

Лемми Килмистер и его лучшие роли в кино

Всё о Лемми Килмистере: успех группы, роли в кино, байопик о легенде Рок-звёзды, сделавшие музыку своей жизнью и внёсшие огромный вклад в развитие жанра, проявляли...
Похожие статьи

Знаменитый хит группы «Ноль», клип к которому видел каждый

История песни «Иду, курю» группы «Ноль»: интересные факты, клип «Песня о безответной любви к Родине» – альбом с безусловными хитами, который входит в число знаковых...

В составе рок-групп они были мировыми легендами, но «соло» позабылись даже поклонникам

Участники культовых рок-групп, которые пытались, но не сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру Историй о том, как после ухода из группы музыканты сумели построить ослепительную сольную...

Она подарила детство: вспоминаем легендарную Елену Камбурову

Всё о Елене Камбуровой: детство, развитие творчества, известность Не каждый зритель может по достоинству оценить душевный вклад артиста в творчество, однако есть люди, которые понимают...

Он исполнил лучшие хиты начала 2000-х – где сегодня Сергей Жуков

Всё о Сергее Жукове: ранние годы, создание группы, факты В 90-е годы в России происходят колоссальные изменения. Новый виток истории рождается и в музыке: на...

Крутые песни Цоя, которые слышали только самые преданные поклонники

Малоизвестные песни Цоя, которые могут претендовать на звание хитов «Кино» – одна из самых необычных групп в истории русского рока. С одной стороны – ею...

Крутые каверы на хиты русского рока и одна прекрасная пародия – Топ-6

«Звёздные» кавер-версии на знаменитые композиции русского рока Каверы сейчас проживают в музыкальном бизнесе «новую жизнь». Некоторые перепевки становятся настолько известными, что затмевают оригинальные композиции. Так,...

Где сегодня «Земляне» – группа, чьи хиты напевал весь СССР

Все о группе «Земляне»: история создания, творчество, хиты У групп, начавших свою историю во времена Советского Союза, история богата событиями. Сейчас можно найти не так...

Британские рокеры, которых обожали в СССР

Топ британских рокеров, которых обожали в СССР Несмотря на все запреты и трудности, вызванные «добычей» пластинок с подобной музыкой, в Советском Союзе зарубежный рок-н-ролл просто...

Gibson: история одного бренда, который чуть не утратил доверие рок-звёзд

Gibson: история создания бренда, успехи и неудачи В истории каждой знаменитой фирмы есть свои взлеты и падения. Практически невозможно найти бренд, который на протяжении всего...