Author:
Category:

Time (1981) - ELO - All about the album ...

One of the most unusual albums of the ELO group - "Time" (1981)

Time Album Story (1981): Electric Light Orchestra (ELO)

At the start of the 80s, ELO has changed significantly, if we compare it with the beginning of the path. The dissonance is especially strong in comparison with the work of The Move at the end of the 60s, which changed English mass rock to original power rock with a riff base without solo parts. At the turn of the decade, after the emergence of Jeff Lynn, ELO was considered by The Move leader Roy Wood as an opportunity to embody a new idea - combining effects from the world of rock with classical music. There was a time when the profits received by The Move from studio recordings were completely spent on the recording of ELO albums. These were two projects at the same time: young people were so overwhelmed with emotions and a thirst for realization. The idea was notable for its originality, it continued to be implemented after the departure of Roy Wood, although Lynn, who took on the role of leader, gravitated towards rock and roll. But violins and cellos distinguished ELO for a long time: in parallel with the guitar fragments, rock arrangements of the classics were recorded. All this ensured success with fans.

Electric Light Orchestra - "Time" (1981)
Electric Light Orchestra - "Time" (1981)

Gradually and unobtrusively, the group leaned towards lyricism. By the end of the 70s, she made an attempt to organically give out disco motifs - it was then “in trend”. Like many others, the group also experienced a punk craze, but this period of synthesis ended around 1981. The album "Time" turned out to be a powerful breakthrough: it was some kind of special combination of rock and pop music. Synthesizers played an active role, and even the drummer in the style of a drum machine did not reduce the density and virtuosity of the sound.

Album idea

The album was conceived as a concept album - quite in the tradition of ELO. His theme was time travel. The prologue was the song "Twilight", where an application was made for a new sound - synthesizers dominated, the composition of the song remained classical (in the form of a verse-chorus), however, the variety of melodies was very wide, and with vocal polyphony. The guitars remained somewhere in the background, the solo parts were absent. It was like the best version of The Move, but with an upbeat charge. Lynn nevertheless returned to the roots again, only on a new round, having completed the revision of the plans of Roy Wood and The Move.

Electric Light Orchestra cover
Electric Light Orchestra cover

After the prologue and drums of "Yours Truly 2095", the song "Ticket to the Moon" began, which became a hit. It's like echoes of the past: there are no synthesizers, but the piano part is captivating. There are guitar fragments, Mika Kaminsky's violin and the tonality is such that it sticks in memory almost immediately. A small choral synth-polyphonic insert in the middle of the performance brings us back to reality from a futuristically directed album, but the song itself gives energy in this new world full of mysteries and uncertainty.

With the end of the lyrical fragment, there is no hasty leap into the illusory world of the future, the musicians suddenly plunge into the origins even deeper and give out the song "The Way Life's Meant to Be", sounding in the style of Buddy Holly of the late 50s with an acoustic guitar, only with a more modern sound . This will be repeated on the other side - in the song "Hold On Tight", as if performed by Roy Orbison in disco rhythms, but in early rock and roll style with a powerful guitar fragment and piano.

ELO - Hold on Tight
ELO - Hold on Tight

The A-side closes with "Another Heart Breaks", a synth tune in a minor key that reduces the excitement of fantasizing about the future. The song tends towards advanced rock, and the newly emerged drum machine does not smooth this impression.

The opening of the second side is the impressive and grandiose slow "Rain is Falling", with a prologue in the form of a piano piece, but creating a sense of otherworldliness due to solo modulations. Pianos are replaced by synthesizers, literally enveloping the voice part. The composition is saturated with lyricism, while the minor begins to grow and creates a certain tension. In the finale, a rather heavy disco sounds - a unique fragment of the entire album.

Apocalyptic notes are replaced by a new birth in light reggae - "The Lights Go Down". The entire palette of styles implemented by the musicians organically merges into something whole. The group has surpassed itself: it has combined the incompatible - a spectrum of styles, rhythmic patterns and genre features, sometimes contradictory. It's really unique, and certainly represents the central moment of the album, the climax.

In the middle of the second side, another mega-popular composition is recorded - "Here's the News". Its beginning is the sound of synthesizers, and this basis will be preserved throughout the composition. However, it is art-rock. This is evidenced by the rhythm sections and drummers in moments of high tension. Lynn's voice is tense and exciting, the synth riff is heard at different levels and in different variations, but he dubs the same musical syntagma over and over again.

This is the song that clearly illustrates: the role of ELO in the development of electronic music is really great. They remained original and retained their uniqueness.

In Here's the News, a frightening picture of the future is recreated rather repulsively, but the subsequent song compensates for this feeling with faith in the representative of the new century. The title of the song is "21st Century Man" and it's very similar to the ending, although there will still be a sequel after that. The song gives the impression of being acoustic, although the presence of synthesizers is clearly audible, but the sound is absolutely clear and strong. How is this possible? Synthesizers seem to belong to a violin group, and therefore their sound is appropriate.

ELO
ELO

The forecast of the man of the new century is followed by "Hold on Tight", a nostalgic composition for Roy Orbison's irretrievably gone time. In the previous track, the bright sound of melodic fragments, prologue and epilogue is noticeable, and the general mood from this song is ascending, it's like a result. However, the band members decided to create a different composition. According to the conceptual idea of the album, the cycle ends with an epilogue, where the dynamic "Hold on Tight" smoothly transitions. The epilogue duplicates the sound of the opening of both "Twilight" and "21st Century Man", but with the voice and guitar solo in the background, it's another strong reference to progressive rock. The group is difficult to attribute to this direction, however, its motives and spirit in the work of the musicians of the Electric Light Orchestra are very tangible.

ELO
ELO

The secret and success of the album

All this speaks of the ELO phenomenon in a rather difficult year in the history of music in 1981. In the 80s, every domestic rock and even heavy metal fan took this album with absolutely no problems and put it on his personal top list. Many had no idea what kind of music the group played in the early 70s and what direction they belonged to. However, the musicians created something that deserved everyone's attention: not even in the style of rock, but it attracted and for a certain moment reconciled fans of completely different directions in music. And this is the greatest merit: in expanding the musical horizons of a whole generation, embodying bright and original eclecticism in one. This album is a truly impressive journey through time, as well as a jump into the desired future, represented by those distant people of the 80s. The album sounded and still sounds very deep, accurate, sincere, and its relevance does not decrease with the passage of time. It is that it contains important meanings, and not for one, but for many generations.

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Автор:
Категория:

Time (1981) – ELO – Всё об альбоме…

Один из самых необычных альбомов группы ELO – «Time» (1981)

История альбома «Time» (1981): Electric Light Orchestra (ELO)

На момент старта 80-х ELO существенно изменилась, если сопоставлять её началом пути. Особенно силен диссонанс в сравнении с творчеством The Move итога 60-х, которая сменила английский рок массового характера на самобытный пауэр-рок с риффовым основанием без сольных партий. На рубеже десятилетий, после появления Джеффа Линна ELO рассматривалась лидером The Move Роем Вудом как возможность воплощения новой идеи – совмещения эффектов из мира рока с музыкальной классикой. Было время, когда прибыль, полученная The Move за студийные записи, полностью тратилась на запись альбомов ELO. Это были одновременно два проекта: так переполняли молодых людей эмоции и жажда реализации. Идея отличалась оригинальностью, её продолжили воплощать и после ухода Роя Вуда, хотя Линн, взявший на себя роль лидера, тяготел к рок-н-роллу. Но скрипки и виолончели еще долго отличали ELO: параллельно с гитарными фрагментами делалась запись рок-обработок классики. Все это обеспечивало успех у поклонников.

Electric Light Orchestra — «Time» (1981)
Electric Light Orchestra — «Time» (1981)

Постепенно и ненавязчиво группа склонялась к лиричности. К исходу 70-х она предприняла попытку органически выдать мотивы диско – это было тогда “в тренде”. Как и многие другие, группа пережила еще и увлечение панком, но этот период синтеза закончился примерно к 1981 году. Альбом «Time» оказался мощным рывком: это было какое-то особое совмещение рока с поп-музыкой. Активную роль играли синтезаторы, и даже ударник в стилистике драм-машины не снизил плотности и виртуозности звучания.

Идея альбома

Альбом задумывался в качестве концептуального – вполне в традиции ELO. Его темой стали путешествия во времени. Прологом стала песня «Twilight», где была сделана заявка на новый саунд – синтезаторы доминировали, композиция песни оставалась классической (в виде куплета-припева), однако при этом разнообразие мелодий было очень широким, причем с вокальной полифонией. Гитары оставались где-то фоново, сольные партии отсутствовали. Это было похоже на лучшую версию The Move, но с оптимистичным зарядом. Линн все же вновь возвратился к истокам, только на новом витке, завершив доработку замыслов Роя Вуда и The Move.

Обложка Electric Light Orchestra
Обложка Electric Light Orchestra

После пролога и ударной «Yours Truly 2095» начиналась песня «Ticket to the Moon», ставшая хитом. Это как будто отголоски прошлого: синтезаторы отсутствуют, но партия фортепиано захватывает. Звучат гитарные фрагменты, скрипка Мика Камински и тональность таковы, что врезаются в память практически сразу. Небольшая хоровая синтезаторно-полифоническая вставка к середине исполнения возвращает нас к реальности из футуристически направленного альбома, однако сама песня дает энергию в этом новом мире, полном загадок и неуверенности.

С завершением лирического фрагмента не наступает поспешного рывка в иллюзорный мир будущего, музыканты внезапно погружаются в истоки еще глубже и выдают песню «The Way Life’s Meant to Be», звучащую в стилистике Бадди Холли конца 50-х под акустическую гитару, только с более современным звучанием. Это повторится и на другой стороне – в песне «Hold On Tight», как будто исполненной Роем Орбисоном в ритмах диско, но в ранней стилистике рок-н-ролла с мощным гитарным фрагментом и под фортепиано.

ELO – Hold on Tight
ELO – Hold on Tight

Сторона “А” завершается песней «Another Heart Breaks» – синтезаторной мелодии в миноре, которая снижает воодушевление от фантазий о будущем. Песня тяготеет к продвинутому року, и вновь возникшая драм-машина не сглаживает этого впечатления.

Начало второй стороны – впечатляющая и грандиозная медленная «Rain is Falling», с прологом в виде фортепианной пьесы, но создающая ощущение потусторонности за счет модуляций соло. Фортепиано сменяют синтезаторы, буквально обволакивающие голосовую партию. Композиция насыщена лиризмом, при том что минор начинает нарастать и создает определенное напряжение. В финале звучит довольно тяжелое для восприятия диско – уникальный фрагмент всего альбома.

Апокалиптические ноты сменяются новым рождением в светлом рэгги – «The Lights Go Down». Вся палитра стилей, реализованных музыкантами, органично сливается в нечто цельное. Группа превзошла себя: соединила несоединимое – спектр стилистик, ритмических рисунков и жанровых черт, порой противоречивых. Это действительно неповторимо, и, безусловно, представляет собой центральный момент альбома, кульминацию.

В середине второй стороны записана еще одна мегапопулярная композиция – «Here’s the News». Её начало – звучание синтезаторов, и эта основа сохранится на протяжении всей композиции. Однако она – арт-роковая. Об этом говорят ритм-секции и ударники в минуты высшего напряжения. Голос Линна напряжённый и волнующий, синтезаторный рифф слышится на различных уровнях и в различных вариациях, но он вновь и вновь дублирует одну и ту же музыкальную синтагму.

Это та песня, которая с очевидностью иллюстрирует: роль ELO в развитии электронной музыки действительно велика. Они остались самобытными и сохранили свою уникальность.

В Here’s the News пугающая картина будущего воссоздана довольно отталкивающе, однако последующая песня компенсирует это ощущение верой в представителя нового столетия. Название песни – «21st Century Man», и это очень похоже на финал, хотя продолжение после него все же последует. Песня создает впечатление акустической, хотя там отчетливо слышно присутствие синтезаторов, однако звучание оказывается абсолютно чистым и сильным. Как это возможно? Синтезаторы относятся как будто к скрипичной группе, а потому и звучание у них соответствующее.

ELO
ELO

За прогнозом человека нового столетия следует «Hold on Tight», ностальгическая композиция по безвозвратно ушедшему в прошлое времени Роя Орбисона. В предыдущем треке ощутимо яркое звучание мелодичных фрагментов, пролога и эпилога, и общее настроение от этой песни – восходящее, это как будто итог. Однако участники группы приняли решение создать иную композицию. Согласно концептуальной идее альбома, заканчивается цикл эпилогом, куда плавно переходит динамичная «Hold on Tight». Эпилог дублирует звучание начала и «Twilight», и «21st Century Man», однако с голосом и гитарным соло на втором плане – это еще одна яркая отсылка к прогрессивному року. Группу сложно отнести к этому направлению, однако мотивы и веяние его в творчестве музыкантов Electric Light Orchestra очень ощутимы.

ELO
ELO

Секрет и успех альбома

Все это говорит о феномене ЕLO в довольно сложном в истории музыки 1981 году. В 80-х каждый отечественный поклонник рока и даже хэви-метала абсолютно без проблем воспринял этот альбом и внес его в личный топ-список. Многие не имели представления о том, какую музыку группа играла в начале 70-х и к какому направлению принадлежала. Однако музыканты создали нечто такое, что заслужило всеобщее внимание: даже не в стилистике рока, но оно привлекло и на определенный момент примирило фанов абсолютно различных направлений в музыке. И это – величайшая заслуга: в расширении музыкальных горизонтов целого поколения, воплощении яркой и самобытной эклектики в одном. Этот альбом – действительно впечатляющее путешествие во времени, а также прыжок в желанное будущее, представляемое теми далекими людьми 80-х. Альбом звучал и до сих пор звучит очень глубоко, точно, искренне, и его актуальность не снижается с ходом времени. Это о том, что он содержит важные смыслы, и не для одного, а для многих поколений.

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...
Похожие статьи

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...