Author:

Category:

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

"But it's in moments like these, when geniuses clash their horns, that something especially magnificent is born!"

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators

It is unlikely that when listening to favorite album some of us think about how it was created. We just enjoy the music. Take, for example, the famous "Metallica's "Black Album: a masterpiece, that's all! A very innovative album for the band (and for metal as well), which includes the already classics of the genre "The Unforgiven". And the album was created under a kind of pressure from the new producer Bob Rock!

But very often the greatest albums are created not just under pressure, but on the verge of hysteria! During the recording, the participants are going through a difficult time: there is a place for scandals, squabbles, and substances... As the one time said Brian May:

"But it's in moments like these, when geniuses clash their horns, that something especially magnificent is born!"

Brian May and his Red Special guitar
Brian May

And it's hard to argue with that, especially after today's article. Not all, but many of the albums on our list became legendary! And the process of their creation almost destroyed the greatest bands... Or did it?

Rumors

Album cover of "Rumours" (1977)
Album cover of "Rumours" (1977)

Plate Rumors has become a major asset of the Fleetwood Mac! The most successful and interesting, at the same time it is the most infamous. At the time of the recording, the participants were literally forcing themselves into the studio with each other, "smoothing out" their bad moods with unlimited amounts of banned substances. As recalled Chris Stone, co-owner of Record Plant:

"They would come in at 7 p.m., 'hang out' in the studio until the middle of the night-alcohol and substances were involved. And only in the morning, when they were completely exhausted, did they start doing something..."

The sessions were long and chaotic, aided by disintegration of personal life band members. Nevertheless, "Rumors" was a sensational hit! Both commercially and critically.

"Exile on Main St."

Exile on Main St." album cover.
Exile on Main St." album cover.

This album was, in many ways. experimental for The Rolling Stones: there are obvious influences of country, folk rock, blues and even calypso! In the face of such diversity, the public and the critics perceived this masterpiece rather ambiguously. But today. "An Exile on Main Street." is rightly considered one of the greatest achievements of British rockers!

The album was recorded in a tense environment: Under the yoke of tax exile, the group settled in Francewhere she went on a rampage. Especially Keith RichardsThe sessions were chaotic, accompanied by enormous quantities of substances and alcohol. The sessions were chaotic, accompanied by enormous quantities of substances and alcohol. Shortly before that. Mick Jagger married Bianca, and in general the "commonality" of the participants was broken. They all lived in different parts of France, and it seemed that "Exile on Main St." should have been a decisive catastrophe in the Stones' career. But luckily, the album turned out to be a success!

"The Long Run."

The Eagles, "The Long Run" album
The Long Run" album cover

Sixth studio album The Eagles was definitely a difficult project. Largely because of the resounding success of their previous record "Hotel California."which literally blew up the charts and the minds of listeners! After such a fairy-tale release any subsequent album of the band couldn't help but fall under scrutiny and criticism.

Participants felt great pressureWhen we started to work on the "The Long Run.". The recording process was extremely tedious. As he recalled Don Henley:

"The band was completely burnt out. We were exhausted physically, emotionally, spiritually and creatively. Our overall tank was empty."

The Eagles
The Eagles

The Long Tour The sessions turned into torture as a result.

"The band was literally falling apart under the pressure of wanting to create a worthy sequel to Hotel California.

Shortly after the release of "The Long Run," the Eagles broke up. It was not until almost 30 years later that their seventh album saw the light of day...

"Let It Be"

"Let It Be" (1968) album cover
"Let It Be" (1968) album cover

Of course, we could think of a dozen other albums, but we chose the legendary Beatles' "Let It Be". This is the last studio album by the Liverpool four, and the most controversial of their discography. The sessions came on a particularly turbulent time for the band: the absolute gap between the members, conflicts and disagreements, the desire to pull the blanket over themselves and the presence of Yoko Ono... There is not much positive.

Paul McCartney took the creative initiative, and as a result was accused of "poor control. By the way: the song of the same name became last single that The Beatles released before McCartney announced his departure.

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

"She left early, but she left a bright mark" - the story of Yanka Diagileva

A bright representative of the national underground - the story of Yanka Diagileva Yanka Diagileva went down in history as a bright representative of the Siberian underground, a woman who during her short career...

Автор:

Категория:

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

«Но именно в такие моменты, когда гении сталкиваются рогами, рождается нечто особенно великолепное!»

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей

Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто наслаждаемся музыкой. Взять к примеру знаменитый «Чёрный альбом» Metallica: шедевр, да и только! Весьма новаторская для группы (да и для метала) пластинка, в которую вошла уже классика своего жанра «The Unforgiven». А ведь создавался альбом под своего рода давлением нового продюсера Боба Рока!

Но очень часто величайшие альбомы создаются не просто под давлением, а на грани истерии! Во время записи участники переживают не лучшие времена: находится здесь место и скандалам, и разборкам, и веществам… Как однажды сказал Брайан Мэй:

«Но именно в такие моменты, когда гении сталкиваются рогами, рождается нечто особенно великолепное!»

Брайан Мэй и его гитара Red Special («Красная особая»)
Брайан Мэй

И с этим сложно поспорить, особенно после сегодняшней статьи. Не все, но многие альбомы из нашего списка стали легендарными! А ведь процесс их создания чуть не уничтожил величайшие группы… Или всё-таки уничтожил?

«Rumours»

Обложка альбома «Rumours» (1977)
Обложка альбома «Rumours» (1977)

Пластинка «Rumours» стала главным достоянием Fleetwood Mac! Самая успешная и интересная, вместе с тем она является самой печально известной. На момент записи участники буквально заставляли себя находиться в студии друг с другом, «сглаживая» плохое настроение неограниченным количеством запрещённых веществ. Как вспоминал Крис Стоун, совладелец Record Plant:

«Они приходили в 7 вечера, «тусовались» в студии до середины ночи – в ход шли и алкоголь, и вещества. И лишь под утро, когда они были полностью вымотаны, начинали что-то делать…»

Сеансы были длинными и хаотичными, чему способствовал распад личной жизни членов группы. Тем не менее «Слухи» стал сенсационным хитом! Причём как с коммерческой стороны, так и с точки зрения критиков.

«Exile on Main St.»

Обложка альбома «Exile on Main St.»
Обложка альбома «Exile on Main St.»

Этот альбом во многом стал экспериментальным для The Rolling Stones: здесь очевидны влияния кантри, фолк-рока, блюза и даже калипсо! На фоне такого разнообразия, публика и критики восприняли сие шедевр весьма неоднозначно. Но сегодня «Изгнанник на Главной улице» по праву считается одним из величайших достижений британских рокеров!

Запись альбома проходила в напряжённой обстановке: под гнётом налогового изгнания, группа обосновалась во Франции, где пустилась во все тяжкие. Особенно Кит Ричардс, который, как утверждают близкие в те дни люди, не был трезвым ни на минуту. Сессии были хаотичными, сопровождались они огромным количеством веществ и спиртного. Незадолго до этого Мик Джаггер женился на Бьянке, и в целом «общность» участников была нарушена. Все они жили в разных уголках Франции, и, казалось, «Exile on Main St.» должен стать решающей катастрофой в карьере Stones. Но к счастью, альбом обернулся успехом!

«The Long Run»

The Eagles, альбом «The Long Run»
Обложка альбома «The Long Run»

Шестой студийный альбом The Eagles определённо был трудным проектом. Во многом – из-за ошеломительного успеха их предыдущей пластинки «Отель Калифорния», которая буквально взорвала чарты и умы слушателей! После такого фееричного релиза любой последующий альбом группы не мог не попасть под тщательное изучение и критику.

Участники ощущали большое давление, когда приступили к работе над «The Long Run». Процесс записи был чрезвычайно утомителен. Как вспоминал Дон Хенли:

«Группа была полностью сожжена. Мы были истощены физически, эмоционально, духовно и творчески. Наш общий бак был пуст».

The Eagles
The Eagles

Долгие гастроли тоже давали о себе знать, и в результате сессии превратились в пытки.

«Группа буквально разваливалась под давлением желания создать достойное продолжение Hotel California».

Вскоре после выпуска «The Long Run» «Орлы» распались. Лишь спустя почти 30 лет свет увидел их седьмой альбом…

«Let It Be»

Обложка альбома «Let It Be» (1968)
Обложка альбома «Let It Be» (1968)

Конечно, можно было вспомнить ещё десяток других альбомов, но мы остановили свой выбор на легендарном битловском «Let It Be». Это последний студийный альбом ливерпульской четвёрки, и самый неоднозначный в их дискографии. Сессии пришлись на особенно беспокойное время для группы: абсолютная пропасть между участниками, конфликты и разногласия, желание перетянуть «одеяло» на себя и присутствие Йоко Оно… Позитивного мало.

Пол Маккартни взял на себя творческую инициативу, и в результате был обвинён в «плохом контроле». К слову: одноимённая песня стала последним синглом, который The Beatles выпустили до того, как Маккартни объявил о своём уходе.

9kFollowers

RY X — «Blood Moon» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Blood Moon» (2022) от RY X Рай Каминг, более известный под псевдонимом RY X поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «Blood...

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Похожие статьи

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...

«Рано ушла, но оставила яркий след» – история Янки Дягилевой

Яркая представительница отечественного андеграунда – история Янки Дягилевой Янка Дягилева вошла в историю как яркая представительница сибирского андеграунда, женщина, которая на протяжении своей короткой карьеры...