Author:
Category:

We'll "ruin" your favorite songs: about the most famous cover band

Cover bands come in all shapes and sizes, and you don't see many cover bands like the ones in this article. How did a radio host from Los Angeles become the frontman of an ironic cover band and how does humor influence the creation of quality tracks? Let's find out further.

All about the band Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine

The most beautiful and subtle art in the world is music. Not everyone can feel what real musicians can hear in it.

Who is a real musician? It would be more accurate to define him this way: real musician - a person capable not only of knowing notes and playing them correctly, but also of doing something unique, unlike any other. Thus, by combining humor and music, the American musician Richard Cheese did what other musicians might not have been able to do. Read our article on how Richard started making ironic music.

How it all started

The comedian and singer originally came up with the idea of humorous cover versions of famous songs  To Mark Jonathan Davisknown by the pseudonym Richard Cheese. In the mid-'90s, working as a radio host, Davis conceived the project, which would later be called Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine. He debuted with the album of the same name, which included covers of "Rape Me." Nirvana and "Closer." Nina Inch Nails in a swinging treatment.

Mark and the team managed to synthesize lounge music and modern tracks of rock, rap and other stuff.

Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine

So, as mentioned above, Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine is a cover band that performs world-famous hits from the rock and pop scene, and lounge singer Richard Cheese is a character created by Mark Jonathan Davis. The band's debut album was released in 2000which became so popular that they were featured in the media, which helped increase their fan base. That's how Davis ended up co-hosting an MTV series.

Cover of the band's debut album
Cover of the band's debut album

Richard Cheese's subsequent releases from 2002 to 2006 were also a success. The band's fans did not diminish thanks to the band's loyalty in their own way. In the following years, the frontman appeared in films and also recorded with Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine. soundtrack for a Zack Snyder movie.

What is crooning?

Cruising - a common style of singing since the 1920s in which a song must be sung with a gasp, almost a whisper. The name comes from the English croon, which means "humming in a low voice.". This development of crooning is commonly associated with the development of sound reinforcement techniques. The sensitivity of the microphone allowed the singers to pronounce the lines of the song in an ingratiating manner, quietlymaking it sound more chesty.

Cruising was very popular with singers accompanying "big bands. A striking feature of crooning becomes elegant presentation, harks, imitation of conversation in the pauses. The most famous musicians who used a similar way of singing were Bean Crosby, Frank Sinatra, Joe Dasen, and Tony Bennett. Of the contemporary singers worth mentioning Robbie Williams.

The idea worked: joke or crooning

Performing a Linkin Park song
Performing a Linkin Park song

Richard Cheese sarcastically performs lounge music on his debut album. However, this does not spoil Frank Sinatra or Tonny Bennett: on the contrary, the album pays more attention to rock hits. The joke turns out to be an irony of excessive lyricism and seriousness songs. This mood changes with Cheese's lighter arrangements; rather, they are more Las Vegas-oriented. The singer creates a contrast, mocking and wistfulness in the lyrics of rock hits and lounge music. One might even say that Richard creates opposition between Vegas lounge music and alternative rock.

Despite the humorous overtones, the music of Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine is perceived as cute irony over famous tracks from the top charts. How could you imagine Sinatra singing "Welcome to the Jungle" or "Rape Me"? That's only possible with a band. Richard Cheese.

Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine albums

Number Of The Beast album cover
Number Of The Beast album cover

The band came out on the order of 28 albums since 2000. The first and debut album was released on the Oglio Records label, the second and third, - "Tuxicity." and "I Like a Virgin", - independently in 2002 and 2004 on the my own Cheese Ideatown Entertainment, which was later renamed Coverage Records.

From 2004 to 2006 the band released the albums "Aperitif for Destruction", a collection of songs "Silent. Nightclub" And another album "The Sunny Side of the Moon: The Best of Richard CheeseIn which six classical compositions and three new covers were recorded.

In 2007, Cheese releases again on his label albumsDick at Nite, Viva La Vodka: Richard Cheese Live, OK Bartender, A Lounge Supreme, Live at the Royal Wedding, The Royal Baby Album, Back in Black Tie and Cocktails with Santa.

2010 was marked by the album "Jonny Aloha: Lavapalooza."which was recorded with the participation of Hawaiian musicians. In 2015, the following were issued 3 disks: the live "Bakin 'at the Boulder," "The Lounge Awakens: Richard Cheese & Lounge Against the Machine Live" at the Mos Eisley Spaceport and the studio album "Supermassive Black Tux.

In 2016, the band released a one-track album as parody on the soundtrack from the released movie Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice. In 2017, the album was released on disc "Licensed to Spill"; в 2018 - digital collection Lord of the Swings: The Best of Richard Cheese, Volume 2. In addition, the band's arsenal includes an album released a year later, mocking The finale of The Avengers is Richard Cheese: Live on Titan.

The next two albums were released in digital format in 2020 and 2021: Numbers Of The Beast and Big Cheese Energy. The band is currently touring extensively in the U.S., headlining the Red Rock Casino Vegas.

Richard Cheese's Best Songs

Richard Cheese on Stage
Richard Cheese on Stage

Cheese's best and most successful covers are these 5 songs:

Careless Whisper (2011) - Richard Cheese 

A swinging cover of George Michael's most famous song, "Careless Whisper" from the album "A Lounge Supreme".

Creep (2006) Richard Cheese

"Creep" by Radiohead sounds, arranged by Cheese, like a hit at every restaurant in the U.S. in the 1920s, though it was released on the 2006 album The Sunny Side of the Moon: The Best of Richard Cheese.

Rape Me (2006) Richard Cheese

The track "Rape Me" by the grunge band Nirvana from their debut album, The Sunny Side of the Moon: The Best of Richard Cheese.

Bad Guy (2020) Richard Cheese

"Bad Guy" from the quite fresh album "Numbers Of The Beast". A very successful cover of the not unknown Billy Eilish song.

Bohemian Rhapsody (2010) Richard Cheese

An unusual cover of the most famous song of the British band Queen - "Bohemian Rhapsody", performed in a more cheerful manner than the original. The track was released on the album "OK Bartender".

They sang about something that touched everyone: «Combination» - the most relevant pop band of the 90s

Everything about the band "Combination": creation history, concerts, contemporaries At the turn of the 80's and 90's a lot is changing on the domestic scene. In the place of strict and touching songs...

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

Part 2. «A Life on the Road»: What Brian Johnson did in his old age

Brian Johnson: career and its end, new projects After their career ends, rock musicians either retire and devote more time to themselves, or try to pursue new...
Related Articles

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Valery Didyulya was left without music

Valery Didiuli's Muse: how the musician's family broke up Often celebrity couples try not to give publicity to disagreements within the family. But sooner or later the stars also need ...

"What I'd Say" is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...

Muddy Waters and Mick Jagger rock out on stage - the best collab in blues history

Bluesmen Muddy Waters and Mick Jagger: biography, collaboration, joint performance Collaborations between rock musicians are not a new phenomenon. The Beatles and Eric Clapton, Queen and David...

The story of a sweet-voiced beauty: Hope Sandoval

All about singer Hope Sandoval: youth, star rise and success Sometimes underground artists don't want to become famous because the big labels that find them after some...

The Residents - the most mysterious rock band in history

All about the band The Residents: the history of emergence, mystique and style In the music industry, there are quite a few musicians who have become popular due to their originality. Such performers are usually...

Автор:
Категория:

Мы «испортим» ваши любимые песни: о самой известной кавер-группе

Кавер-группы бывают разной тематики, и таких, как герои нашей статьи, встретить можно нечасто. Как радиоведущий из Лос-Анджелеса стал фронтменом иронической кавер-группы и как юмор влияет на создание качественных треков? Узнаем далее.

Все о группе Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine

Самое прекрасное и тонкое в мире искусство – это музыка. Не каждому человеку дано чувствовать то, что могут услышать в ней настоящие музыканты.

Кто такой настоящий музыкант? Вернее будет определить его так: настоящий музыкант – человек, способный не только знать ноты и правильно их воспроизводить, но и делать нечто уникальное, непохожее на других. Так, соединив юмор и музыку, американский музыкант Ричард Чиз сделал то, что другим музыкантам могло быть не под силу. Как Ричард начал делать ироничную музыку читайте в нашей статье.

С чего все начиналось

Изначально идея шутливых кавер-версий известных песен пришла комику и певцу  Марку Джонатану Дэвису, известному по псевдонимом Ричард Чиз. В середине 90-х работающий радиоведущим Дэвис задумал этот проект, который в будущем будет называться Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine. Он дебютировал с одноименным альбомом, в который вошли каверы на «Rape Me» Nirvana и «Closer» Nina Inch Nails в свинговой обработке.

Марку и команде удалось синтезировать лаунж-музыку и современные треки рока, репа и прочего.

Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine

Итак, как было сказано выше, Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine – кавер-группа, исполняющая всемирно известные хиты рок- и поп-сцены, а лаунж-исполнитель Richard Cheese – персонаж, созданный Марком Джонатаном Дэвисом. Дебютный альбом группы вышел в 2000 году, который стал популярен настолько, что о них рассказали в СМИ, что способствовал увеличению их фан-базы. Так Дэвис оказался соведущим сериала от MTV.

Обложка дебютного альбома группы
Обложка дебютного альбома группы

Успехом увенчались и последующие релизы Richard Cheese с 2002 по 2006 год. Фанаты группы не убавлялись благодаря верности группы своему стилю. В последующие годы фронтмен участвовал в фильмах, а также записал с Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine саундтрек для фильма Зака Снайдера.

Что такое крунинг?

Крунинг – распространенный с 1920-х годов стиль пения, в котором необходимо исполнять песню с придыханием, почти шепотом. Название появилось от английского croon, что означает «напевать вполголоса». Такое развитие крунинга принято связывать  с развитием техники для звукоусиления. Чувствительность микрофона позволяла певцам произносить строчки песни вкрадчиво, тихо, делая звук более грудным.

Крунинг был очень популярен у певцов, сопровождающих «биг-бэнды». Яркой особенностью крунинга становится элегантная подача материала, присказки, имитация разговора в паузах. Самыми известными музыкантами, использовавшими подобную манеру пения, были Бин Кросби, Фрэнк Синатра, Джо Дасен, Тони Беннет. Из современных певцов стоит отметить Робби Уильямса.

Идея сработала: шутка или крунинг

Выступление с песней Linkin Park
Выступление с песней Linkin Park

Ричард Чиз с сарказмом исполняет лаунж-музыку в своем дебютном альбоме. Однако это не портит Фрэнка Синатру или Тонни Беннета: напротив, в альбоме уделено больше внимания рок-хитам. Шутка оказывается иронией над чрезмерной лиричностью и серьезностью песен. Такой настрой меняется с легкими аранжировками Чиза; скорее они больше ориентированы на Лас-Вегас. Певец создает контраст, высмеивая и тоску в текстах рок-хитов, и лаунж-музыку. Даже можно сказать, что Ричард создает оппозицию между лаунж-музыкой Вегаса и альтернативным роком.

Несмотря на шуточный подтекст, музыка Richard Cheese & Lounge Against The Machine воспринимается как милая ирония над известными треками из топ-чартов. Как можно было бы представить, что Синатра поет «Welcome to the Jungle» или «Rape Me»? Это возможно только с группой Richard Cheese.

Альбомы Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine

Обложка альбома Number Of The Beast
Обложка альбома Number Of The Beast

У группы вышло порядка 28 альбомов с 2000 года. Первый и дебютный альбом был выпущен на лейбле «Oglio Records», второй и третий, – «Tuxicity» и «I Like a Virgin», – независимо в 2002 и 2004 годах на собственном лейбле «Cheese Ideatown Entertainment», который позже был переименован в «Coverage Records».

С 2004 по 2006 годы у группы выходят альбомы «Aperitif for Destruction», сборник песен «Silent Nightclub» и еще один альбом «The Sunny Side of the Moon: The Best of Richard Cheese», в котором были записаны 6 классических композиций и 3 новых кавера.

В 2007 году Чиз выпускает снова на своем лейбле альбомы: «Dick at Nite», «Viva La Vodka: Richard Cheese Live», «OK Bartender», «A Lounge Supreme», «Live at the Royal Wedding», закулисный альбом «The Royal Baby Album», «Back in Black Tie» и «Cocktails with Santa».

2010 год ознаменовался альбомом «Jonny Aloha: Lavapalooza», который был записан при участии гавайских музыкантов. В 2015 году были выпущены 3 диска: концертный  «Bakin ‘at the Boulder», «The Lounge Awakens: Richard Cheese & Lounge Against the Machine Live» в космодроме Мос-Эйсли и студийный альбом «Supermassive Black Tux».

В 2016 году группа выпустила альбом одного трека как пародию на саундтрек из вышедшего фильма «Бэтмен против Супермена: Рассвет Справедливости». В 2017 году вышел альбом на диске «Licensed to Spill»; в 2018 – цифровой сборник лучших хитов «Lord of the Swings: The Best of Richard Cheese, Volume 2». Кроме того, в арсенале группы есть альбом, выпущенный годом позже, высмеивающий финал «Мстителей» – «Richard Cheese: Live on Titan».

Следующие два альбома выходили в цифровом формате в 2020 и 2021 годах: «Numbers Of The Beast» и «Big Cheese Energy». В настоящее время группа много гастролирует по США, выступает хедлайнером на фестивале Red Rock Casino в Вегасе.

Лучшие песни Ричарда Чиза

Ричард Чиз на сцене
Ричард Чиз на сцене

Лучшими и наиболее удачными каверами Чиза стоит признать эти 5 песен:

Careless Whisper (2011) – Richard Cheese 

Свинговый кавер на самую известную песню George Michael – «Careless Whisper» с альбома «A Lounge Supreme».

Creep (2006) Richard Cheese

«Creep» группы Radiohead звучит в аранжировке Чиза как хит всех ресторанов США 1920-х, хотя вышла на альбоме 2006 года «The Sunny Side of the Moon: The Best of Richard Cheese».

Rape Me (2006) Richard Cheese

Трек «Rape Me» гранжевой группы Nirvana с дебютного альбома «The Sunny Side of the Moon: The Best of Richard Cheese».

Bad Guy (2020) Richard Cheese

«Bad Guy» с достаточно свежего альбома «Numbers Of The Beast». Очень удачный кавер на небезызвестную композицию певицы Billy Eilish.

Bohemian Rhapsody (2010) Richard Cheese

Необычный кавер на самую известную песни британской группы Queen – «Bohemian Rhapsody», исполненный на более веселый манер, чем оригинал. Трек вышел на альбоме «OK Bartender».

Они пели о том, что касалось каждого: «Комбинация» – самая актуальная поп-группа 90-х

Всё о группе «Комбинация»: история создания, концерты, современность На рубеже 80-х и 90-х годов многое меняется на отечественной сцене. На место строгих и трогательных песен...

Больше, чем товарищи по цеху: культовые группы, которые никогда не меняли состав

Рок-группы, никогда не менявшие состав участников – список, фото и имена, интересные факты История музыки знает огромное количество рок-групп. Эта форма музицирования в настоящее время...

Часть 2. «Жизнь на дороге»: чем занялся Брайан Джонсон в старости

Брайан Джонсон: карьера и её завершение, новые проекты  После завершения карьеры рок-музыканты либо уходят в отставку и больше уделяют времени себе, либо стараются заниматься новыми...
Похожие статьи

Та самая песня из «Телохранителя»: смысл оказался глубже

Всё о песне «I Will Always Love You»: история создания, исполнение, успех Часто случается так, что между артистами, исполнившими одну песню, но в разных стилях,...

Валерий Дидюля остался без музы

Муза Валерия Дидюли: как произошёл распад семьи музыканта Часто звёздные пары пытаются не придавать огласке разногласия внутри семьи. Но рано или поздно звёздам тоже необходима...

«What I’d Say» – шикарный рок-н-ролл от Хосе Фелисиано, который взбодрит любого

Музыкант Хосе Фелисиано – дискография великого гитариста, творчество, награды В настоящее время латиноамериканские музыканты выходят на новый уровень: они легко покоряют мировую сцену и приобретают...

Мадди Уотерс и Мик Джаггер отжигают на одной сцене – лучший коллаб в истории блюза

Блюзмены Мадди Уотерс и Мик Джаггер: биография, сотрудничество, совместное выступление Коллаборации между рок-музыкантами – явление не новое. The Beatles и Эрик Клэптон, Queen и Дэвид...

Джон Энтвистл: знакомство с Питом Таунсендом, формирование The Who и значимость, которая выходила за рамки «просто басиста»

Биография бас-гитариста рок-группы The Who Джона Энтсвила: карьера, дискография, наследие Именно над теми, кто играет на четырёхструнной гитаре и отвечает за ритм-секцию, больше всего шутят...

История одной сладкоголосой красавицы: Хоуп Сандовал

Всё о певице Хоуп Сандовал: юность, восхождение звезды и успех  Порой андеграудные артисты не хотят становиться известными, потому как большие лейблы, находящие их после некоторого...

The Residents – самая загадочная рок-группа в истории

Всё о группе The Residents: история появления, таинственность и стиль В музыкальной индустрии есть немало музыкантов, которые стали популярными благодаря своей оригинальности. Такие исполнители обычно...

Почему распались The Jimi Hendrix Experience

Всё о группе The Jimi Hendrix Experience: история создания, успех и распад коллектива На 60-е года прошлого века пришёлся расцвет рок-групп, которые в дальнейшем становились...

Как сложилась карьера Сергея Захарова после тюрьмы: непростая история знаменитого баритона СССР

Жизненный путь эстрадного певца Сергея Захарова Эстрада появилась в 60-х годах прошлого столетия как неповторимый стиль советской песни. По сравнению с современной российской поп-музыкой она...