Author:
Category:

How Slade broke through the Iron Curtain and became the "people's band" for millions of Soviet listeners

One of the very first Western bands to appear in the Soviet Union was Slade. Today we will find out how the guys managed to win the hearts of Soviet rock fans and why the musicians themselves didn't find out about it right away.

Slade: History of Recognition in the USSR, Reaction to Success

Success is an incredibly complicated thing. You never know how it will come to you, but it came to the guys from Slade from where the rockers came from. didn't expect. The band went through many changes before becoming what it is today; the lineup of the band changed more than once at its very beginning, but even that did not prevent it from gaining popularity in the Country of the Soviets, where, it would seem, any music that does not pass through censorship, no room. Or is it eat?

Today in our article is a story that reverberates in our chests with the call of freedom. Today let's look at how British musicians brought such needed Soviet youth liberty in their gray everyday lives and whether it was by shock for the rockers themselves.

"Ooh La La in L.A." - the song that made Slade folk favorites in the USSR

Slade. 70-е
Slade. 70-е

Uncomplicated composition "Ooh La La in L.A." British hard rock band Slade was released in the summer of 1987 as the third single from their 14th studio album, You Boyz Make Big Noize. The lyrics themselves were written by the vocalist Noddy Holder in 1985 while working on the Rogues Gallery.

"Ooh La La in L.A." very autobiographicalas the band's guitarist admits Dave Hill. The musician notes that this is his favorite song from the 1987 album, the main feature of which becomes the life background of a seemingly frivolous song. The lyrics talk about the guys' experiences in America, where they promoted their album Run Runaway.

The song was released as a single in Germany and England, but nowhere was it as successful as in Soviet Union. What was of little value to the musicians became the most famous and iconic song in the USSR. Young people, who no longer believed in the Union, had a rebellious spirit, which they fueled by listening to foreign rockers.

How Slade's music penetrated behind the Iron Curtain

Slade in the 2000s
Slade in the 2000s

The success of British hard rockers grew in the USSR for several reasons. One of them is the overly strict censoredThe Soviet Union had a huge aversion to Western music, especially the Beatles, who at that time had become famous, and Soviet teenagers. On the wave of enormous dislike for Western music, especially for the Beatles, who had become famous by that time, Soviet teenagers banned to listen to, much less imitate, the legendary rockers. The wording of the ban on The Beatles was simple: such music makes young people think about distracted things, preventing them from focusing their attention on areas important to the state. ProtestThe idea that the young people had been growing in their minds since the mid-1980s was beginning to take a serious turn.

Slade appeared six years later than The Beatles. If at first the hard rock band played covers of more classic rock works, after a while their creativity began to show imitation "The Beatles.

Slade on Stage
Slade on Stage

Since the Beatles were a household name in the Soviet Union and the themes of their songs were not harmless to Soviet ideology, Slade and his "Ooh La La in L.A." became heroes for teenagers who wanted the kind of vivaciousness and carefree attitude undoubtedly present in this song. From beyond the borders of the Iron Curtain, the band brought a sense of freedomsto which it has long been ready young generation. Many Soviet teenagers were captivated by Slade's powerful, yet melodic music.

"We were in shock": how the band members reacted to their popularity in the Soviet Union

The most popular Western rock band in the USSR - Slade
The most popular Western rock band in the USSR - Slade

In his autobiography, Dave Hill, guitarist for Slade, says that they were very surprised their success in the Soviet Union. The band was not that popular in their homeland, so the musicians were genuinely shocked to learn that they had fans in the USSR. The rockers could only guess how their records got behind the Iron Curtain, as they had never officially were not published. Hill believes that Soviet youth could only get their music smuggling.

The fact that Slade's music was very popular in the Land of the Soviets was, as the guitarist points out, at least one reason: Soviet teenagers were forbidden to be flighty, to be unserious, to listen to music they liked, and to be different. This is why young people in the USSR were addicted to Western musicians - long-haired guys with guitars at their fingertips were like from another planet.

Slade on Stage. Early '70s
Slade on Stage. Early '70s

Slade gave the Soviet youth a feeling of freedoms and hope that someday such music would not come to the USSR on a "bird's-eye" basis. It is worth noting that it was with these guys that a keen interest in creating something similar to what Western musicians were doing began to emerge. Such love of Soviet youth for hard rock predetermines the emergence of a new milestone in the history of music: in the USSR the so-called "Russian rock".

 

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...

The strongest albums in Russian rock in the 90s according to Fuzz Music magazine - Top 6

Top 6 Coolest Russian Rock Albums of the 90s by Fuzz Music In the 1990s, music was on the cusp of an era. Important political events in the history of...

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...
Related Articles

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Valery Didyulya was left without music

Valery Didiuli's Muse: how the musician's family broke up Often celebrity couples try not to give publicity to disagreements within the family. But sooner or later the stars also need ...

"What I'd Say" is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...

Автор:
Категория:

Как Slade прорвались за железный занавес и стали «народной группой» для миллионов советских слушателей

Одни из самых первых западных групп, появившимися в Советском Союзе, были Slade. Сегодня узнаем, как ребятам удалось покорить сердца советских рок-любителей и почему сами музыканты не сразу узнали об этом.

Группа Slade: история признания в СССР, реакция на успех

Успех – невероятно сложная вещь. Никогда не знаешь, как он придет к тебе, однако к ребятам из Slade он пришел оттуда, откуда сами рокеры его совсем не ждали. Эта группа прошла множество изменений, прежде чем стала такой, какой остается до сих пор; не раз менялся и состав группы на самом ее старте, но даже это не помешало ей обрести популярность в Стране Советов, куда, казалось бы, любой музыке, не проходящей цензуру, нет места. Или все-таки есть?

Сегодня в нашей статье история, которая отдает в груди зовом свободы. Сегодня посмотрим, как британские музыканты привнесли такую нужную советской молодежи вольность в их серые будни и было ли это шоком для самих рокеров.

«Ooh La La in L.A.» – песня, сделавшая Slade народными любимцами в СССР

Slade. 70-е
Slade. 70-е

Незамысловатая композиция «Ooh La La in L.A.» британской хард-рок группы Slade была выпущена летом 1987 года как третий сингл с их 14 студийного альбома «You Boyz Make Big Noize». Сам текст песни был написан вокалистом Нодди Холдером в 1985 году во время работы над «Rogues Gallery».

«Ooh La La in L.A.» весьма автобиографична, как признается гитарист группы Дэйв Хилл. Музыкант отмечает, что это его любимая песня с альбома 1987 года, главной особенностью которого становится жизненная подоплека казалось бы легкомысленной песни. Текст рассказывает об опыте работы ребят в Америке, где они продвигали свой альбом Run Runaway.

Песня выходила синглом в Германии и Англии, но нигде не достигла такого успеха, как в Советском Союзе. То, что не представило особой ценности для музыкантов, стало самой известной и знаковой песней на территории СССР. В молодых людях, уже не веривших в Союз, бушевал дух мятежа, который они подогревали, слушая заграничных рокеров.

Как музыка Slade проникла за железный занавес

Slade в 2000-х
Slade в 2000-х

Успех британских хард-рокеров рос в СССР по нескольким причинам. Одной из них стоит признать чересчур строгую цензуру, которая перекрывала кислород абсолютно любым свободам в сфере искусства. На волне огромной неприязни к западной музыке, тем более к обретшим к тем годам известность Beatles, советским подросткам запрещалось слушать, и тем более подражать легендарным рокерам. Формулировка запрета группы The Beatles была простой: такая музыка заставляет молодежь думать об отвлеченных вещах, мешая фокусировке их внимания на важных для государства сферах. Протест, росший в молодых умах уже с середины 80-х, начинал принимать серьезные обороты.

Slade появились позже The Beatles на 6 лет. Если сначала хард-рок группа играла каверы на более классические для рока произведения, то через некоторое время в их творчестве стало прослеживаться подражание «Битлам».

Slade на сцене
Slade на сцене

Так как в Стране Советов The Beatles были у всех на слуху, а тематика их песен была совершенно не безобидной для советской идеологии, Slade со своей «Ooh La La in L.A.» стали героями для подростков, которым хотелось такой бодрости и беззаботности, несомненно присутствующей в этой песне. Из-за границ «железного занавеса» группа принесла в СССР чувство свободы, к которому уже давно было готово молодое поколение. Многих советских подростков Slade покорили мощной, но в то же время мелодичной музыкой.

«Мы были в шоке»: как участники группы отреагировали на свою популярность в Советском Союзе

Самая популярная в СССР западная рок-группа – Slade
Самая популярная в СССР западная рок-группа – Slade

В своей автобиографии Дэйв Хилл, гитарист группы Slade, говорит, что они были очень удивлены своему успеху в Советском Союзе. Группа не пользовалась такой бешеной популярность на родине, поэтому музыканты были искренне шокированы, узнав, что в СССР у них были фанаты. Рокеры могли только догадываться, как их записи попадали за «железный занавес», ведь официально они там никогда не издавались. Хилл считает, что советская молодежь могла получить их музыку только контрабандой.

На то, что музыка Slade имела большую популярность в Стране Советов, была, как отмечает гитарист, как минимум одна причина: советским подросткам запрещалось быть взбалмошными, несерьезными, а также слушать музыку, которая им нравилась, и быть непохожими на всех. Именно поэтому молодые люди СССР пристрастились к западным музыкантам – длинноволосые парни с гитарами наперевес были словно с другой планеты.

Slade на сцене. Ранние 70-е
Slade на сцене. Ранние 70-е

Группа Slade подарила советской молодежи ощущение свободы и надежду на то, что когда-нибудь в СССР такая музыка придет уже не на «птичьих правах». Стоит отметить, что именно с этих ребят начинает появляться живой интерес к созданию нечто похожего на то, что делают западные музыканты. Такая любовь советской молодежи к хард-року предопределяет появление новой вехи в истории музыки: в СССР зарождается так называемый «русский рок».

 

Как сложилась карьера Сергея Захарова после тюрьмы: непростая история знаменитого баритона СССР

Жизненный путь эстрадного певца Сергея Захарова Эстрада появилась в 60-х годах прошлого столетия как неповторимый стиль советской песни. По сравнению с современной российской поп-музыкой она...

«Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: последняя песня, исполненная королём Пресли

Всё о песне «Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: когда и кем была исполнена, история и каверы Потеря кумиров всегда очень травматичное событие, но как...

Лемми Килмистер и его лучшие роли в кино

Всё о Лемми Килмистере: успех группы, роли в кино, байопик о легенде Рок-звёзды, сделавшие музыку своей жизнью и внёсшие огромный вклад в развитие жанра, проявляли...
Похожие статьи

Знаменитый хит группы «Ноль», клип к которому видел каждый

История песни «Иду, курю» группы «Ноль»: интересные факты, клип «Песня о безответной любви к Родине» – альбом с безусловными хитами, который входит в число знаковых...

В составе рок-групп они были мировыми легендами, но «соло» позабылись даже поклонникам

Участники культовых рок-групп, которые пытались, но не сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру Историй о том, как после ухода из группы музыканты сумели построить ослепительную сольную...

Она подарила детство: вспоминаем легендарную Елену Камбурову

Всё о Елене Камбуровой: детство, развитие творчества, известность Не каждый зритель может по достоинству оценить душевный вклад артиста в творчество, однако есть люди, которые понимают...

Он исполнил лучшие хиты начала 2000-х – где сегодня Сергей Жуков

Всё о Сергее Жукове: ранние годы, создание группы, факты В 90-е годы в России происходят колоссальные изменения. Новый виток истории рождается и в музыке: на...

Крутые песни Цоя, которые слышали только самые преданные поклонники

Малоизвестные песни Цоя, которые могут претендовать на звание хитов «Кино» – одна из самых необычных групп в истории русского рока. С одной стороны – ею...

Крутые каверы на хиты русского рока и одна прекрасная пародия – Топ-6

«Звёздные» кавер-версии на знаменитые композиции русского рока Каверы сейчас проживают в музыкальном бизнесе «новую жизнь». Некоторые перепевки становятся настолько известными, что затмевают оригинальные композиции. Так,...

Где сегодня «Земляне» – группа, чьи хиты напевал весь СССР

Все о группе «Земляне»: история создания, творчество, хиты У групп, начавших свою историю во времена Советского Союза, история богата событиями. Сейчас можно найти не так...

Британские рокеры, которых обожали в СССР

Топ британских рокеров, которых обожали в СССР Несмотря на все запреты и трудности, вызванные «добычей» пластинок с подобной музыкой, в Советском Союзе зарубежный рок-н-ролл просто...

Gibson: история одного бренда, который чуть не утратил доверие рок-звёзд

Gibson: история создания бренда, успехи и неудачи В истории каждой знаменитой фирмы есть свои взлеты и падения. Практически невозможно найти бренд, который на протяжении всего...