Author:
Category:

Anita Dot (2 Unlimited): biography of the singer

Now Anita actively goes in for sports for an hour a day to keep her shape. As the singer herself says, she considers herself "an intellectual person who loves Led Zeppelin music and all food that has rice in it!"

The Complete Story of Anita Dot, 2 Unlimited Member…

Anita Dot is a Dutch singer who gained popularity thanks to the music project 2 Unlimited. In just 5 years of its creative activity, the duet has gained international success: almost 2 dozen cult hits, as well as a colossal circulation of discs - more than 18 million worldwide ... But why did the group, in a beloved by all lineup, abruptly cease to exist? And what happened to the star of 2 Unlimited, the charming Anita Dot?

Early years

Anita Dot...
Anita Dot...

Anita Dels was born in 1971 in Amsterdam. Her family is from Suriname, a former Dutch colony. Since childhood, Anita loved to dance, sing and swim! The girl also met music at an early age:

“When I was a little kid, I always sang at family reunions!”

The singer also recalls performing at a local competition in front of over a thousand spectators! She did not win this competition, which was a blow to her ... Fortunately, this event did not deprive her of self-confidence! True, before starting her musical career, Anita worked as a secretary in the Dutch police department in the parking ticket department ... Well: not everyone becomes a star right away! Sometimes you have to wait...

Creative way...

Anita Dot
Anita Dot

Anita was soon invited to join the Trouble Sisters, an all-female rap group. Then the girl was offered to join another group as a dancer and backing vocalist.

“It was my first exposure to show business,” says Anita about this period.

But soon Anita got tired of “just looking sexy” (as she herself says). She wanted to perform. Marvin D, who actually became the godfather of 2 Unlimited, asked her if she would like to record a record. He said that his friend, Ray Slingard, was doing a musical project and he needed a singer.

"Of course I said yes!" Anita recalled.

What happened next was nothing but history... The world found out about 2 Unlimited. Ray and Anita didn't actually know each other before the band's formation, although they saw each other in clubs. The project was the beginning of not only their fruitful professional relationship, but also an amazing friendship…

“We consider ourselves brother and sister!” - repeatedly said the singer.

Legendary Duo 2 Unlimited...
The legendary duo 2 Unlimited…

They have toured all over the world and reached the top positions in more than 50 countries with hits such as "Get Ready for This", "No Limit", "Tribal Dance"... For five long years, Anita and Ray have delighted fans with their bright performances and songs...

But in 1996, all this came to an end. Their contract ended and they both decided not to renew it... After 2 Unlimited they were going to start their own project called Ray & Anita. Many record companies offered them a lot of money to keep performing together! But Anita wanted to dance more, while Ray wanted more hip-hop/R&B… They parted ways.

After 2 Unlimited, Anita went into her own production company. She had her own dance program on the Dutch music television The Music Factory. She also appeared as a guest vocalist on dance singles such as "It's When I Stop Loving You" by Dutch artist René Froger.

In 1999, she released the solo single "Center Of Your Universe". This upbeat and hardcore song was produced by Digidance (better known as the Klubbheads), who also remixed "Jump For Joy" and "Spread Your Love" (2 Unlimited).

About the project 2 Unlimited…

2 Unlimited
2 Unlimited

The duet, created by Jean Paul de Coster and Phil Wilde, gained great success: hit tracks that became international, and circulations exceeding 18 million copies ... In 1996, the main participants went into free creative swimming ... The second composition failed miserably, and in the end The project was closed in the 90s.

In the spring of 2009, Ray and Anita performed on the same stage for the first time in many years! The occasion was the concert "I Love The 90s", held in Belgium. A little later, they released a joint "In Da Name of Love"!

With the advent of the new year, they released "Nothing 2 Lose" - a track that became the soundtrack to "Gloomy Amsterdam"! It was later announced that Ray and Anita would be returning to De Coster to perform as 2 Unlimited! The duo reunited! A series of live performances began, including participation in the Acceleration 2014 festival and a performance at the Super Disco of the 90s in Russia! But in 2016, a new vocalist comes to Anita's place: Kim Vergouwen. So, the beloved star of 2 Unlimited was forced to leave in order to take up health and a solo career ... The singer was diagnosed with breast cancer. Fortunately, after a long treatment, the disease receded.

Solo career

Anita recently recorded several songs with Jamaican ragga artist Mad Cobra. She had modest success with her second solo single "Lifting Up My Life", which was released in Holland.

But Anita was convinced that she could become a solo singer and succeed on her own. In 2000, she finally released her first solo album, Reality. She wrote most of her songs with producers Steve Mack, Todd Terry (who also wrote songs for Jocelyn Brown) and Adamski... Recording sessions for the album took place in Amsterdam, London and New York. The album contains tracks with elements of UKdance, pop, drum and bass and even chemical beats! As Anita herself said, she chose different producers for good reasons:

“In 2 Unlimited, we only worked with one producer who only relied on a certain type of sound… I don't want to go back to that. The variety of sounds we've created work surprisingly well! And I really like it!”

2 Unlimited...
2 Unlimited...

Musically, Anita took a new direction, partly breaking away from her past.

“The songs are still very accessible and danceable, which is also the case with the 2 Unlimited material. These are good pop songs, but this record is based on the influences of different styles of modern dance... It's a diverse album. This album is really very personal for me... It's the kind of music that I like. After 2 Unlimited, I just want to see what I can do! But at the same time, I want to remain who I am ... I just want to prove to myself that I can also do it on my own. It is very important for me. As a solo singer, I haven't proven anything yet. People still see me as "Anita from 2 Unlimited". But I really hope people start seeing me as Anita…”

Anita Dot today...

In 2005, Anita gave birth to a son, whom she and her husband named Destino! Soon she returned to Divas of Dance (the singer's temporary project), and in 2006 the video Falling into the Groove was released:

Now Anita actively goes in for sports for an hour a day to keep her shape. As the singer herself says, she considers herself "an intellectual person who loves Led Zeppelin music and all food that has rice in it!" The singer is also involved in charity work... Here she is - strong, generous and unambiguously talented - this Anita Dot!

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

Автор:

Категория:

Анита Дот (2 Unlimited): биография певицы

Сейчас Анита активно занимается спортом по часу в день, чтобы сохранить свою форму. Как говорит сама певица, она считает себя «интеллектуальной личностью, любящей музыку Led Zeppelin и всю еду, в которой есть рис!»

Полная история Аниты Дот, участницы «2 Unlimited»…

Анита Дот — голландская певица, популярность к которой пришла благодаря музыкальному проекту 2 Unlimited. Всего за 5 лет своей творческой деятельности дуэт снискал международный успех: почти 2 десятка культовых хитов, а также колоссальный тираж дисков — более 18 млн по всему миру… Но почему группа, в полюбившемся всем составе, резко прекратила своё существование? И что стало со звездой 2 Unlimited, очаровательной Анитой Дот?

Ранние годы

Анита Дот...
Анита Дот…

Анита Дельс родилась в 1971 году в Амстердаме. Её семья родом из Суринама, бывшей голландской колонии. С детства Анита любила танцевать, петь и плавать! С музыкой девочка также познакомилась в раннем возрасте:

«Когда я была маленьким ребёнком, я всегда пела на семейных праздниках!»

Певица также вспоминает, как выступала на местном конкурсе перед более чем тысячей зрителей! Она не выиграла этот конкурс, что стало для неё ударом… К счастью, это событие не лишило её уверенности в своих силах! Правда, перед тем как начать свою музыкальную карьеру, Анита работала секретарём в отделении полиции Нидерландов в отделе парковочных талонов… Что ж: не все становятся звёздами сразу! Иногда приходится подождать…

Творческий путь…

Анита Дот
Анита Дот

Вскоре Аниту пригласили присоединиться к Trouble Sisters, полностью женской рэп-группе. Затем девушке предложили присоединиться к ещё одной группе в качестве танцора и бэк-вокалистки.

«Это было моё первое знакомство с шоу-бизнесом», — рассказывает Анита об этом периоде.

Но вскоре Анита устала «просто выглядеть сексуально» (как говорит она сама). Она хотела выступать. Marvin D, который собственно и стал крёстным отцом 2 Unlimited, спросил её, не хочет ли она записать пластинку. Он сказал, что его друг, Рэй Слейнгард, занимается музыкальным проектом и ему нужна певица.

«Конечно, я сказал да!» — вспоминала Анита.

То, что произошло потом, было не чем иным, как историей… Мир узнал о 2 Unlimited. Рэй и Анита на самом деле не были знакомы до создания группы, хотя видели друг друга в клубах. Проект стал началом не только их плодотворных профессиональных отношений, но и удивительной дружбы…

«Мы считаем себя братом и сестрой!» — неоднократно говорила певица.

Легендарный дуэт 2 Unlimited...
Легендарный дуэт 2 Unlimited…

Они гастролировали по всему миру и достигли высших позиций в более чем 50-ти странах с такими хитами, как «Get Ready for This», «No Limit», «Tribal Dance»… Пять долгих лет Анита и Рэй радовали поклонников своими яркими выступлениями и песнями…

Но в 1996 году всему этому пришёл конец. Их контракт закончился, и они оба решили не продлевать его… После 2 Unlimited они собирались основать свой собственный проект под названием Ray & Anita. Многие звукозаписывающие компании предлагали им много денег, чтобы они продолжали выступать вместе! Но Анита хотела больше танцевать, в то время как Рэй хотел больше хип-хопа / R&B… Их творческие пути разошлись.

После 2 Unlimited Анита занялась собственной продюсерской компанией. У неё была собственная танцевальная программа на голландском музыкальном телевидении The Music Factory. Она также выступала в качестве приглашённой вокалистки в танцевальных синглах, таких как «It’s When I Stop Loving You» голландского исполнителя Рене Фрогера.

В 1999 году она выпустила сольный сингл «Center Of Your Universe». Эта жизнерадостная и хардкорная песня была спродюсирована Digidance (более известной как Klubbheads), которая также сделала ремиксы на «Jump For Joy» и «Spread Your Love» (2 Unlimited).

О проекте 2 Unlimited…

2 Unlimited
2 Unlimited

Дуэт, созданный Жан Полем де Костером и Филом Уайлдом, снискал большой успех: хит-треки, ставшие международными, и тиражи, превысившие 18 млн копий… В 1996 году основные участники ушли в свободное творческое плавание… Второй состав с треском провалился, и в конце 90-х проект был закрыт.

Весной 2009 года Рэй и Анита впервые за много лет выступили на одной сцене! Поводом стал концерт «I Love The 90s», проходивший в Бельгии. Чуть позже они выпустили совместный «In Da Name of Love»!

С наступлением нового года они выпустили «Nothing 2 Lose» — трек, который стал саундтреком к «Мрачному Амстердаму»! Позже было объявлено, что Рэй и Анита возвращаются к Де Костеру, и будут выступать как 2 Unlimited! Дуэт воссоединился! Началась череда живых выступлений, включая участие в фестивале Acceleration 2014 и выступление на «Супердискотеке 90-х» в России! Но в 2016 году на место Аниты приходит новая вокалистка: Ким Вергоувен. Так, полюбившаяся всем звезда 2 Unlimited была вынуждена уйти, чтобы заняться здоровья и сольной карьерой… Певице диагностировали рак груди. К счастью, после продолжительного лечения болезнь отступила.

Сольная карьера

Анита недавно записала несколько песен с ямайским исполнителем рагги Mad Cobra. У неё был скромный успех со своим вторым сольным синглом «Lifting Up My Life», который был выпущен в Голландии.

Но Анита была убеждена, что она сможет стать сольной певицей и добиться успеха в одиночку. В 2000 году она наконец выпустила свой первый сольный альбом Reality. Она написала большинство своих песен вместе с продюсерами Стивом Маком, Тоддом Терри (который также писал песни для Жослин Браун) и Адамски… Сессии записи для альбома проходили в Амстердаме, Лондоне и Нью-Йорке. Альбом содержит треки с элементами UKdance, поп, драм-н-бейс и даже химические биты! Как рассказала сама Анита, она выбрала разных продюсеров по уважительным причинам:

«В 2 Unlimited мы работали только с одним продюсером, который делал ставку лишь на определённый тип звука… Я не хочу возвращаться к этому. Разнообразие звуков, которые мы создали, работает на удивление хорошо! И мне это действительно нравится!»

2 Unlimited...
2 Unlimited…

В музыкальном плане Анита выбрала новое направление, частично вырвавшись из своего прошлого.

«Песни по-прежнему остались очень доступными и танцевальными, что также относится к материалу 2 Unlimited. Это хорошие поп-песни, но в основу этой записи легли влияния различных стилей современного танца… Это получился разноплановый альбом. Этот альбом действительно очень личный для меня… Это та музыка, которая мне нравится. После 2 Unlimited я просто хочу узнать, на что я способна! Но при этом я хочу оставаться тем, кто я есть… Просто я хочу доказать себе, что я тоже могу это делать самостоятельно. Это очень важно для меня. Как для сольная певица, я ещё ничего не доказала. Люди всё ещё видят меня как «Аниту из 2 Unlimited». Но я очень надеюсь, что люди начнут видеть меня как Аниту…»

Анита Дот сегодня…

В 2005 году Анита родила сына, которого они с мужем назвали Дестино! Вскоре она вернулась в Divas of Dance (временный проект певицы), и в 2006 году вышел клип Falling into the Groove:

Сейчас Анита активно занимается спортом по часу в день, чтобы сохранить свою форму. Как говорит сама певица, она считает себя «интеллектуальной личностью, любящей музыку Led Zeppelin и всю еду, в которой есть рис!» Певица также занимается благотворительностью… Вот такая она — сильная, великодушная и однозначно талантливая — эта Анита Дот!

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

6 + 1 =

Как Саманта Фокс стала горячей иконой 80-х и за что судилась с собственным отцом

Как сексуальная икона 80-х совмещала работу с религией – Саманта Фокс в удивительных фактах В 80-х молоденькая Саманта Фокс была сексуальной иконой. В неё влюблялись...

Эти глэм-метал группы покорили мировую арену – Вспоминаем главных «гламурных» металлистов

Топ любимых глэм-метал групп, которые покорили весь мир Глэм-метал возник на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов в США. Его главное отличие от других жанров –...

Liam Gallagher — «C’mon You Know» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «C'mon You Know» (2022) от Liam Gallagher  Лиам Галлахер поделился со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который называется «C'mon You Know» (2022). Пластинка включает...

Похожие статьи

INTELLIGENCY — «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022) от INTELLIGENCY Белорусская музыкальная группа INTELLIGENCY поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «TechnoBlues Therapy Part...

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...