Author:
Category:

They refused to play at Woodstock

We can safely say that Woodstock was a turning point in the careers of many artists - for example, for Santana, the festival became an incredible leap to the heights of the musical Olympus! But there were those who refused to speak ...

List of Artists Who Didn't Want to or Couldn't Play at Woodstock

"Woodstock" - one of the most significant festivals in the history of rock music. He took place in August 1969 of the year in rural New York State and lasted four days - from the 15th to the 18th. Despite the scale and historical value, Woodstock Music & Art Fair took place on one of the farms and did not differ in special prestige or competent organization. Nevertheless, he gathered under one sky half a million people and iconic stars of the time, including: Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Carlos Santana, Jefferson Airplane, The Who and many others!

These four days to this day it is considered to be one of the craziest, filled with illegal substances, love and tragedies ... We can safely say that "Woodstock" became turning point in the careers of many artists - for example, for Santana, the festival has become incredible leap to the heights of the musical Olympus! But there were those who refused to speak.

"The Doors"

The Doors in 1967. Photo: Bobby Klein/Doors Property, LLC/Rhino Entertainment
The Doors, 1967 Photo: Bobby Klein/Doors Property, LLC/Rhino Entertainment

"The Doors" they could easily set the Woodstock stage on fire and bring joy to hundreds of thousands of guests, but they refused to perform at the very last moment. The reason is simple: the group members decided that this event would be "a second-rate copy of the Monterey Pop Festival". Later they sincerely regretted. In one of the interviews Robbie Krieger will say:

“We were very stupid then. We refused to participate and later regretted it very much ... "

However, one member "The Doors", drummer John Densmore, nevertheless arrived at the festival. Densmore even got into a concert film: we can see John near the stage when it lights up Joe Cocker! Later, the musician shared his emotions:

“It was something… A huge crowd of people crowning the top of the hill, which was about a quarter of a mile from the stage! And The Doors didn't play. Well, I've been there!"

"Led Zeppelin"

Early Led Zeppelin
"Led Zeppelin"

In those years "Led Zeppelin" were not rock giants yet, but their superiority was already obvious.

The band was invited to Woodstock but turned down the offer to perform. Their manager Peter Grant decided that a solo concert was much more profitable, and therefore instead of Woodstock Music & Art Fair the group went in New Jersey. Grant later commented:

"I said "No". If we went to Woodstock, we'd be just another band on the list..."

The Beatles

The Beatles
The Beatles

The legendary Beatles were also invited to "Woodstock" and also withdrew. The true reason for the refusal to this day remains a mystery. It is known that the organizers contacted Lennon, but John answered their offer to speak sharply negative.

It is worth noting that during this period the group was on the verge of disintegration. Many argued that the cause of the discord was Yoko Ono, while others believed that Lennon had problems with immigration. One way or another, but one member of the legendary team still visited the festival - and this George Harrison!

The Rolling Stones

The Rolling Stones early in their career...
The Rolling Stones early in their career

The Rolling Stones also deprived hundreds of thousands of fans of a moment of joy. The shooting was due to Mick Jagger in the movie "Ned Kelly". The picture was not crowned with great success, and today few people even know about it.

But there is another, more positive reason for the refusal - at about the same time, Keith Richards a son was born.

Bob Dylan

Bob Dylan
Bob Dylan

Unlike other stars Bob Dylan really intended to perform at the festival and go down in history forever "Woodstock". But at the very last moment, his plans were disrupted: his son suddenly fell ill and was hospitalized. Of course, there was no talk of any concert. Like a true loving father, Dylan stayed to look after the child.

But other versions have been put forward. For example, many believe that Dylan abandoned "Woodstock" due to hippiewhich he literally couldn't stand! However, just a few weeks later, the artist performed at another large-scale festival, which was held on the Isle of Wight.

Jeff Beck Group

Jeff Beck Group
Jeff Beck Group

Band of the legendary virtuoso guitarist Jeff Beck became another in the list of those who left fans without a memorable spectacle. But the reason is more than fair: the team broke up literally the day before! Just a few days before Woodstock, the line-up left Nicky Hopkins, and this was the impetus to end the story Jeff Beck Group.

At the same time, Hopkins himself nevertheless took the most direct part in the festival - he performed with Jefferson Airplane!

"Chicago"

Group «Chicago»
Group «Chicago»

American rock band "Chicago" was determined to perform at Woodstock. But the plans of the young team, known in those years as "Chicago Transit Authority", were violated: their concert promoter simply took and transferred their performances to «Fillmore West» on the dates that Woodstock took place.

Later the band's then vocalist and bass player Peter Cetera will say:

“When we found out about this, we were beside ourselves with anger!”

"Iron Butterfly"

Band "Iron Butterfly"
Band "Iron Butterfly"

Another band that had to miss the festival through no fault of their own was "Iron Butterfly". Although ... To some extent, these guys are to blame for not getting on "Woodstock", because their rider included a rather interesting item - helicopter!

The organizers either could not afford it, or considered that Iron Butterfly were not such giants of the rock scene as to send a helicopter to them. In general, the group didn't wait your air transport. Later co-organizer Michael Lang will say:

“Probably the Iron Butterfly agent really thought these conditions were real for us. But we were already drowning in problems ... "

Joni Mitchell

Young and charming Joni Mitchell...
Young and beautiful Joni Mitchell

Charming Joni Mitchell wanted to perform at Woodstock, but the prudent manager convinced her. He advised Mitchell to conserve her strength before "The Dick Cavett Show", and the singer refused the festival concert.

The irony is that the song is about Woodstock, inspired by the experiences of her then boyfriend Graham Nash, became one of the biggest hits of Mitchell's career.

"Jethro Tull"

Band "Jethro Tull"
Band "Jethro Tull"

Perhaps the most interesting reason for refusing to participate in the festival is awarded to the group "Jethro Tull".

Participants were afraid to go to "Woodstock" due to naked womenthat they could see there. Having learned that there will be a lot of hippies at the event, the musicians came to this conclusion.

“I was told that there would be a lot of hippies, illegal substances, alcohol and naked women. I don't mind seeing a woman without clothes, but only in a more appropriate setting. So I said no. And I didn’t regret it: I think Woodstock could have been a negative experience for Jethro Tull, ”the leader of the group, Ian Anderson, shared his opinion.

Who else refused

Grace Slick (Grace Slick). 60s. Woodstock Festival
Grace Slick (Grace Slick). 60s. Woodstock Festival

In addition to all the artists and groups mentioned above, Woodstock was turned away Frank Zappawho got scared an abundance of dirt, "The Moody Blues"who have already been scheduled performance in Paris, "The Byrds"who considered him "primitive", as well as:

  • "Love"
  • "Tommy James & the Shondells"
  • Roy Rogers
  • Free
  • "Mind Garage"
  • "Procol Harum"
  • Spirit

The members of the latter team subsequently admitted that very sorry about their decision - supposedly they could not even imagine such the stunning scale of the festivalorganized in a muddy field on a farm. Well, if the influence "Woodstock" was known to everyone in advance, the musical history would obviously have been much richer. But it wasn't that interesting...

That song from "Bodyguard": the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Valery Didyulya was left without music

Valery Didiuli's Muse: how the musician's family broke up Often celebrity couples try not to give publicity to disagreements within the family. But sooner or later the stars also need ...

What I'd Say is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...
Related Articles

Muddy Waters and Mick Jagger rock out on stage - the best collab in blues history

Bluesmen Muddy Waters and Mick Jagger: biography, collaboration, joint performance Collaborations between rock musicians are not a new phenomenon. The Beatles and Eric Clapton, Queen and David...

The story of a sweet-voiced beauty: Hope Sandoval

All about singer Hope Sandoval: youth, star rise and success Sometimes underground artists don't want to become famous because the big labels that find them after some...

The Residents - the most mysterious rock band in history

All about the band The Residents: the history of emergence, mystique and style In the music industry, there are quite a few musicians who have become popular due to their originality. Such performers are usually...

Lemmy Kilmister and his best movie roles

All about Lemmy Kilmister: band success, movie roles, biopic about the legend Rock stars who have made music their life and made huge contributions to the genre have shown...

The famous hit of the band "Zero," the clip to which everyone has seen

History of the song "I'm Coming, Smoking" by the band "Zero": interesting facts, clip "Song about unrequited love for the Motherland" is an album with unconditional hits, which is among the iconic...

Автор:
Категория:

Они отказались играть на «Вудстоке»

Можно смело заявить, что «Вудсток» стал переломным моментом в карьере многих артистов — например, для Сантаны фестиваль стал невероятным прыжком к вершинам музыкального олимпа! Но были и те, кто отказался выступать...

Список артистов, которые не захотели или не смогли сыграть на «Вудстоке»

«Вудсток» — один из самых значимых фестивалей за всю историю рок-музыки. Состоялся он в августе 1969 года в сельской местности штата Нью-Йорк и длился четыре дня — с 15-е по 18-е число. Несмотря на масштаб и историческую ценность, «Woodstock Music & Art Fair» проходил на одной из ферм и не отличался особым престижем или грамотной организованностью. Тем не менее он собрал под одним небом полмиллиона человек и культовых звёзд того времени, в числе которых: Дженис Джоплин, Джими Хендрикс, Карлос Сантана, «Jefferson Airplane», «The Who» и многие другие!

Эти четыре дня по сей день принято считать одними из самых безумных, наполненных запрещёнными веществами, любовью и трагедиями… Можно смело заявить, что «Вудсток» стал переломным моментом в карьере многих артистов — например, для Сантаны фестиваль стал невероятным прыжком к вершинам музыкального олимпа! Но были и те, кто отказался выступать.

«The Doors»

The Doors в 1967. Фото: Bobby Klein/Doors Property, LLC/Rhino Entertainment
«The Doors», 1967 год. Фото: Bobby Klein/Doors Property, LLC/Rhino Entertainment

«The Doors» запросто могли бы зажечь сцену «Вудстока» и подарить радость сотням тысяч гостей, но отказались от выступления в самый последний момент. Причина проста: участники группы решили, что данное мероприятие будет «второсортной копией Монтерейского поп-фестиваля». Позже они об этом искренне пожалели. В одном из интервью Робби Кригер скажет:

«Мы были очень глупы тогда. Мы отказались от участия и позже очень пожалели об этом…»

Тем не менее один участник «The Doors», барабанщик Джон Денсмор, всё же прибыл на фестиваль. Денсмор даже попал в концертный фильм: мы можем заметить Джона возле сцены, когда на ней зажигает Джо Кокер! Позже музыкант делился своими эмоциями:

«Это было что-то… Огромная толпа людей, венчающая вершину холма, что был примерно в четверти мили от сцены! И «The Doors» не играли. Что ж, зато я там побывал!»

«Led Zeppelin»

Ранние Led Zeppelin
«Led Zeppelin»

В те годы «Led Zeppelin» ещё не были рок-гигантами, однако их превосходство уже было очевидно.

Группа была приглашена на «Вудсток», однако предложение выступить отклонила. Их менеджер Питер Грант решил, что сольный концерт куда выгоднее, а потому вместо «Woodstock Music & Art Fair» группа отправилась в Нью-Джерси. Позже Грант прокомментировал:

«Я сказал «нет». Если бы мы отправились на «Вудсток», то были бы просто очередной группой в списке…»

«The Beatles»

The Beatles
«The Beatles»

Легендарные битлы тоже были приглашены на «Вудсток» и также отказались от выступления. Истинная причина отказа по сей день остаётся загадкой. Известно, что организаторы связались с Ленноном, но на их предложение выступить Джон ответил резко отрицательно.

Стоит отметить, что в этот период группа была на грани распада. Многие утверждали, что виной разлада была Йоко Оно, в то время как другие считали, что у Леннона были проблемы с иммиграцией. Так или иначе, а один участник легендарного коллектива всё же побывал на фестивале — и это Джордж Харрисон!

«The Rolling Stones»

Группа Rolling Stones в начале своей карьеры...
Группа «The Rolling Stones» в начале своей карьеры

«The Rolling Stones» тоже лишили сотни тысяч поклонников момента радости. Виной тому послужили съёмки Мика Джаггера в фильме «Нед Келли». Картина не увенчалась большим успехом, и сегодня о ней мало кто вообще знает.

Но есть и ещё одна, более позитивная причина отказа — примерно в это же время у Кита Ричардса родился сын.

Боб Дилан

Боб Дилан (Bob Dylan)
Боб Дилан (Bob Dylan)

В отличие от других звёзд, Боб Дилан действительно был намерен выступить на фестивале и навсегда войти в историю «Вудстока». Но в самый последний момент его планы были нарушены: его сын внезапно заболел и был госпитализирован. Разумеется, ни о каком концерте и речи идти не могло. Как истинный любящий отец, Дилан остался присматривать за ребёнком.

Но были выдвинуты и другие версии. Например, многие считают что Дилан отказался от «Вудстока» из-за хиппи, которых он буквально не мог терпеть! Впрочем, всего через несколько недель артист выступил на другом масштабном фестивале, который проходил на острове Уайт.

«Jeff Beck Group»

«Jeff Beck Group»
«Jeff Beck Group»

Группа легендарного гитариста-виртуоза Джеффа Бека стала ещё одной в списке тех, кто оставил поклонников без запоминающегося зрелища. Но причина более чем справедливая: коллектив распался буквально накануне! Всего за несколько дней до «Вудстока» состав покинул Ники Хопкинс, и это послужило толчком завершить историю «Jeff Beck Group».

При этом сам Хопкинс всё же принял самое непосредственное участие в фестивале — он выступил с «Jefferson Airplane»!

«Chicago»

Группа «Chicago»
Группа «Chicago»

Американская рок-группа «Chicago» была полна решимости выступить на «Вудстоке». Но планы молодого коллектива, известного в те годы как «Chicago Transit Authority», были нарушены: их концертный промоутер просто взял и перенёс их выступления в «Fillmore West» на те числа, в которые и проходил «Вудсток».

Позже тогдашний вокалист и бас-гитарист группы Питер Сетера скажет:

«Когда мы об этом узнали, то были вне себя от злости!»

«Iron Butterfly»

Группа «Iron Butterfly»
Группа «Iron Butterfly»

Ещё одной группой, которой пришлось пропустить фестиваль не по своей вине, стали «Iron Butterfly». Хотя… В какой-то степени эти ребята сами виноваты, что не попали на «Вудсток», ибо их райдер включал довольно интересный пункт — вертолёт!

Организаторы то ли не смогли себе этого позволить, то ли сочли, что «Iron Butterfly» не такие уж и гиганты рок-сцены, чтобы им вертолёт высылать. В общем, группа так и не дождалась своего воздушного транспорта. Позже соорганизатор Майкл Ланг скажет:

«Наверное, агент «Iron Butterfly» действительно считал эти условия реальными для нас. Но мы и без того тонули в проблемах…»

Джони Митчелл

Молодая и очаровательная Джони Митчелл...
Молодая и прекрасная Джони Митчелл

Очаровательная Джони Митчелл хотела выступить на «Вудстоке», но предусмотрительный менеджер переубедил её. Он посоветовал Митчелл поберечь силы перед «Шоу Дика Каветта», и певица отказалась от фестивального концерта.

Ирония заключается в том, что песня о «Вудстоке», вдохновлённая впечатлениями её тогдашнего бойфренда Грэма Нэша, стала одним из самых успешных хитов в карьере Митчелл.

«Jethro Tull»

Группа «Jethro Tull»
Группа «Jethro Tull»

Пожалуй, самая интересная причина отказа от участия в фестивале присуждается группе «Jethro Tull».

Участники побоялись ехать на «Вудсток» из-за обнажённых женщин, которых они могли там увидеть. Узнав, что на мероприятии будет много хиппи, музыканты пришли именно к такому выводу.

«Мне сказали, что там будет много хиппи, запрещённых веществ, алкоголя и голых женщин. Я не против увидеть женщину без одежды, но только в более подходящей для этого обстановке. Поэтому я ответил отказом. И я не пожалел об этом: мне кажется, для «Jethro Tull» «Вудсток» мог бы стать негативным опытом», — поделился своим мнение лидер группы, Иэн Андерсон.

Кто ещё отказался

Грейс Слик (Grace Slick). 60-е. Фестиваль «Вудсток»
Грейс Слик (Grace Slick). 60-е. Фестиваль «Вудсток»

Помимо всех выше упомянутых артистов и групп, от «Вудстока» отвернулись Фрэнк Заппа, который испугался обилия грязи, «The Moody Blues», у которых уже было намечено выступление в Париже, «The Byrds», посчитавшие его «примитивным», а также:

  • «Love»
  • «Tommy James & the Shondells»
  • Рой Роджерс
  • «Free»
  • «Mind Garage»
  • «Procol Harum»
  • «Spirit»

Участники последнего коллектива впоследствии признавались, что очень пожалели о своём решении — якобы они и представить себе не могли столь ошеломляющий масштаб фестиваля, организованного в грязном поле на ферме. Что ж, если бы влияние «Вудстока» было известно всем заранее, музыкальная история явно была бы гораздо богаче. Но это не было так интересно…

Настоящий народный кумир: Джо Дассен и Россия

Всё о Джо Дассене: ранние годы, хиты и любовь к России Несмотря на то, что многие артисты часто покидали Россию потому, что им не давали...

Лучший альбом Кена Хенсли, который поклонники Uriah Heep не слушают, а помнят наизусть

Всё об альбоме «Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf»: история создания, треки, успех Нередко музыканты, долго играющие в группе, хотят начать сольную деятельность. Некоторые из...

Самые сильные альбомы в русском роке за период 90-х по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» – Топ-6

Топ 6 самых крутых российских рок-альбомов в 90-е по версии «Fuzz Music» В 1990-е годы музыка оказалась на переломе эпох. Важные политические события в истории...
Похожие статьи

Брук Шилдс была разочарована – кому на самом деле Джордж Майкл посвятил «Careless Whisper»

«Careless Whisper»: величайший хит 80-х, история его создания и главная вдохновительница  Джорджа Майкла Ох уж этот «Беспечный шепот», затронувший сердца миллионов слушателей со всех...

Лучано Паваротти: история культового лирического тенора Италии

Биография итальянского певца Лучано Паваротти: детство, карьера, наследие Мелодичная Италия подарила миру самый музыкальный язык и добавила в музыкально-театральный жанр оперы много красок. Несмотря на...

Они пели о том, что окружало людей в 90-х – вспоминаем главные хиты «Комбинации»: Топ-5

Топ-5 лучших песен группы «Комбинация» Культовая для поколения «дефицитных» 90-х годов группа «Комбинация» начала свою деятельность в конце 80-х. Несмотря на пройденные года, в душе...

Очаровательная Эммилу Харрис – легенда кантри

Кантри-певица Эммилу Харрис: биография, творчество, дискография, награды Фолк- и кантри-музыка зачастую остаются за бортом популярности, какую имеют другие жанры музыки, в частности рок или хип-хоп....

Они пели о том, что касалось каждого: «Комбинация» – самая актуальная поп-группа 90-х

Всё о группе «Комбинация»: история создания, концерты, современность На рубеже 80-х и 90-х годов многое меняется на отечественной сцене. На место строгих и трогательных песен...

Больше, чем товарищи по цеху: культовые группы, которые никогда не меняли состав

Рок-группы, никогда не менявшие состав участников – список, фото и имена, интересные факты История музыки знает огромное количество рок-групп. Эта форма музицирования в настоящее время...

Часть 2. «Жизнь на дороге»: чем занялся Брайан Джонсон в старости

Брайан Джонсон: карьера и её завершение, новые проекты  После завершения карьеры рок-музыканты либо уходят в отставку и больше уделяют времени себе, либо стараются заниматься новыми...

Та самая песня из «Телохранителя»: смысл оказался глубже

Всё о песне «I Will Always Love You»: история создания, исполнение, успех Часто случается так, что между артистами, исполнившими одну песню, но в разных стилях,...

Валерий Дидюля остался без музы

Муза Валерия Дидюли: как произошёл распад семьи музыканта Часто звёздные пары пытаются не придавать огласке разногласия внутри семьи. Но рано или поздно звёздам тоже необходима...