Author:
Category:

How one of the last songs John Lennon and Paul McCartney wrote together became a dark classic

"Baby's in Black" is about sadness and mourning and perfectly captures the distance between Lennon and McCartney...

The history of the "Beatles" "Baby's in Black": idea and meaning, recording

"Baby's in Black" - cult song The Beatles, which successfully complemented the albums "Beatles for Sale" and Beatles '65 (both 1964 Year of release). The composition is unique in that it was written John Lennon and Paul McCartney: by that time their duet had broken up and each wrote the material separately. Despite the pleasant melody, the song contains sad lyrics and a mood of melancholy. "Baby's in Black" is about sadness and mourning, and perfectly captures the distance between Lennon and McCartney...

Source of inspiration

John Lennon and Paul McCartney
John Lennon and Paul McCartney

In 1964 year Lennon and McCartney began to write material separately. Almost all early tracks The Beatles were created by the author's duet, which became one of the most famous and successful in the history of music! Each composition, born in hotel rooms or on the band's tour bus, was flawless... It was obvious that these two put a lot of effort and inspiration into their new creations, which quickly gained success! However, this success led to a lot of pressure, and by the time they started working on "Beatles for Sale", Lennon and McCartney helped each other only when there was an urgent need for it. "Baby's in Black" truly unique, because it is one of the rare masterpieces of that period, written by musicians together! According to John, he and Paul wrote this song "together in the same room":

"Baby's in Black" was written by us in collaboration, and we both sang it. We really liked this composition. This song has a particularly good middle! It was not so much work as trust in each other ... "

Studio recording

The Beatles
The Beatles

"Baby's in Black" became the first song recorded for the record "Beatles for Sale". It only took one session to record. In an attempt to achieve a perfect result, it was used 14 takes! However, only five of them were completed. Lennon and McCartney sang their parts together, into the same microphone, and it created a sense of closeness on the track...

Some problems arose with the opening guitar note: when the track was completed, George Harrison recorded several fragments consisting of variations of the note. However, none of them was ever used.

true meaning

Ringo Starr and Astrid Kirchherr
Ringo Starr and Astrid Kirchherr

In fact, a very depressing theme is hidden under the cheerful music. The song is about a man who pursues a woman he likes. His lover does not reciprocate, as she is still mourning her previous lover. Because of this, she always dresses in black... When "Baby's in Black" came out, everyone was amazed at the depth of the texts! It seemed that this composition showed the audience a new, sentimental side of the group. Here's what he said Paul McCartney in one of his interviews:

“This song is about a girl in black. She dressed like this because the guy she loves has left this world. "Baby's in Black" is sung from the point of view of a man who really likes this girl, but his attempts to get closer to her lead to nothing ... "

There are suggestions that the heroine of the song was inspired by Astrid Kirchherr - a German artist and photographer, with whom The Beatles met and soon became friends during one of their trips to Hamburg. During this period, Kirchherr began a romantic relationship with Stuart Sutcliffe, the original bassist. The couple got engaged, but unfortunately, the guy died of a brain hemorrhage in April 1962 of the year.

Stuart Sutcliffe and Astrid Kirchherr
Stuart Sutcliffe and Astrid Kirchherr

Astrid mourned him for a long time, not knowing what to do now ... For Lennon and McCartney, this image became the center of a surprisingly dark song.

Live performance

The song has become an integral number in all live performances of the group! The Beatles performed it until their final concert, which took place on August 29, 1966 at Candlestick Park in San Francisco. "Baby's in Black" also sounded from stadiums Shea and "Hollywood Bowl". The last version was included in the album "Live At The Hollywood Bowl" as a bonus track in 2016.

Cover versions

In the mid-60s, a group presented their version "Charles River Valley Boys". The cover was included in the album "Beatle Country", which featured interpretations of many other Fab Four songs. Did not pass by the gloomy lyrics and the British team "The Applejacks":

Pretty good cover Reuben Blades, whose plate "Amor Y Control" was nominated for Grammy Awards:

Conclusion

The optimistic rhythm of this composition resembles a ray of light that Lennon and McCartney tried to send to a dark place ...

“I think John and I wanted to do something bluesy, a little dark, grown-up, and not just pop music. By the way, our favorite color was also black!” McCartney commented.

1 COMMENT

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Домой Хиты Хиты 60-х Как одна из последних песен, написанных Джоном Ленноном и Полом Маккартни вместе, стала мрачной классикой

Как одна из последних песен, написанных Джоном Ленноном и Полом Маккартни вместе, стала мрачной классикой

1
Как одна из последних песен, написанных Джоном Ленноном и Полом Маккартни вместе, стала мрачной классикой
Ринго Старр, Астрид Кирхгерр и Джон Леннон

История «битловской» «Baby’s in Black»: идея и смысл, запись

«Baby’s in Black» — песня культовых «Битлз», которая удачно дополнила альбомы «Beatles for Sale» и «Beatles ’65» (оба 1964 года выпуска). Композиция уникальна тем, что была написана Джоном Ленноном и Полом Маккартни: к тому времени их авторский дуэт распался и каждый писал материал по отдельности. Несмотря на приятную мелодию, песня содержит грустные тексты и настроение меланхолии. В «Baby’s in Black» поётся о печали и трауре, и в ней идеально отражено отдаление Леннона и Маккартни друг от друга…

Источник вдохновения

Джон Леннон и Пол Маккартни
Джон Леннон и Пол Маккартни

В 1964 году Леннон и Маккартни начали писать материал по отдельности. Почти все ранние треки «The Beatles» были созданы авторским дуэтом, который стал одним из наиболее известных и успешных в истории музыки! Каждая композиция, рождённая в гостиничных номерах или в туристическом автобусе группы, была безупречна… Было очевидно, что эти двое вкладывали много сил и вдохновения в свои новые творения, которые очень быстро обретали успех! Однако этот успех привёл к большому давлению, и к тому времени, когда они начали работу над «Beatles for Sale», Леннон и Маккартни помогали друг другу только тогда, когда в этом возникала острая необходимость. «Baby’s in Black» поистине уникальна, ведь это один из редких шедевров того периода, написанный музыкантами совместно! По рассказам Джона, они с Полом написали эту песню «вместе в одной комнате»:

«Baby’s in Black» была написана нами в соавторстве, и мы оба её спели. Нам эта композиция очень понравилась. У этой песни особенно хороша середина! Это была не столько работа, сколько доверие друг к другу…»

Запись в студии

The Beatles
The Beatles

«Baby’s in Black» стала первой песней, записанной для пластинки «Beatles for Sale». На её запись понадобился всего один сеанс. В попытках добиться совершенного результата было использовано 14 дублей! Однако оказались завершены лишь пять из них. Леннон и Маккартни спели свои партии вместе, в один микрофон, и это создало ощущение близости на треке…

Некоторые проблемы возникли со вступительной гитарной нотой: когда трек был завершён, Джордж Харрисон записал несколько фрагментов, состоящих из вариаций ноты. Однако ни один из них так и не был использован.

Истинный смысл

Ринго Старр и Астрид Кирхгерр
Ринго Старр и Астрид Кирхгерр

На самом деле под весёлой музыкой скрыта весьма удручающая тема. Песня рассказывает о мужчине, который преследует понравившуюся ему женщину. Его возлюбленная не отвечает взаимным интересом, так как всё ещё оплакивает своего предыдущего любовника. Из-за этого она всегда одевается в чёрное… Когда «Baby’s in Black» вышла, все были поражены глубиной текстов! Казалось, эта композиция продемонстрировала публике новую, сентиментальную сторону группы. Вот что рассказал Пол Маккартни в одном из своих интервью:

«В этой песне говорится о девушке в чёрном. Она одевалась так, потому что парень, которого она любит, покинул этот мир. «Baby’s in Black» поётся от лица мужчины, которому очень нравится эта девушка, но его попытки сблизиться с ней ни к чему не приводят…»

Есть предположения, что героиня песни была вдохновлена Астрид Кирхгерр — немецкой художницей и фотографом, с которой «The Beatles» познакомились и вскоре подружились во время одной из своих поездок в Гамбург. В этот период Кирхгерр начала романтические отношения со Стюартом Сатклиффом, оригинальным басистом. Пара обручилась, но, к сожалению, парень скончался от кровоизлияния в мозг в апреле 1962 года.

Стюарт Сатклифф и Астрид Кирхгерр
Стюарт Сатклифф и Астрид Кирхгерр

Астрид долго оплакивала его, не зная, что теперь делать… Для Леннона и Маккартни этот образ стал центром удивительно мрачной песни.

Живое исполнение

Песня стала неотъемлемым номером на всех живых выступлениях группы! «Битлз» исполняли её вплоть до своего финального концерта, который состоялся 29 августа 1966 года в «Candlestick Park» в Сан-Франциско. «Baby’s in Black» также прозвучала со стадионов «Shea» и «Hollywood Bowl». Последняя версия вошла в альбом «Live At The Hollywood Bowl» в качестве бонус-трека в 2016 году.

Кавер-версии

В середине 60-х свою версию представила группа «Charles River Valley Boys». Кавер вошёл в альбом «Beatle Country», в котором были представлены интерпретации многих других песен ливерпульской четвёрки. Не прошёл мимо мрачной лирики и британский коллектив «The Applejacks»:

Довольно удачный кавер получился у Рубена Блейдса, чья пластинка «Amor Y Control» была номинирована на «Грэмми»:

Заключение

Оптимистичный ритм этой композиции напоминает луч света, который Леннон и Маккартни пытались направить в покрытое мраком место…

«Думаю, мы с Джоном хотели сделать что-то блюзовое, немного мрачное, взрослое, а не просто поп-музыку. Кстати, наш любимый цвет тоже был чёрный!» — прокомментировал Маккартни.

9kFollowers

1 КОММЕНТАРИЙ

  1. То самое “что-то блюзовое” – это помимо прочего ещё и ритмические “три четверти”… читай, вальс. Достаточно редкая, скажу, в поп-музыке оказия – на моей памяти разве что культовые вальсовки в исполнении Хампердинка и том-джонсовская “Лайла”.

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

60 − 52 =