Author:
Category:

Alien Skies: The Touring Story of Wham! in China

The "Wham!" concert in China was a landmark event, a kind of "cultural revolution," but with a new meaning. It opened the way to China for other musicians who had never dared to visit the Celestial Empire before. For the Chinese audience it was not just a performance by a fashionable band, but something much more.

How George Michael's band became the first Western group to perform in the Celestial Empire

In 1985. British pop group "Wham!" played her first concert in China. This has become landmark eventbecause Wham! were the first Western performers to be able to go to to this closed country in those days.

China in 1985

Until the 1980s, there were no speeches in China. None of the Western musicians because of ideological differences and the closed nature of the country. In 1985, the country was coming to its senses after The Cultural RevolutionThe fact that it was one of the destabilizing factors in the area of cultures, and began to open up to the world. It was at this transitional moment for China that the leaders of the pop scene "Wham!" come to the country for ten-day tour.

Popularity "Wham!" at the time

Many people compare Wham!'s rise in popularity on the world stage to the effect of of an exploding bomb. Duo George Michael and Andrew Ridgely by that time had released  two albumsThe album is a great success, with tracks that have topped the U.S. and European charts. Hit "Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go" is considered one of the guys' most popular compositions, and without "Last Christmas." has not been a part of Christmas celebrations for 35 years!

So the whole world can see that "Wham! - best known group in the world (rather than, for example, "Depeche Mode or "Duran Duran."), the band's manager decided to organize concerts in China.

Long time Simon Napier-Bell convinced Chinese officials that it was his wards who were worthy of representing western culture. The choice was between "Wham!" and the then mega-popular "Queen."who also didn't mind performing in front of a Chinese audience. The team manager even I decided on a ruse.: He handed out pamphlets to Chinese officials that showed Queen in a bad way. There were pictures of MercuryThe members of Wham! were represented in another pamphlet. The members of Wham! in another pamphlet were represented as coming from working class.

"Wham" on the Great Wall of China
"Wham!" on the Great Wall of China

Chinese Tour: How It Happened

These concerts have become eventwhich Chinese up to the present day recall with special emotions. Every little thing Surprised and caused a mute rapture: a different style of dress, long hair, bright colors - the Chinese usually dressed in things blue, gray, and green.

Of course, music even more surprised the audience. According to the recollections of the Chinese, it was a real cultural shock! After all, they're used to artists just stand still on the stage. It was accepted that the audience sit quietly at concerts, I don't sing alongand don't move to the beat of the tune. A stunned audience Beginning at get up from the field and stomp to the beat of the music, to which she immediately reacted Police. Somehow, after a sporting event, the public flipped the carwhich stood not far from the stadium. That's why since then the law enforcers feared of anything excitement.

Wham fans at a concert in China, 1985
Fans of "Wham!" at a concert in Beijing, 1985

Also in China at that time there was no no nightlife - в 20:30 it was necessary be at home. It is interesting that even for guitar playing could have been blamed in hooliganism!

George Michael's memories of the trip

George Michael recalls:

"The main purpose of our visit to China was to show its people our wonderful culture. However, upon arriving in the Celestial Empire, I realized how much these intentions were child's dreams. The reality turned out to be much more prosaic. The Chinese government hypocritically declared their willingness to accept Western music, but in fact wanted to impose their culture on the West. It was just a blatant lie and nothing more. If I could turn back time, I would probably mark this tour. I don't think I'll ever go back there. Not in this lifetime, anyway!"

George continues:

"We generally had doubts about the intelligence of the Chinese. I used to agree with the socialist views a little bit. But after seeing them put into practice, I can say that it's all bullshit! It turns out that their bureaucrats are the same as in all other countries. At every opportunity they wanted to rip us off. After all, if we come from the West, we have to pay for absolutely everything. In many managers, capitalism is much more pronounced than in their Western counterparts. I would call it innate greed.

According to the group's calculations, this trip brought them considerable losses. million dollars! The only consolation was that they were able to show the Chinese something new. In other words, the tour brought exclusively moral satisfaction and nothing else.

"We really wanted to make history. We were the first, and not necessarily the last, Western artists to come to China. Naturally, it was very satisfying!" - George resents.

"Wham" in Tiananmen Square, Beijing, 1985
"Wham" in Tiananmen Square, Beijing, 1985

The result of the Chinese tour

Back homeWham!" continued to be at the top of the popularity scale. In many Interview the team emotionally Criticized hypocrisy and Backwardness The Celestial Empire, the materialism of politicians and corruption.

Of course, after the Wham! performances, people did not protest in the streets. But still, it was. landmark eventA kind of "cultural revolution," but with a new meaning. The road to China has opened up other musicianswho had previously hesitated to visit the Celestial Empire. For Chinese viewers it was more than just a performance a fashionable group, but something much more. After all western music extremely contrasted with everything they had heard before.

Memory about this on a historic trip preserved in the documentary "Wham! in China: Foreign Skies" ("Wham! in China: Alien Heaven") and a colorful music video for the song "Freedom.".

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...

The strongest albums in Russian rock in the 90s according to Fuzz Music magazine - Top 6

Top 6 Coolest Russian Rock Albums of the 90s by Fuzz Music In the 1990s, music was on the cusp of an era. Important political events in the history of...

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...
Related Articles

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Valery Didyulya was left without music

Valery Didiuli's Muse: how the musician's family broke up Often celebrity couples try not to give publicity to disagreements within the family. But sooner or later the stars also need ...

"What I'd Say" is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...

Автор:

Категория:

Чужие небеса: история гастролей группы «Wham!» в Китае

Концерт «Wham!» в Китае было знаковым событием, некой «культурной революцией», но с новым смыслом. В Китай открылась дорога другим музыкантам, которые раньше не решались на визит в Поднебесную. Для китайских зрителей это было не просто выступление модной группы, а нечто значительно большее.

Как группа Джорджа Майкла стала первым западным коллективом, который выступил в Поднебесной

В 1985 году британская поп-группа «Wham!» отыграла свой первый концерт в Китае. Это стало знаковым событием, поскольку «Wham!» были первыми западными исполнителями, которым удалось попасть в эту закрытую в те времена страну.

Китай в 1985 году

До 80-х годов в Китае не выступал никто из западных музыкантов из-за идеологических разногласий и закрытости страны. В 1985 году страна приходила в себя после Культурной революции, что была одним из дестабилизирующих факторов в сфере культуры, и начинала открываться миру. Именно в этот переходный для Китая момент лидеры поп-сцены «Wham!» приезжают в страну для десятидневного турне.

Популярность «Wham!» в то время

Многие сравнивают рост популярности группы «Wham!» на мировой эстраде с эффектом разорвавшейся бомбы. Дуэт Джорджа Майкла и Эндрю Риджли к тому времени выпустили  два альбома, треки из которых возглавили американские и европейские чарты. Хит «Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go» считается одной из самых популярных композиций парней, а без «Last Christmas» не обходится празднование Рождества уже 35 лет!

Чтобы весь мир увидел, что именно «Wham!» — самая известная группа в мире (а не, например, «Depeche Mode» или «Duran Duran»), менеджер группы решил организовать концерты в Китае.

Долгое время Симон Напьер-Белл убеждал китайских чиновников, что именно его подопечные достойны представлять западную культуру. Выбор стоял между «Wham!» и мегапопулярной в те времена «Queen», которые тоже были не против выступить перед китайской аудиторией. Менеджер команды даже решился на хитрость: он раздал китайским чиновникам брошюры, где «Queen» были показаны не лучшим образом. Там были фотографии Меркьюри, одетого в кожу, в провокационных позах. Участники «Wham!» в другой брошюре были представлены выходцами из рабочего класса.

«Wham» на Великой Китайской стене
«Wham!» на Великой Китайской стене

Китайские гастроли: как это было

Эти концерты стали событием, которое китайцы по сегодняшний день вспоминают с особенными эмоциями. Каждая мелочь удивляла и вызывала немой восторг: другой стиль одежды, длинные волосы, яркие цвета – китайцы обычно одевались в вещи синего, серого и зелёного цвета.

Конечно, музыка ещё больше удивила публику. По воспоминаниям китайцев, это был настоящий культурный шок! Ведь они привыкли, что артисты просто смирно стоят на сцене. Принято было, что зрители спокойно сидят на концертах, не подпевают и не двигаются в такт мелодии. Потрясённая публика начала вставать с мест и топать в такт музыке, на что сразу же реагировала милиция. Как-то после спортивных состязаний публика перевернула автомобиль, который стоял недалеко от стадиона. Поэтому с тех пор правоохранители опасались каких-либо волнений.

Поклонницы «Wham» на концерте в Китае, 1985 год
Поклонницы «Wham!» на концерте в Пекине, 1985 год

Также в Китае в то время вообще не было никакой ночной жизнив 20:30 необходимо было быть дома. Интересно, что даже за игру на гитаре могли обвинить в хулиганстве!

Воспоминания Джорджа Майкла о поездке

Джордж Майкл вспоминает:

«Главной целью нашего визита в Китай было желание показать его жителям нашу замечательную культуру. Однако, приехав в Поднебесную, я осознал, насколько все эти намерения — детские грёзы. Реальность оказалась значительно прозаичнее. Представители китайского правительства лицемерно заявляли о готовности принять западную музыку, а на самом деле хотели навязать Западу свою культуру. Это было просто наглое враньё и не больше. Если бы я мог вернуть время вспять, то, скорее всего, отметил бы это турне. Не думаю, что когда-то туда вернусь. Во всяком случае, в этой жизни!»

Джордж продолжает:

«У нас вообще возникали сомнения в умственных способностях китайцев. Раньше я немного соглашался с социалистическими взглядами. Но, увидев их воплощение на практике, могу сказать, что всё это — полное дерьмо! Оказывается, их чиновники такие же, как и во всех других странах. При каждой возможности они стремились обобрать нас как липку. Ведь если мы приехали с Запада, то должны платить абсолютно за всё. Во многих руководителей капиталистичность проявляется значительно больше, чем у их западных коллег. Я бы назвал это прирожденной жадностью».

По расчётам группы, это путешествие принесло им немалые убытки — миллион долларов! Утешала только мысль, что они смогли показать китайцам что-то новое. Иными словами, турне принесло исключительно моральное удовлетворение и ничего больше.

«Нам очень хотелось войти в историю. Мы стали первыми, и не факт, что не последними западными артистами, которые приехали в Китай. Естественно, это было очень приятно!» — негодует Джордж.

«Wham» на площади Тяньаньмэнь, Пекин, 1985 год
«Wham» на площади Тяньаньмэнь, Пекин, 1985 год

Результат китайского турне

Вернувшись домой, «Wham!» и дальше пребывали на вершине популярности. Во многих интервью коллектив эмоционально критиковал лицемерие и отсталость Поднебесной, материализм политиков и коррупцию.

Конечно, после выступлений «Wham!» люди не вышли с протестами на улицу. Но всё же это было знаковое событие, некая «культурная революция», но с новым смыслом. В Китай открылась дорога другим музыкантам, которые раньше не решались на визит в Поднебесную. Для китайских зрителей это было не просто выступление модной группы, а нечто значительно большее. Ведь западная музыка чрезвычайно контрастировала со всем, что они раньше слышали.

Память об этой исторической поездке сохранена в документальном фильме «Wham! in China: Foreign Skies» («Wham! в Китае: Чужие небеса») и колоритном клипе на песню «Freedom».

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

− 1 = 2

Как Саманта Фокс стала горячей иконой 80-х и за что судилась с собственным отцом

Как сексуальная икона 80-х совмещала работу с религией – Саманта Фокс в удивительных фактах В 80-х молоденькая Саманта Фокс была сексуальной иконой. В неё влюблялись...

Эти глэм-метал группы покорили мировую арену – Вспоминаем главных «гламурных» металлистов

Топ любимых глэм-метал групп, которые покорили весь мир Глэм-метал возник на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов в США. Его главное отличие от других жанров –...

Liam Gallagher — «C’mon You Know» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «C'mon You Know» (2022) от Liam Gallagher  Лиам Галлахер поделился со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который называется «C'mon You Know» (2022). Пластинка включает...

Похожие статьи

INTELLIGENCY — «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022) от INTELLIGENCY Белорусская музыкальная группа INTELLIGENCY поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «TechnoBlues Therapy Part...

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...