Author:
Category:

Bella Ciao (Bella Chao) - Italian folk song

"Bella Ciao" is an Italian hit with a rich and mysterious history.

History of the iconic anthem "Bella Ciao" (Bella Ciao)

"Bella Ciao" (meaning "Goodbye Beauty" in Italian) is a well-known Italian folk song that dates back to the end of the 19th century. There are several versions of its appearance, one of which says that the song was born among the workers who worked for long days in the rice fields that stretch along the Po River.

How the Mondin version was created ...

Rice cultivation is very hard work, forcing people to stand in knee-deep water for hours with their backs bent. The most annoying thing is that this work was low-paid. As you might guess, sometimes hard workers staged riots and uprisings, which, in fact, was a common occurrence at that time. Over time, the working song has not sunk into oblivion, but on the contrary, it has been actively developing throughout the history of Italy, gaining popularity among new generations. During World War II, the text of "Bella Ciao" underwent some changes - now the old song sounded like a hymn of resistance to the fascist regime of Mussolini and his Nazi allies. Since then, the working song has been reborn into an anthem, which is widely famous throughout Europe.

As mentioned above, some believe that the first "Bella Ciao" was performed at the end of the 19th century by the women of Northern Italy. At that time, these women were called Mondinas (draughtsmen). As it is not difficult to guess, they worked in the rice fields: they planted grains of the plant of the same name, removed harmful weeds. The Mondins had to work almost all day, bending their backs, with their bare feet knee-deep in the water.

The work was really very tiring, requiring great physical endurance. But Mondinas had to put up with it, since they belonged to the poorest sections of society. To feed themselves and their families, these poor women had to work in truly inhumane conditions.

This is what the work of Mondinas (draughtsmen) looked like...
This is what the work of Mondinas (draughtsmen) looked like.

But even in spite of their humility and devotion to work, Mondinas women received tiny wages, on which they barely managed to survive. Sometimes, or rather, quite often, this led to riots and uprisings. But, as a rule, such measures did not lead to anything good. The rebels were immediately fired, since the population of Italy in those years was predominantly poor, which means it was not difficult to find a new “slave”. And why were they looking for? They came and asked for work.

But back to the song. "Bella Ciao" was composed and performed by working women in protest. It is a kind of hymn of struggle. Women sang about the hard life, and in the phrase "Bella Ciao" their farewell to beauty and youth was heard.

Among the Mondinas, the song remained relevant well into the 20th century. As the new decade dawned, the protests and uprisings finally paid off: the women's demands were met. Their working day was reduced to eight hours.

Subsequently, "Bella Ciao" found a new life, finding great popularity among the Italian partisans during the Second World War. To this strong anthem, the resistance members fought for their freedom against the puppet regime of the Italian dictator Mussolini and the Nazi occupation of Italy. And by the end of the 1940s, "Bella Ciao" was sung by the whole world! This is how the poor women's song Mondinas turned into an anti-fascist anthem.

Today this song is called folk - over the years, the name of its author has sunk into oblivion. According to various versions, he could be either an Italian partisan or a worker from a rice plantation.

Alternative versions

There is an opinion among researchers that allegedly "Bella Chao" existed even during the time of the great commander Giuseppe Garibaldi, who died in 1882. True, there are no reliable facts, or at least confirmation of the existence of the song from the lips of Garibaldi's contemporaries, and never have been. Therefore, many music historians are skeptical of this belief.

Some of the researchers also believe that the song came to life at the very beginning of the 20th century. According to their version, she really appeared on the rice plantations, where the Italian Mondinas worked hard. Her name was slightly different: "Bella Ciao delle Mondine". In 2003, Franco Fabbri, a well-known music critic, referred to a letter from a Gualtieri man named Scanzani. He claimed that he wrote the text of the "Mondin" version of the song, having once heard the famous partisan anthem.

As for the partisan version of origin, today it also has the right to exist. The fact that it was sung in the Resistance is a recorded fact. However, nothing is known about the partisan who wrote it.

Musical arrangement

Later, a musical accompaniment was invented for the song, reminiscent of several folk compositions in its motive. For example, the children's song "Sleepy Potion" ("Dance of the Sleepy Potion"), the ballad "Flower on the Grave", the melody "And the door knocks, knocks."

The song gained its greatest popularity after the Prague Youth Congress in 1947. It was attended by Italians, who were once partisans in the Modena mountains, and now conquered the compositions of many participants from other countries with their performance. "Bella Ciao" was first recorded by Italian singer Giovanna Daffini in 1962. For a long time, the performer was interested in folk musical motives. Her version of the song was especially emotional due to the fact that in her youth she herself was one of the mondins, among whom, according to one version, the famous "Bella Ciao" appeared.

Later it was replayed and covered by many artists from all over the world. According to average estimates, the song was performed in 32 languages, and Russian is no exception. One of the first translations was the translation of the poet Anatoly Gorokhov, which was performed by Muslim Magomayev.

The further fate of the song and its impact on culture

As time went on, the influence of the song grew. Today it is spoken of as an international anthem that celebrates freedom. It was born at the end of the 19th - the beginning of the 20th century as an anthem for the fight against injustice, and in this capacity it was already performed outside of Italy, in other political and historical conditions. So, it was sung by French students during the unrest of 1968.

Bella Ciao is no less popular in sports. For example, it is the favorite song of football fans. Surely fans of this sport remember how during the 2018 FIFA World Cup this old anthem was performed by the Italians and the Portuguese.

Due to the brightness and emotionality, the composition is widely used in cinema. For example, she is well known to viewers of the military drama "On the Trail of the Tiger" ("Bridge"). It is worth adding that with the release of the tape, the interest of Soviet listeners in the old work has sharpened again. The creators of modern serials also turn to her. "Bella Ciao" is played frequently in the Spanish Paper House, which premiered in 2017.

Song versions

In the vastness of the Soviet Union, this song gained unprecedented popularity thanks to Muslim Magomayev, who performed it in 1963.

It is worth paying tribute to another of its performers, Goran Bregovic.

Garik Sukachev also contributed to the popularization of "Bella Ciao" by performing the song "Free Gunner's Song", which clearly refers to the motif and text of a folk song.

There is also a “female” version of the song, which is performed, for example, by the Italian singer Milva.

The song is performed in different languages, in countries with different cultures. For example, the variant in Arabic.

Interesting Facts

A few facts related to the song may turn out to be quite unexpected.

  • In 2003, the music critic Franco Fabbri claimed that back in the mid-1960s, partisan Vasco Sanzani sent a statement to the Unita newspaper that he was the author of the Mondinian anthem. According to Sanzani, he simply rewrote the text of "Bella Ciao", beloved by the guerrillas.
  • Bella Ciao, which is now considered one of the main symbols of the Italian Resistance movement, became such only after the war. She really was loved by the partisans, but in a limited area in the Modena region. This change is associated with political motives - the much more common "Fischia il vento" was performed to the motive of the Russian "Katyusha", which was not liked by the government, which did not support the policy of the USSR.
  • Despite the fact that many people call Giovanna Duffini's version the first recording of the song, already in 1919 a similar melody was recorded many kilometers from Italy, in New York. It was performed by Mishka Tsyganov, an accordionist. The piece was based on "The little bag of coal", a famous Yiddish song.

"Bella Ciao" is one of the folk songs that not only do not lose popularity over the years, but are increasingly used by representatives of different cultures.

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...

Andrei "Svin" Panov: Remembering the Pioneer of Domestic Punk Rock

Andrei Panov and the story of his life: from his early years and early beginnings to his success and death Andrei Panov is one of the very first, and together...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Top 6 best British artists in rock history according to Fuzz Music magazine

Six iconic British artists who turned rock history upside down Great Britain has given us a host of talents, uncut diamonds and nuggets, ordinary people from the industrial hinterland who have proved to the world...

Автор:

Категория:

Bella Ciao (Белла чао) – Народная итальянская песня

«Bella Ciao» – итальянский хит с богатой и таинственной историей.

История культового гимна «Bella Ciao»

«Bella Ciao» (в переводе с итальянского означает «Прощай, красавица») — широко известная итальянская народная песня, история которой уходит своими корнями к концу XIX века. Существует несколько версий её появления, одна из которых гласит, что песня родилась среди рабочих, которые долгими днями трудились на рисовых полях, расстилающихся бескрайней гладью вдоль реки По.

Как создавалась мондинская версия…

Выращивание риса — очень тяжёлый труд, заставляющий людей часами стоять в воде по колено, согнув спину. Самое обидное, что этот труд был низкооплачиваемым. Как не трудно догадаться, иногда трудяги устраивали бунты и восстания, что, собственно, было в то время обычным явлением. С течением времени рабочая песня не канула в лету, а напротив — активно развивалась на протяжении всей истории Италии, обретая популярность среди новых поколений. Во время Второй мировой войны текст «Bella Ciao» потерпел некоторые изменения — теперь старая песня зазвучала как гимн сопротивления фашистскому режиму Муссолини и его нацистским союзникам. С тех пор рабочая песня и переродилась в гимн, который широко славится на просторах всей Европы.

Как уже было сказано выше, некоторые считают, что впервые «Bella Ciao» была исполнена в конце 19-ого века женщинами Северной Италии. В то время этих женщин звали Mondinas (рисовальщицы). Как не сложно догадаться, трудились они на рисовых полях: сажали зёрна одноимённого растения, убирали вредоносные сорняки. Мондинам приходилось чуть ли не весь день работать, согнув спину, босыми ногами они по колено стояли в воде.

Работа была действительно очень утомительная, требующая большой физической выносливости. Но Mondinas приходилось с ней мириться, так как они принадлежали к беднейшим слоям общества. Чтобы прокормить себя и свою семью этим бедным женщинам приходилось работать в поистине бесчеловечных условиях.

Так выглядела работа Mondinas (рисовальщиц)...
Так выглядела работа Mondinas (рисовальщиц).

Но даже несмотря на покорность и преданность работе, женщины Mondinas получали крошечные заработные платы, на которые с трудом умудрялись выживать. Иногда, а вернее будет сказать — довольно часто, это приводило к бунтам и восстаниям. Но, как правило, такие меры не приводили ни к чему хорошему. Бунтарей сразу увольняли, так как население Италии в те годы было преимущественно бедное, а значит найти нового «раба» не составляло никакого труда. Да и зачем их было искать? Они сами приходили и просились на работу.

Но вернёмся к песне. «Bella Ciao» была сочинена и исполнена труженицами в знак протеста. Это — своего рода гимн борьбы. Женщины пели о тяжёлой жизни, и во фразе «Bella Ciao» слышалось их прощание с красотой и молодостью.

Среди Mondinas песня сохраняла свою актуальность вплоть до 20-ого века. С наступлением нового десятилетия протесты и восстания, наконец-таки, принесли свои плоды: требования женщин были выполнены. Их рабочий день сократили до восьми часов.

Впоследствии «Bella Ciao» обрела новую жизнь, сыскав большую популярность среди итальянских партизан во время Второй мировой войны. Под этот сильный гимн участники сопротивления боролись за свою свободу против марионеточного режима итальянского диктатора Муссолини и нацистской оккупации Италии. А уже к концу 1940-х годов «Bella Ciao» пел весь мир! Вот так песня бедных женщин Mondinas превратилась в антифашистский гимн.

Сегодня эту песню называют народной — с течением долгих лет имя её автора всё же кануло в лету. По различным версиям, им мог быть как итальянский партизан, так и работница с рисовой плантации.

Альтернативные версии

Среди исследователей бытует мнение, якобы «Белла чао» существовала ещё во времена великого полководца Джузеппе Гарибальди, умершего в 1882-ом году. Правда, достоверных фактов, или хотя бы подтверждений существования песни из уст современников Гарибальди, нет и никогда не было. А потому — многие музыкальные историки скептически относятся к данному убеждению.

Некоторые из исследователей также полагают, что песня обрела жизнь в самом начале 20-ого века. По их версии, она действительно появилась на плантациях риса, где в поте лица трудились итальянские Mondinas. Название у неё было слегка иное: «Bella Ciao delle Mondine». В 2003-ем году Франко Фаббри – известный музыкальный критик – сослался на письмо мужчины из Гуалтьери по фамилии Сканзани. Тот утверждал, что написал текст «мондинской» версии песни, однажды услышав известный партизанский гимн.

Что касается партизанской версии происхождения, то сегодня она также имеет право на существование. То, что её пели в Сопротивлении – зафиксированный факт. Тем не менее, о партизане, написавшем её, ничего неизвестно.

Музыкальное оформление

Позже к песне было придумано музыкальное оформление, напоминающее по своему мотиву сразу несколько народных композиций. Например, детскую песню «Сонное зелье» («Пляска сонного зелья»), балладу «Цветок на могиле», мелодию «И стучит, стучит дверца».

Наибольшую популярность песня приобрела после пражского съезда молодёжи 1947-ого года. В нём участвовали итальянцы, когда-то бывшие партизанами в Моденских горах, а теперь покорившие своим исполнением композиции многих участников из других стран. Впервые «Bella Ciao» записала итальянская певица Джованна Даффини в 1962-ом году. Долгое время исполнительница интересовалась народными музыкальными мотивами. Особую эмоциональность её версии песни придало то, что в юности она сама была одной из мондин, среди которых, по одной из версий, и появилась знаменитая «Bella Ciao».

Позже её переигрывали и перепевали многие артисты со всего мира. По средним подсчётам, песня была исполнена на 32 языках, и русский – не исключение. Одним из первых переводов был перевод поэта Анатолия Горохова, который и исполнил Муслим Магомаев.

Дальнейшая судьба песни и её влияние на культуру

С ходом времени влияние песни росло. Сегодня о ней говорят как о международном гимне, который воспевает свободу. Она родилась в конце 19-ого – начале 20-ого века как гимн борьбы с несправедливостью, и в этом качестве исполнялась уже за пределами Италии, в других политических и исторических условиях. Так, её пели французские студенты во время волнений 1968-ого года.

Не менее популярна «Bella Ciao» в спорте. Например, она является любимой песней футбольных фанатов. Наверняка поклонники данного вида спорта помнят, как во время чемпионата мира по футболу 2018-ого года этот старый гимн был исполнен итальянцами и португальцами.

Из-за яркости и эмоциональности композиция широко используется в кинематографе. Например, она отлично известна зрителям военной драмы «По следу Тигра» («Мост»). Стоит добавить, что с выходом ленты в прокат интерес советских слушателей к старинному произведению, уже несколько ост вновь обострился. К ней обращаются и создатели современных сериалов. «Bella Ciao» часто звучит в испанском «Бумажном доме», премьера которого состоялась в 2017-ом году.

Версии песни

На просторах Советского Союза эта песня обрела неслыханную популярность благодаря Муслиму Магомаеву, исполнившему её в 1963-ем году.

Стоит отдать должное и ещё одному её исполнителю, Горану Бреговичу.

Свой вклад в популяризацию «Bella Ciao» внёс и Гарик Сукачёв, исполнив композицию «Песня вольного стрелка», которая явно отсылает к мотиву и тексту народной песни.

Для песни существует и «женская» версия, которую исполняет, например, итальянская певица Мильва.

Песню исполняют на разных языках, в странах с различной культурой. Например, вариант на арабском.

Интересные факты

Несколько фактов, связанных с песней, могут оказаться достаточно неожиданными.

  • В 2003-ем году музыкальный критик Франко Фаббри утверждал, что ещё в середине 1960-х годов партизан Васко Санзани отправил в газету «Унита» заявление, что он автор мондинского гимна. По словам Санзани, он просто переписал текст «Bella Ciao», любимую партизанами.
  • «Bella Ciao», которая сейчас считается одним из главным символов движения итальянского Сопротивления, стала таковым лишь после войны. Она действительно была любима партизанами, но в ограниченной области в районе Модены. Такую перемену связывают с политическими мотивами – куда более распространённая «Fischia il vento» исполнялась на мотив русской «Катюши», что не нравилось правительству, не поддерживающему политику СССР.
  • Несмотря на то, что первой записью песни многие называют вариант Джованны Даффини, уже в 1919-ом похожая мелодия была записана за много километров от Италии, в Нью-Йорке. Её исполнил Мишка Цыганов, аккордеонист. Произведение базировалось на «The little bag of coal», известной песне на идише.

«Bella Ciao» одна из народных песен, которые с годами не только не теряют популярности, но и всё чаще используются представителями разных культур.

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

31 − 22 =

Как Саманта Фокс стала горячей иконой 80-х и за что судилась с собственным отцом

Как сексуальная икона 80-х совмещала работу с религией – Саманта Фокс в удивительных фактах В 80-х молоденькая Саманта Фокс была сексуальной иконой. В неё влюблялись...

Эти глэм-метал группы покорили мировую арену – Вспоминаем главных «гламурных» металлистов

Топ любимых глэм-метал групп, которые покорили весь мир Глэм-метал возник на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов в США. Его главное отличие от других жанров –...

Liam Gallagher — «C’mon You Know» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «C'mon You Know» (2022) от Liam Gallagher  Лиам Галлахер поделился со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который называется «C'mon You Know» (2022). Пластинка включает...

Похожие статьи

INTELLIGENCY — «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «TechnoBlues Therapy Part II» (2022) от INTELLIGENCY Белорусская музыкальная группа INTELLIGENCY поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «TechnoBlues Therapy Part...

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...