Author:
Category:

Benee – "Beni") - All about the singer: full biography

Sir Elton John himself called Beni "the next world victory" and "an amazing young and talented artist"!

Biography of the singer Benee (Stella Rose Bennett)

Benee is a popular pop / indie pop singer and songwriter from New Zealand… It took Stella Bennett (real name of the singer) only a year to win the recognition and love of the general public! In 2019, she won 4 New Zealand Music Awards at once! The main hits of Benee are the compositions "Glitter", "Soaked" and, of course, "Supalonely"! Let's talk about the development of this charming girl from the suburbs of Auckland ...

Early years: childhood, first exposure to music…

Benee
Benee

Stella Rose Bennett was born in January 2000 in a suburb of Auckland. The love of music was passed on to the baby from her parents: surprisingly, the whole Bennett family was truly musical! So ... by the age of ten, the girl knew how to play the guitar and saxophone! At one point, the passion for music faded away, and Stella turned her attention to such a sport as water polo! According to the singer, she hoped that she would be able to represent New Zealand at the competition ... However, at the age of 17, Stella realized that sport was not for her, and returned to music ...

The motives and lyrics were light, maybe even silly, but simple and understandable. Stella became interested in the indie pop genre. At first, she was afraid that others would only laugh at her ... Therefore, the future star hid her creations for a long time. And as it turned out - in vain! After publishing a couple of tracks on the SoundCloud online platform, Beni's life turned upside down for the better!

By the way: already in her second year at Auckland Polytechnic University, Beni dropped out of school. According to the singer herself, studying has always been for her something like a life crisis ... And therefore, the girl decided to devote herself to professional musical training. And she did the right thing!

Career: where did it all start?

In one of her interviews, the girl said:

“I have been dyslexic since childhood. All the time that I was in school, I actively struggled with writing ... I adored creative writing: I really liked writing something! But I always made mistakes... And now, writing songs has become a kind of outlet for me! Now I don't have to be grammatically correct! I remember at some point I thought: “I like this!” For me, the songs have become a wonderful emotional outlet ... I just splash out everything that I feel on a piece of paper ... And then it turns into music!

Benee began her career by posting covers of popular hits on SoundCloud. Having dropped out of school, the girl seriously took up music: she began to compose not only lyrics, but also motives ... Soon her work attracted the attention of Josh Fontana, a producer and member of the Leisure group. With his help, Beni released the singles "Tough Guy" and "Soaked".

Success with "Supalonely"!

Benee...
Benee…

In June 2019, the album Fire on Marzz is released. During the same period, Benee signed a contract with Republic Records. Speaking of the album, described by critics as a "funky, sun-drenched sound release", it hit the Top 20 in the singer's home country and the Top 80 in Australia! It was this EP that brought 4 New Zealand Music Awards to Bennett's piggy bank! For a performer just beginning her career, this was a stunning breakthrough ...

In the autumn of the same year, a second EP was released, called Stella & Steve! The main hit from the album was the song "Supalonely", recorded together with musician Gus Dupperton. Very quickly, the single gained massive popularity! In many ways - thanks to the TikTok platform, where the composition became viral ...

It is worth noting that Benee also conquered the expanses of this platform with her track "Glitter", which remained viral for a long time!

In addition, the singer won the love of the public with such hit tracks as "Find an Island" and "Evil Spider":

What has 2020 brought? Tours, new achievements…

In early 2020, Benee was planning to go on a big North American tour! But due to the outbreak of coronovirus infection, the tour was canceled ... However, this did not upset the singer very much. Already at the beginning of summer, her track “Supalonely” gained more than 250 million streams! Soon Bennett made her debut on television with her hit ... In the same period, the new single "Night Garden" was released, recorded with the support of the American producer Kenny Beats!

Soon, Beni was named the most popular Apple Music Up Next artist of the past month! A little later, the girl appeared on the track "Afteroughtt" by musician Joji ...

The fall of 2020 turned out to be quite eventful and fruitful for Bennett ... The singer was nominated for the best new artist according to the People's Choice Awards! Later, she appeared on an American talk show, in which she performed the song "Supalonely".

During the same period, Bennett went on a headlining tour of New Zealand and founded his own label, Olive. Her debut full-length album, Hey UX! As the singer herself noted, the music from it is largely different from everything that was released earlier ... In anticipation of the release of the album, the single "Plain" was released, recorded with the participation of singers Lily Allen and Flu Milli:

The track “Kool” became a popular single from the album, for which a cool video was shot:

Interesting Facts…

Singer Benee
Singer Benee
  • Bennett originally performed under the stage name "Bene". She later added another "e" to avoid copyright and pronunciation issues.
  • Thanks to her musical family, Benee was introduced to music very early. As the singer herself said, she grew up on the work of such performers as Amy Winehouse, Lily Allen, Bjork, and Radiohead.
  • For some time, Stella attended St. Mary's College, a Catholic school for girls, where a 4-year music course was required.
  • Beni is a very popular media personality! The singer has accounts on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter… She also has her own YouTube, which already has about a million subscribers!
  • Sir Elton John himself called Beni "the next world victory" and "an amazing young and talented artist."
Elton John and Benee
Elton John and Benee

How Sergey Zakharov's career after prison: the complicated story of the famous baritone of the USSR

The Life of the Pop Singer Sergey Zakharov Estrada appeared in the 1960s as a unique style of Soviet song. Compared to modern Russian pop music, it...

"Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain": the last song sung by the King Presley

All about the song "Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain": when and by whom it was performed, history and covers Losing an idol is always a very traumatic event, but how...

Lemmy Kilmister and his best movie roles

All about Lemmy Kilmister: band success, movie roles, biopic about the legend Rock stars who have made music their life and made huge contributions to the genre have shown...
Related Articles

The famous hit of the band "Zero," the clip to which everyone has seen

History of the song "I'm Coming, Smoking" by the band "Zero": interesting facts, clip "Song about unrequited love for the Motherland" is an album with unconditional hits, which is among the iconic...

She gave us a childhood: we remember the legendary Yelena Kamburova

Everything about Elena Kamburova: childhood, development of creativity, fame Not every viewer can appreciate the artist's soulful contribution to creativity, but there are people who understand...

Cool covers of Russian rock hits and one beautiful parody - Top 6

"Stellar" covers of famous Russian rock songs Covers are now living a "new life" in the music business. Some covers become so famous that they outshine the original compositions. So.

Where are the Zemlyane, a band whose hits were sung by the entire USSR?

All about the band "Zemlyane": history, creative work, hits The bands that started their history in the times of the Soviet Union have a rich history. Now you can find not so...

British rockers adored in the USSR

Top British Rockers Adored in the USSR Despite all the bans and difficulties caused by "getting" records with this kind of music, in the Soviet Union foreign rock and roll simply...

Автор:

Категория:

Benee («Бени») – Всё о певице: полная биография

Сам сэр Элтон Джон назвал Бени «следующей мировой победой» и «удивительной молодой и талантливой артисткой»!

Биография певицы Benee (Стелла Роуз Беннетт)

Benee (Бени) — популярная певица и автор-исполнитель в жанрах поп / инди-поп родом из Новой Зеландии… Стелле Беннетт (настоящее имя певицы) понадобился всего год, чтобы завоевать признание и любовь широкой публики! В 2019 году она стала обладателем сразу 4-х премий New Zealand Music Awards! Главными хитами Benee являются композиции «Glitter», «Soaked» и, конечно же, «Supalonely»! Поговорим о становлении этой очаровательной девушки из пригорода Окленда…

Ранние годы: детство, первое знакомство с музыкой…

Benee
Benee

Стелла Роуз Беннетт родилась в январе 2000 года в пригороде Окленда. Любовь к музыке передалась малышке от родителей: удивительно, но вся семья Беннетт была по-настоящему музыкальной! Так что… уже к десяти годам девочка умела играть на гитаре и саксофоне! В один момент страсть к музыке угасла, и Стелла переключила своё внимание на такой вид спорта, как водное поло! Со слов певицы, она надеялась, что сможет представить Новую Зеландию на конкурсе… Однако уже в 17 лет Стелла поняла, что спорт — это не её, и вернулась к музыке…

Мотивы и тексты песен были лёгкими, возможно даже глупыми, но простыми и понятными. Стелла увлеклась жанром инди-поп. Поначалу она боялась, что окружающие лишь посмеются над ней… Поэтому будущая звезда долгое время прятала свои творения. И как оказалось — зря! После публикации пары треков на онлайн-платформе «SoundCloud» жизнь Бени круто перевернулась в лучшую сторону!

К слову: уже на втором курсе Оклендского политехнического университета Бени бросила учёбу. Как утверждает сама певица, учёба всегда была для неё чем-то вроде жизненного кризиса… А потому — девушка решила посвятить себя профессиональному музыкальному обучению. И правильно сделала!

Карьера: с чего всё начиналось?

В одном из своих интервью девушка рассказывала:

«С детства у меня дислексия. Всё то время, что я училась в школе, я активно боролась с написанием… Я обожала творческое письмо: мне действительно нравилось писать что-то! Но я всегда допускала ошибки… И вот, написание песен стало для меня своего рода отдушиной! Теперь мне не обязательно быть грамматически верной! Помню, как в какой-то момент я подумала: «Мне это нравится!» Для меня песни стали прекрасным эмоциональным выходом… Я просто выплёскиваю всё то, что чувствую, на лист бумаги… А позже это превращается в музыку!»

Свой творческий путь Benee начала с того, что размещала каверы популярных хитов на «SoundCloud». Бросив учёбу, девушка всерьёз занялась музыкой: она начала сочинять не только лирику, но и мотивы… Вскоре её творчество привлекло внимание Джоша Фонтана — продюсера и участника группы Leisure. С его помощью Бени выпустила синглы «Tough Guy» и «Soaked».

Успех с «Supalonely»!

Benee...
Benee…

В июне 2019 года в свет выходит альбом Fire on Marzz. В этот же период Benee подписывает контракт с Republic Records. К слову об альбоме: охарактеризованный критиками как «фанковый, залитый солнцем саунд-выпуск», он вошёл в Топ-20 на родине певицы и в Топ-80 в Австралии! Именно этот EP принёс в копилку Беннетт 4 награды New Zealand Music Awards! Для только начинающей свой путь исполнительницы это был ошеломляющий прорыв…

Осенью того же года был выпущен второй EP, получивший название Stella & Steve! Главным хитом с альбома стала песня «Supalonely», записанная совместно с музыкантом Гасом Даппертоном. Очень быстро сингл обрёл массовую популярность! Во многом — благодаря платформе TikTok, где композиция стала вирусной…

Стоит отметить, что Benee также покорила просторы данной платформы со своим треком «Glitter», который долгое время оставался вирусным!

Помимо этого, певица завоевала любовь публики с такими хит-треками, как «Find an Island» и «Evil Spider»:

Что принёс 2020 год? Туры, новые достижения…

В начале 2020 года Benee планировала отправиться в большой тур по Северной Америке! Но из-за вспышки короновирусной инфекции гастроли были отменены… Однако это не очень расстроило певицу. Уже в начале лета её трек «Supalonely» набрал более 250 млн прослушиваний! Вскоре Беннетт дебютировала на телевидении со своим хитом… В этот же период в свет выходит новый сингл «Night Garden», записанный при поддержке американского продюсера Kenny Beats!

Вскоре Бени была названа самой популярной исполнительницей Apple Music Up Next за последний месяц! Чуть позже девушка появилась на треке «Afteroughtt» музыканта Joji…

Осень 2020 года оказалась для Беннетт довольно насыщенной и плодотворной… Певица была номинирована на звание лучшего нового артиста по версии People’s Choice Awards! Позже она появилась на американском ток-шоу, в рамках которого исполнила композицию «Supalonely».

В этот же период Беннетт отправляется в хэдлайнерский тур по Новой Зеландии и основывает собственный лейбл Olive. Вскоре в свет выходит её дебютный полноформатный альбом под названием Hey UX! Как отметила сама певица, музыка с него в значительной степени отличается от всего, что было выпущено ранее… В преддверии выхода альбома был выпущен сингл «Plain», записанный при участии певиц Лили Аллен и Флу Милли:

Популярным синглом с альбома стала трек «Kool», на который был снят крутой клип:

Интересные факты…

Певица Benee
Певица Benee
  • Изначально Беннетт выступала под сценическом псевдонимом «Bene». Позже девушка добавила ещё одну букву «e», дабы избежать проблем, связанных с авторскими правами и произношением.
  • Благодаря своей музыкальной семье Benee очень рано познакомилась с музыкой. Как рассказывала сама певица, она выросла на творчестве таких исполнителей, как Эми Уайнхаус, Лили Аллен, Бьорк, а также Radiohead.
  • Некоторое время Стелла посещала колледж Святой Марии — католическую школу для девочек, где был обязателен к прохождению 4-х летний музыкальный курс.
  • Бени — очень популярная медийная личность! У певицы есть аккаунты в Instagram, Facebook, Twitter… У неё также есть свой YouTube, на котором уже около миллиона подписчиков!
  • Сам сэр Элтон Джон назвал Бени «следующей мировой победой» и «удивительной молодой и талантливой артисткой».
Элтон Джон и Benee
Элтон Джон и Benee
9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

83 − 76 =

Джоан Осборн и её вневременная классика «One of Us»

История одной проникновенной песни – как родилась «One of Us», самый громкий хит Джоан Осборн «Один из нас» – такое название получила песня, которая прославила...

Три хита Ottawan, под которые отрывались на дискотеках

Топ лучших песен группы Ottawan, которые звучали на каждой дискотеке В начале 80-х хиты этого диско-дуэта звучали практически по всему миру! Проект Ottawan был образован...

Anna Calvi — «Tommy» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Tommy» (2022) от Anna Calvi Британская певица и автор песен Anna Calvi поделилась своим новым мини-альбомом, который получил название «Tommy» (2022). Трек-лист пластинки включает...

Похожие статьи

Florence + The Machine — «Dance Fever» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Dance Fever» (2022) от Florence + The Machine Английская музыкальная группа Florence + The Machine поделилась своим долгожданным релизом под названием «Dance Fever» (2022)....

Monophonics — «Sage Motel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Sage Motel» (2022) от Monophonics Американская группа Monophonics поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Sage Motel» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Брат против брата: История российской рок-группы Агата Кристи 

История рок-группы Агата Кристи  Эта группа уже давно известна всем ценителям российской рок-музыки. Впервые она заявила о себе ещё в восьмидесятые годы. И тогда же...

Sharon Van Etten — «We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong» (2022) от Sharon Van Etten Американская певица и автор песен Sharon Van Etten поделилась со слушателями своим...

Kevin Morby — «This Is A Photograph» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «This Is A Photograph» (2022) от Kevin Morby  Американский музыкант и певец Kevin Morby поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «This...

«Belladonna»: Как британская баллада стала шлягером отечественного ВИА «Весёлые ребята»

История одной песни: Как «Belladonna» британской группы UFO перекочевала в репертуар «Весёлых ребят» «Belladonna» – такое элегантное название получила очень мощная баллада, которая, увы, так...

The Black Keys — «Dropout Boogie» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Dropout Boogie» (2022) от The Black Keys Американская рок-группа The Black Keys поделилась со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил уникальное название «Dropout Boogie»...

История Евгения Маргулиса: Почему именно в «Араксе» он стал профессионалом

Евгений Маргулис и три группы, которые вознесли рокера к Олимпу Евгений Маргулис известен как талантливый автор и исполнитель песен, отечественный рокер, который внёс свой весомый...

Kendrick Lamar — «Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers» (2022) от Kendrick Lamar 13 мая 2022 года американский рэпер Кендрик Ламар поделился со слушателями своим пятым по...