Author:
Category:

Endless Disco: The Five Most Popular Eurodisco Bands from the '80s

Everyone who's ever been to a disco in the '80s remembers them. Young guys and girls danced to the hits of these disco bands all night long. And you remember them too! Ask us, who are we talking about? Today we remember the 5 most famous disco bands from the 80's!

Top 5 main Eurodisco musicians of the 80s

Music from the 1980s was divided into several popular genres. Mostly listened to either rockor disco. We have written many articles about popular rock musicians, bands, and concerts. But until recently, we didn't pay attention to the no less popular discoperformers out of 80х.

Modern Talking (Modern Talking)...
Modern Talking (Modern Talking)…

In this article we decided to recall the most popular performers in the Eurodisco genre. Many of them were even more popular than the rockers of the same time. Because of the fact that in the 80's and 90's were popular discosThe nightlife crowd simply adored these artists. Young people spent their nights dancing to their disco hits.

We invite you once again to plunge into the atmosphere of endless discos and remember the five most popular disco bands from the 80's!

5. London Boys

London Boys
London Boys

The popular duo from Germany, formed by Eden Ephraim and Denis Fuller. Despite the fact that the band was formed in Hamburg, the name ambiguously hints at where the guys came from. They were school friends and moved together from London to Hamburg. Ibid, in 1986and started composing music and performing.

They didn't become the most popular Eurodisco band, but they brought a lot to the genre. They are remembered for the songs "I'm Gonna Give My Heart", "Harlem Desire", "Requiem", "Chapel of Love". Notably, all of the duo's songs were popular rather in the UKthan in Germany. With a name like that, it's not even surprising.

In 1992 the duo broke up. But three years later they got together again and started working even harder than before, planning to release something that would make them famous. But they didn't make it in time. Unfortunately, both musicians were caught in a deadly car crash

They sang about love, friendship, loyalty, and tolerance. Even though their music didn't sell any supernatural numbers: during the whole time they sold almost 5 million records. But they were remembered by hundreds of thousands of listeners, and that's much more important.

4. Alphaville

Alphaville
Alphaville

The band is one of the few that still exists. True, almost nothing is left of the former success: now only old fans go to the concerts of the band. But in the 80s, Alphaville was played at every disco. Their hits "Sounds Like a Melody», «Forever Young"and "big in japan"Everyone knew it from the first album.

In the '80s, the band had only three albums: "Forever Young», «Afternoons in Utopia"and "The Breathtaking Blue". Not to say that the band was very prolific, but they took quality. The first record sold 2 million copies, the second - 500 thousand.

On the second album we also found some interesting compositions. "Dance With Me" and "Jerusalem". The listeners remembered them more than the others. The third album was one of the first albums in the world to be distributed on CD. But it was not as popular as the first ones.

3. Arabesque

Arabesque
Arabesque

Strange as it may seem, almost no one in Germany knew these great Germans. They were mainly listened to in Japan and at our domestic discos. Their creativity peaked in the late '70s and early '80s. At that time, it got to the point that every other girl at the disco danced like Sandra, Yasmin Vetter and Michaela Rose.

Their hit "midnight dancer"You can still hear it on the radio. And it sounds just as good as modern ones. No wonder it was so beloved. But the band had other popular songs: "In For A Penny, In For A Pound", "In the Heat of a Disco Night", "Friday Night".

In the title of the most popular songs, in one way or another, there was the word "Night"("Night"). By the way, in the song "In the Heat of a Disco Night" from the second album many people hear the words "Disco Beer, Disco Beer". Unfortunately, we couldn't hear it the first time, because we know how the phrase is translated Discofever (Disco Fever)... But there are similarities nonetheless:

2. Pet Shop Boys

Pet Shop Boys: Chris Lowe (left) and Neil Tennant. Photo: Yang Hutong
Pet Shop Boys: Chris Lowe (left) and Neil Tennant. Photo: Yang Hutong

Another "boyz" from UK. It is true that these musicians remained in London. That's where they became famous. Their singles hit the top of the charts, and their albums were consistently in the top 10 of the British hit parade. The records of the Pet Shop Boys were bought by millions!

Now the duo of Chris Lowe and Neil Tennant are considered one of the most commercially successful and prolific dance music recording groups in Great Britain. They are remembered for three albums in the '80s: "Please», «Actually"and "Introspective".

The collective still exists to this day: in 2020 they even released a new album - "Hotspot". People don't listen to them as readily as they did in the 80s and 90s, but they are still incredibly popular among English-speaking listeners. And among many of our people, too.

1. Modern Talking 

Modern Talking (Modern Talking)
Modern Talking

The most famous duo not only among those who performed disco, but among all musical duos in general! Originally, the musicians Thomas Anders and Dieter Bohlen got together in 1984. Both sang, but Bolen was also a producer Modern Talking.

Unfortunately, their Eurodisco duo didn't last long. They played together for three years, and then broke up because of disagreements. They got together again later, but they played very different music. And it was the first three years that made them memorable. с 1984 at 1987.

At that time legendary hits came out: "You're My Heart, You're My Soul", "You Can Win If You Want", "Cheri Cheri Lady", "Brother Louie", "Atlantis Is Calling (S.O.S. For Love)". All these songs were issued as singles and stayed at the first position in the charts for several weeks. They were even listened to in the USSR: several times the musicians were shown in the program "Rhythms of the Planet" and "Morning Post".

After the duo broke up, Dieter Bohlen created another Eurodisco project. Blue System. This group existed for only six months, the musicians recorded the album "Walking On The Rainbow", but the success of Modern Talking could not be repeated.

The only thing really memorable about Blue Systems is the single "My Bed Is Too Big".

"Narodnik" with dreadlocks: how a guy from a small town in Tula broke into television

Shaman - Success Story, Hate from Detractors, Best Songs The path of every screen star begins with a bright flash. The hero of today's article, a musician under the pseudonym ...

We'll "ruin" your favorite songs: about the most famous cover band

All about Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine The most beautiful and subtle art in the world is music. Not every person is given the...

The only song AC/DC's Brian Johnson will never perform

Why AC/DC Refuses to Perform "It's a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock 'n' Roll)" AC/DC is a legendary Australian rock band formed in...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Rock legends' Top 5 Chic "Late" Releases

Rock Stars' Best Late-Life Releases Not every rock star can keep the fire burning until the end of time. It's only natural that performers get older, and you wouldn't expect them to be...

Автор:

Категория:

Бесконечная дискотека: Пять самых популярных евродиско-коллективов из 80-х

Их помнят все, кто хоть раз был на дискотеке 80-х. Молодые парни и девушки танцевали под хиты этих диско-групп ночи на пролёт. И вы тоже помните их! Спросите, о ком мы? Сегодня мы вспоминаем 5 самых известных диско-групп из 80-х!

Топ-5 главных музыкантов жанра евродиско 80-х

Музыка 80-х делилась на несколько популярных жанров. В основном слушали либо рок, либо диско. Мы написали множество статей о популярных рок-музыкантах, группах и концертах. Но до последнего обходили вниманием не менее популярных дискоисполнителей из 80х.

Modern Talking (Модерн Токинг)...
Modern Talking (Модерн Токинг)…

В этой статье мы решили вспомнить о самых популярных исполнителях в жанре евродиско. Многие из них были даже популярнее, чем рокеры того же времени. Из-за того, что в 80-90-х были популярны дискотеки, ночные гуляки просто обожали этих артистов. Молодые люди проводили ночи, танцуя под их диско-хиты.

Предлагаем вновь окунуться в атмосферу бесконечных дискотек и вспомнить пять самых популярных диско-коллективов из 80-х!

5. London Boys

London Boys
London Boys

Популярный дуэт из Германии, образованный Эдемом Эфраимом и Денисом Фуллером. Несмотря на то, что образовался коллектив в Гамбурге, название неоднозначно намекает на то, откуда приехали ребята. Они были школьными друзьями и вместе переехали из Лондона в Гамбург. Там же, в 1986 году, начали сочинять музыку и выступать.

Они не стали самой популярной евродиско группой, но многое привнесли в жанр. Запомнили их за песни «I’m Gonna Give My Heart», «Harlem Desire», «Requiem», «Chapel of Love». Примечательно, что все песни дуэта были популярны скорее в Великобритании, чем в Германии. С таким названием это даже не удивительно.

В 1992 году дуэт распался. Но уже спустя 3 года они собрались ещё раз и начали работать ещё усерднее, чем раньше, планируя выпустить то, что сделает их известными. Но не успели. К сожалению, оба музыканта попали в смертельную автокатастрофу

Они пели о любви, дружбе, верности и терпимости. Пусть их музыка не продавалась какими-то сверхъестественными тиражами: за всё время они продали почти 5 миллионов пластинок. Но они запомнились сотням тысяч слушателей, а это гораздо важнее.

4. Alphaville

Alphaville
Alphaville

Эта группа – одна из немногих, которая существует до сих пор. Правда от былого успеха почти ничего не осталось: сейчас на концерты группы ходят лишь давние фанаты. Но в 80-х Альфавиль звучали на каждой дискотеке. Их хиты «Sounds Like a Melody», «Forever Young» и «Big in Japan» с первого альбома знал каждый.

В 80-х у группы вышло всего 3 альбома: «Forever Young», «Afternoons in Utopia» и «The Breathtaking Blue». Не сказать, что группа была очень плодовитой, но они брали качеством. Первая пластинка разошлась тиражом 2 миллиона экземпляров, вторая – 500 тысяч.

На втором альбоме тоже нашлись интересные композиции. «Dance With Me» и «Jerusalem». Они запомнились слушателям больше остальных. Третий же альбом стал одним из первых альбомов в мире, распространяемых на CD. Но такой популярности, как первые, не сыскал.

3. Arabesque

Arabesque
Arabesque

Этих замечательных немок, как ни странно, в Германии почти никто не знал. Слушали их преимущественно в Японии и на наших отечественных дискотеках. Пик их творчества пришёлся на конец 70-х и начало 80-х годов. В то время дошло до того, что каждая вторая девушка на дискотеке танцевала так же, как Сандра, Ясмин Феттер и Михаэла Роуз.

Их хит «Midnight Dancer» можно услышать по радио и сейчас. И звучит он не хуже современных. Неудивительно, что его так полюбили. Но у группы были и другие популярные песни: «In For A Penny, In For A Pound», «In the Heat of a Disco Night», «Friday Night».

В названии самых популярных песен, так или иначе, присутствовало слово «Ночь» («Night»). Кстати, в песне «In the Heat of a Disco Night» со второго альбома многие слышат слова «Диско-пиво, диско-пиво». К сожалению, мы этого услышать с первого раза не смогли из-за того, что знаем, как переводится фраза Discofever (Диско-лихорадка)… Но сходство все же есть:

2. Pet Shop Boys

Pet Shop Boys: Крис Лоу (слева) и Нил Теннант. Фото: Ян Хутон
Pet Shop Boys: Крис Лоу (слева) и Нил Теннант. Фото: Ян Хутон

Ещё одни «бойз» из Великобритании. Правда эти музыканты так и остались в Лондоне. Там же они и стали известными. Их синглы попадали на первые строчки чартов, а альбомы стабильно занимали места в топ-10 британского хит-парада. Пластинки «мальчиков из зоомагазина» скупали миллионами!

Сейчас дуэт Криса Лоу и Нила Теннанта считается одним из самых коммерчески успешных и плодотворных коллективов Великобритании, записывающих танцевальную музыку. В 80-х они запомнились тремя альбомами: «Please», «Actually» и «Introspective».

Коллектив существует до сих пор: в 2020 году они даже выпустили новый альбом – «Hotspot». Слушают их уже не так охотно, как в 80-х и 90-х, но они всё равно невероятно популярны среди англоязычных слушателей. Да и среди многих наших тоже.

1. Modern Talking 

Modern Talking (Модерн Токинг)
Modern Talking (Современный разговор)

Самый известный дуэт не только среди тех, что исполняли диско, но и среди всех музыкальных дуэтов вообще! Изначально музыканты Томас Андерс и Дитер Болен сошлись в 1984 году. Оба пели, но Болен был ещё и продюсером Modern Talking.

К сожалению, их евродиско-дуэт не просуществовал долго. Они играли вместе три года, а затем распались из-за разногласий. Они собирались ещё раз позже, но играли уже совсем другую музыку. А запомнились именно первыми тремя годами с 1984 по 1987.

В то время вышли легендарные хиты: «You’re My Heart, You’re My Soul», «You Can Win If You Want», «Cheri Cheri Lady», «Brother Louie», «Atlantis Is Calling (S.O.S. For Love)». Все эти песни вышли синглами и по несколько недель держались на первой позиции в чартах. Их слушали даже в СССР: несколько раз музыкантов показывали на передаче «Ритмы планеты» и «Утренняя почта».

После того, как дуэт распался, Дитер Болен создал ещё один евродиско-проект – Blue System. Эта группа просуществовала всего полгода, музыканты записали альбом «Walking On The Rainbow», но успех Modern Talking повторить не удалось.

Единственное, чем действительное запомнилась группа Blue Systems – сингл «My Bed Is Too Big».

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

− 2 = 2

Low Kick Collective — «Coma Berenices» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Coma Berenices» (2022) от Low Kick Collective Экспериментальный проект Low Kick Collective поделился своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил уникальное название «Coma Berenices» (2022)....

Три любимых хита Baccara

Вспоминаем главные хиты Baccara Названная в честь очень красивого сорта розы, женская поп-группа Baccara пользовалась большой популярностью на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов! В нашей...

Чем корейские поп-музыканты отличаются от наших: Разница колоссальная

Отличия корейских поп-музыкантов от российских Если раньше был популярен рок, то уже к началу 90-ых годов популярность целиком и полностью принадлежала диско. А в последние...

Похожие статьи

Джоан Осборн и её вневременная классика «One of Us»

История одной проникновенной песни – как родилась «One of Us», самый громкий хит Джоан Осборн «Один из нас» – такое название получила песня, которая прославила...

Три хита Ottawan, под которые отрывались на дискотеках

Топ лучших песен группы Ottawan, которые звучали на каждой дискотеке В начале 80-х хиты этого диско-дуэта звучали практически по всему миру! Проект Ottawan был образован...

Anna Calvi — «Tommy» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Tommy» (2022) от Anna Calvi Британская певица и автор песен Anna Calvi поделилась своим новым мини-альбомом, который получил название «Tommy» (2022). Трек-лист пластинки включает...

Florence + The Machine — «Dance Fever» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Dance Fever» (2022) от Florence + The Machine Английская музыкальная группа Florence + The Machine поделилась своим долгожданным релизом под названием «Dance Fever» (2022)....

Monophonics — «Sage Motel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Sage Motel» (2022) от Monophonics Американская группа Monophonics поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Sage Motel» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Брат против брата: История российской рок-группы Агата Кристи 

История рок-группы Агата Кристи  Эта группа уже давно известна всем ценителям российской рок-музыки. Впервые она заявила о себе ещё в восьмидесятые годы. И тогда же...

Sharon Van Etten — «We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «We’ve Been Going About This All Wrong» (2022) от Sharon Van Etten Американская певица и автор песен Sharon Van Etten поделилась со слушателями своим...

Kevin Morby — «This Is A Photograph» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «This Is A Photograph» (2022) от Kevin Morby  Американский музыкант и певец Kevin Morby поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «This...

«Belladonna»: Как британская баллада стала шлягером отечественного ВИА «Весёлые ребята»

История одной песни: Как «Belladonna» британской группы UFO перекочевала в репертуар «Весёлых ребят» «Belladonna» – такое элегантное название получила очень мощная баллада, которая, увы, так...