Author:
Category:

Blondie Biography: 7 Life Stages of the Legendary Singer - Debbie Harry

“I believe that I lived my life with dignity, since I achieved my cherished goal - I became an artist with a capital letter ...”

The Story of the Legendary Blondie: A Biography of Debbie Harry

Deborah Ann Harry is the leader of the famous band "Blondie" and the brightest representative of the American new wave, whose songs have become the soundtrack of more than three hundred films and TV shows.

girl from the outback

Deborah Ann Harry was born on July 1st, 1945 in Miami. From birth, the girl's name was Angela Trimble, but a few months after birth, her biological parents abandoned her. The couple from New Jersey, who adopted the girl, gave her a new name, with which she gained fame.

Already in childhood, Deborah showed interest in music and surprised adults with her abilities. She constantly performed on stage: she participated in children's productions, sang in the church choir. In the sixth grade, her first solo performance took place - on the stage of the school stage, she performed the part in "The Boy with a Finger". The girl's talent attracted attention - she had an impeccable ear and emotional, expressive vocals. She was prophesied a career as a singer, and Deborah herself also dreamed of the life of a musician.

Debbie Harry as a teenager
Debbie Harry as a teenager

“I think I learned a lot of forbidden and unnecessary things, while my parents wanted to instill in me the interests of a “normal” person. But I did not need a measured life. I wanted to feel the taste of freedom. I have always been an artist. I was drawn to acting, music, the stage ... I literally swallowed everything that came across to me in order to subsequently apply it on personal experience. I believe that I lived my life with dignity, since I achieved my cherished goal - I became an artist with a capital letter, ”said the singer, recalling her childhood.

Despite the protests of her parents, immediately after graduating from college, Deborah Harry went to New York to start her musical career.

Journalist and Playboy Model

New York coolly received Deborah Harry. She worked as a waitress, dancer and even starred for Playboy magazine - all this time she was looking for her creative path. The girl tried herself in journalism and photography, she sang in the folk group Wind in the Willows.

Debbie Harry as Playboy Bunny
Debbie Harry as Playboy Bunny

He never gained much fame, but gave Harry the opportunity to make acquaintances in the field of musicians, and became the starting point for a career as a singer. After Wind in the Willows broke up, she took a seat in The Stilettos, where she met Chris Stein. For many years they had a romantic and professional relationship, together they created the legendary band "Blondie".

Birth of a cult band

The world learned about "Blondie" in 1974. Initially, the group was supposed to be called "Angel and the Snake", but after several concerts, the group changed its name to the bright nickname of its soloist. In the future, it will be so strongly associated with the singer herself that the band members will even hold a PR campaign called “Blondie is a group!”.

Photographer Chris Stein reflected in Debbie Harry's sunglasses
Photographer Chris Stein reflected in Debbie Harry's sunglasses

For several years the group was in the underground, playing in small clubs. By 1976, they began to be recognized, in 1977 their single "In the Flesh" reached number two on the charts. The next album - "Parallel Lines", released a year later - brought the group even more fame, and Harry herself - the Grammy Award for Best Female Rock Vocal.

Cover of the album "Blondie" "Parallel Lines" (1978)
Cover of the album "Blondie" "Parallel Lines" (1978)

"Heart of Glass" quickly captured the first lines of the charts around the world.

Punk icon

Harry has changed the idea of blondes on stage. In the 70s, this image was strongly associated with emphasized femininity and flirtatiousness, but the singer clearly did not fit into it. She captivated the audience with powerful vocals, a vivid image and originality of creativity. Despite the fact that Mattel released a portrait Barbie doll as a sign of respect for the singer, she has always been far from the stereotypical image attributed to these dolls.

Debbie Harry, Blondie, 1980. Photo: Lynn Goldsmith
Debbie Harry, Blondie, 1980. Photo: Lynn Goldsmith

“Unfortunately, many people are biased towards blondes, especially dyed ones - they say that we look “cheap” and defiant in the worst sense of the word ... This color, on the contrary, helped me to carry out a real inner transformation! I’m just fascinated by the very idea of dangerous innocence ... ”, Debbie once admitted.

Andy Warhol filming Debbie Harry at a factory in New York. Photo: Chris Stein
Andy Warhol filming Debbie Harry at a factory in New York. Photo: Chris Stein

Harry became a real punk icon, one of the most popular women in the history of rock music. In 1999, Debbie was ranked 12th on VH1's "100 Greatest Women in Rock and Roll History" list.

Solo career

In 1981, the singer's first solo album, KooKoo, was released, which went gold in the US and silver in the UK. In 1982, the group released the commercially failed album The Hunter, after which the group broke up. Nevertheless, the singer continues her solo work, and achieves success in it, albeit not as bright as the success of the group in the first years of her work. The single "French Kissin' in the USA" became a UK Top 10 hit.

Despite the reunion of the musical group in 1997, the singer continued to work outside the group, recording several more solo albums. She did not forget about the work of the group: in 1997, the Blondie band released the hit “Maria”, which showed that its members are still capable of creating music of the highest level.

Debbie Harry in movies

For the first time, Debbie Harry played in the film "The Foreigner". It happened in 1978, when the group began to gain popularity. Despite the fact that Harry did not position herself as an actress, she still played in a large number of films - there were more than fifty in all. Nevertheless, the performer earned the prestigious Golden Globe Award for the song "Call Me", which sounded in the movie "American Gigolo".

According to one of the interviews, Blondie was supposed to play one of the main roles in the film Blade Runner, but the studio with which she had previously signed a contract banned Harry from filming.

Debbie Harry, vocalist
Debbie Harry, 1978

Charity

Taking advantage of the status of a rock legend, Debbie Harry pays great attention to charity, and tries to draw attention to social problems. She regularly transfers funds to medical organizations and participates in performances related to acute social issues. In 2011, the singer spoke out against the hushing up of the problem of domestic violence, portraying the dead and performing the famous "Heart Of Glass" in this way.

Debbie Harry today...
Debbie Harry Today

Debbie Harry stood at the origins of the emerging new wave. Her work opened up new musical horizons and clearly showed how successful a woman can become in rock music.

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Автор:
Категория:

Биография Blondie: 7 жизненных этапов легендарной певицы – Дебби Харри

«Я считаю, что достойно прожила свою жизнь, раз добилась заветной цели — стала артистом с большой буквы...»

История легендарной Blondie: биография Дебби Харри

Дебора Энн Харри – лидер знаменитой группы «Blondie» и ярчайшая представительница американского нью-вэйва, чьи песни стали саундтреком более чем трёхсот фильмов и сериалов.

Девочка из глубинки

Дебора Энн Харри родилась 1-ого июля 1945 года в Майами. От рождения девочку звали Анджела Тримбл, но спустя несколько месяцев после рождения биологические родители отказались от неё. Супруги из Нью-Джерси, удочерившие девочку, дали ей новое имя, с которым она и приобрела известность.

Уже в детстве Дебора проявляла интерес к музыке и удивляла взрослых своими способностями. Она постоянно выступала на сцене: участвовала в детских постановках, пела в церковном хоре. В шестом классе состоялось её первое сольное выступление – на подмостках школьной сцены она исполнила партию в «Мальчике-с-пальчике». Талант девочки привлекал внимание – у неё был безупречный слух и эмоциональный, выразительный вокал. Ей пророчили карьеру певицы, и сама Дебора тоже мечтала о жизни музыканта.

Дебби Харри в подростковом возрасте
Дебби Харри в подростковом возрасте

«Думаю, я познала много запрещённых и ненужных вещей, в то время как родители хотели привить мне интересы «нормального» человека. Но мне не нужна была размеренная жизнь. Я хотела ощутить вкус свободы. Я всегда была артистом. Меня влекло актёрское мастерство, музыка, сцена… Я в буквальном смысле проглатывала всё, что мне попадалось, чтобы впоследствии применить это на личном опыте. Я считаю, что достойно прожила свою жизнь, раз добилась заветной цели — стала артистом с большой буквы», — говорила певица, вспоминая детство.

Несмотря на протесты родителей, сразу после окончания колледжа Дебора Харри отправилась в Нью-Йорк, чтобы начать свою музыкальную карьеру.

Журналист и модель «Плейбоя»

Нью-Йорк прохладно принял Дебору Харри. Она работала официанткой, танцовщицей и даже снималась для журнала «Плейбой» — всё это время она искала свой творческий путь. Девушка пробовала себя в журналистике и фотографии, пела в фолк-коллективе «Wind in the Willows».

Дебби Харри в роли кролика Playboy
Дебби Харри в роли кролика Playboy

Тот так и не приобрёл большой известности, однако дал Харри возможность завести знакомства в сфере музыкантов, и стал отправной точкой для карьеры певицы. После распада «Wind in the Willows» она заняла место в группе «The Stilettos», в которой познакомилась с Крисом Стэйном. Долгие годы их связывали романтические и профессиональные отношения, вместе они создали легендарный коллектив «Blondie».

Рождение культовой группы

Мир узнал о «Blondie» в 1974-ом году. Изначально группа должна был называться «Angel and the Snake», но после нескольких концертов группа сменила название на яркое прозвище своей солистки. В будущем оно настолько прочно будет ассоциироваться с самой певицей, что участники коллектива даже проведут пиар-компанию под названием «Blondie – это группа!».

Фотограф Крис Стейн в отражении солнцезащитных очков Дебби Гарри
Фотограф Крис Стейн в отражении солнцезащитных очков Дебби Гарри

Несколько лет группа находилась в андеграунде, играя в маленьких клубах. К 1976-ом году их начали узнавать, в 1977-ом их сингл «In the Flesh» достиг второй строчки в хит-параде. Следующий альбом – «Parallel Lines», вышедший на год позже – принёс группе ещё большую известность, а самой Харри – премию «Грэмми» за лучший женский рок-вокал.

Обложка альбома «Blondie» «Parallel Lines» (1978)
Обложка альбома «Blondie» «Parallel Lines» (1978)

«Heart of Glass» быстро захватила первые строчки хит-парадов всего мира.

Панк-икона

Харри изменила представление о блондинках на сцене. В 70-е годы этот образ прочно ассоциировался с подчёркнутой женственностью и кокетливостью, но певица явно в него не вписывалась. Она очаровала публику мощным вокалом, ярким образом и самобытностью творчества. Несмотря на то, что в знак уважения к певице компания «Mattel» выпустила портретную куклу Барби, она всегда была далека от стереотипного образа, приписываемого этим куклам.

Дебби Харри, Blondie, 1980. Фото: Линн Голдсмит
Дебби Харри, Blondie, 1980. Фото: Линн Голдсмит

«К сожалению, многие люди предвзято относятся к блондинкам, особенно к крашеным — мол, мы выглядим «дёшево» и вызывающе в самом плохом смысле этого слова… Мне же этот цвет, напротив, помог осуществить настоящее внутреннее перевоплощение! Просто меня очаровывает сама идея опасной невинности…», — призналась как-то Дебби.

Энди Уорхол снимает Дебби Харри на фабрике в Нью-Йорке. Фото: Крис Стейн
Энди Уорхол снимает Дебби Харри на фабрике в Нью-Йорке. Фото: Крис Стейн

Харри стала настоящей панк-иконой, одной из популярнейших женщин в истории рок-музыки. В 1999 году Дебби заняла 12-е место в списке «100 величайших женщин в истории рок-н-ролла» по версии журнала VH1.

Сольная карьера

В 1981-ом году вышел первый сольный альбом певицы под названием «KooKoo», ставший золотым в США и серебряным в Великобритании. В 1982-ом группа выпускает провалившийся с коммерческой точки зрения альбом «The Hunter», после которого группа распалась. Тем не менее, певица продолжает сольное творчество, и достигает в нём успеха, пусть и не такого яркого, как успех группы в первые годы её творчества. Сингл «French Kissin’ in the USA» стал хитом, попавшим в десятку лучших песен Великобритании.

Несмотря на воссоединении музыкального коллектива в 1997-ом году, певица продолжила творить и вне группы, записав ещё несколько сольных альбомов. Не забывала она и о творчестве группы: в 1997-ом у коллектива «Blondie» вышел хит «Maria», показавший, что его участники по-прежнему способны создавать музыку высочайшего уровня.

Дебби Харри в кино

Впервые Дебби Харри сыграла в фильме «The Foreigner». Это случилось в 1978-ом году, когда группа начала набирать популярность. Несмотря на то, что Харри не позиционировала себя как актрису, она всё же сыграла в большом количестве фильмов – всего их было более пятидесяти. Тем не менее, престижную премию «Золотой глобус» исполнительница заработала за песню «Call Me», которая прозвучала в фильме «Американский жиголо».

Согласно одному из интервью, Blondie должна была сыграть одну из главных ролей в фильме «Бегущий по лезвию», но студия, с которой она ранее заключила контракт, запретила Харри участвовать в съёмках.

Вокалистка группы Дебби Харри
Дебби Харри, 1978 год

Благотворительность

Пользуясь статусом легенды рок-музыки, Дебби Харри уделяет большое внимание благотворительности, и старается привлечь внимание к общественным проблемам. Она регулярно перечисляет денежные средства медицинским организациям и участвует в перфомансах, связанных с острыми социальными вопросами. В 2011-ом году певица выступила против замалчивания проблемы домашнего насилия, изобразив мёртвую и исполнив в таком образе знаменитую «Heart Of Glass».

Дебби Харри сегодня...
Дебби Харри сегодня

Дебби Харри стояла у истоков зарождающегося нью-вэйва. Её творчество открывало новые музыкальные горизонты и наглядно показало, какой успешной может стать женщина в рок-музыке.

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...
Похожие статьи

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...