Author:
Category:

Blue Monday (1983) - New Order - All about the song "Sad Monday"

“When we played it, people went crazy. And one day we got into a fight on stage with a DJ in Nottingham because we didn't want to play Blue Monday...

History of "Blue Monday" by New Order

"Blue Monday" is a song by British rock band New Order released in the spring of 1983. The track is an alternative synth-pop record, inspired by the works of the band members' favorite artists... The packaging of the single, designed by Peter Saville (more on that later), deserves special attention.

The song became a big hit breaking into the top 10 in many countries! "Blue Monday" is the most commercially successful 12" single ever... Over 1 million copies sold in the UK alone! Subsequently, the track was performed by many famous bands. The BBC reviewers described "Sad Monday" as "the crucial link between '70s disco and the '80s house dance boom". According to the members of New Order, the record was inspired by the atmosphere of New York nightclubs ...

Song idea

The members of New Order said that they wrote "Blue Monday" as a response to the disappointed crowd... The fact is that the group never went to an encore, which made the fans very upset... So what does "Blue Monday" have to do with it? Everything is very simple…

new order
new order

The composition was conceived in such a way that during its performance New Order could return to the stage, press the play button on the synthesizer and disappear backstage again. However, in the course of work, the project became more ambitious ... From an experiment, it grew into a high-quality single! And yes: the performance of this particular song was the first time that New Order played an encore!

According to the musicians themselves, this composition was inspired by several records at once. And quite famous even today! So, in part "Blue Monday" "copies" the style of "Our Love" by singer Donna Summer. And the interesting bass sound was borrowed from Ennio Morricone, or rather, from one of his soundtracks. Bernard Sumner, one of the songwriters of the hit, said:

“I stole this bass sound from the movie “For a Few Dollars More” right after I watched it in the studio… It’s a masterpiece and I admit it!”

Attentive listeners must have noticed that some of the synth elements sound quite familiar... And it really is! The band had previously used them on the track "5 8 6" (from the album Power, Corruption & Lies).

The cover is a separate art form...

In addition to the single itself, its packaging deserves attention. It looks more like a work of art than a cover! Outwardly, it resembles a 5-inch floppy disk ... And the absence of any inscriptions immediately catches the eye! The only thing written on the sleeve is "FAC SEVENTY THREE" on the spine.

Blue Monday single cover by New Order
Blue Monday single cover by New Order

The packaging was designed by Peter Saville and Brett Wickens. Inside the envelope is a perfect silver color… Probably, the fact that the production of the cover cost Factory Records a round sum is not worth talking about… The packaging turned out to be so expensive that the label was almost at a loss from each sale! As Saville himself later recounted:

“No one expected that the single would be in demand at all ... Therefore, no one could have thought that the price would be a problem ...”

For this reason, later copies were slightly modified: in order to reduce the cost of the envelope, the die-cut areas were printed with silver ink.

Music video

The music video for the song, created in 1983, includes random visual effects from stop-motion animation on paper, video clips of the band members and much, much more ... Everything is done in the spirit of the 80s ...

https://youtu.be/nOTRqbEKgXM

Success!

The composition "Blue Monday" was a great success in the UK! The song hit the UK Singles Chart several times, reaching a record-breaking number 9 for the second time! But ... despite the success and great demand from the audience, the single did not go gold. This is due to Factory Records, which was not a member of the BPI ...

Overall, in the United Kingdom alone, "Blue Monday" has sold over 1 million copies! In total, more than 3 million copies have been sold worldwide. In 2012, the single entered the top 70 best-selling in this country.

Interesting Facts

  • The name "Sad Monday" doesn't appear anywhere in the lyrics, so where did it come from? Turns out it was inspired by a book New Order drummer Stephen Morris was reading at the time. Written by acclaimed science fiction writer Kurt Vonnegut, the book was called "Breakfast of Champions: Or, Goodbye Blue Monday!"
  • In one of their interviews, New Order recalled: “When we played it, people went crazy. And one day we got into a fight on stage with a DJ in Nottingham because we didn't want to play Blue Monday…”
  • It's no secret that New Order insisted on performing this song live on BBC Top of the Pops at a time when the policy of the music show was for the artists to imitate the backing track... However, the live performance of New Order took place and was due to technical problems ( I wonder if it's random...
  • Rock band Orgy covered the song in 1998, peaking at number 56 in the US. Other artists who have performed "Blue Monday" include Radio Star, Doctor Explosion, Swan Lee, Flunk, Klutae, Nouvelle Vague and Cosmosis. The band's version of Health was used in the 2017 film Explosive Blonde.

  • American Express used this track in an ad in the 90s.

"Mongol Shudan - domestic kings of anarcho-rock

Mongol Shuudan" band: history of creation, cast, best songs, interesting facts, influence Russian rock is a unique genre, which gave the domestic listener a huge collection of material, which can be the envy of...

A Real People's Idol: Joe Dassin and Russia

All about Joe Dassin: early years, hits and love for Russia Despite the fact that many artists often left Russia because they were not given...

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...
Related Articles

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Автор:
Категория:

Blue Monday (1983) – New Order – Всё о песне «Грустный понедельник»

«Когда мы её играли, люди сходили с ума. И однажды мы поссорились на сцене с ди-джеем в Ноттингеме, потому что мы не хотели играть «Blue Monday»...»

История песни «Blue Monday» группы New Order

«Blue Monday» — песня британской группы New Order, которая увидела свет весной 1983 года. Трек представляет собой альтернативную синти-поп запись, вдохновлённую работами любимых артистов самих участников группы… Особого внимания заслуживает упаковка сингла, разработанная дизайнером Питером Сэвиллом (но о ней чуть позже).

Песня стала большим хитом, ворвавшимся в топ-10 многих странах! «Blue Monday» является самым коммерчески успешным 12-дюймовым синглом в истории… Только на территории Соединённого Королевства было продано более 1 млн копий! Впоследствии трек исполняли многие известные группы. Рецензисты BBC охарактеризовали «Грустный понедельник» как «решающее звено между диско 70-х и танцевальным хаус-бумом 80-х». По словам участников New Order, пластинка была навеяна атмосферой ночных клубов Нью-Йорка…

Идея песни

Участники New Order рассказывали, что написали «Blue Monday» в качестве ответа разочарованной толпе… Дело в том, что группа никогда не выходила на бис, чем поклонники были очень огорчены… Так при чём тут «Blue Monday»? Всё очень просто…

New Order
New Order

Композиция была задумана таким образом, что во время её исполнения New Order могли бы вернуться на сцену, нажать кнопку воспроизведения на синтезаторе и снова исчезнуть за кулисами. Однако в процессе работы проект стал более масштабным… Из эксперимента он перерос в качественный сингл! И да: исполнение именно этой песни стало первым разом, когда New Order сыграли на бис!

По словам самих музыкантов, данная композиция была вдохновлена сразу несколькими записями. Причём довольно известными даже сегодня! Так, частично «Blue Monday» «копирует» стиль «Our Love» исполнительницы Донны Саммер. А интересный басовый звук был позаимствован у Эннио Морриконе, а вернее — у одного из его саундтреков. Бернард Самнер, один из авторов хита, рассказывал:

«Этот басовый звук я украл из фильма «На несколько долларов больше», сразу же после того, как просмотрел его в студии… Это шедевр, и я это признаю!»

Внимательные слушатели наверняка обратили внимание, что некоторые синтезаторные элементы звучат довольно знакомо… И это действительно так! Ранее группа уже использовала их при записи трека «5 8 6» (из альбома Power, Corruption & Lies).

Обложка — как отдельный вид искусства…

Помимо самого сингла — внимания заслуживает его упаковка. Она больше походит на произведение искусства, чем на обложку! Внешне, она напоминает 5-дюймовую дискету… Причём в глаза сразу бросается отсутствие каких-либо надписей! Единственное, что и написано на конверте, так это «FAC SEVENTY THREE» на корешке.

Обложка сингла Blue Monday группы New Order
Обложка сингла Blue Monday группы New Order

Над упаковкой работали дизайнер Питер Сэвилл и Бретт Викенс. Внутри конверт идеального серебряного цвета… Наверное о том, что производство обложки обошлось Factory Records в круглую сумму, не стоит говорить… Упаковка оказалась настолько дорогой, что с каждой продажи лейбл был чуть ли не в убытке! Как позже рассказывал сам Сэвилл:

«Никто не ожидал, что сингл вообще будет пользоваться спросом… Поэтому никто и подумать не мог, что цена станет проблемой…»

По этой причине более поздние копии были слегка видоизменены: с целью снизить стоимость конверта, области высечки были напечатаны серебряными чернилами.

Музыкальное видео

Музыкальное видео на песню, созданное в 1983 году, включает случайные визуальные эффекты из покадровой анимации на бумаге, видеоклипы с изображением участников группы и многого-многого другого… Всё выполнено в духе 80-х…

https://youtu.be/nOTRqbEKgXM

Успех!

Композиция «Blue Monday» имела большой успех в Великобритании! Песня несколько раз попадала в UK Singles Chart, достигнув во второй раз рекордной 9-й позиции! Но… несмотря на успех и большой спрос аудитории, сингл так и не стал золотым. Виной тому Factory Records, которая не являлась членом BPI…

В целом, на территории одного только Соединённого Королевства «Blue Monday» была продана тиражом, превышающим 1 млн копий! В целом было продано более 3 млн копий по всему миру. В 2012 году сингл вошёл в топ-70 самых продаваемых в этой стране.

Интересные факты

  • Название «Грустный понедельник» нигде не встречается в тексте песни, так откуда оно взялось? Оказывается, оно было вдохновлено книгой, которую в то время читал барабанщик New Order Стивен Моррис. Написанная известным писателем-фантастом Куртом Воннегутом, книга называлась «Breakfast of Champions: Or, Goodbye Blue Monday!»
  • В одном из своих интервью New Order вспоминали: «Когда мы её играли, люди сходили с ума. И однажды мы поссорились на сцене с ди-джеем в Ноттингеме, потому что мы не хотели играть «Blue Monday»…»
  • Не секрет, что New Order настаивали на исполнении этой песни вживую на BBC Top of the Pops в то время, когда политика музыкального шоу заключалась в том, что артисты имитировали минусовку… Однако живое выступление New Order состоялось, и было оно связано с техническими проблемами (интересно, случайными ли)…
  • Рок-группа Orgy сделала кавер на эту песню в 1998 году, заняв 56 строчку в США. Среди других исполнителей, которые исполняли «Blue Monday», — Radio Star, Doctor Explosion, Swan Lee, Flunk, Klutae, Nouvelle Vague и Cosmosis. Версия группы Health была использована в фильме 2017 года «Взрывная блондинка».

  • American Express использовала этот трек в рекламе 90-х.

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...