Author:

Category:

Joni Mitchell's legendary song "Both Sides, Now", which caused a lot of ridicule

“I began to purify my own soul more and more, and there was more humanity in it! It scared the singer-songwriters around me. The men seemed to be nervous about it, almost like Bob Dylan plugged into the mains and got an electric shock. For example: "Does this mean we should do it now?" But over time, I think it made an impact. It motivated people to write more from their own experiences…”

The story of one song - "Both Sides, Now" by the amazing Joni Mitchell

"Both Sides Now" - one of the most famous and fan-favorite songs Joni Mitchell! The composition was originally recorded by a folk singer Judy Collins, and her version entered the top 10 of the American chart 1968 of the year. However, it was Mitchell's performance that made the song famous... The track was a perfect complement to the Clouds album, and since then it has been recorded by dozens of artists, including Frank Sinatra, Glen Campbell, Willie Nelson, Herbie Hancock… At the beginning of the 2000s "Both Sides Now" entered the list "The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time" Rolling Stone magazine, and today this song is known as a legendary old hit! However… she was initially ridiculed too much. Why? Let's find out together!

Never the public

Joni Mitchell
Joni Mitchell

It is difficult to imagine a situation in which the ingenious Joni Mitchell has never been taken seriously… However, this is the sad reality of much of her career. Mitchell faced more adversity than her male peers as she emerged from the roaring sixties. And, oddly enough, one of her favorite tracks inexplicably immersed her in this "hot lava".

Mitchell's divine writing, combined with an impeccable vocal range, separated her from her contemporaries, but at that time she did not have such creative freedom ... History served Mitchell good service, and now she is rightfully considered a pioneer of the movement, one of the most revolutionary writers that alternative music has ever seen! But it took Mitchell time to win over the doubters who, at the time of her breakthrough, didn't believe she had the life experience needed to perform. "Both Sides Now".

Young and charming Joni Mitchell...
Young and charming Joni Mitchell…

According to the singer, inspiration came to her from an excerpt from the novel Saul Bellow "Henderson the Rain King":

“I was reading Henderson the Rain King on the plane, and at the beginning of the book, Henderson is on the plane too! He flies to Africa, looks down and sees these clouds... I put the book down, looked out the window and saw the clouds too, and immediately started writing a song! I had no idea the song would become so popular…”

Mitchell barely turned 20 yearswhen she wrote "Both Sides Now", leading critics to suggest that she lacked the life experience needed to discuss how to look at things "on both sides, now". What people didn't realize, however, was that she had already gone through a divorce and given birth to a child who was adopted, all before moving to New Yorkto begin her musical adventure... Compared to her peers, Mitchell saw more of the beauty of life as well as its painful flaws, but that doesn't matter.

From the memories of Mitchell

Joni Mitchell
Joni Mitchell

In one of her interviews, Mitchell recalled how caustic remarks rained down on her after she wrote "Both Sides Now":

“When I first wrote this, I was very young and I got teased a lot… What do you now know about life on both sides? Since then, I have grown a lot ... "

Mitchell explained that the early reaction to the material she was creating made her doubt herself, as she "kind of rejected" a number of her earlier ideas. She decided to stop writing on far-fetched topics and instead decided to become more autobiographical:

“I began to purify my own soul more and more, and there was more humanity in it! It scared the singer-songwriters around me. The men seemed to be nervous about it, almost like Bob Dylan plugged into the mains and got an electric shock. For example: "Does this mean we should do it now?" But over time, I think it made an impact. It encouraged people to write more from their own experiences…”

Instead of being vague, Mitchell decided to write from the bottom of her heart and act with the utmost honesty, which made millions of people fall in love with her ... Although she was only in her early 20s when Mitchell wrote "Both Sides Now", it was Joni in its purest yet surprisingly touching form... It made the other musicians notice that they, too, needed to write in an unfiltered way like her, even if they initially teased her for changing lyrical direction.

Popular cover versions by other artists

Finally, we suggest recalling the most famous and successful versions "Both Sides Now" performed by other artists! For example, version Frank Sinatra:

Herbie Hancock recorded an instrumental version of the song for his 2007 album River: The Joni Letters! Notably, his version was nominated for a Grammy Award for Best Instrumental Jazz Solo:

He also presented his version Neil Diamond (his cover was included in the album Touching Me, Touching You):

It is worth noting the version Dion - popular in 1950-1960s years of the American singer! The song he performed was called "From Both Sides Now":

10kFollowers

Classic albums by young musicians who have defied age and the world

Classics released by teenagers: albums presented by young musicians that became masterpieces The Beatles were all in their 20s when they recorded a series of albums that changed the world of rock 'n' roll. But that ...

The combination of strength and refined beauty - remember Tommy Bolin

Remembering Tommy Bolin, one of guitar's youngest legends During Tommy Bolin's last live performance to open for Jeff Beck, December 3, 1976,...

Tony Iommi is a heavy sound legend and simply "the coolest kid on the block

Tony Iommi and the secret of his legendary playing style The Man in Black, whose unique sound dates back to an unfortunate accident--Tony Iommi has rewritten rock history,...

Related Articles

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Автор:

Категория:

Легендарная песня Джони Митчелл «Both Sides, Now», которая вызвала много насмешек

«Я всё больше и больше начала очищать свою собственную душу, и в ней стало больше человечности! Это напугало окружающих меня авторов-исполнителей. Мужчины, казалось, нервничали по этому поводу, почти как Боб Дилан, подключившийся к электросети и получивший электрический ток. Например: «Значит ли это, что мы должны сделать это сейчас?» Но со временем, я думаю, это оказало влияние. Это побудило людей больше писать на собственном опыте...»

История одной песни – «Both Sides, Now» восхитительной Джони Митчелл

«Both Sides, Now» — одна из самых известных и любимых фанатами песен Джони Митчелл! Изначально композиция была записана фолк-певицей Джуди Коллинз, и её версия вошла в топ-10 американского чарта 1968 года. Однако именно в исполнении Митчелл песня обрела известность… Трек идеально дополнил альбом Clouds, и с тех пор его записали десятки артистов, включая Фрэнка Синатру, Глена Кэмпбелла, Вилли Нельсона, Херби Хэнкока… В начале нулевых «Both Sides, Now» вошла в список «500 величайших песен всех времён» журнала Rolling Stone, и сегодня эту песню знают как легендарный старый хит! Однако… изначально она вызывала слишком много насмешек. Почему? Предлагаем узнать вместе!

Невера публики

Джони Митчелл
Джони Митчелл

Трудно представить себе ситуацию, в которой гениальная Джони Митчелл когда-либо не воспринималась всерьёз… Однако — это печальная реальность значительной части её карьеры. Митчелл столкнулась с большим количеством невзгод, чем её сверстники-мужчины, когда вышла из бурных шестидесятых. И, как ни странно, один из её самых любимых треков непостижимо погрузил её в эту «раскалённую лаву».

Божественное письмо Митчелл в сочетании с безупречным вокальным диапазоном отделяло её от современников, однако в то время у неё не было такой творческой свободы… История сослужила Митчелл хорошую службу, и теперь её по праву считают пионером движения, одним из самых революционных писателей, которых когда-либо видела альтернативная музыка! Но Митчелл потребовалось время, чтобы победить сомневающихся, которые во время её прорыва не верили, что у неё есть жизненный опыт, необходимый для исполнения «Both Sides, Now».

Молодая и очаровательная Джони Митчелл...
Молодая и очаровательная Джони Митчелл…

По словам певицы, вдохновение пришло к ней из отрывка романа Сола Беллоу «Хендерсон – король дождя»:

«Я читала роман «Хендерсон – король дождя» в самолёте, и в начале книги Хендерсон тоже в самолёте! Он летит в Африку, смотрит вниз и видит эти облака… Я отложила книгу, посмотрела в окно и тоже увидела облака, и сразу начала писать песню! Я понятия не имела, что песня станет такой популярной…»

Митчелл едва исполнилось 20 лет, когда она написала «Both Sides, Now», из-за чего критики предположили, что ей не хватало жизненного опыта, необходимого для обсуждения того, как смотреть на вещи «с обеих сторон, сейчас». Однако люди не понимали, что она уже пережила развод и родила ребёнка, которого усыновили, и всё это до того, как переехать в Нью-Йорк, чтобы начать своё музыкальное приключение… По сравнению со своими сверстниками, Митчелл видела больше красоты жизни, а также её болезненных изъянов, но это не имеет значения.

Из воспоминаний Митчелл

Джони Митчелл
Джони Митчелл

В одном из своих интервью Митчелл вспоминала, как колкие высказывания сыпались в её адрес после того, как она написала «Both Sides, Now»:

«Когда я впервые написала это, я была очень молода, и меня много дразнили… Что вы теперь знаете о жизни с обеих сторон? С того момента я очень выросла…»

Митчелл объяснила, что ранняя реакция на материал, который она создавала, заставила её усомниться в себе, поскольку она «как бы отвергла» целый ряд своих более ранних идей. Она решила перестать писать на надуманные темы и вместо этого решила стать более автобиографичной:

«Я всё больше и больше начала очищать свою собственную душу, и в ней стало больше человечности! Это напугало окружающих меня авторов-исполнителей. Мужчины, казалось, нервничали по этому поводу, почти как Боб Дилан, подключившийся к электросети и получивший электрический ток. Например: «Значит ли это, что мы должны сделать это сейчас?» Но со временем, я думаю, это оказало влияние. Это побудило людей больше писать на собственном опыте…»

Вместо того, чтобы писать расплывчато, Митчелл решила писать от всего сердца и действовать предельно честно, что заставило миллионы людей влюбиться в неё… Хотя ей было всего чуть больше 20-ти, когда Митчелл написал «Both Sides, Now», это была Джони в её самой чистой, но удивительно трогательной форме… Это заставило других музыкантов заметить, что им тоже нужно писать нефильтрованным способом, как и ей, даже если они поначалу дразнили её за изменение лирического направления.

Популярные кавер-версии других исполнителей

Напоследок предлагаем вспомнить наиболее известные и удачные версии «Both Sides, Now» в исполнении других исполнителей! Например — версию Фрэнка Синатры:

Херби Хэнкок записал инструментальную версию песни для своего альбома 2007 года River: The Joni Letters! Примечательно, но его версия была номинирована на премию Грэмми за лучшее инструментальное джазовое соло:

Свою версию также представил Нил Даймонд (его кавер вошёл в альбом Touching Me, Touching You):

Стоит отметить и версию Дион — популярного в 1950—1960-х годах американского певца! Песня в его исполнении получила название «From Both Sides Now»:

10kFollowers

Классические альбомы молодых музыкантов, которые бросили вызов возрасту и всему миру

Классика, выпущенная подростками: альбомы, представленные молодыми музыкантами и ставшие шедеврами Всем битлам было за 20, когда они записали серию альбомов, изменивших мир рок-н-ролла. Но это...

Сочетание силы и утончённой красоты – вспоминаем Томми Болина

Вспоминаем Томми Болина, одну из самых молодых легенд гитары Во время последнего живого выступления Томми Болина на разогреве у Джеффа Бека, 3 декабря 1976 года,...

Тони Айомми – легенда тяжёлого звука и просто «самый крутой ребёнок на блоке»

Тони Айомми и секрет его легендарно известного стиля игры Человек в чёрном, чьё уникальное звучание восходит к несчастному случаю – Тони Айомми переписал историю рока,...

Похожие статьи

«Истерия»: как Def Leppard довели мир до безумия

История альбома «Hysteria» – культовой классики Def Leppard Пластинка «Hysteria», наполненная хитами, по-прежнему считается определяющим моментом в карьере Def Leppard и остаётся такой же актуальной...

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...