Author:

Category:

Brian May - inside the fascinating life of the permanent guitarist of Queen

And while fans get a taste of Queen's history in the Bohemian Rhapsody biopic, it doesn't hurt to dive a little deeper into the biography of the man behind the iconic band...

Interesting facts about the life of cult Queen guitarist Brian May

Talented and, as it turned out, a very warm-hearted person, Brian May known to be permanent Queen guitarist - one of the most legendary bands in history! Fans know him as a quiet and virtuoso musician, but... in addition, Mei is a real astrophysicist, an experienced photographer and a master of a series of "carefully designed instruments"! And while fans got the chance to experience Queen's history in a biopic «Bohemian Rhapsody» (in which Brian played Gwilim Lee), it would not be superfluous to dive a little deeper into the biography of the man who stood at the origins of the cult band ...

He is a big fan of stereoscopic photography.

Brian May and stereoscopic photography...
Brian May and stereoscopic photography...

In the middle of the 19th century, the fashion known as "stereoscopic photography" took by storm Victorian London after the World's Fair 1851 of the year! One stereo photograph used two almost identical images, presented side by side, which, when viewed through a special viewer, were combined into three-dimensional images. Although the popularity of these images waned as the development 3D photos, the old double images have fascinated for a long time Brian May

Brian May and stereoscopic photography
Brian May and stereoscopic photography

With the help of fellow enthusiasts and scientists, May worked to revive this form of depiction, publishing books documenting his considerable collection of original Victorian stereo photographs, and inviting interested modern readers to experience ancient curiosities properly...

He built his first guitar by hand at the age of 16.

Brian May and his Red Special guitar
Brian May and his Red Special guitar

Brian May picked up the guitar 7 years (That's when he started taking lessons)! At the same time, his first guitar appeared with him only at 16and it was completely unique...

Brian May and his Red Special
Brian May and his Red Special

The uniqueness of the instrument was that it was assembled by Brian himself and his father Harold! The luxurious guitar, based on an old mantelpiece, eventually got the name Red Special and fame in the world of rock music!

May was inspired by his second wife for "I Want It All"

Brian May and Anita Dobson in their youth...
Brian May and Anita Dobson in their youth ...

Composition "I Want It All" considered one of Queen's major late singles! Unfortunately, at Freddie Mercury it was not possible to perform this work live ... The iconic frontman died in 1991, and the group performed "I Want It All" only a year later at a concert dedicated to the memory of Mercury (with Roger Daltrey on vocals...)

It is noteworthy that the song was written Brian May, and inspired him to this song by his second wife Anita Dobson! "I Want It All" was written when May's marriage to Chrissy Mullen bursting at the seams: it was then that the guitarist was inspired by the line that Dobson regularly uttered, which eventually became his second wife ...

Brian May and Anita Dobson years later...
Brian May and Anita Dobson years later...

He's an animal rights activist (he even has his own sanctuary)

Brian May with koala...
Brian May with a koala...

Few people know, but May has been an activist for many years! So, the guitarist has long expressed outrage at the support for animal culling. A good example is the closing ceremony of the Olympic Games. 2012 years in London: then Brian May expressed her disdain for the proposed culling of badgers and foxes in Gloucester and Somerset by appearing on stage in a costume depicting these two animals ...

Despite their role in Queen and achievements in music, May stated that what he would like most of all to be remembered for his activism… Since then, he has made many steps in support of animals, including participating in a protest single "Save the Badger Badger Badger" and building your own reserve! In the early 2010s, May "donated" some of his land by building a sanctuary to rehabilitate injured animals. At one point he had 36 hedgehogs, seven badger cubs and two brown owls!

He admires Lady Gaga and it's mutual

Lady Gaga sang the US anthem at Biden's inauguration
Lady Gaga sang the US anthem at Biden's inauguration

While working on her 2011 album Born This Way, shocking, but also very cordial Lady Gaga turned to the legendary producer for help Mattu Langu (he worked with Def Leppard, AC/DC, Britney Spears and many other idols!) In turn, Lang recruited Brian May - in particular for playing the guitar, which eventually complemented the single "You and I":

As a result, May and Gaga became friends, and even performed this song together on the same stage. MTV Video Music Awards! Afterwards, the iconic guitarist made an important announcement: Brian May stated that he would be interested in Gaga performing with Queen!

And while the singer's busy schedule has prevented this, the two musicians still speak warmly of each other...

He received his Ph.D. in astrophysics after more than 30 years

Brian May
Brian May

Queen formed in 1970 year when Brian May still studying astrophysics at Imperial College London. When the band reached international fame, May put aside his research into the zodiacal light in favor of touring, writing lyrics, and recording music... By the way: even though the zodiacal light is visible from the Earth's surface, its exact cause has still not been fully understood. known when it attracted the attention of May ... Later, astronomers determined its origin - it turns out that this phenomenon is associated with the reflection of sunlight from the accumulated space debris.

It seems unbelievable, but after more than 30 years, Brian May returned to his studies to complete his dissertation! As a result, he received his Ph.D. in astrophysics in May. 2007 of the year.

He worked for five years as the rector of the university

Liverpool John Moores University
Liverpool John Moores University

Unwilling to rest on his laurels after his academic achievements, the newly minted doctor Brian May assumed important duties at the University of Liverpool John Moore in 2008 as chancellor. He changed Sheri Booth, lawyer and wife of former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, for 5 years! In this honorary role, Mei awarded diplomas to graduates and was the public face of the university! The position was awarded to May for both his work with Queen and his advocacy for the "popularization of astronomy".

10kFollowers

Classic albums by young musicians who have defied age and the world

Classics released by teenagers: albums presented by young musicians that became masterpieces The Beatles were all in their 20s when they recorded a series of albums that changed the world of rock 'n' roll. But that ...

The combination of strength and refined beauty - remember Tommy Bolin

Remembering Tommy Bolin, one of guitar's youngest legends During Tommy Bolin's last live performance to open for Jeff Beck, December 3, 1976,...

Tony Iommi is a heavy sound legend and simply "the coolest kid on the block

Tony Iommi and the secret of his legendary playing style The Man in Black, whose unique sound dates back to an unfortunate accident--Tony Iommi has rewritten rock history,...

Related Articles

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Автор:

Категория:

Брайан Мэй – внутри увлекательной жизни бессменного гитариста Queen

И хотя фанаты получили возможность познакомиться с историей Queen в биографическом фильме «Bohemian Rhapsody», не будет лишним чуточку глубже погрузиться в биографию человека, стоящего у истоков культового бэнда...

Интересные факты о жизни гитариста культовых Queen Брайана Мэя

Талантливый и, как выяснилось, очень сердечный человек, Брайан Мэй известен как бессменный гитарист группы Queen — одной из самых легендарных групп за всю историю! Поклонники знают его как тихого и виртуозного музыканта, однако… помимо этого Мэй является настоящим астрофизиком, опытным фотографом и мастером серии «тщательно сконструированных инструментов»! И хотя фанаты получили возможность познакомиться с историей Queen в биографическом фильме «Bohemian Rhapsody» (в котором Брайана сыграл Гвилим Ли), не будет лишним чуточку глубже погрузиться в биографию человека, стоящего у истоков культового бэнда…

Он – большой любитель стереоскопической фотографии

Брайан Мэй и стереоскопическая фотография...
Брайан Мэй и стереоскопическая фотография…

В середине 19 века мода, известная как «стереоскопическая фотография», взяла штурмом викторианский Лондон после Всемирной выставки 1851 года! На одной стереофотографии использовались два почти идентичных изображения, представленных бок о бок, которые при просмотре через специальный просмотрщик объединялись в трёхмерные изображения. Хотя популярность этих изображений пошла на убыль по мере развития 3D-фотографии, старые двойные изображения долгое время очаровывали Брайана Мэя

Брайан Мэй и стереоскопическая фотография
Брайан Мэй и стереоскопическая фотография

С помощью коллег-энтузиастов и учёных, Мэй работал над возрождением этой формы изображения, публикуя книги, документирующие его значительную коллекцию оригинальных викторианских стереофотографий, и предлагая современным заинтересованным читателям прочувствовать древние диковинки должным образом…

Он собственноручно собрал свою первую гитару в возрасте 16 лет

Брайан Мэй и его гитара Red Special («Красная особая»)
Брайан Мэй и его гитара Red Special («Красная особая»)

Брайан Мэй взял в руки гитару в 7 лет (именно тогда он начал брать уроки)! При этом его первая гитара появилась у него только в 16-ть, и была она совершенно уникальной…

Брайан Мэй и его Red Special
Брайан Мэй и его Red Special

Уникальность инструмента заключалась в том, что собран он был самим Брайаном и его отцом Гарольдом! Роскошная гитара, основой для которой послужила старая каминная полка, в конечном итоге получила название Red Special и известность в мире рок-музыки!

На «I Want It All» Мэя вдохновила его вторая жена

Брайан Мэй и Анита Добсон в молодости...
Брайан Мэй и Анита Добсон в молодости…

Композиция «I Want It All» считается одним из главных поздних синглов Queen! К сожалению, у Фредди Меркьюри не было возможности исполнить это произведение вживую… Культовый фронтмен скончался в 1991 году, и группа исполнила «I Want It All» лишь год спустя на концерте, посвящённом памяти Меркьюри (с Роджером Долтри на вокале…)

Примечательно то, что песню написал Брайан Мэй, и вдохновила его на эту песню его вторая жена Анита Добсон! «I Want It All» была написана, когда брак Мэя с Крисси Маллен трещал по швам: именно тогда гитарист вдохновился строкой, которую регулярно произносила Добсон, ставшая в итоге его второй женой…

Брайан Мэй и Анита Добсон спустя годы...
Брайан Мэй и Анита Добсон спустя годы…

Он – активный борец за права животных (у него даже есть собственный заповедник)

Брайан Мэй с коалой...
Брайан Мэй с коалой…

Мало кто знает, но Мэй является активистом уже в течение многих лет! Так, гитарист давно выражает возмущение по поводу поддержки выбраковки животных. Яркий пример — церемония закрытия Олимпийских игр 2012 года в Лондоне: тогда Брайан Мэй выразила своё пренебрежение предложенной выбраковкой барсуков и лисиц в Глостере и Сомерсете, появившись на сцене в костюме с изображением этих двух животных…

Несмотря на свою роль в Queen и достижения в музыке, Мэй заявил, что больше всего хотел бы, чтобы его помнили за его активную деятельность… С тех пор он сделал много шагов в поддержку животных, включая участие в протестном сингле «Save the Badger Badger Badger» и строительство собственного заповедника! В начале 2010-х Мэй «пожертвовал» часть своей земли, построив заповедник для реабилитации раненых животных. В какой-то момент у него было 36 ежей, семь барсучьих детёнышей и две коричневые совы!

Он восхищается Леди Гагой, и это взаимно

Леди Гага исполнила гимн США на инаугурации Байдена
Леди Гага исполнила гимн США на инаугурации Байдена

Во время работы над своим альбомом 2011 года Born This Way эпатажная, но также очень сердечная Леди Гага обратилась за помощью к легендарному продюсеру Матту Лангу (он работал с Def Leppard, AC/DC, Бритни Спирс и многими другими кумирами!) В свою очередь Ланг привлёк к работе Брайана Мэя — в частности для исполнения игры на гитаре, которая в итоге дополнила сингл «You and I»:

В результате Мэй и Гага подружились, и даже исполнили эту композицию вместе, на одной сцене MTV Video Music Awards! После, культовый гитарист сделал важное сообщение: Брайан Мэй заявил, что был бы заинтересован в том, чтобы Гага выступила с Queen!

И в то время как плотный график певицы не допустил этого, оба музыканта всё ещё тепло отзываются друг о друге…

Он получил степень доктора философии по астрофизике спустя более 30 лет

Брайан Мэй
Брайан Мэй

Queen сформировалась в 1970 году, когда Брайан Мэй всё ещё изучал астрофизику в Имперском колледже Лондона. Когда группа достигла международной известности, Мэй отложил свои исследования, связанные с зодиакальным светом, во имя гастролей, написания текстов и записи музыки… К слову: несмотря на то, что зодиакальный свет виден с поверхности Земли, его точная причина возникновения всё ещё не была полностью известна, когда он привлёк внимание Мэя… Позже астрономы определили его происхождение — оказывается, данное явление связано с отражением солнечного света от скопившихся космических обломков.

Это кажется невероятным, но спустя более чем 30 лет Брайан Мэй вернулся к учёбе, чтобы закончить диссертацию! В результате он получил степень доктора философии по астрофизике в мае 2007 года.

Он проработал пять лет ректором университета

Ливерпульский университет Джона Мура
Ливерпульский университет Джона Мура

Не желая почивать на лаврах после своих академических достижений, новоиспечённый доктор Брайан Мэй принял на себя важные обязанности в Ливерпульском университете Джона Мура в 2008 году в качестве канцлера. Он сменил Шери Бут, адвоката и жену бывшего премьер-министра Великобритании Тони Блэра, на 5 лет! В этой почётной роли Мэй присуждал дипломы выпускникам и был публичным лицом университета! Эта должность была присуждена Мэю как за его работу с Queen, так и за его пропаганду «популяризации астрономии».

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

3 + 4 =

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...

The Cure — «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022) от The Cure  Рок-группа из Англии The Cure анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Songs Of A Lost...

Топ-6 песен в исполнении невероятного Нодди Холдера

Песни, которые перенесут вас в молодость – Топ лучших вокальных моментов Нодди Холдера Нодди Холдер навсегда поселился в сердцах отечественных слушателей! Вместе с группой Slade...

Похожие статьи

Arms and Sleepers — «Former Kingdoms» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Former Kingdoms» (2022) от Arms and Sleepers Американская музыкальная группа Arms and Sleepers поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Former...

Шесть самых известных песен Олега Газманова

Лучшие песни Олега Газманова Олег Газманов - очень талантливый артист. Он и актер, и поэт, и продюсер. Из-за этого его музыку недооценивают. Но, несмотря на...

Самые гениальные авторы песен в русском роке – Часть первая

Кто они, гении пера в русском роке: Часть первая Рок, как и любой жанр, нуждается в толковых авторах. Вот только в отличие от поп-музыки или...

«Время колокольчиков» – Печальная судьба выдающегося русского поэта Александра Башлачёва

Печальная судьба Александра Башлачёва: Вспоминаем биографию, факты и главные хиты Александр Башлачёв вошёл в историю русского рока как музыкант, бард, автор и исполнитель. Он также...

Low Kick Collective — «Coma Berenices» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Coma Berenices» (2022) от Low Kick Collective Экспериментальный проект Low Kick Collective поделился своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил уникальное название «Coma Berenices» (2022)....

Три любимых хита Baccara

Вспоминаем главные хиты Baccara Названная в честь очень красивого сорта розы, женская поп-группа Baccara пользовалась большой популярностью на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов! В нашей...

Чем корейские поп-музыканты отличаются от наших: Разница колоссальная

Отличия корейских поп-музыкантов от российских Если раньше был популярен рок, то уже к началу 90-ых годов популярность целиком и полностью принадлежала диско. А в последние...

Джоан Осборн и её вневременная классика «One of Us»

История одной проникновенной песни – как родилась «One of Us», самый громкий хит Джоан Осборн «Один из нас» – такое название получила песня, которая прославила...

Три хита Ottawan, под которые отрывались на дискотеках

Топ лучших песен группы Ottawan, которые звучали на каждой дискотеке В начале 80-х хиты этого диско-дуэта звучали практически по всему миру! Проект Ottawan был образован...