Author:
Category:

"The Beautiful British Invasion - Popular British Singers of the Beatles Era: Part One

Some of them turned out to be one-hit performers, while others earned a big name and built a successful career.

Best singers of the British Invasion era: list, photos and facts, hits and videos - part one

When it comes to popular music of the '60s years, a period often referred to as the The British Invasionthe first thing that comes to mind is The Beatles. This is truly legendary and the first band in many senses of the word to rewrite history! It was followed by such now iconic monsters of classic rock as The Rolling Stones, The Who, Black Sabbath and so on. However, it wasn't just men who were popular in the industry of those years...

Some of them turned out to be one-hit performers, while others earned a big name and built a successful career. WomenThe "I'm going to talk about today" was an important part of the The British Invasion. And here are the most popular ones!

Mary Hopkin

Mary Hopkin
Mary Hopkin

This delicate blonde was discovered by the model Twiggywho, in turn, told us about her Paul McCartney. Okay, pretty girl. Mary Hopkin became a protégé of the iconic Beatle, with whom she recorded some of her best early songs in the vein of "Those Were the Days". Their collaboration had friction, but still turned out to be a success. And it ignited a new British star!

Hopkin became famous for being one of the first artists to record material on The Beatles' own label! It's about Apple. She also represented Great Britain at the "The 1970 Eurovision Song Contestand even won second place with the song "Knock Knock Who's There". Mary subsequently left the stage to concentrate on her family, but continued to record extensively over the years.

Kiki D.

Kiki D.
Kiki D.

Charismatic Kiki D. won her first and, in fact, her only great popularity thanks to her beautiful duet with Elton John! The way they performed together "Don't Go Breaking My Heart", delighted the public and went down in history. Alas, it was also the only notable episode in Dee's career for a wide audience...

Kiki D. In fact, she has always been a very talented and tenacious performer. She recorded tirelessly, even as a session musician. She also made history as the first British artist to sign a contract with the Motown label Tamla Records. Years later, Dee teamed up with Elton again to perform a cover of Cole Porter's popular hit "True Love.". It has certainly been underestimated by many, which is grossly unfair.

Sandy Shaw

Sandy Shaw
Sandy Shaw

Sandy Shaw has been called one of the best singers to come out of the British Invasion! With such standout hits as. "Long Live Love" and "Puppet on a String" - monster single, which became her biggest-selling hit and the winner of the 1967 Eurovision Song Contest - she quickly became an audience favorite. And, of course, because of her charming looks...

Shaw really had it all, from her pronounced talent to her outward attractiveness. An ordinary girl from the working class managed to reach great heights and become part of the history of the industry. Subsequently, Sandy founded her own fashion brand.

Lulu

Singer Lulu
Singer Lulu

Charming Lulu She conquered the audience almost instantly: bright, cheerful, radiant, and talented at the same time - she has a loud international hit "To Sir With Love"Lulu's own show on British TV, as well as many other projects. Later on Lulu had her own show on British TV, and many other projects. She is also known for her musical theme for the James Bond film "The Man with the Golden Gun".

In addition to her talent, Lulu was a media favorite because of her affair with By Maurice Gibb, a member of the Bee Gees. She was also on friendly terms with David Bowie, who produced her cover "The Man Who Sold the World".

The Breakaways

The Breakaways
The Breakaways

We decided to complete the list with an entire group called The Breakaways. You may not have heard of her, but in fact she has made a tremendous contribution to The British Invasion and culture in general. Formed in 1962, today this band is almost unknown to anyone. But in its time it was popular during the studio sessions of other artists, and apart from that it recorded on its own. The Breakaways also toured with Sam Cooke and Little Richard.

The Breakaways were the UK's leading session vocalists throughout the 1960s, though often not even mentioned in the credits. But even though they were in the shadows, they made significant contributions to the British pop sound of the 1960s and 1970s.

Part 2

"Narodnik" with dreadlocks: how a guy from a small town in Tula broke into television

Shaman - Success Story, Hate from Detractors, Best Songs The path of every screen star begins with a bright flash. The hero of today's article, a musician under the pseudonym ...

We'll "ruin" your favorite songs: about the most famous cover band

All about Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine The most beautiful and subtle art in the world is music. Not every person is given the...

The only song AC/DC's Brian Johnson will never perform

Why AC/DC Refuses to Perform "It's a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock 'n' Roll)" AC/DC is a legendary Australian rock band formed in...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Rock legends' Top 5 Chic "Late" Releases

Rock Stars' Best Late-Life Releases Not every rock star can keep the fire burning until the end of time. It's only natural that performers get older, and you wouldn't expect them to be...

Автор:
Категория:

«Красивое Британское вторжение» – популярные британские певицы эпохи «Битлз»: часть первая

Некоторые из них оказались исполнительницами одного хита, в то время как другие заработали громкое имя и построили успешную карьеру.

Лучшие певицы эпохи Британского вторжения: список, фото и факты, хиты и видео – часть первая

Когда речь заходит о популярной музыке 60-х годов, периода, о котором часто говорят как о Британском вторжении, первое, что приходит на ум, это The Beatles. Это действительно легендарная и первая во многих смыслах слова группа, которая переписала историю! За ней последовали такие ныне культовые монстры классического рока, как The Rolling Stones, The Who, Black Sabbath и так далее. Однако в индустрии тех лет были популярны не только мужчины…

Некоторые из них оказались исполнительницами одного хита, в то время как другие заработали громкое имя и построили успешную карьеру. Женщины, о которых сегодня пойдёт речь, были важной составляющей Британского вторжения. И вот самые популярные из них!

Мэри Хопкин

Мэри Хопкин
Мэри Хопкин

Эта нежная блондинка была обнаружена моделью Твигги, которая, в свою очередь, рассказала о ней Полу Маккартни. Так, красотка Мэри Хопкин стала протеже культового битла, с которым записала одни из своих лучших ранних песен в духе «Those Were the Days». Их сотрудничество имело трения, но всё же обернулось успехом. И зажгло новую британскую звезду!

Хопкин прославилась тем, что стала одной из первых артисток, записавших материал на собственном лейбле The Beatles! Речь про Apple. Она также представляла Великобританию на «Евровидение» 1970 года, и даже завоевала второе место с песней «Knock Knock Who’s There». Впоследствии Мэри оставила сцену и сосредоточилась на семье, однако на протяжении многих лет продолжала активно записываться.

Кики Ди

Кики Ди
Кики Ди

Харизматичная Кики Ди завоевала свою первую и, в общем-то, единственную большую популярность благодаря прекрасному дуэту с Элтоном Джоном! То, как они вместе исполнили «Don’t Go Breaking My Heart», восхитило публику и вошло в историю. Увы, но это также стало единственным заметным эпизодом в карьере Ди для широкой аудитории…

Кики Ди на самом деле всегда была очень талантливой и упорной исполнительницей. Она неустанно записывалась, причём и в качестве сессионного музыканта. Она также вошла в историю как первая британская артистка, заключившая контракт с мотауновским лейблом Tamla Records. Много лет спустя Ди вновь объединилась с Элтоном, чтобы исполнить кавер на популярный хит Коула Портера «True Love». Она определённо осталась многими недооценена, что крайне несправедливо.

Сэнди Шоу

Сэнди Шоу
Сэнди Шоу

Сэнди Шоу называют одной из лучших певиц, вышедших из Британского вторжения! С такими отменными хитами, как «Long Live Love» и «Puppet on a String» – монстр-синглом, который стал её самым продаваемым хитом и победителем на «Евровидение» 1967 года – она быстро стала любимицей публики. Ну и, конечно же, благодаря своей очаровательной внешности…

У Шоу действительно было всё, от ярко выраженного таланта до внешней привлекательности. Обычная девушка из рабочего класса сумела достичь больших высот и войти в историю индустрии. Впоследствии Сэнди основала собственный модный бренд.

Лулу

Певице Лулу
Певице Лулу

Очаровашка Лулу покорила публику почти мгновенно: яркая, задорная, лучезарная и при всём этом талантливая – ей принадлежит громкий международный хит «To Sir With Love», который прозвучал в одноимённом фильме, в котором она снималась. Позже у Лулу появилось собственное шоу на британском телевидении, ну и много других проектов. Она также известна исполнением музыкальной темы к фильму о Джеймсе Бонде «Человек с золотым пистолетом».

Помимо своего таланта, Лулу была излюбленной персоной СМИ из-за своего романа с Морисом Гиббом, участником Bee Gees. Она также была в тёплых отношениях с Дэвидом Боуи, который продюсировал её кавер-версию «The Man Who Sold the World».

The Breakaways

The Breakaways
The Breakaways

Завершить список мы решили целой группой под названием The Breakaways. Вы могли ничего не слышать о ней, но на самом деле она внесла колоссальный вклад в Британское вторжение и культуру в целом. Сформированный в 1962 году, сегодня этот коллектив почти никому неизвестен. Но в своём время он был популярен во время студийных сессий других артистов, и помимо этого записывался самостоятельно. The Breakaways также гастролировали с Сэмом Куком и Литл Ричардом.

The Breakaways были ведущими сессионными вокалистками Великобритании на протяжении 1960-х годов, хотя часто даже не упоминались в титрах. Но даже несмотря на то, что они находились в тени, они внесли значительный вклад в британское поп-звучание 1960-х и 1970-х годов.

Часть 2

Милая песня оказалась гангста-рэпом из Швеции: рассказываем про Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - популярность, песни, биография музыканта.  Что стоит за успехом мировых звезд - качественный продакшн, талант или нечто иное? Тогда как объяснить то, что...

Топ-15 величайших поп-певцов всех времён по мнению журнала «Fuzz Music»

Величайшие и лучшие поп-певцы за всю историю музыки История музыки богата и разнообразна в плане своих лиц. Она знает много громких имён, которые стояли как...

«Народник» с дредами: как парень из маленького тульского города ворвался на телевидение

Shaman – История успеха, хейт со стороны недоброжелателей, лучшие песни Путь каждой звезды экранов начинается с яркой вспышки. Герой нашей сегодняшней статьи, музыкант под псевдонимом...
Похожие статьи

Мы «испортим» ваши любимые песни: о самой известной кавер-группе

Все о группе Richard Cheese and Lounge Against the Machine Самое прекрасное и тонкое в мире искусство - это музыка. Не каждому человеку дано...

Единственная песня, которую Брайан Джонсон из AC/DC не исполнит никогда

Почему AC/DC отказываются от исполнения «It’s a Long Way to the Top (If You Wanna Rock ’n’ Roll)» AC/DC – легендарная австралийская рок-группа, сформированная в...

«Paranoid»: культовая классика Black Sabbath, написанная за считанные минуты

Хит «Paranoid» группы Black Sabbath: история и факты Не секрет, что некоторые из самых легендарных произведений родились за считанные минуты. Вообще говорят, что краткость –...

Киркоров был «другом» Майкла Джексона: выдумки или все-таки правда

Дружба Майкла Джексона и Филиппа Киркорова Майкл Джексон - американский поп-король, внесший колоссальный вклад в историю музыки. Однако вокруг него всегда было сосредоточено множество мифов,...

«Авария, предательство и не только»: несокрушимый дух Дона Пауэлла, барабанщика Slade

Легенда Slade Дон Пауэлл и его история: факты и интервью Он разменял восьмой десяток, но по-прежнему остаётся несокрушимой легендой. Дон Пауэлл, легендарно известный барабанщик Slade,...

Топ-5 культовых рок-альбомов, запись которых обернулась кошмаром

Легендарные рок-альбомы, запись которых обернулась кошмаром На первый взгляд, быть рок-звездой кажется самой приятной работой в мире! Твоя задача состоит только в том, чтобы сочинять...

Идеальные песни, положившие начало хард-року

Треки, положившие начало хард-року – топ лучших После легендарно известного «Лета любви» рок-н-ролл всё увереннее и увереннее обрастал шипами. Казалось, «мягкая» эпоха The Beatles и...

Лучшие «живые» классические рок-альбомы по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» – часть вторая

Лучшие концертные классические рок-альбомы – часть вторая Мы обожаем сотни рок-групп и исполнителей, но прежде всего бешеная слава приходит к ним благодаря безупречно спродюсированным «студийникам»....

«Это лучшее что с ним случалось»: американец исполнил смус-джазовую версию популярной песни Витаса «7-ой элемент»

Американец исполнил кавер-версию хита Витаса  «Седьмой элемент» В интернете можно найти множество каверов на известные песни, но как вам необычный подход американского музыкального блоггера Andre...