Author:
Category:

How the hit song "Buffalo Soldier" was created, which has a deep meaning in the history of North America

Buffalo soldiers "fought on arrival" in America, and even after the aforementioned wars ceased, their fighting continued. Only in the latter case it will be a struggle for equality and justice.

We recall the history of "Buffalo Soldier" and interesting facts related to the legendary song of Bob Marley

Buffalo Soldier - the famous song of reggae icon Bob Marley, written by the artist in collaboration with Noel Williams and recorded with his band "The Wailers". The track was included in the posthumous release of 1983. "Confrontation" and became a big hit for Marley, but, unfortunately, after his death: the legendary singer died in 1981. Nevertheless, his message reached the people: the composition tells of a great battle fought by members of the 10th Cavalry Regiment of the US Army during the Indian Wars. buffalo soldiers, established by the United States Congress in September 1866, were renowned both for their prowess and for the fact that they were the first all-black peacetime regiments in the US Army.

How Bob Marley Became a Spiritual Figure
Bob Marley

The Buffalo Soldiers were a detached regiment of black cavalry during the American campaign to rid the West of "Indians" so that "civilized" white people could gain land used by Native Americans. Ironically, many of the soldiers were slaves taken out of Africa. Bob Marley gives a little history lesson as a protest song about the role of a black person in building a country that continues to oppress him.

Source of inspiration and creation process

"Buffalo Soldier" (1983) - Bob Marley & The Wailers - Single Cover
Buffalo Soldier (1983) single cover - "Bob Marley & The Wailers"

One of the main tasks that Buffalo soldiers were assigned to perform during wars was to protect white people who settled on Native American lands. They guarded them from Native American attacks. In his song, Marley sheds light on the remarkable bravery and bravery of black soldiers in the Indian wars, while at the same time lamenting the oppression suffered by the black people in the country they fought for and helped build their own hands.

Marley wrote this song with a Jamaican Noel Williamsknown by the pseudonym King Sporty. Williams was an inventive creator of dance music, combining reggae and disco in his track. "Music Maker" 1975 of the year. He also promoted the Miami bass sound while producing the track. "Funky Fresh Beat" from Youth MC'sreleased in 1986.

Graduation and Success

The song was released two years after his death. Marley and was one of the last he recorded. The single took 4th place in the British charts, where Marley had the same success posthumously as during his lifetime: after that, seven more of his releases hit the charts.

The song was included in "Confrontation" (1983), Bob Marley's first album released after his death, and also on a hits collection "Legend" (1984)which became the best-selling reggae album of all time.

Lyric depth and meaning years later

buffalo soldiers
buffalo soldiers

This is one of the most historically minded songs of the late Bob Marley. Term "Buffalo Soldier" was used to describe a group of black American soldiers who were used to fight Native Americans during the border wars. In other words, they were slaves, that is, "stolen from Africa," as Bob himself put it. And as the story goes, the reason they were compared to buffalo was based on the description the aforementioned Native Americans had for the texture of their hair. As the singer mentions, these warriors were most likely "with dreadlocks" or had a significant amount of natural black hair left unattended for a long time. As for the thesis of this song, it does not focus on presenting buffalo soldier as historical figures as such. Rather, it is more likely that these people themselves were the ancestors of the Rastafari. They come across as extremely independent fighters for survival. In fact, the fact that they "won the war for America" is not as obvious as the notion that the main characters were clearly outcasts.

Pictured is the Buffalo Soldiers.
Pictured are Buffalo soldiers

buffalo soldiers "fought upon arrival" in America, and even after the aforementioned wars ceased, their battles continued. Only in the latter case it will be a struggle for equality and justice. The overall meaning of the composition is that these soldiers were not only Rastafari, but also freedom fighters who deserved a prominent place in the history of North America.

Facts about the song

Bob Marley
Bob Marley
  • Noel Williams, with whom this composition was written, died in 2015 at the age of 71 years old.

  • The song has become an inspiration for many artists of different genres. In 2008, the American rapper presented his cover Vanilla Ice:

  • Buffalo Soldier graced the dramatic motion picture Claire Denis "No fear, no death" ("No Fear, No Die") in 1990.
  • The track was especially popular in New Zealand and the UK. The record itself "Legend" gained cult status in the reggae style: it is considered the most successful album in the history of the musical genre. However, it was only a collection. Its circulation was over 25 million copies around the world, and in 2020 it was ranked 48th on the magazine's "Greatest Albums of All Time" list. "Rolling Stone.

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Домой Хиты Хиты 80-х Как создавался хит «Buffalo Soldier», который имеет глубокое значение в истории Северной Америки

Как создавался хит «Buffalo Soldier», который имеет глубокое значение в истории Северной Америки

0
Как создавался хит «Buffalo Soldier», который имеет глубокое значение в истории Северной Америки
Сборник хитов Боба Марли «Legend» 1984 года

Вспоминаем историю «Buffalo Soldier» и интересные факты, связанные с легендарной песней Боба Марли

«Buffalo Soldier» — знаменитая песня иконы регги Боба Марли, написанная исполнителем совместно с Ноэлем Уильямсом и записанная с его группой «The Wailers». Трек вошёл в посмертный релиз 1983 года «Confrontation» и стал большим хитом Марли, но, к сожалению, уже после его смерти: легендарный певец скончался в 1981 году. Тем не менее его послание дошло до народа: композиция повествует о великой битве, устроенной членами десятого кавалерийского полка армии США во время войн с индейцами. Солдаты Буффало, учреждённые Конгрессом Соединённых Штатов в сентябре 1866 года, славились как своей доблестью, так и тем фактом, что они были первыми полками мирного времени, состоящими только из чернокожих мужчин в армии США.

Как Боб Марли стал духовной фигурой
Боб Марли

Солдаты Буффало были обособленным полком бойцов чёрной кавалерии во время американской кампании по избавлению Запада от «индейцев», чтобы «цивилизованные» белые люди могли получить земли, используемые коренными американцами. По иронии судьбы многие солдаты были рабами, вывезенными из Африки. Боб Марли даёт небольшой урок истории в качестве песни протеста о роли чернокожего человека в построении страны, которая продолжает его угнетать.

Источник вдохновения и процесс создания

«Buffalo Soldier» (1983) – Bob Marley & The Wailers – Обложка сингла
Обложка сингла «Buffalo Soldier» (1983) –  «Bob Marley & The Wailers»

Одной из основных задач, которую солдатам Буффало поручили выполнять во время войн, была защита белых людей, поселившихся на землях коренных американцев. Они охраняли их от нападений коренных американцев. В своей песне Марли проливает свет на замечательную храбрость и отвагу чернокожих солдат в индийских войнах, в то же время оплакивая угнетения, которым подвергался чернокожий народ в стране, за которую он боролся и помогал строить своими собственными руки.

Марли написал эту песню вместе с ямайцем Ноэлем Уильямсом, известным под псевдонимом King Sporty. Уильямс был изобретательным создателем танцевальной музыки, сочетая регги и диско в своём треке «Music Maker» 1975 года. Он также продвигал басовый звук Майами, будучи продюсером трека «Funky Fresh Beat» от Youth MC’s, выпущенного в 1986 году.

Выпуск и успех

Песня вышла через два года после смерти Марли и стала одной из последних, которую он записал. Сингл занял 4-е место в британских чартах, где Марли имел такой же успех посмертно, как и при жизни: после этого в хит-парады попали ещё семь его релизов.

Песня была включена в «Confrontation» (1983), первый альбом Боба Марли, выпущенный после его смерти, а также в сборник хитов «Legend» (1984), который стал самым продаваемым регги-альбомом всех времён.

Глубина лирики и значение спустя годы

Солдаты Буффало
Солдаты Буффало

Это одна из самых исторически мыслящих песен покойного Боба Марли. Термин «солдат Буффало» использовался для описания группы чернокожих американских солдат, которые использовались для борьбы с коренными американцами во время пограничных войн. Другими словами, они были рабами, то есть «украденными из Африки», как выразился сам Боб. И, как гласит история, причина, по которой их сравнивали с буйволами, была основана на описании, которое вышеупомянутые коренные американцы относили к текстуре своих волос. Как упоминает певец, эти воины, скорее всего, были «с дредами» или обладали значительным количеством оставленных на долгое время без присмотра натуральных чёрных волос. Что касается тезисов этой песни, она не сосредотачивается на том, чтобы представить солдат Буффало как исторические личности как таковые. Скорее, это больше похоже на то, что эти люди сами были предками растафари. Они производят впечатление чрезвычайно независимых борцов за выживание. На самом деле тот факт, что они «выиграли войну за Америку», не столь очевиден, как представление о том, что главные персонажи явно были изгоями.

На снимке изображены Солдаты Буффало
На снимке изображены солдаты Буффало

Солдаты Буффало «сражались по прибытии» в Америку, и даже после того, как вышеупомянутые войны прекратились, их сражения продолжались. Только в последнем случае это будет борьба за равноправие и справедливость. Общий смысл композиции заключается в том, что эти солдаты были не только растафари, но и борцами за свободу, которые заслужили заметное место в истории Северной Америки.

Факты о песне

Боб Марли
Боб Марли
  • Ноэль Уильямс, совместно с которым была написана данная композиция, скончался в 2015 году в возрасте 71 года.

  • Песня стала источником вдохновения для многих артистов разных жанров. В 2008 году свой кавер представил американский рэпер Vanilla Ice:

  • «Buffalo Soldier» украсила драматическую кинокартину Клер Дени «Нет страха, нет смерти» («No Fear, No Die») 1990 года.
  • Трек был особенно популярен в Новой Зеландии и Великобритании. Сама пластинка «Legend» приобрела статус культовой в стиле регги: она считается самым успешным альбомом за всю историю музыкального жанра. При этом она была лишь сборником. Её тираж составил более 25 млн копий по всему миру, а в 2020 году она заняла 48-е место в списке «величайших альбомов всех времён» журнала «Rolling Stone».
9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

18 − 14 =