Author:
Category:

All about the album "Completely Well" by one of the greatest blues artists BB King

We learn more about the life of B.B. King, one of the main jazz artists, and his famous album "Completely Well".

"Completely Well" (1969) - B.B. King - album history

BB King bore the title The king of the blues no worse than anyone monarch. Even in elderly age he sang and played music with relentless passion. His songs are like expensive wine: over time they become stronger and better, but creation Not everyone understands King listenerbut only those who can see beautiful and understands art. Now B.B. King already No alive, but he continues exist in those compositions that he created in his life (and their huge number).

In this article, we will tell you about the life musician, about his famous record "Completely Well" and about some songsincluded in this album.

Biography

For over half a century Riley B. King, better known as BB King, determined the blues trends for world audience. Ever since the musician started recording in 1940s, he released more fifty albums, many of which became classic.

King is born 16 of September 1925 on a plantation in Itta Bena, state Mississippi. IN youth he played on corners streets for pennies, all the time changed citiesto at least something earn. IN 1947 he hitchhiked to Memphis, Tennessee to try to start there serious musical career. Memphis was the place where they gathered important musicians South and them supported large music community. The audience paid attention to every interesting artist. BB King lived with a cousin bukka white, one of the greatest guitarists of all timewho taught a relative the art blues.

BB King (BBC King) in his youth
BB King (BBC King) in his youth

In the middle 1950swhen King was speaking dancing in Twist, Arkansas, several fans behaved inappropriate manner. Two men entered into fight and overturned the kerosene stove, began fire. The musician ran into the street safe a place with everyone else, and then realized that he left your favorite acoustic guitar for $30 inside. He rushed back inside the burning building to take tool, and barely escaped of death. When King later found out that fight was because of a woman named Lucille, he decided name his guitar with the same name. Since then, each of the signature guitars The Gibson B series called Lucille.

Shortly after your first hit "Three O'Clock Blues" King started to tour countrywide. IN 1956 he and his band played 342 concerts.

For many years king developed one of the most recognizable guitar styles in the world. He borrowed from American guitarists Blind Lemon Jefferson and T-Bone Walker some elements and united them.

In 1968 king played at the Newport Folk festival with the most hot modern rock artists of the time, who idolized him and helped imagine young audience. In a year King was chosen by the British rock band Rolling Stones to open eighteen their solo concerts.

Album "Completely Well"

breakthrough album Kinga 1969 was produced Bill Shimchikwho would later work with the American rock band The Eagles. Shimchika suggested rewrite the song blues musicians Roy Hawkins and Rick Darnell "The Thrill Is Gone" 1951. Version Kinga is slow 12 bar blues. This track performed by King became one of the most famous compositions. She reached Third places in the charts R&B and rose to number fifteen on the charts Billboard Hot 100 Popstaying there for two months. Recording brought King an award Grammy Awards for the best male vocal R&B performance in 1970 year and premium The Grammy Hall of Fame 1998 year.

 

In "Completely Well" there are many great tracks: "Confessin' The Blues", "No Good" and "So Excited". The latter has incredible groove and incendiary chorus. "Completely Well" considered one of the best albums of a lifetime B.B. King. IN 2015 year he was reissued on vinyl, packaged with original illustrations and notes.

Album "Completely Well" sounds like music 70s and thereby seduces lovers rock. Songs from the album sounded as the opening act for concerts Rolling Stones. King is with them. spoke at one of the UK's most prestigious concert venues - albert hall.

Awards and own achievements

BB King was introduced into Blues Hall of Fame in 1984 and Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1987. In 1987 he received the NARAS Lifetime Achievement Grammy Award. IN 1992 year he received National distinction award from University Mississippi.

In 1991 year on Beale Street in Memphis open music restaurant "B.B. King's Blues Club", and in 1994 in Universal City Walk in Los Angeles was launched second branch. The third, in times square in New York, opened in June 2000, and two new clubs opened in the casino foxwoods in Connecticut in January 2002.

In 1996 was published autobiography Kinga "Blues All Around Me" (co-written with American writer David Ritz).

Signboard for the B.B. King's Blues Club
BB King's Blues Club music restaurant sign

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

Всё об альбоме «Completely Well» одного из величайших блюзовых исполнителей Би Би Кинга

Узнаём больше о жизни Би Би Кинга, одного из главных джазовых исполнителей, и о его знаменитой пластинке «Completely Well».

«Completely Well» (1969) – B.B. King – история альбома

Би Би Кинг носил титул Короля блюза не хуже любого монарха. Даже в пожилом возрасте он пел и играл музыку с неослабевающей страстью. Его песни похожи на дорогое вино: со временем они становятся всё крепче и лучше, но творчество Кинга поймёт не всякий слушатель, а только тот, кто умеет видеть прекрасное и понимает искусство. Сейчас Би Би Кинга уже нет в живых, но он продолжает существовать в тех композициях, что создал за свою жизнь (а их огромное количество).

В данной статье мы расскажем вам о самой жизни музыканта, о его известной пластинке «Completely Well» и о некоторых песнях, входивших в этот альбом.

Биография

На протяжении более полувека Riley B. King, более известный как Би Би Кинг, определял блюзовые тенденции для мировой аудитории. С тех пор, как музыкант начал записываться в 1940-х годах, он выпустил более пятидесяти альбомов, многие из которых стали классикой.

Кинг родился 16 сентября 1925 года на плантации в Итта-Бена, штат Миссисипи. В молодости он играл на углах улиц за копейки, постоянно менял города, чтобы хоть что-то заработать. В 1947 году он автостопом отправился в Мемфис, штат Теннесси, чтобы попробовать там начать серьёзную музыкальную карьеру. Мемфис был тем местом, где собирались важные музыканты Юга и их поддерживало большое музыкальное сообщество. Публика уделяла внимание каждому интересному артисту. Би Би Кинг жил с двоюродным братом Буккой Уайтом, одним из величайших гитаристов всех времён, который обучал родственника искусству блюза.

B. B. King (Би Би Кинг) в молодости
B. B. King (Би Би Кинг) в молодости

В середине 1950-х годов, когда Кинг выступал на танцах в Твисте, штат Арканзас, несколько поклонников вели себя неподобающим образом. Двое мужчин вступили в драку и опрокинули керосиновую печь, начался пожар. Музыкант помчался на улицу в безопасное место со всеми остальными, а затем понял, что он оставил свою любимую акустическую гитару за 30 долларов внутри. Он бросился обратно внутрь горящего здания, чтобы забрать инструмент, и едва избежал смерти. Когда позже Кинг узнал, что драка была из-за женщины по имени Люсиль, он решил назвать свою гитару таким же именем. С тех пор каждая из фирменных гитар «The Gibson B series» называется «Lucille».

Вскоре после своего первого хита «Three O’Clock Blues» Кинг начал гастролировать по всей стране. В 1956 году он и его группа сыграли 342 концерта.

На протяжении многих лет Кинг разрабатывал один из самых узнаваемых гитарных стилей в мире. Он позаимствовал у американских гитаристов Блайнда Лемона Джефферсона и Ти-Боуна Уокера некоторые элементы и объединил их.

В 1968 году Кинг играл на Ньюпортском фольклорном фестивале с самыми горячими современными рок-артистами того времени, которые боготворили его и помогли представить молодой аудитории. Через год Кинг был выбран британской рок-группой «Rolling Stones» для открытия восемнадцати их сольных концертов.

Альбом «Completely Well»

Прорывной альбом Кинга 1969 года был спродюсирован Биллом Шимчиком, который позже будет работать с американской рок-группой «The Eagles». Шимчика предложил переписать песню блюзовых музыкантов Роя Хокинса и Рика Дарнелла «The Thrill Is Gone» 1951 года. Версия Кинга представляет собой медленный 12-тактовый блюз. Этот трек в исполнении Кинга стал одной из самых известных композиций. Она достигла третьего места в чартах R&B и поднялась на пятнадцатое в чартах Billboard Hot 100 Pop, оставаясь там в течение двух месяцев. Запись принесла Кингу премию «Грэмми» за лучшее мужское вокальное R&B-исполнение в 1970 году и премию Зала славы «Грэмми» в 1998 году.

 

В «Completely Well» есть много замечательных треков: «Confessin’ The Blues», «No Good» и «So Excited». Последний имеет невероятный грув и зажигательный припев. «Completely Well» считается одним из лучших альбомов за всю жизнь Би Би Кинга. В 2015 году он был переиздан на виниле, оформлен в упаковке с оригинальными иллюстрациями и примечаниями.

Альбом «Completely Well» своим звучанием напоминает музыку 70-х и тем самым прельщает любителей рока. Песни из альбома звучали на разогреве концертов «Rolling Stones». С ними же Кинг выступил на одной из самых престижных концертных площадок Великобритании – Альберт-холле.

Награды и собственные достижения

Би Би Кинг был введён в Зал славы блюза в 1984 году и в Зал славы рок-н-ролла в 1987 году. В 1987 году он получил премию «NARAS Lifetime Achievement Grammy Award». В 1992 году он получил Национальную премию отличия от Университета Миссисипи.

В 1991 году на Бил-стрит в Мемфисе открылся музыкальный ресторан «B.B. King’s Blues Club», а в 1994 году в Universal City Walk в Лос-Анджелесе был запущен второй филиал. Третий, на Таймс-сквер в Нью-Йорке, открылся в июне 2000 года, а два новых клуба открылись в казино Foxwoods в Коннектикуте в январе 2002 года.

В 1996 году была опубликована автобиография Кинга «Blues All Around Me» (написанная совместно с американским писателем Дэвидом Ритцем).

Вывеска музыкального ресторана «B.B. King's Blues Club»
Вывеска музыкального ресторана «B.B. King’s Blues Club»

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...
Похожие статьи

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...