Author:
Category:

How David Tukhmanov published the first Soviet art-rock album on Melodiya

David Tukhmanov's record "According to the Wave of My Memory" was released in the fall of 1976 and became a real revolution in Soviet music of that time.

"According to the Wave of My Memory" (1976) - album history, performers, interesting facts

Record by David Tukhmanov "According to the wave of my memory" released September 9 1976, on the death day of the former chairman of the People's Republic of China Mao Zedong. The work was very unusual for Soviet music of that time and instantly became popular: first circulation sold out dealwithout even reaching the stores. People tried to take as many records as possible, and "Melody" fulfilled the double sales target for the month. Igor Ivanov, the musician who performed the song "From the Vagants", the album could not be found anywhere. To him donated record myself Tukhmanov, who did not even imagine that his work would be so successful:

"I thought that album too much complicated for perception. “According to the wave of my memory” is exquisite work requiring special approach, and therefore it probably will not famous. After this record, I wrote a lot of things, but they could not repeat her success."

Album cover "On the wave of my memory" (David Tukhmanov)
Album cover "On the wave of my memory" (David Tukhmanov)

Most main difference album "According to the wave of my memory" consists in themselves tracks, which are strongly stood out against the background of other compositions of the Soviet show business. Poems by Voloshin, Sappho, Verlaine, Goethe were put on complex melodies, and now the works of the classics embodied into the songs of young, yet unknown musicians. The disc also surprised with its cover. She was motley, with interesting drawn figures and completely different from familiar design.

In developing a new album, Tukhmanov was greatly helped by his wife Tatyana Sashko. Together they were engaged in the selection of musicians, writing music, the visual component of the album. David Fedorovich argued:

"There was a Soviet The song with her specific features, but our music began to be influenced anotherthat came from the West. Firm "Melody" weakened censorship in the selection of works. I, who at that time wrote several well-known tracks, understood that not completely embody my creativity ambition. Tried experimenting... unite what he knew in the field of classics, with electronic sound, arrangement. But then I thought that my works were too not easy to understand, people simply will not perceive them properly.

David Tukhmanov today
David Tukhmanov today

Tukhmanov was inspired foreign performers. He listened and "King Crimson", и "Jethro Tull", и "Led Zeppelin", и Frank Zappa. He defined the genre of music for his album as art rock. The composer admitted that when working on the disc, he was worried about the specific phonetics Russian language. Tukhmanov thought she would be a problem to work in tougher rhythmic forms. But he still managed to keep "naturalness" native language without changing its pronunciation.

Musicians Tukhmanov was looking for for a long time He needed professionals in his field. He needed a group peoplewho worked in various places, and planned to record with them exactly suite, a set of songs united by one meaning. He found musicians who played in various bands, performed in restaurants. They enthusiastically clung for this chance and agreed participate in the creation album. Perhaps some of them were young and inexperienced, but they burning with their work.

Mehrdad Badi at one of his performances
Mehrdad Badi at one of his performances

Tukhmanov and his team for a long time picked up poemsthat would sound good contemporary processing. The album "On the wave of my memory" consists mainly of foreign songs, the text of which is translated from another language, but the composer quoted some of them in The original. By this he wanted to show that poetry impossible translate completely.

singers Tukhmanov began to pick lastwhen the tracks were ready. Approving the candidates, the composer thought about how he would wantedin order for the song to sound, what should be the voice of the performer, his timbre. So he picked Alexander Barykin for Baudelaire, but Mehrdada Badi - for Voloshin and Shelly.

Alexander Barykin in his youth
Alexander Barykin in his youth

The composer did not want to know about the idea of his album ahead of time. He was afraid that such a specific and unusual record would simply won't allow to release. Tukhmanov and at the artistic council performed the songs that are part of "On the wave of my memory", very gently, in the manner of the classics, so that he was allowed to release them.

The composer admitted that he managed to embody almost everythingwhat he thought. The only thing he did not succeed was to release the work on old poems Chinese the poet Du Fu. Relations China and the USSR in 1976 were very tense, so not a single artistic council would have missed such a song. Most likely, "On the Wave of My Memory" was simply banned if this track was included in the album.

Sergei Belikov answers journalists' questions
Sergei Belikov answers journalists' questions

most popular the song of the record became "On the French Side". She is the most easy performed by a track reminiscent of classical type compositions. It can be assumed that the single became so popular due to its you just, people understood him more than other songs.

Singer Sergei Belikov, who worked with David Tukhmanov, spoke of him as follows:

"He liked the way I perform "Sentimental Walk" to the verses of Verlaine. It was a subtle, poetic, airy composition. When listening to the final version of the song, I noticed that my execution strongly changedbecame more professional and distinctive. Tukhmanov expanded my creativity."

Alexander Schwartzwho drew cover disk, worked on it as follows: Tukhmanov invited him to his home, played song motifs on the piano, the artist listened to them and drew everything that came to him to the headwhile the melody was playing. The very first sketches different from the final version: everything was sketched with a pen, these were allusions to modern reality. On the cover I wanted to show all modern world: and Moscow, and the Universe, and spaceships. But this cover didn't miss artistic council, as it "did not correspond to the ideals of socialist realism."

Second the attempt was crowned success: Schwartz noticed that Tukhmanov strives to achieve ideal in music. He was inspired by this and tried to embody on the cover perfection human spirit. The composition included statues of Athena, a motorcyclist and other figures, but the artistic council did not let them through. Interesting fact: racer was taken from self-portrait Schwartz, written long before the creation of the album. So the cover got its final look.

It is now accepted that "According to the wave of my memory" - this concept album. All musicians (even those who did not participate in the creation of the disc) perceived Tukhmanov's creation as revolution in contemporary Soviet music. The album was recognized as a cult immediately after its release. According to the journalist Alexey Mikhalev, the composer himself became example professionalism and innovation for many musicians of the time.

2 COMMENTS

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...

How R.E.M. "murmured" in the charts, or the story of their debut album "Murmur"

R.E.M. debut album "Murmur" and its history: full review, interesting facts, track list Despite the fact that the way to fame R.E.M. started in the prime of...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

Автор:
Категория:

Как Давид Тухманов издал на «Мелодии» первый советский арт-рок-альбом

Пластинка Давида Тухманова «По волне моей памяти» вышла осенью 76-го и стала настоящей революцией в советской музыке того времени.

«По волне моей памяти» (1976) — история альбома, исполнители, интересные факты

Пластинка Давида Тухманова «По волне моей памяти» вышла 9 сентября 1976 года, в день смерти бывшего председателя Китайской Народной Республики Мао Цзэдуна. Работа была очень необычной для советской музыки того времени и вмиг стала популярной: первый тираж разошёлся по рукам, так и не дойдя до магазинов. Люди старались забрать как можно больше пластинок, а «Мелодия» выполнила двойной план продаж за месяц. Игорю Иванову, музыканту, исполнившему песню «Из вагантов», нигде не удалось найти альбом. Ему подарил пластинку сам Тухманов, который даже не предполагал, что его работа будет такой успешной:

«Я считал, что альбом слишком сложен для восприятия. «По волне моей памяти» – это изысканное произведение, требующее особого подхода, а потому оно, наверное, не будет известным. После этой пластинки я написал ещё много всего, но они не смогли повторить её успех».

Обложка альбома «По волне моей памяти» (Давид Тухманов)
Обложка альбома «По волне моей памяти» (Давид Тухманов)

Самое главное отличие альбома «По волне моей памяти» состоит в самих треках, которые сильно выделялись на фоне других композиций советского шоу-бизнеса. Стихи Волошина, Сафо, Верлена, Гёте положили на сложные мелодии, и теперь произведения классиков воплотились в песни молодых, ещё никому не известных музыкантов. Также пластинка удивляла своей обложкой. Она была пёстрая, с интересными нарисованными фигурами и совершенно отличалась от привычного оформления.

В разработке нового альбома Тухманову очень помогла его жена Татьяна Сашко. Вместе они занимались подбором музыкантов, написанием музыки, визуальной составляющей альбома. Давид Фёдорович рассуждал:

«Существовала советская песня с её специфическими признаками, но на нашу музыку начала влиять другая, пришедшая с Запада. Фирма «Мелодия» ослабила цензуру в отборе произведений. Я, на тот момент написавший несколько известных треков, понимал, что не полностью воплощаю свои творческие амбиции. Попробовал экспериментировать – соединять то, что умел в сфере классики, с электронным звучанием, аранжировкой. Но тогда я думал, что мои произведения слишком непросты для понимания, люди их просто не воспримут должным образом».

Давид Тухманов в наши дни
Давид Тухманов в наши дни

Тухманов вдохновлялся зарубежными исполнителями. Он слушал и «King Crimson», и «Jethro Tull», и «Led Zeppelin», и Фрэнка Заппу. Жанр музыки своего альбома он определил как арт-рок. Композитор признавался, что при работе над пластинкой он переживал из-за специфической фонетики русского языка. Тухманов думал, что она будет проблемой для работы в более жёстких ритмических формах. Но ему всё же удалось сохранить «естественность» родного языка, не изменять его произношение.

Музыкантов Тухманов искал долго – ему были нужны профессионалы своего дела. Он нуждался в группе людей, работавших в разных местах, и планировал записать с ними именно сюиту, набор песен, объединённых одним смыслом. Он нашёл музыкантов, которые играли в различных коллективах, выступали в ресторанах. Они с восторгом цеплялись за такой шанс и соглашались участвовать в создании альбома. Возможно, некоторые из них были молодыми и неопытными, но они горели своим делом.

Мехрдад Бади на одном из своих выступлений
Мехрдад Бади на одном из своих выступлений

Тухманов и его команда длительное время подбирали стихи, которые хорошо звучали бы в современной обработке. Альбом «По волне моей памяти» состоит преимущественно из зарубежных песен, текст которых переведён с другого языка, но композитор цитировал некоторые из них в оригинале. Этим он хотел показать, что поэзию невозможно перевести полностью.

Певцов Тухманов начал подбирать в последнюю очередь, когда треки были уже готовы. Утверждая кандидатуры, композитор думал о том, как бы он хотел, чтобы песня звучала, какой должен быть голос у исполнителя, его тембр. Таким образом он подобрал Александра Барыкина для Бодлера, а Мехрдада Бади – для Волошина и Шелли.

Александр Барыкин в молодости
Александр Барыкин в молодости

Композитору не хотелось, чтобы про замысел его альбома узнали раньше времени. Он боялся, что такую специфическую и необычную пластинку просто не допустят к выпуску. Тухманов и на худсовете исполнял песни, входящие в состав «По волне моей памяти», очень нежно, на манер классики, чтобы ему разрешили их выпустить.

Композитор признавался, что ему удалось воплотить практически всё, что он задумал. Единственное, что у него не получилось, – выпустить произведение на старинные стихи китайского поэта Ду Фу. Отношения Китая и СССР в 1976 году были очень напряжёнными, поэтому такую песню ни один худсовет бы не пропустил. Вероятнее всего, «По волне моей памяти» просто запретили, если бы этот трек вошёл в состав альбома.

Сергей Беликов отвечает на вопросы журналистов
Сергей Беликов отвечает на вопросы журналистов

Самой популярной песней пластинки стала «Во французской стороне». Она является самым лёгким в исполнении треком, напоминающим классический тип композиции. Можно предположить, что сингл стал таким популярным за счёт его простоты, люди его понимали больше остальных песен.

Певец Сергей Беликов, работавший с Давидом Тухмановым, отзывался о нём так:

«Ему понравилось, как я исполняю «Сентиментальную прогулку» на стихи Верлена. Это была тонкая, поэтичная, воздушная композиция. При прослушивании окончательного варианта песни, я заметил, что моё исполнение сильно изменилось, стало более профессиональным и своеобразным. Тухманов расширил мои творческие способности».

Александр Шварц, нарисовавший обложку диска, работал над ней следующим образом: Тухманов приглашал его к себе домой, играл мотивы песен на рояле, художник их слушал и рисовал всё то, что приходило ему в голову, пока звучала мелодия. Самые первые эскизы отличались от окончательного варианта: всё было зарисовано пером, это были аллюзии с современной действительностью. На обложке хотелось показать весь современный мир: и Москву, и Вселенную, и космические корабли. Но этот вариант обложки не пропустил худсовет, так как он «не соответствовал идеалам социалистического реализма».

Вторая попытка увенчалась успехом: Шварц заметил, что Тухманов стремится достичь идеала в музыке. Он вдохновился этим и попытался воплотить на обложке совершенство человеческого духа. В композиции были статуи Афины, мотоциклист и ещё другие фигуры, но худсовет их не пропустил. Интересный факт: гонщик был взят из автопортрета Шварца, написанного задолго до создания альбома. Так обложка приобрела свой окончательный вид.

Сейчас принято считать, что «По волне моей памяти» – это концептуальный альбом. Все музыканты (даже те, кто не участвовал в создании пластинки) восприняли творение Тухманова как революцию в современной советской музыке. Альбом был признан культовым сразу же после своего появления. По мнению журналиста Алексея Михалёва, сам композитор стал примером профессионализма и новаторства для многих музыкантов того времени.

2 КОММЕНТАРИИ

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...