Author:

Category:

Interesting details from the childhood of Freddie Mercury

His generosity and kindness may have been overshadowed by his extravagance and brash demeanor in later life, but looking back at his early years reveals a gentle soul who was destined to become one of the most famous musical voices in history...

How was the childhood and youth of one of the most legendary vocalists in history - Freddie Mercury

Freddie Mercury - cult frontman and vocalist of no less than a cult group Queen! Mercury is considered one of the most legendary figures in rock and roll. The incredible, almost always hit music of Queen, combined with Mercury's truly lively stage presence, turned him into a beloved figure in pop culture ... Although, to be completely frank, even without a band, Freddie was a real legend (in fact, he remains one today, after many decades after his death ...) And it is worth delving into the history of his growing up, as it immediately becomes clear: Freddie Mercury He lived almost his entire life as a legend! Yes, his early years are less known than his time as a superstar... However - they remain no less interesting! From the early days of his existence to the moment when he became a promising artist, Mercury has always had a real gift for creating great music and had a reputation as a family-oriented person. His generosity and kindness may have been overshadowed by his extravagance and brash demeanor in later life, but looking back at his early years reveals a gentle soul who was destined to become one of the most celebrated musical voices in history...

Persian heritage

Freddie Mercury
Freddie Mercury

Although today he is known as a British rocker, Freddie Mercury born on the island Zanzibar in East Africa. Famed for its spices, the island was once the seat of power for the Sultanate of Oman until it was overthrown by the British in "the shortest war in history" in 1896 year ... Freddie's parents moved there from India after World War II. In fact, Mercury led a comfortable lifestyle long before he was successful with Queen.

His father's work in the British colonial administration in Zanzibar led to a prosperous life for his family! A year after Zanzibar, which is now part of Tanzania, became independent (and this happened in 1963 year), the citizens rebelled against the ruling class, causing the Freddy family to move to London

Freddie Mercury with his pet
Freddie Mercury with his pet

Remarkable, but Mercury and his family belonged to the Parsi ethnic group! The Parsis are descended from the Persians (the term Parsi itself means "Persian"), who left their homeland to escape religious persecution and ended up in India around 8th century. In this way, Freddie had a Persian heritage! And it is worth noting that the musician was proud of his origin all his life ...

Real name and secrets from loved ones ...

Freddie Mercury. Photo: Ian Dixon
Freddie Mercury. Photo: Ian Dixon

Freddie Mercury - not the real name of the idol. In fact, his birth name was Farrukh Bulsara! This Arabic name, written in Persian, means "lucky" or "fortunate". And although Farrukh later changed his name to the more famous Freddie Mercury, the true meaning never left him: Freddie lived a life full of what made him happy and successful...

Very rare, but Mercury lucky, because he came from a loving family! Although ... he hid something from his relatives. Even after fame, Mercury cherished the ease of returning to his family, whom he liked to shock with his antics ... His husband Kashmiri sisters, Roger, describes his wife's older brother as "a loving and caring member of the family who - despite shocking and fame - liked the normality of family life ..."

Young Mary Austin and Freddie Mercury...
Young Mary Austin and Freddie Mercury...

Although Mercury was close to his family, he never told them about his personal life, his partners and his unusual preferences, or his diagnosis AIDS. They found out about all this only when he was gone. November 24, 1991

Zoroastrianism and the joint collection with his father

Freddie Mercury (frame from the video "I'm Going Slightly Mad")
Freddie Mercury (frame from the video "I'm Going Slightly Mad")

In childhood Mercury collecting stamps, a hobby shared by his father. The collection (one of the few surviving items from Mercury's childhood) features colorfully designed stamps, many of which refer to non-existent countries ... It is worth adding that Mercury's family raised him in the Zoroastrian faith. The religion that over 3000 years, Zoroastrianism got its name from the prophet Zarathushtra, who preached the word of the supreme being Ahura Mazda. It is worth noting that Zoroastrianism follows some beliefs that are contrary to the lifestyle of the deceased. Freddie Mercury

This photo of Kashmira and her brother Farrokh (later Freddie Mercury) is believed to have been taken around 1955
This photo of Kashmira and her brother Farrokh (later Freddie Mercury) is believed to have been taken around 1955

However - despite possible conflicts, Zoroastrianism remained important to Mercury throughout his life! Musician's sister Kashmir, even stressed that faith gave her brother the passion to continue his musical career.

Freddie Mercury's priceless stamp collection
Freddie Mercury's priceless stamp collection

Since the Zoroastrian origin Mercury demanded that his property be burned after his death, his father and mother complied with this requirement. But not completely... His father, Bomidecided to save the stamp collection! And not just to save, but to do a good deed: after Royal Mail bought the collection at auction for the National Postal Museum, Bomi donated the proceeds to a charity created in honor of Mercury ...

The first group and moving from the parental home

Freddie Mercury's high school band Hectics
Freddie Mercury's high school band Hectics

As a child, Mercury studied at St. Peter's boarding school in India, and while he was studying there, teachers noticed and began to develop his love for music and, in particular, for the piano ... There, in fact, he joined his very first group Hectics aged 12 years old! And although many believe that the group was formed by Freddie himself, in fact it was formed by his friend Bruce Murray. Consisting of five students dressed in "tight pants and pointy shoes", the Hectics played rock music at many school events! According to the band members themselves, it was Mercury as a vocalist that brought them fame:

“He was the only real musician among us…” recalls former member Farang Irani.

From now on Freddie making music all the time! And, as you understand, this happened in his parents' house, which was not quite “comme il faut” for people living in the neighborhood: neighbors often complained about the noise, but, in the end, noise and music became an integral part of life Mercuryso he had to move out of his home...

Admiration and mockery...

The great artist Freddie Mercury...
The great artist Freddie Mercury...

Classmates in the boarding school considered Freddie a musical prodigy! Mercury trained his soprano voice, participated in the school choir and, apparently, brought his children's group Hectics to local fame ... One of his former classmates even stated that Freddie was such a natural musical talent that he could play most of the songs he heard, just by ear! However ... in the life of the future star there were less pleasant moments, namely, he was often bullied because of the wrong bite.

Freddie Mercury as a child...
Freddie Mercury as a child...

As cruel as it sounds, it's really true: throughout your life Mercury ridiculed for his overbite. He had four extra teeth! His classmates nicknamed him "Bucky", and as an adult Freddie often hid a smile or covered his mouth with his hand while laughing ...

Curiously, Mercury never corrected his malocclusion, even after he became a star: he feared that the operation could affect his vocal range. This is what it means to be an artist dedicated to his work and to his fans…

10kFollowers

Classic albums by young musicians who have defied age and the world

Classics released by teenagers: albums presented by young musicians that became masterpieces The Beatles were all in their 20s when they recorded a series of albums that changed the world of rock 'n' roll. But that ...

The combination of strength and refined beauty - remember Tommy Bolin

Remembering Tommy Bolin, one of guitar's youngest legends During Tommy Bolin's last live performance to open for Jeff Beck, December 3, 1976,...

Tony Iommi is a heavy sound legend and simply "the coolest kid on the block

Tony Iommi and the secret of his legendary playing style The Man in Black, whose unique sound dates back to an unfortunate accident--Tony Iommi has rewritten rock history,...

Related Articles

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Автор:

Категория:

Интересные подробности из детства Фредди Меркьюри

Его щедрость и доброта, возможно, были омрачены его экстравагантностью и дерзким поведением в более позднем возрасте, но оглянувшись назад на его ранние годы, можно увидеть нежную душу, которой суждено было стать одним из самых знаменитых музыкальных голосов в истории...

Как протекали детские и юношеские годы одного из легендарнейших вокалистов в истории – Фредди Меркьюри

Фредди Меркьюри — культовый фронтмен и вокалист не менее культовой группы Queen! Меркьюри считается одной из самых легендарных личностей рок-н-ролла. Невероятная, практически всегда хитовая музыка Queen в сочетании с поистине живым сценическим присутствием Меркьюри превратили его в любимую фигуру в поп-культуре… Хотя, если говорить совсем откровенно, и без группы Фредди был настоящей легендой (собственно, он остаётся ею и сегодня, спустя долгие десятилетия после своей смерти…) И стоит углубиться в историю его взросления, как сразу же становится понятно: Фредди Меркьюри практически всю свою жизнь прожил как легенда! Да, его ранние годы менее известны, чем его время в качестве суперзвезды… Однако — они остаются не менее интересными! С первых дней своего существования и до того момента, когда он стал многообещающим артистом, Меркьюри всегда обладал настоящим даром создавать прекрасную музыку и имел репутацию человека, ориентированного на семью. Его щедрость и доброта, возможно, были омрачены его экстравагантностью и дерзким поведением в более позднем возрасте, но оглянувшись назад на его ранние годы, можно увидеть нежную душу, которой суждено было стать одним из самых знаменитых музыкальных голосов в истории…

Персидское наследие

Фредди Меркьюри
Фредди Меркьюри

Хотя сегодня он известен как британский рокер, Фредди Меркьюри родился на острове Занзибар в Восточной Африке. Известный своими специями, остров когда-то был центром власти Султаната Омана, пока он не был свергнут британцами в «самой короткой войне в истории» в 1896 году… Родители Фредди переехали туда из Индии после Второй мировой войны. На самом деле, Меркьюри вёл комфортный образ жизни задолго до того, как добился успеха с Queen.

Работа его отца в британской колониальной администрации на Занзибаре привела к благополучной жизни его семьи! Через год после того, как Занзибар, который сейчас является частью Танзании, стал независимым (а произошло это в 1963 году), граждане восстали против правящего класса, в результате чего семья Фредди переехала в Лондон

Фредди Меркьюри со своим питомцем
Фредди Меркьюри со своим питомцем

Примечательно, но Меркьюри и его семья принадлежали к этнической группе парсов! Парсы происходят от персов (сам термин парси означает «перс»), которые покинули свою родину, чтобы избежать религиозных преследований, и оказались в Индии примерно в VIII веке. Таким образом, Фредди имел персидское наследие! И стоит заметить, что музыкант всю жизнь гордился своим происхождением…

Настоящее имя и секреты от близких…

Фредди Меркьюри. Фото: Иан Диксон
Фредди Меркьюри. Фото: Иан Диксон

Фредди Меркьюри — не настоящее имя кумира. На самом деле, его имя при рождении было Фаррух Булсара! Это арабское имя, написанное на персидском языке, означает «счастливый» или «удачливый». И хотя позже Фаррух сменил своё имя на более известное, Фредди Меркьюри, истинное значение никогда не покидало его: Фредди прожил жизнь, полную того, что сделало его счастливым и успешным…

Большая редкость, но Меркьюри повезло, ведь он происходил из любящей семьи! Хотя… кое-что и скрывал от близких. Даже после славы Меркьюри дорожил лёгкостью возвращения в семью, которую любил шокировать своими выходками… Муж его сестры Кашмиры, Роджер, описывает старшего брата своей жены как «любящего и заботливого члена семьи, которому — несмотря на эпатаж и славу — нравилась нормальность семейной жизни…»

Юные Мэри Остин и Фредди Меркьюри...
Юные Мэри Остин и Фредди Меркьюри…

Хотя Меркьюри был близок со своей семьёй, он никогда не рассказывал им о своей личной жизни, о партнёрах и своих необычных предпочтениях, или о диагнозе СПИДа. Они узнали обо всём этом только тогда, когда его не стало 24 ноября 1991 года

Зороастризм и совместная с отцом коллекция

Фредди Меркьюри (кадр из клипа «i'm Going Slightly Mad»)
Фредди Меркьюри (кадр из клипа «i’m Going Slightly Mad»)

В детстве Меркьюри коллекционировал марки — хобби, которое разделял его отец. В коллекции (одной из немногих сохранившихся вещей из детства Меркьюри) представлены красочно оформленные марки, многие из которых относятся к несуществующим странам… Стоит добавить, что семья Меркьюри воспитала его в зороастрийской вере. Религия, которой более 3000 лет, зороастризм получил своё название от пророка Заратуштра, проповедовавшего слово верховного существа Ахура-Мазды. Стоит отметить, что зороастризм следует некоторым убеждениям, которые противоречат образу жизни покойного Фредди Меркьюри

Считается, что эта фотография Кашмиры и ее брата Фарроха (позже Фредди Меркьюри) была сделана примерно в 1955 году
Считается, что эта фотография Кашмиры и ее брата Фарроха (позже Фредди Меркьюри) была сделана примерно в 1955 году

Однако — несмотря на возможные конфликты, зороастризм оставался важным для Меркьюри на протяжении всей его жизни! Сестра музыканта, Кашмира, даже подчеркнула, что вера дала её брату страсть к продолжению его музыкальной карьеры.

Бесценная коллекция марок Фредди Меркьюри
Бесценная коллекция марок Фредди Меркьюри

Так как зороастрийское происхождение Меркьюри требовало сжечь его имущество после его смерти, его отец и мать исполнили данное требование. Но не полностью… Его отец, Боми, решил спасти коллекцию марок! И не просто спасти, а сделать благое дело: после того, как Royal Mail купила коллекцию на аукционе для Национального музея почты, Боми передал вырученные средства благотворительной организации, созданной в честь Меркьюри…

Первая группа и переезд из родительского дома

Школьная группа Фредди Меркьюри Hectics
Школьная группа Фредди Меркьюри Hectics

В детстве Меркьюри учился в школе-интернате Святого Петра в Индии, и пока он там учился, педагоги заметили и начали развивать его любовь к музыке и, в частности, к фортепиано… Там он, собственно, и присоединился к своей самой первой группе Hectics в возрасте 12 лет! И хотя многие считают, что группу сформировал сам Фредди, на самом деле её собрал его друг Брюс Мюррей. Состоящие из пяти школьников, одетых в «узкие брюки и заострённые туфли», Hectics играли рок-музыку на многих школьных мероприятиях! По словам самих участников группы, именно Меркьюри как вокалист принёс им известность:

«Он был единственным настоящим музыкантом среди нас…», — вспоминает бывший участник Фаранг Ирани.

Отныне Фредди постоянно занимался музыкой! И, как вы понимаете, происходило это в доме его родителей, что было не совсем «комильфо» для людей, живущих по соседству: соседи часто жаловались на шум, но, в конце концов, шум и музыка стали неотъемлемой частью жизни Меркьюри, поэтому ему пришлось съехать из родного дома…

Восхищения и издевательства…

Великий артист Фредди Меркьюри...
Великий артист Фредди Меркьюри…

Одноклассники в интернате считали Фредди музыкальным вундеркиндом! Меркьюри тренировал свой голос сопрано, участвовал в школьном хоре и, судя по всему, привёл свою детскую группу Hectics к местной славе… Один из его бывших одноклассников вовсе заявил, что у Фредди был такой природный музыкальный талант, что он мог играть большинство песен, которые слышал, просто на слух! Однако… в жизни будущей звезды были и менее приятные моменты, а именно — над ним часто издевались из-за неправильного прикуса.

Фредди Меркьюри в детстве...
Фредди Меркьюри в детстве…

Как бы жестоко это не звучало, это действительно правда: на протяжении всей своей жизни Меркьюри высмеивали за его неправильный прикус. У него было аж четыре лишних зуба! Одноклассники прозвали его «Баки», и уже будучи взрослым Фредди часто скрывал улыбку или прикрывал рот рукой во время смеха…

Любопытно, но Меркьюри так и не исправил свой неправильный прикус, даже после того, как стал звездой: он опасался, что операция может повлиять на его вокальный диапазон. Вот что значит артист, преданный своему делу и поклонникам…

10kFollowers

Классические альбомы молодых музыкантов, которые бросили вызов возрасту и всему миру

Классика, выпущенная подростками: альбомы, представленные молодыми музыкантами и ставшие шедеврами Всем битлам было за 20, когда они записали серию альбомов, изменивших мир рок-н-ролла. Но это...

Сочетание силы и утончённой красоты – вспоминаем Томми Болина

Вспоминаем Томми Болина, одну из самых молодых легенд гитары Во время последнего живого выступления Томми Болина на разогреве у Джеффа Бека, 3 декабря 1976 года,...

Тони Айомми – легенда тяжёлого звука и просто «самый крутой ребёнок на блоке»

Тони Айомми и секрет его легендарно известного стиля игры Человек в чёрном, чьё уникальное звучание восходит к несчастному случаю – Тони Айомми переписал историю рока,...

Похожие статьи

«Истерия»: как Def Leppard довели мир до безумия

История альбома «Hysteria» – культовой классики Def Leppard Пластинка «Hysteria», наполненная хитами, по-прежнему считается определяющим моментом в карьере Def Leppard и остаётся такой же актуальной...

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...