Author:

Category:

The story of David Byron - from success with Uriah Heep to the last days of his life

"David was one of the best vocalists I've ever worked with, simply because he never sang songs: he lived for music..."

David Byron - full biography: photos, facts, details of his personal life

David Byron - a well-known British rocker, whose popularity came in the composition Uriah Heep, a hard rock band, one of the founders and vocalist of which he was ... With her, in fact, Byron recorded 9 worthy albums and reached the first positions of the world rock arena. After leaving the group, he plunged headlong into solo swimming, and perhaps the list of his victories and achievements would be much wider if he lived to this day: unfortunately, the life of one of the most influential British musicians was cut short in 1985 year, aged 38 years... Despite the status of a violent rock and roll, the fate of David Byron was quite difficult and by no means as carefree as it might seem at first glance ...

The early years of the future legend

David Byron
David Byron

David Byron, probably one of the greatest representatives of hard rock! Being the frontman Uriah Heep, he became the idol of millions! His rich discography also includes solo work, however... he is not often remembered today. And it's really sad, because this man had a great influence on the current generation of hard rock musicians and vocalists ...

David Garrick (real name of our hero) was born January 29, 1947 in Essex, in the South of England. To some extent, he can be envied, because he grew up and was brought up in a creative family, because of which (for the most part) his future career was literally destined from an early age ... In October 1973 the musician gave an interview Muziek Expressin which he said the following:

“For the first time I performed a song 22 years ago, that is, at the age of 5 years! This is where it all started… My mother sang in a jazz band, so I had someone to look up to! In fact, my whole family was very musical… Who played musical instruments, who tap-danced…” David continues: “At about the same age (5 years) I got my first fame! I performed in a children's TV show, although it was not a very serious step towards fame: I had an ensemble that didn’t even have a name - it didn’t give a single concert and broke up exactly two weeks later!

David Byron
David Byron

However, in 16 years fate gave David second chance:

“A local group offered me a job. I performed with them once and immediately moved to Mick Box's band, The Stalkers…”

After David performed "Johnny B. Goode", he was accepted into the group immediately!

Musical beginnings and the birth of Uriah Heep

Uriah Heep
Uriah Heep

As already mentioned above, David Byron began his ascent with the guitarist Mick Box! However, in the ranks The Stalkers friends were not listed for long: already in 1967, Byron and Box founded their own project called Spice, which would later receive the more famous and influential name in rock history Uriah Heep! By the way: titleUriah Heep) was inspired by the name of a character in the novel Charles Dickens "David Copperfield".

Major Success

Uriah Heep
Uriah Heep

As for the name itself David, then at some point he decided to become "Byron". According to the memories Boxing, it happened spontaneously and without explanation, but, as the guitarist put it, "... the wife of the then manager somehow influenced the name change."

After the group changed its name, it finally made many countries talk about itself! At first it was Germany, then Great Britain, even later their work reached States… Byron, in turn, impeccably personified the charismatic and expressive frontman: he was not only the creative epicenter of Heep, but also a co-author of the group's early hit tracks! As the participants themselves said, many songs - including "Easy Livin'." - specially designed "Under Byron": that is, first of all, his effective stage presentation was taken into account ... Cold and restrained at first, very soon the critics began to praise his outstanding vocal, close to opera!

In 1973 year Uriah Heep under Byron's direction, they released what is arguably one of the greatest live albums of all time: Live 1973 was recorded during a cold English January in the historical Birmingham Town Hall in the industrial heart of the Midlands. This disc demonstrates the band at the very peak of their bright and unrestrained power...

Dismissal

David Byron
David Byron

Generally, Byron sang on 10 albums Heepamong which Salisbury, Sweet Freedom and last joint High and Mighty. Already in the middle 70s he released his solo record, which was attended by his former colleagues in Heep - Boxing, Hensley and Kerslake. Over the years of fame, David Byron also gained a dubious reputation as a drunk, which ultimately led to his dismissal from the group: it was a very romanticized and sad conclusion to the Spanish tour. 1976 years ... Ken Hensley recalled:

“David couldn’t put up with the fact that things could go wrong the way he wanted… And then he sought solace in a bottle…”

In place of Byron came John Lawton, and according to the group's manager, Bron, "he was fired in the interests of Uriah Heep»:

"The rest of the group felt they could no longer reconcile David's position with their own..."

Solo career

After his dismissal, Byron took up a solo career, as a result of which he recorded 3 albums: Take No Prisoners, Baby Faced Killer and That Was Only Yesterday, recorded a year before his death. During this period, together with Clem Clempson and Jeff Britton, it forms Rough Diamond - a project in which the eponymous and completely unsuccessful commercially LP was recorded.

After David tried his luck with The Byron Band, formed with Robin George: several singles and an album were released On the Rocks, however ... success was not followed.

At the beginning of 80s former members of Uriah Heep, Boxing and Trevor Bolder, offered Byron a hand with a proposal to reunite (the reason was the departure of Ken Hensley), but the once rejected David refused.

The last years of his life

David Byron
David Byron

Over the years, Byron's alcohol addiction only worsened ... His last concerts turned into a series of setbacks and failures, especially the one at the Marquee club, which was disrupted due to the fact that the musician lost consciousness just a few minutes after entering the stage ... February 28, 1985 influential rocker David Byron was found dead in his apartment in Reading: the cause of death was a heart attack ... He was only 38 years

And although the official cause of death was not alcoholism (alcohol was not found either in the blood or in the singer's house), its long-term consequences were obvious: the musician's liver was completely destroyed ...

Finally…

David Byron
David Byron

Finally, I want to listen to colleague and comrade David Byron, Mika Boksa:

“David was one of the best vocalists I have ever worked with, simply because he never sang a song: he lived for the music… So he touched everyone who heard his voice, he was very convincing. I think that was his biggest asset. After that, he became a charismatic person and was a star 24 hours a day, 7 days a week ... And he never abandoned his role: as long as I could do my job, leave the stage and be an ordinary person like anyone else, he did not could - he had to live with music ... "

10kFollowers

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Related Articles

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

Автор:

Категория:

История Дэвида Байрона – от успеха с Uriah Heep до последних дней жизни

«Дэвид был одним из лучших вокалистов, с которыми я когда-либо работал, просто потому, что он никогда не пел песен: он жил музыкой...»

Дэвид Байрон – полная биография: фото, факты, подробности личной жизни

Дэвид Байрон — широко известный британский рокер, популярность к которому пришла в составе Uriah Heep, хард-рок-группы, одним из основателей и вокалистом которой он являлся… С ней, собственно, Байрон записал 9 достойных альбомов и вышел на первые позиции мировой рок-арены. После ухода из группы он с головой погрузился в сольное плавание, и, возможно, список его побед и достижений был бы гораздо шире, если бы он дожил до наших дней: к сожалению, жизнь одного из влиятельнейших британских музыкантов оборвалась в 1985 году, в возрасте 38 лет… Несмотря на статус неистового рок-н-ролльщика, судьба Дэвида Байрона была довольно сложной и отнюдь не такой уж и беззаботной, как могло показаться на первый взгляд…

Ранние годы будущей легенды

Дэвид Байрон (David Byron)
Дэвид Байрон (David Byron)

Дэвид Байрон, вероятно, один из величайших представителей хард-рока! Будучи фронтменом Uriah Heep, он стал кумиром миллионов! Его богатая дискография также включает сольные работы, однако… сегодня его не часто вспоминают. И это действительно печально, ведь этот человек оказал большое влияние на современное поколение хард-рок-музыкантов и вокалистов…

Дэвид Гаррик (настоящее имя нашего героя) родился 29 января 1947 в Эссексе, на Юге Англии. В какой-то мере ему можно позавидовать, ведь он рос и воспитывался в творческой семье, из-за чего (в большей части) его дальнейшая карьера была буквально предначертана с ранних лет… В октябре 1973 года музыкант дал интервью Muziek Express, в котором рассказал следующее:

«Впервые я исполнил песню 22 года назад, то есть в возрасте 5 лет! С этого всё и началось… Моя мать пела в джаз-бэнде, так что мне было с кого брать пример! Собственно, вся моя семья была очень музыкальной… Кто играл на музыкальных инструментах, кто танцевал чечётку…» Дэвид продолжает: «Примерно в этом же возрасте (5 лет) я получил свою первую известность! Я выступил в детском телешоу, правда это был не особо серьёзный шаг к славе: у меня был ансамбль, который ни то что не имел названия, — он не дал ни одного концерта и распался ровно через две недели!»

Дэвид Байрон (David Byron)
Дэвид Байрон (David Byron)

Однако в 16 лет судьба подарила Дэвиду второй шанс:

«Местная группа предложила мне работу. Я выступил с ними один раз и тут же перешёл в группу Мика Бокса, The Stalkers…»

После того, как Дэвид исполнил «Johnny B. Goode», он был принят в группу немедленно!

Музыкальные начинания и рождение Uriah Heep

Uriah Heep
Uriah Heep

Как уже было сказано выше, Дэвид Байрон начал своё восхождение вместе с гитаристом Миком Боксом! Однако в рядах The Stalkers друзья числились недолго: уже в 1967 году Байрон и Бокс основали собственный проект под названием Spice, который впоследствии получит более известное и влиятельное в истории рока имя Uriah Heep! К слову: название (Uriah Heep) было вдохновлено именем персонажа романа Чарльза Диккенса «Дэвид Копперфильд».

Основной успех

Uriah Heep
Uriah Heep

Что касается имени самого Дэвида, то в какой-то момент он решил стать «Байроном». По воспоминаниям Бокса, произошло это спонтанно и без объяснений, но, как выразился гитарист, «…на смену имени как-то повлияла жена тогдашнего менеджера».

После того, как группа переименовалась, она наконец-то заставила заговорить о себе многие страны! Сначала это была Германия, затем Великобритания, ещё позже их творчество добралось и до Штатов… Байрон, в свою очередь, безупречно олицетворял харизматичного и экспрессивного фронтмена: он не просто был творческим эпицентром Heep, но и соавтором ранних хитовых треков группы! Как рассказывали сами участники, многие песни — в числе которых «Easy Livin’» — создавались специально «под Байрона»: то есть, в расчёт, прежде всего, бралась его эффектная сценическая подача… Холодные и сдержанные поначалу, очень скоро критики начали хвалить его выдающийся вокал, близкий к оперному!

В 1973 году Uriah Heep под управлением Байрона выпустили, возможно, один из величайших концертных альбомов всех времён: Live 1973 был записан во время холодного английского января в историческом Birmingham Town Hall в индустриальном центре Мидлендса. Данная пластинка демонстрирует группу на самом пике их яркой и безудержной силы…

Увольнение

Дэвид Байрон
Дэвид Байрон

В целом, Байрон спел на 10-ти альбомах Heep, среди которых Salisbury, Sweet Freedom и последний совместный High and Mighty. Уже в середине 70-х он выпустил свою сольную пластинку, в записи которой приняли участие его бывшие коллеги по Heep — Бокс, Хенсли и Керслейк. За годы славы Дэвид Байрон также приобрёл сомнительную репутацию пьяницы, что в конечном итоге привело к его увольнению из группы: это стало очень романтизированным и печальным завершением испанского турне 1976 года… Кен Хенсли вспоминал:

«Дэвид не мог мириться с тем фактом, что что-то может пойти не так, как он того хочет… И тогда он искал утешения в бутылке…»

На место Байрона пришёл Джон Лоутон, и, по словам менеджера группы, Брона, «он был уволен в интересах Uriah Heep»:

«Остальная часть группы чувствовала, что они больше не могут примирять позицию Дэвида со своими собственными…»

Сольная карьера

После увольнения Байрон занялся сольной карьерой, в результате которой им было записано 3 альбома: Take No Prisoners, Baby Faced Killer и That Was Only Yesterday, записанный за год до его смерти. В это период, совместно с Клемом Клемпсоном и Джеффом Бриттоном, он формирует Rough Diamond — проект, в рамках которого был записан одноимённый и совершенно неуспешный в коммерческом плане LP.

После Дэвид попытал удачу с The Byron Band, сформированной с Робином Джорджем: было выпущено несколько синглов и альбом On the Rocks, однако… успеха не последовало.

В начале 80-х бывшие коллеги по Uriah Heep, Бокс и Тревор Болдер, протянули Байрону руку с предложением воссоединиться (причиной послужил уход Кена Хенсли), однако некогда отвергнутый Дэвид ответил отказом.

Последние годы жизни

Дэвид Байрон (David Byron)
Дэвид Байрон (David Byron)

С годами алкогольная зависимость Байрона лишь усугублялась… Его последние концерты обернулись чередой неудач и провалов, особенно состоявшийся в клубе Marquee, сорванный по причине того, что музыкант потерял сознание всего через несколько минут после выхода на сцену… 28 февраля 1985 года влиятельный рокер Дэвид Байрон был обнаружен мёртвым в своей квартире в Рединге: причиной смерти послужил сердечный приступ… Ему было всего 38 лет

И хотя официальной причиной смерти стал не алкоголизм (алкоголя обнаружено не было как в крови, так и в доме певца), долгосрочные его последствия были очевидны: печень музыканта была совершенно разрушена…

Напоследок…

Дэвид Байрон
Дэвид Байрон

Напоследок хочется послушать коллегу и товарища Дэвида Байрона, Мика Бокса:

«Дэвид был одним из лучших вокалистов, с которыми я когда-либо работал, просто потому, что он никогда не пел песен: он жил музыкой… Поэтому он тронул всех, кто слышал его голос, он был очень убедителен. Думаю, это было его самым большим активом. После этого он стал харизматичным человеком и был звездой 24 часа в сутки, 7 дней в неделю… И он никогда не отказывался от своей роли: пока я мог сделать свою работу, уйти со сцены и быть обычным человеком, как и любой другой, он не мог — он должен был жить музыкой…»

10kFollowers

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Похожие статьи

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...

Им нет равных – вспоминаем легендарных джазовых исполнителей, которым пытались подражать миллионы

Вспоминаем лучших джазовых исполнителей за всю историю Многие описывают джазовую музыку как ритмичную, эмоциональную, свободную и плавную. Этот легендарно известный и вот уже долгие десятилетия...

Гизер Батлер: удивительные факты о «нечестивом» басисте Black Sabbath

Чего вы ещё не знали о Гизере Батлере – топ удивительных фактов о легенде Black Sabbath Гизер Батлер – легенда Black Sabbath и самый «нечестивый»...

Худшие альбомы в хард-роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Почему это худшие альбомы за всю историю хард-рока Коммерция – не так уж и плохо, но только если она «со вкусом» и «в меру». Это...

«Маэстро прогрессивного метала» – знакомьтесь, Джон Петруччи

Небольшой экскурс в историю Джона Петруччи, одного из лучших гитаристов современности Прогрессивный рок был продуктом психоделического рока. Это был скорее инструментальный и композиционный подход к...

Рэнди Калифорния: герой, восхищающий стойкостью духа и великолепной игрой на гитаре

Вспоминаем Рэнди Калифорнию, одного из легендарнейших гитаристов прошлого века Рэнди Калифорния – один из легендарнейших гитаристов и величайших отцов-героев в истории. Он был гениален и...

Рори Галлахер и его чудесный акустический стиль

Вспоминаем одного из величайших гитаристов Рори Галлахера Рори Галлахера не стало в 1995 году, и мир буквально ахнул и с грустью ужаснулся: это был действительно...