Author:

Category:

Remembering David Byron, the legend of Uriah Heep

"When I left Uriah Heep, I decided to remember only the best, and forget the bad..."

In memory of David Byron: from the early years to the conquest of the hard rock arena - the legend's biography in amazing facts

An awesome vocalist, talented songwriter and just a charismatic person. David Byron needs no introduction. He had a great influence on his contemporaries as well as his followers. He also made a great contribution to rock music and became a legend of his time. Together with Uriah Heep Byron conquered the charts and the hearts of listeners with such stunning and enduring hits to this day as "Sunrise," "July Morning." or "Easy Livin'.".

Alas, at the height of his fame, Byron began to spiral out of control, sinking more and more intensely into alcohol abuse. It put the members of Uriah Heep in a predicament, and they literally had to say goodbye to their comrade - incredibly talented and adored by the public. Today's article is a tribute to the great musician. It is written in the format interesting facts.

He started singing when he was 5 years old.

David Byron
David Byron

Byron's vocals, or rather Garricka (real last name) has continued to delight an army of millions of listeners around the world for many decades now! Where does such charisma, confidence and virtuosity come from? It's simple: David began singing as a just a kid! And the love for this activity was instilled in him by his mother, a jazz performer by the way:

"I've been singing since I was five, that is, all my life. My mother was a soloist in a jazz band, and in general our family was musical: some sang, some played instruments, some tap-danced!

Creative journey with Mick Box

Mick Box
Mick Box

A fateful encounter with Mick Box happened when David was 16 years! He came to audition The Stalkers, sang "Johnny B. Goode" and won the band members over in an instant!

"He'd been to our gigs a lot - nice guy! Before the audition, I suggested he relax a bit, since he was tense: we had a couple of pints and started singing old rock 'n' roll stuff. That's how the story began!"

Soon Box and Byron formed a group of Spicewhich subsequently evolved into the Uriah Heep. By the way: the name was inspired by a character from a novel by Charles Dickens. The band achieved great success, not only in their native Great Britain, but also in the USA! Going back to those frantic days, Mick remembers:

"David was probably the best vocalist I ever worked with. He didn't just perform - he lived the song he was singing. That's why everything he sang sounded so convincing. He wasn't just a star on stage - he was a star 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. I think that's his phenomenon."

Another interesting fact is that Byron was personally acquainted with Elton John! They were just boys when they performed famous hits for a nominal fee and recorded in the London Avenue Records. Eventually their paths diverged, but each managed to reach great heights!

He was fired at the height of his fame

Gorgeous David Byron lights up the stage...
The magnificent David Byron lights up the stage

Success Uriah Heep led by Byron was a stunner! The band produced a number of hits, achieved fame on both sides of the Atlantic and made a big name for themselves! Today Uriah Heep is one of the most important bands of its era, and David is one of the most charismatic and ambitious vocalists in history. But at the height of his popularity he was dismissed

Byron liked to drink, but it grew into heavy reliancewhich interfered with my work. The last straw was the album "High and Mighty.": David insisted that the record be recorded without a producer. In the end the record literally flopped, showing very poor results in the charts. The band's manager-producer Jerry Bron was furious! He personally criticized the work "to and fro" and finally turned the rest of the Heep members against Byron.

He refused to return to the group

David Byron
David Byron

At first, the members of Uriah Heep, including the manager, were more than decidedly. They told reporters that firing David was the best thing they could have done for the band, since they had virtually no future with Byron. А Ken Hensley and said that it was a great opportunity "to let some fresh air into the band". Nevertheless, he was the first to admit that Byron took all the magic of Uriah Heep with him.

When Hensley left the lineup, Byron was offered return into the group. But what his ex-colleagues certainly didn't expect was an indifferent failures. Although David's solo zeal left much to be desired, he had no intention of forgetting everything and making his way as a team again.

"When I left Uriah Heep, I decided to remember only the best, and forget the bad..."

The one and only

Gabriella Leeman and David Byron
Gabriella Leeman and David Byron

At the peak of his career, Byron enjoyed an excessive amount of female attention, but he himself truly fell in love with only one beauty - the 15-year-old Gabriella Liman. The girl was a beginner model, and fate brought her and the rocker together quite by chance - behind the scenes, during a photo shoot. David did not doubt his feelings for a moment: he invited the charming young blonde to dinner after the concert, and they had a great time together! So began a stormy romance, which ended with wedding - She was played when Gabriella came of age. By the way: she is the subject of "Spider Woman.".

Alas, with the advent of the '80s, literally three years after the wedding, the couple broke up.

His liver was destroyed

David Byron
David Byron

Alcohol addiction was ruining Byron From the inside: The musician's health suffered greatly, and once he lost consciousness just minutes after he went on stage! The concert was disrupted.

But a disrupted performance is nothing compared to the role alcohol ultimately played in David's life. Or rather, in his death. At the time of his death, the singer had no alcohol in his blood. not a drop of alcoholand not a single bottle was found at home. It was a heart attack, but later it would become known: David Byron's liver was completely destroyed. So, in total. 38 years a legend has left us...

10kFollowers

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Related Articles

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Автор:
Категория:

Вспоминаем Дэвида Байрона, легенду Uriah Heep

«Когда я ушёл из Uriah Heep, я решил запомнить только лучшее, и забыть про плохое...»

Памяти Дэвида Байрона: от ранних лет до покорения арены хард-рока – биография легенды в удивительных фактах

Шикарный вокалист, талантливый автор песен и просто харизматичная личность – Дэвид Байрон не нуждается в представлении. Он оказал большое влияние как на своих современников, так и на последователей. А ещё он внёс большой вклад в рок-музыку и стал легендой своего времени. Вместе с Uriah Heep Байрон покорил чарты и сердца слушателей, исполнив такие потрясающие и неугасающие по сей день хиты, как «Sunrise», «July Morning» или «Easy Livin’».

Увы, на пике славы Байрон начал выходить из-под контроля, всё интенсивнее погружаясь в алкогольную зависимость. Это поставило участников Uriah Heep в затруднительное положение, и они буквально были вынуждены распрощаться со своим товарищем – невероятно талантливым и горячо обожаемым публикой. Сегодняшняя статья – дань уважения прекрасному музыканту. Выдержана она в формате интересных фактов.

Он начал петь в 5 лет

Дэвид Байрон (David Byron)
Дэвид Байрон (David Byron)

Вокал Байрона, а вернее Гаррика (настоящая фамилия) продолжает восхищать многомиллионную армию слушателей по всему миру вот уже много десятилетий! Откуда столько харизмы, уверенности и виртуозности? Всё просто: Дэвид начал петь, будучи совсем ребёнком! И любовь к этому занятию привила ему его мать, джазовая исполнительница между прочим:

«Я пою с пяти лет, то есть всю свою жизнь. Моя мать была солисткой в джаз-бэнде, да и в целом наша семья была музыкальной: кто-то пел, кто-то играл на инструментах, кто-то отплясывал чечётку!»

Творческий путь с Миком Боксом

Мик Бокс
Мик Бокс

Судьбоносное знакомство с Миком Боксом произошло, когда Дэвиду было 16 лет! Он пришёл на прослушивание The Stalkers, исполнил «Johnny B. Goode» и в миг покорил участников группы!

«Он часто бывал на наших концертах – приятный парень! Перед прослушиванием я предложил ему немного расслабиться, так как он был напряжён: мы выпили пару пинт и начали распевать старые рок-н-ролльные вещи. Так началась история!»

Вскоре Бокс и Байрон образовали группу Spice, которая впоследствии переросла в Uriah Heep. К слову: название вдохновлено персонажем из романа Чарльза Диккенса. Коллектив добился большого успеха, причём не только в родной Великобритании, но и в США! Возвращаясь к тем бешеным денькам, Мик вспоминает:

«Дэвид был, пожалуй, лучшим вокалистом, с которым я когда-либо работал. Он не просто исполнял – он проживал песню, которую пел. Поэтому всё, что он исполнял, звучало так убедительно. Он был звездой не только на сцене – он оставался ей 24 часа в сутки, 7 дней в неделю. Думаю, в этом заключается его феномен».

Ещё один интересный факт – Байрон был лично знаком с Элтоном Джоном! Они были совсем мальчишками, когда исполняли известные хиты за символическую плату и записывались в лондонской Avenue Records. В конечном итоге их пути разошлись, но каждый сумел достичь больших высот!

Его уволили на пике славы

Великолепный Дэвид Байрон зажигает сцену...
Великолепный Дэвид Байрон зажигает сцену

Успех Uriah Heep во главе с Байроном был ошеломительным! Группа выпустила ряд хитов, добилась славы по обе стороны Атлантики и заработала себе громкое имя! Сегодня Uriah Heep является одним из важнейших коллективов своей эпохи, а Дэвид – одним из наиболее харизматичных и амбициозных вокалистов в истории. Но на пике популярности он был уволен

Байрон любил выпить, но это переросло в серьёзную зависимость, которая мешала работе. Последней каплей стал альбом «High and Mighty»: Дэвид настоял на том, чтобы пластинка записывалась без продюсера. В конечном итоге запись буквально провалилась, показав очень слабые результаты в чартах. Менеджер-продюсер группы Джерри Брон был вне себя от ярости! Он лично раскритиковал эту работу «от и до», и окончательно настроил остальных участников Heep против Байрона.

Он отказался от возвращения в группу

Дэвид Байрон
Дэвид Байрон

Первое время участники Uriah Heep, включая менеджера, были настроены более чем решительно. Они говорили журналистам, что увольнение Дэвида – лучшее, что они могли сделать для группы, так как будущего с Байроном у них фактически не было. А Кен Хенсли и вовсе заявил, что это прекрасная возможность «впустить в группу немного свежего воздуха». Тем не менее он стал первым, кто признал: вместе с собой Байрон унёс всю магию Uriah Heep.

Когда Хенсли покинул состав, Байрону предложили вернуться в группу. Но чего его экс-коллеги точно не ожидали, так это равнодушного отказа. Несмотря на то, что сольные рвения Дэвида оставляли желать лучшего, он не был намерен забыть про всё и вновь прокладывать путь одной командой.

«Когда я ушёл из Uriah Heep, я решил запомнить только лучшее, и забыть про плохое…»

Единственная и неповторимая

Габриэлла Лиман и Дэвид Байрон
Габриэлла Лиман и Дэвид Байрон

На пике своей карьеры Байрон пользовался чрезмерным женским вниманием, однако сам по-настоящему влюбился лишь в одну красавицу – в 15-летнюю Габриэллу Лиман. Девушка была начинающей моделью, а судьба свела её с рокером совершенно случайно – за кулисами, во время фотосессии. Дэвид ни на секунду не усомнился в своих чувствах: он пригласил очаровательную юную блондинку на ужин после концерта и они здорово провели вместе время! Так начался бурный роман, который завершился свадьбой – её сыграли, когда Габриэлла достигла совершеннолетия. К слову: именно ей посвящена «Spider Woman».

Увы, уже с наступлением 80-х, буквально через 3 года после свадьбы, пара рассталась.

Его печень была разрушена

Дэвид Байрон
Дэвид Байрон

Алкогольная зависимость губила Байрона изнутри: здоровье музыканта сильно страдало, а однажды он потерял сознание всего через несколько минут после того, как вышел не сцену! Концерт был сорван.

Но сорванное выступление – мелочь по сравнению с тем, какую роль спиртное в конечном итоге сыграло в жизни Дэвида. Вернее – в его смерти. На момент, когда певец скончался, в его крови не было ни капли алкоголя, а дома не нашли ни одной бутылки. Это был сердечный приступ, но позже станет известно: печень Дэвида Байрона была полностью разрушена. Так, всего в 38 лет от нас ушла легенда…

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...
Похожие статьи

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...