Author:
Category:

Red Elvis - the story of Dean Reed, who was known more behind the Iron Curtain than at home

Popularity in his native USA came to him shortly before his death, and it was far from what many artists dream of: back in 1986, he gave a scandalous interview, which, perhaps, played a huge role in his death.

Dean Reed's story: early years, career, little-known details of life

Proclaimed Red Elvis, Dean Reed was an American actor and singer, who really knew more behind the Iron Curtain than at home. He sang Elvis Presley ballads, protest songs and Texas cowboy anthems, and took part in westerns. The beauties of the Land of the Soviets were literally crazy about him! However, in United States his popularity was overshadowed: people condemned him, called him a traitor. Despite this, Reid professed a love for America! He was proud of his citizenship, but boldly and openly criticized the authorities of his country.

His story begins on a farm in the suburbs of Denver and ends in a lake on the outskirts of East Berlin. In 1988, he could have turned 50 years old, but he did not live to see this event. Nevertheless, during his life he managed to build a fairly successful career: his name was known in Latin America, in the USSR and in East Germany. At the same time, in his native States, he remained practically unknown. Popularity in family USA came to him shortly before his death, and she was far from the one that many artists dream of: back in 1986, he gave a scandalous interview, which, perhaps, played a huge role in his death.

Early years

Dean Reed
Dean Reed

History Dean Reed originates in the suburbs Denver: the future artist was born in 1938 year in the family of a rural teacher and a housewife. He had two brothers, Vern and Dale. Reed spent his early years in Wheatland, which was rural in the 1930s and 1940s. His family moved frequently: for some time the Reeds lived in California and Utah, but eventually returned to Coloradowhere Dean went to college.

Career

Dean Reed...
Dean Reed

Being talented and especially capable of music, Reed dropped out of school, picked up the guitar and went to Hollywoodwhere he began his ascent. So, towards the end of the 50s, he signed a contract with "Capitol Records", and two years later starred in an episode of the television series Bachelor Father. After recording a couple of not very successful singles, Reed realized that popularity was going down. Then he left for South Americawhere his work was much more appreciated. There, his name stood in various music ratings along with Elvis Presley and Paul Anka. And during each live performance, he was greeted by crowds of screaming fans!

In the 60s, Reed lived in Latin America: his career flourished successfully, however, instead of enjoying fame, the artist sympathized with the losers, the poor and those who were oppressed by dictators. After playing the tour, Reed settled in Argentina: there he acted in films, performed, recorded songs and even hosted his own TV show. Because of his charity concerts in the poor neighborhoods in factories and prisons, Reed received the nickname Mr. Simpatico (Mr Good).

After the military coup, Reed was deported from Argentina, shortly after which he moved to Italy with his family and began a new life: now he created "Spaghetti Westerns" in Rome. Later, his American wife will return to the United States with her daughter: their divorce took place in 1971 year.

Soviet Union and Reed's other travels

Dean Reed
Dean Reed

Dean Reed lived and worked in many countries, including Italy, Spain, Argentina, Chile, Soviet Union and East Germany. Obviously, in addition to his native American, the singer spoke German, Spanish, Italian and Russian! Also in 1966, Reid toured the USSR for several months with almost 40 concerts! He quickly became a sensation as "the all-American boy who gave rock and roll to the Soviet Union"! At the same time, Reed's continued peaceful protests have cast a shadow over his reputation in USA.

Having visited East Germany in 1971, Reid met his future wife Wiebke Dorndeck: it happened at the international film festival in Leipzig. A few years later, Reid went to East Berlinwhere he lived for the rest of his life. In East Germany, he could afford to live as an elite member of society: Reid was able to travel abroad and enjoy certain freedoms, not to mention his own villa.

tragic end of history

Dean Reed
Dean Reed

The life of the legendary artist was tragically cut short June 13, 1986: Dean Reed's body was found near his house, in the waters Lake Tsoyten. According to the official version, reed drowned, but later it turned out that before his death, the singer had taken a dose of a potent sleeping pill. It was announced that the musician committed suicide on purpose. In support of this theory, a farewell letter written by Reed shortly before the incident was presented. Nevertheless, the artist's relatives could not believe that Dean put an end to his own destiny. According to them, he loved life too much to dispose of it in this way.

Interesting Facts

Dean Reed
Dean Reed
  • Among Reed's good comrades were well-known politicians, including Salvador Allende and Yasser Arafat.
  • Not only in countries Eastern bloc, but also in Soviet Union Reed's records were sold in millions of copies!
  • During his lifetime, the artist was awarded "Lenin Komsomol Prize" for music, in which he bravely fights for peace and friendship between peoples.
  • Reed's big fan is a Russian singer Zemfira. Her repertoire even includes a song dedicated to her childhood idol: "Do not let go" from the album "Forgive me, my love" early 2000s.

  • After his death, Reed left two natural daughters from different wives: Ramona from Patricia and Natasha from Wiebke.
  • For a long time, Reed had an affair with an actress Ewe Kivi, and in 1981 he married an actress Renate Blume and adopted her son Alexander.

1 COMMENT

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

Красный Элвис – история Дина Рида, которого за железным занавесом знали больше, чем на родине

Популярность в родных США пришла к нему незадолго до смерти, и была она далеко не той, о которой мечтают многие артисты: в далёком 1986 году он дал скандальное интервью, которое, возможно, и сыграло огромную роль в его кончине.

История Дина Рида: ранние годы, карьера, малоизвестные подробности жизни

Провозглашённый Красным Элвисом, Дин Рид был американским актёром и певцом, которого за железным занавесом знали действительно больше, чем на родине. Он пел баллады Элвиса Пресли, песни протеста и гимны техасских ковбоев, а также принимал участие в вестернах. Красавицы Страны Советов буквально были от него без ума! Однако в Соединённых Штатах его популярность была омрачена: люди осуждали его, называли предателем. Несмотря на это, Рид всю свою жизнь исповедовал любовь к Америке! Он гордился своим гражданством, но смело и открыто критиковал власть своей страны.

Его история берёт начало на ферме в пригороде Денвера, а заканчивается в озере на окраине Восточного Берлина. В 1988 году ему могло бы исполниться 50 лет, но он не дожил до этого события. Тем не менее за свою жизнь он успел построить довольно успешную карьеру: его имя знали в Латинской Америке, в СССР и на территории Восточной Германии. При этом в родных Штатах он остался практически неизвестен. Популярность в родных США пришла к нему незадолго до смерти, и была она далеко не той, о которой мечтают многие артисты: в далёком 1986 году он дал скандальное интервью, которое, возможно, и сыграло огромную роль в его кончине.

Ранние годы

Дин Рид
Дин Рид

История Дина Рида берёт своё начало в пригороде Денвера: будущий артист родился в 1938 году в семье сельского учителя и домохозяйки. У него было два брата — Верн и Дейл. Свои ранние годы Рид провёл в Уитленде, который был сельской местностью в 1930–1940-х годах. Его семья часто переезжала: какое-то время Риды жили в Калифорнии и Юте, но в конце концов вернулись в Колорадо, где Дин поступил в колледж.

Карьера

Дин Рид...
Дин Рид

Будучи талантливым и особенно способным к музыке, Рид бросил учёбу, взял в руки гитару и уехал в Голливуд, где начал своё восхождение. Так, ближе к концу 50-х он заключил контракт с «Capitol Records», а двумя годами позже снялся в эпизоде телевизионного сериала «Отец-холостяк». Записав пару не особо успешных синглов, Рид понял, что популярность идёт вниз. Тогда он уехал в Южную Америку, где его творчество ценилось намного выше. Там его имя стояло в различных музыкальных рейтингах наряду с Элвисом Пресли и Полом Анкой. А во время каждого живого выступления его встречали толпы вопящих поклонниц!

В 60-х Рид жил в Латинской Америке: его карьера успешно процветала, однако, вместо того чтобы наслаждаться славой, артист сочувствовал неудачникам, беднякам и тем, кого угнетали диктаторы. Отыграв турне, Рид обосновался в Аргентине: там он снимался в кино, выступал, записывал песни и даже вёл собственное телешоу. Из-за своих благотворительных концертов в нищих кварталах на фабриках и в тюрьмах Рид получил прозвище Mr. Simpático (Мистер Добрый).

После военного переворота Рида депортировали из Аргентины, вскоре после чего со своей семьёй переехал в Италию и начал новую жизнь: теперь он создавал «Спагетти-вестерны» в Риме. Позже его жена-американка вернётся в Соединённые Штаты с дочерью: их развод состоялся в 1971 году.

Советский Союз и другие путешествия Рида

Дин Рид
Дин Рид

Дин Рид жил и работал во многих странах, включая Италию, Испанию, Аргентину, Чили, Советский Союз и Восточную Германию. Очевидно, помимо родного американского, певец говорил на немецком, испанском, итальянском и русском языках! В том же 1966 году Рид гастролировал по СССР в течение нескольких месяцев с почти 40 концертами! Он быстро стал сенсацией как «всеамериканский мальчик, подаривший рок-н-ролл Советскому Союзу»! При этом продолжающиеся мирные протесты Рида омрачали его репутацию в США.

Посетив Восточную Германию в 1971-м, Рид встретил свою будущую жену Вибке Дорндек: произошло это на международном кинофестивале в Лейпциге. Через несколько лет Рид отправился в Восточный Берлин, где прожил всю свою оставшуюся жизнь. В Восточной Германии он мог позволить себе жить как элитный член общества: Рид имел возможность путешествовать за границу и наслаждаться определёнными свободами, не говоря уже о собственной вилле.

Трагический конец истории

Дин Рид
Дин Рид

Жизнь легендарного артиста трагически оборвалась 13 июня 1986 года: тело Дина Рида было обнаружено неподалёку от его дома, в водах Цойтенского озера. По официальной версии, Рид утонул, но позже выяснилось, что перед смертью певец употребил дозу сильнодействующего снотворного. Было объявлено, что музыкант покончил с жизнью целенаправленно. В подтверждение данной теории было представлено прощальное письмо, написанное Ридом незадолго до случившегося. Тем не менее близкие артиста не могли поверить в то, что Дин самостоятельно поставил точку на своей судьбе. По их словам, он слишком любил жизнь, чтобы распорядиться ею подобным образом.

Интересные факты

Дин Рид
Дин Рид
  • Среди хороших товарищей Рида были известные политики, включая Сальвадора Альенде и Ясира Арафата.
  • Не только в странах Восточного блока, но и в Советском Союзе пластинки Рида разлетались миллионными тиражами!
  • При жизни артист был награждён «Премией Ленинского комсомола» за музыку, в которой отважно борется за мир и дружбу между народами.
  • Большой поклонницей Рида является российская певица Земфира. В её репертуаре даже есть песня, посвящённая кумиру детства: «Не отпускай» из альбома «Прости меня, моя любовь» начала 2000-х.

  • После смерти у Рида осталось две родных дочери от разных жён: Рамона от Патрисии и Наташа от Вибке.
  • Долгое время у Рида был роман с актрисой Эве Киви, а в 1981 году он женился на актрисе Ренате Блюме и усыновил её сына Александера.

1 КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Джефф Линн: топ-5 фактов о легенде ELO, которые могут вас удивить

Джефф Линн – интересные факты и интервью, фото и видео Британский певец, мультиинструменталист, автор песен, аранжировщик и один из величайших продюсеров в истории – всё...

Топ-5 лучших сольных альбомов Марка Нопфлера по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Марк Нопфлер – лучшие сольные альбомы: список, названия, треки и клипы, факты, полноценный обзор Марк Нопфлер – легендарный британский рок-музыкант. Вернее – не просто музыкант,...

Вспоминаем легендарнейшие рок-оперы за всю историю жанра – часть первая

Лучшие рок-оперы в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»: подборка, исполнители, интересные факты Более полувека назад The Who выпустили «Tommy», и познакомили поклонников с новой...
Похожие статьи

Карлос Сантана переносится в «путешествие по воспоминаниям и глубоким размышлениям»

Гитарист Карлос Сантана: интересные факты, интервью, фото и видео, треки Карлос Сантана – легенда латиноамериканского рока, гитарист, который не просто сумел добиться успеха на мировой...

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...