Author:
Category:

Alice Cooper - Welcome to My Nightmare (1975): album, film and theater show

"Welcome To My Nightmare" is one of the most unusual albums of the 70s. Why is the album titled that way and how did Alice Cooper get the idea to turn his work into a stage show? About this - in our article.

Alice Cooper's first solo record

Alice Cooper is an American singer and songwriter. He is considered king genre shock rock. Through his activities, the musician expanded a framework for what a rock artist's performances should look like. In 1975, the singer released his first solo album "Welcome To My Nightmare", from which in the future they will create a grandiose show with an actor Vincent Price.

Alice Cooper (Alice Cooper) in his youth
Alice Cooper (Alice Cooper) in his youth

Group 

In 1964 year from the ashes of the group "The Nazz" (previous names - "The Earwigs", "The Spiders") formed Alice Cooper Band. IN composition The band included: Vince Furnier (the same Alice Cooper, vocalist), Glen Buxton (guitarist), Michael Bruce (keyboardist), Dennis Dunaway (bass guitarist) and Neil Smith (drummer). About, why Vince took alias Alice Cooper, the musician said the following:

"People came to our speeches and thought that since I'm a vocalist, it means I and eat Alice Cooper, head of our gang. After that the name Alice got accustomed and I began to call myself that.

The Alice Copper Band in the 60s
The Alice Cooper Band in the 60s

Initially, not everyone reacted positively to the work of the group. Of people embarrassed external view groups, in particular Alice Cooper himself. Despite this, the Alice Cooper Band caught the attention of a music producer and composer. Frank Zappa, and she signed deal with his label "Straight". Their debut album "Pretty For You" was ignored by listeners, but after a performance in Toronto in 1969, the group was mentioned in all newspapers due to "chicken incident". Alice said:

“I don’t know how the chicken ended up on stage. For some reason I thought he could fly, so threw his into the crowd. He was in the front rows, where they sat disabled people. It's easy to imagine what it produced the furor".

Frank Zappa in rehearsal
Frank Zappa in rehearsal

The group later began working with Bob Ezrin, and it was with him that the Alice Cooper Band managed to achieve success. Songs Killer, "School's Out" and "Billion Dollar Babies" were the first in all sorts of charts. Each performance the group was outrageous and brave: musicians committed outrageous tricksbrought to the stage boas etc. Due to their scandalous behavior, the team soon had Problems. Clip for the song "School's Out" banned from the BBC, the UK Home Secretary was asked to ban musicians to perform throughout the country. Conflicts begin to arise within the group. In the words of Alice:

«Everyone of us wanted to try ourselves in solo career. But seriously we didn't think about disbanding the Alice Cooper Band, but in the end the band still fell apart".

Bob Ezrin in our time
Bob Ezrin in our time

Solo album

Cooper starts thinking about writing music album. It is important to note that by the time of the release of "Welcome To My Nightmare" Alice Cooper was already one of the most famous rockers worldwide. On the record, he decided to work with Bob Ezrin. Alice himself says the following about him:

"Bob- genius. He can hear things that normal people can't hear. His contributions to "Welcome To My Nightmare" invaluable. We wouldn't be able to do anything without him."

Alice Cooper in concert
Alice Cooper in concert

Central elements of the album is the main concept Elisa: the songs are about the night nightmaresfrom which suffers child named Steven. The musician has always dreamed that the album was not just a set of songs, but theatrical staging. The musician confesses:

“I always wanted to make an album that could also be used as a stage show. The whole idea was to make it soundtrack for a movie or play. I think we made it."

Musician's idea supported famous horror film actor Vincent Pricewho agreed to be the narrator for the album. Many people knew his voice and associated it with horror films. The musicians realized that they wanted to create an additional effect story, stories. Voice Vincenta fit perfectly into the album and became his highlight. The actor even took part in the television special issue, dedicated to the release of "Welcome To My Nightmare".

Vincent Price (Vinsent Price) at a photo shoot
Vincent Price (Vinsent Price) at a photo shoot

The album was released on the label Atlantic in February 1975. The cover art was created by Drew Struzan. Rolling Stone would later rank his work at number ninety on their "Top 100 Album Covers of All Time" list. On the American channel ABC the episode was broadcast "Alice Cooper: Nightmare", in which the musician played Stephen and Vincent Price played the spirit. The film received an award "Emmy" and was later released on VHS and DVD.

"Welcome To My Nightmare" was ambiguous accepted by the public. For example, Dave Marsh from Rolling Stone named the album "TV soundtrack"that sound the same. In his opinion, parties the horns were very same type. Robert Christgau, "the elder of American rock critics", on the contrary, praised the album positively: "He's not that bad - no worse than everyone else." A biographer Greg Prato considered "Welcome To My Nightmare" to be Alice Cooper's finest work. That's what myself Alice talking about his child:

“For a first solo album, this is very good start! We have implemented everything that I wanted. Album popularwhich means we did everything right.”

Drew Struzan in our time
Drew Struzan in our time

Since the release of "Welcome To My Nightmare", he has become the most submitted album in Alice Cooper's live setlists. This is the last record from which all the songs were performed. live. Based on the music of Alice, in 1976 there will be filmed with the same name. And even though he suffered failure at the box office, the work was later recognized classic.

"Mongol Shudan - domestic kings of anarcho-rock

Mongol Shuudan" band: history of creation, cast, best songs, interesting facts, influence Russian rock is a unique genre, which gave the domestic listener a huge collection of material, which can be the envy of...

A Real People's Idol: Joe Dassin and Russia

All about Joe Dassin: early years, hits and love for Russia Despite the fact that many artists often left Russia because they were not given...

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...
Related Articles

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Домой Жанры Рок Элис Купер – Добро пожаловать в мой кошмар (1975): альбом, фильм и театральное шоу

Элис Купер – Добро пожаловать в мой кошмар (1975): альбом, фильм и театральное шоу

0
Элис Купер – Добро пожаловать в мой кошмар (1975): альбом, фильм и театральное шоу
Элис Купер (Alice Cooper) на фотосессии

История первой сольной пластинки Элиса Купера

Элис Купер – американский певец и автор песен. Его считают королём жанра шок-рок. Своей деятельностью музыкант расширил рамки представлений о том, как должны выглядеть выступления рок-артиста. В 1975 году певец выпустил первый сольный альбом «Welcome To My Nightmare», из которого в дальнейшем создадут грандиозное шоу с участием актёра Винсента Прайса.

Элис Купер (Alice Cooper) в молодости
Элис Купер (Alice Cooper) в молодости

Группа 

В 1964 году из пепла группы «The Nazz» (предыдущие названия – «The Earwigs», «The Spiders») образовались «Alice Cooper Band». В состав коллектива входили: Винс Фурньер (тот самый Элис Купер, вокалист), Глен Бакстон (гитарист), Майкл Брюс (клавишник), Деннис Данауэй (бас-гитарист) и Нил Смит (барабанщик). О том, почему Винс взял себе псевдоним Элис Купер, музыкант рассказывал следующее:

«Люди приходили на наши выступления и считали, что раз я вокалист, значит, я и есть Элис Купер, глава нашей банды. После этого имя Элис прижилось и я сам себя стал так называть».

Группа «Alice Copper Band» в 60-е
Группа «Alice Cooper Band» в 60-е

Первоначально не все положительно отреагировали на творчество группы. Людей смущал внешний вид группы, в частности самого Элиса Купера. Несмотря на это, «Alice Cooper Band» привлекла внимание музыкального продюсера и композитора Фрэнка Заппы, и она подписала договор с его лейблом «Straight». Их дебютный альбом «Pretties For You» был проигнорирован слушателями, но после выступления в Торонто в 1969 году о группе упоминали во всех газетах из-за «инцидента с цыплёнком». Элис рассказывал:

«Я не знаю, как цыплёнок оказался на сцене. Почему-то я подумал, что он умеет летать, поэтому кинул его в толпу. Он оказался в первых рядах, где сидели инвалиды. Легко представить, какой это произвело фурор».

Фрэнк Заппа (Frank Zappa) на репетиции
Фрэнк Заппа (Frank Zappa) на репетиции

Позже группа стала работать с Бобом Эзрином, и именно с ним «Alice Cooper Band» удалось достигнуть успеха. Песни «Killer», «School`s Out» и «Billion Dollar Babies» были первыми во всевозможных чартах. Каждое выступление группы было эпатажным и смелым: музыканты совершали возмутительные трюки, выносили на сцену удавов и т. д. Из-за своего скандального поведения у коллектива вскоре возникли проблемы. Клип на песню «School`s Out» был запрещён на BBC, к министру внутренних дел Великобритании обращались с просьбой запретить музыкантам выступать на территории страны. Внутри группы начинают возникать конфликты. По словам Элиса:

«Каждый из нас захотел попробовать себя в сольной карьере. Но всерьёз мы не задумывались о том, чтобы распустить «Alice Cooper Band», но в итоге группа всё равно распалась».

Боб Эзрин (Bob Ezrin) в наше время
Боб Эзрин (Bob Ezrin) в наше время

Сольный альбом

Купер начинает думать о написании музыкального альбома. Важно отметить, что к моменту выпуска «Welcome To My Nightmare» Элис Купер был уже одним из самых известных рокеров во всём мире. Над пластинкой он решил работать с Бобом Эзрином. Сам Элис скажет о нём следующее:

«Боб – гений. Он может слышать то, что не слышат нормальные люди. Его вклад в «Welcome To My Nightmare» неоценим. Без него у нас бы ничего не вышло».

Элис Купер (Alice Cooper) на концерте
Элис Купер (Alice Cooper) на концерте

Центральным элементов альбома является основная концепция Элиса: песни повествуют о ночных кошмарах, от которых страдает ребёнок по имени Стивен. Музыкант всегда мечтал о том, чтобы альбом был не просто набором песен, а театральной постановкой. Музыкант признаётся:

«Я всегда хотел сделать такой альбом, из которого можно создать и сценическое шоу. Вся идея заключалась в том, чтобы сделать его саундтреком к фильму или пьесе. Я думаю, у нас это получилось».

Идею музыканта поддержал известный актёр фильмов ужасов Винсент Прайс, который согласился быть рассказчиком для альбома. Его голос многие знали и ассоциировали с хоррор-фильмами. Музыканты поняли, что хотят создать дополнительный эффект рассказа, истории. Голос Винсента отлично вписался в альбом и стал его изюминкой. Актёр даже принял участие в телевизионном спецвыпуске, посвящённом выходу «Welcome To My Nightmare».

Винсент Прайс (Vinsent Price) на фотосессии
Винсент Прайс (Vinsent Price) на фотосессии

Альбом был выпущен на лейбле «Atlantic» в феврале 1975 года. Обложку для него создал Дрю Струзан. «Rolling Stone» впоследствии поставит его работу на девяностое место в списке «100 лучших обложек альбомов всех времён». На американском канале ABC транслировался выпуск «Элис Купер: Кошмар», в котором музыкант играл Стивена, а Винсент Прайс – духа. Фильм получил премию «Эмми» и позже был выпущен на видеокассетах и DVD.

«Welcome To My Nightmare» был неоднозначно воспринят публикой. Например, Дэйв Марш из «Rolling Stone» назвал альбом «телевизионным саундтреком», звучащим одинаково. По его мнению, партии валторны были очень однотипны. Роберт Кристгау, «старейшина американских рок-критиков», наоборот, оценил альбом положительно: «он не настолько уж плох – не хуже, чем все остальные». А биограф Грег Прато считал, что «Welcome To My Nightmare» – лучшая работа Элиса Купера. Вот что сам Элис говорит о своём детище:

«Для первого сольного альбома это очень хорошее начало! Мы воплотили всё то, что я хотел. Альбом популярен, а значит, мы всё сделали правильно».

Дрю Струзан (Drew Struzan) в наше время
Дрю Струзан (Drew Struzan) в наше время

С момента выпуска «Welcome To My Nightmare» он стал самым представленным альбомом в концертных сетлистах Элиса Купера. Это последняя пластинка, с которой все песни исполнялись вживую. Опираясь на музыку Элиса, в 1976 году будет снят фильм с таким же названием. И хоть он потерпел неудачу в прокате, позже работа была признана классикой.

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

77 + = 78