Author:
Category:

All about the artist Dr. Alban: biography and interesting facts from life

From Dentistry to Music: The Story of the Man Who Recorded "It's My Lyfe".

All about the artist Dr. Alban: biography and facts

Dr. Alban is a name that is on everyone's lips. It is impossible to live in the modern world and not hear his songs. Dr. Alban works in such popular styles of music as eurodance, hip-hop and ragga, his songs have occupied the highest positions in the charts many times. However, the story of a kind "doctor" is a bit different from the usual story of a musician.

Each alias has its own story. The history of the name "Dr. Alban" is quite simple: Alban was really supposed to become a doctor. So the big question is: how did a dentist become a hip-hop singer?

Dr. Alban
Dr. Alban

Alban doctor

Very often, in the biography of a famous musician, one can read about how he devoted all his free time to music since childhood, so that as soon as he graduated from school he already put together his first group. But Dr. Alban has a very different story.

Alban Uzoma Nwapa was born in Nigeria, in Oguta, on August 26, 1957. He had 10 brothers and sisters. Their family had an average income, the father worked as a dentist, he made sure that all his ten children received a good education. Alban himself, at the age of 23, decided to follow in his father's footsteps and also become a dentist. To do this, he moved to Sweden and entered the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm.

At that time, music was just a hobby for Alban. However, he needed money to study in Stockholm, and then Alban decided that a hobby could bring him income. He started working as a DJ at the popular Alphabet Street nightclub. At the same time, he not only perfectly "mixed" other people's compositions, but also recorded his own, and then played them in the club.

Alban's talent was not one-sided: his studies at the institute went well, he received an education and got a job in one of the Stockholm clinics, while continuing to study music. However, one cannot be completely devoted to two activities at the same time. Sooner or later, Alban had to make a choice.

Albanian musician

By the beginning of the 90s Alban was already known among the fans of club life as a first-class DJ. In 1990, a turning point occurs: a meeting with producer Denniz PoP, a representative of the SweMix recording studio. An experienced producer and DJ did not overlook the talent and invited Alban to record his first record. This is how Alban's first single "Hello, Africa!" appeared, which was dedicated to Alban's homeland. He recorded the single with rap singer Leila K.

https://youtu.be/sUHnvUZcCg0

Now Alban needed a pseudonym, which came to him by itself. Dr. Alban: as a reminder of a career in dentistry that had to be abandoned in favor of music.

Alban's first record sold a million copies. This was his first success. But far from the last. The Doctor's second album One Love sold 1.6 million copies worldwide. The whole world already knows about Alban, and the song "It's My Life" blows up the charts all over the face of the earth. As a result, this composition became a landmark for Doc's work, and it's hard to find a person who has never heard it.

The third album "Look Who's Talking" is released with a circulation of 5 million copies. Here Alban focuses on social issues such as drugs, poverty and racism. Dr. Alban recorded the single of the same name with another Euroden star, Nana Hedin.

Alban later opened his own recording studio, Doctor Records, and starting with his fourth album Born In Africa, the Doctor releases all records under his own label.

In his music, Alban touches on various topics that are important to him: religion, international relations, personal values and ... dentistry (after all, the old hobby is not forgotten).

Alban's work had a great influence on the whole world of eurodance, as well as on the musicians of the post-Soviet space. Echoes of his songs are heard in the compositions of such groups as Red Mold and Freguenz.

Dr. Alban leads an active creative life today. He records albums, performs live and goes on various tours, including, he was in Russia. On their first song "Hello Africa!" Alban made a series of remakes, each time dedicating a song to a new theme, one of the latest being the theme of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Alban-family man

Dr. Alban doesn't like to put his life on display. He has a wife and two daughters, and he became a father only at the age of 45. Like his father, he wanted to make sure he could provide for his children first. Alban's daughters, like him once, want to continue their father's work, but this time not dentistry, but music.

Alban and his family live in Sweden, but they often visit his home country of Nigeria, where the family has a home. According to Alban, it is there that he truly rests from the hustle and bustle.

Alban leads a healthy lifestyle. According to him, the most important thing for him is his family, friends, sound sleep and quiet rest.

How Will Smith first met Michael Jackson

The story of meeting Will Smith and Michael Jackson If you call the two names Will Smith and Michael Jackson, it's not immediately apparent that there is a connection between these...

"Didn't want to, but became part of the story" - Abbey Road cover man

Paul Cole is the man on the cover of Abbey Road: History and Facts It's been over half a century since the Beatles released their masterpiece "Abbey...

Simon Le Bon - Top 6 Facts About the Duran Duran Vocalist

Simon Le Bon - interesting facts about the vocalist of Duran Duran Few bands have been as influential as Duran Duran in the 1980s. The British kings of the new wave...
Related Articles

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Домой Жанры Поп-музыка Все об исполнителе Dr. Alban (Доктор Албан): биография и интересные факты из жизни

Все об исполнителе Dr. Alban (Доктор Албан): биография и интересные факты из жизни

0
Все об исполнителе Dr. Alban (Доктор Албан): биография и интересные факты из жизни
Доктор Албан

Все об исполнителе Dr. Alban: биография и факты

Dr.Alban – имя которое на слуху у всех. Невозможно жить в современном мире и не слышать его песен. Доктор Албан работает в таких популярных стилях музыки как евроденс, хип-хоп и рагга, его песни много раз занимали самые высокие позиции в чартах. Однако история доброго «доктора» немного не похожа на обычную историю музыканта.

У каждого псевдонима своя история. История имени «Доктор Албан» довольно проста: Албан действительно должен был стать доктором. Итак, главный вопрос: как стоматолог стал хип-хоп певцом?

Доктор Албан
Доктор Албан

Албан-врач

Очень часто в биографии известного музыканта можно прочесть о том, как он посвящал музыке все свое свободное время с самого детства, так что едва закончив школу уже сколачивал свою первую группу. Но у доктора Албана совсем другая история.

Албан Узома Нвапа родился в Нигерии, в Огуте, 26 августа 1957 года. У него было 10 братьев и сестер. Их семья имела средний достаток, отец работал стоматологом, он позаботился, что все его десять детей получили хорошее образование. Сам Албан в 23 года решил пойти по стопам отца и тоже стать зубным врачом. Для этого он переехал в Швецию и поступил в Каролинский институт в Стокгольме.

В то время музыка была для Албана лишь увлечением, хобби. Однако на обучение в Стокгольме нужны были деньги и тогда, Албан решил, что хобби может приносить ему доход. Он стал подрабатывать ди-джеем в популярном ночном клубе «Alphabet Street». При этом он не только отлично «миксовал» чужие композиции, но и записывал свои собственные, а потом проигрывал их в клубе.

Талант Албана был не односторонним: его обучение в институте шло хорошо, он получил образование и устроился в одну из стокгольмских клиник, при этом продолжая заниматься музыкой. Однако нельзя полностью быть посвященным двум занятиям одновременно. Рано или поздно, Албану нужно было сделать выбор.

Албан-музыкант

К началу 90-ых Албан уже был известен среди любителей клубной жизни как первоклассный ди-джей. В 1990 году происходит поворотное событие: встреча с продюсером Denniz PoP, представителем студии звукозаписи SweMix. Опытный продюсер и ди-джей не проглядел талант и пригласил Албана для записи его первой пластинки. Так появился первый сингл Албана «Hello, Africa!», который был посвящен родине Албана. Сингл он записывал вместе с рэп-певицей Leila K.

https://youtu.be/sUHnvUZcCg0

Теперь Албану был нужен псевдоним, который пришел к нему сам собой. Доктор Албан: как напоминание о карьере стоматолога, которую пришлось оставить в пользу музыки.

Первая пластинка Албана разошлась миллионным тиражом. Это был его первый успех. Но далеко не последний. Второй альбом Доктора «One Love» разошелся по миру тиражом 1,6 миллиона экземпляров. Об Албане уже знает весь мир, а песня «It’s My Life» взрывает чарты по всему лицу земли. В итоге эта композиция стала знаковой для творчества Дока, да и сложно найти человека, который ни разу не слышал ее.

Третий альбом «Look Who’s Talking» выходит тиражом 5 миллионов экземпляров. Здесь Албан акцентирует внимание на таких социальных проблемах как наркотики, бедность и расизм. Одноименный сингл Доктор Албан записал с другой звездой евродена – Наной Хедин.

Позднее Албан открывает свою собственную студию звукозаписи Doctor Records, и начиная с его четвертого альбома «Born In Africa», все пластинки Доктор выпускает под собственным лейблом.

В своей музыке Албан затрагивает различные, важные для него, темы: религия, международные отношения, личные ценности и… стоматологию (все таки, не забыто старое увлечение).

Творчество Албана оказало большое влияние на весь мир евроденса, а также на музыкантов постсоветского пространства. Отголоски его песен звучат в композициях таких групп как «Красная плесень» и «Freguenz».

Dr. Alban ведет активную творческую жизнь и сегодня. Он записывает альбомы, выступает в живую и отправляется в различные турне, в том числе, был он и в России. На свою первую песню «Hello Africa!» Албан сделал серию ремейков, каждый раз посвящая песню новой теме, одной из последних была тема пандемии COVID-19.

Албан-семьянин

Доктор Албан не любит выставлять свою жизнь на показ. У него есть жена и две дочери, при чем отцом он стал лишь в 45 лет. Как и его отец, он хотел сначала убедиться, что сможет обеспечить своих детей. Дочери Албана, как и он когда-то, хотят продолжить дело своего отца, но на сей раз не стоматологию, а музыку.

Албан и его семья проживают в Швеции, однако они часто посещают его родную страну Нигерию, там у семьи есть дом. По словам Албана именно там он по-настоящему отдыхает от суеты.

Албан ведет здоровый образ жизни. По его словам, самое главное для него это его семья, друзья, крепкий сон и тихий отдых.

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

3 + 2 =