Author:
Category:

Cardinal of the global rap industry: a biography of Dr. Dre

Dr. Dre: The Story of American Rap Music's Greatest Talent. Biography from youth to the heights of a career.

How the guy from Compton became the most important figure in hip-hop culture

Dr. Dre one of the most famous and successful rap artists and producers our time is also considered the father of g-funk music (West Coast hip-hop style, originated in the 1990s in California, USA). His life path was hard and thorny, but thanks to all the difficulties, we know Dr. Dre the way it is now.

Dr. Dre 2021
Dr. Dre 2021

Childhood and youth

Andre Romell Young (real name of the musician) was born on February 18, 1965 in the city with criminal fame - Compton (Los Angeles County). Verna Young gave birth to a son at 16 from Theodore Young, who was fond of the work of musical The Romells. It was in honor of the name of the group that Andre received your middle name. After the birth of a son, the parents entered into an alliance. However, when young Andre was 3 years old, his parents divorced due to disagreements in the family.

Verna contributed significant contribution in the development of Andre's musical talent. When the boy was only 4 years, he played DJ role at family parties. His mother gave him a small list of tracks that the young rapper had to play at the holiday. Verna was impressed by how skillfully her son turned the film, demonstrating various tricks. Even then mother noticed his talent.

Dr. Dre
Dr. Dre

The musician lived in a dysfunctional city where drug trafficking and violence flourished. In 1976 Andre went to school for the first time Vanguard Junior High School, however, it soon had to be changed to "Roosevelt Junior High School" due to the high activity of crime groups. Then the musician's mother married Curtis Crayon. In their pair was born three daughters and one son. The talent for music was transferred not only to Dr. Dre, but also to his younger brother Warren G., who is currently a popular West Coast rapper.

In 1979 the young musician studied at Centennial High School, which he later had to change due to poor academic performance. Then Andre transferred to Fremont High School, where he studied until the end of study. In his last school years, the musician decided to try to get a job with an airline, however, after an unsuccessful attempt, Andre became disc jockey and worked there until the end of high school.

In 1981 Dre's girlfriend Lisa Johnson said she was expecting a baby. At that time, the musician just turned 16. The boy was named Curtis. Dre's son was taken into custody by the mother of the child, and for 20 years Andre did not see him.

Dr. Dre is the most famous American rapper
Dr. Dre is the most famous American rapper

Musical career

To the rapper at first it was hard. He worked hard and almost never rested. And all this in order to take the place where he is now. At the beginning of his journey It was very difficult to break into the radio station.

In 17 years the musician began to visit local clubs, where he watched the performances of various DJs and rappers. Soon, inspired by their work, Andre got a job as a DJ in one of the clubs. Then he took on a pseudonym Dr. J in honor of pseudonym of beloved basketball player and legend Julius Irving (known as Dr. J.). Andre's fame quickly spread around the district and soon he was invited to a group of DJs World Class Wreckin' Cru. Members of the group wore specific doctor-like costumes. Soon the performer changed his pseudonym to Dr. Dre - a mixture of the previous and its first name. Andre felt that he was doing what he should, as if he had found his place.

However, when the musician turned 21 years old, he decided to retire from DJing with bigger plans for the future. In 1986 Andre met a rapper ice cube (O'Shea Jackson). Together they recorded a couple of songs for a rap label called Ruthless Records.

Dr. Dre is the most famous American rapper today
Dr. Dre is the most famous American rapper today

Despite big plans, Dre did not have the money to sell them. Soon the rapper found like-minded people and a few more people who were ready to allocate funds for the fact that he wanted to do. One of them was Eric Lynn Wright (Known as Eazy-E). Eric was a local drug dealer who tried to break into music, but did not achieve much success, until I contacted Dr. Dre. Together they organized a group, where they invited a couple more DJs. The musical group was called NWA "Niggas With Attitudes".

The musicians wrote songs in the style gangster rap. Their tracks were filled with violence, poverty, debauchery and drugs. NWA quickly gained popularity due to its specificity and dissimilarity to the predecessors of the genre. Separately, it should be said about the album "Straight Outta Compton" and the song in it "Fuck The Police"who quickly became famous without any advertising on radio and television.

Later due to certain monetary disagreements Dr. Dre and Ice Cube I had to leave the group. Shortly after leaving Andre began his collaboration with a well-known businessman, gangster, and label owner Death Row Records Suge Knight. In 1991 Andre recorded his first single, which was included in the soundtrack of the movie Undercover. Soon to be released debut album "The Chronic" was a real breakthrough. It was in it that the performer demonstrated a new, self-created style of rap music not only in terms of instrumentation, but also content.

Dr. Dre is the most famous American rapper nowadays.jpg
Dr. Dre is the most famous American rapper today

In 1992 Dr. Dre created a track called "Let Me Ride"for which he received a music award Grammy for Best Rap Solo Performance. In addition to the author's activity, Dr. Dre made a name for himself as a producer with a hit music album Snoop Dogg "Doggystyle", which instantly appeared on the first line of the weekly American music magazine Billboard. In addition, Dre had a hand in the albums of many rappers such as Eminem, 50 Cent, 2pac and others. In 1994 Dr. Dre has also produced tracks for films such as "Above the Rim" and "Murder Was the Case".

Dre's contract with Suge Knight did not last long. Already in 1995 Dre started a collaboration with Tupac. Later, Andre decided to create his own label, which he called "Aftermath Entertainment". The label later played an important role in the life of the rapper, multiplying his popularity several times over.

Third solo album Detox was highly anticipated among Dre fans from all over the world. This is a collection that the musician has been working on for many years. Its release date has been postponed many times, but fans have not waited for the release. "mythical" album.

Dr. Dre at one of the performances
Dr. Dre at one of the performances

Now let's listen to some of the most recognizable songs of Dr. Dre.

N.W.A. Straight Outa Compton, 1988

Song "Straight Outta Compton" is the lead single from the debut album NWA with the same name. The track was ranked 19th on About.com's Top 100 Rap Songs. After the release, the song was banned from many radio stations, so it hit the charts. only after 27 years from release date.

Dr. Dre "Keep Their Heads Ringing", 1995

The song was released in 1995 "Keep Their Heads Ringing"which was included in the album "Friday". The track was created in collaboration with Nancy Fletcher and was awarded MTV VMAs for the best rap video.

Dr. Dre & 2Pac "California Love", 1995

"California Love" one of two songs on the album "All Eyes on Me", produced by Dr. Dre. The release of the track is associated with Tupac's release from prison after being sentenced to one year. The appearance of "California Love" caused a real storm of emotions among fans. The first two weeks the single did not leave the top of the chart Billboard Hot 100and was also nominated for many music awards.

Dr. Dre & Snoop DogNext Episode", 1999

«Next Episode» - single from the album "2001", co-produced with Snoop Dogg, Nate Dogg and Kurupt. This track contains many references to another creation of Dr. Dre - "California Love". The original version of the song's lyrics and beat looked different than it does now. The name itself was also slightly different - on the cover of the track there was an inscription 'Tha Next Episode».

 

"Didn't want to, but became part of the story" - Abbey Road cover man

Paul Cole is the man on the cover of Abbey Road: History and Facts It's been over half a century since the Beatles released their masterpiece "Abbey...

Simon Le Bon - Top 6 Facts About the Duran Duran Vocalist

Simon Le Bon - interesting facts about the vocalist of Duran Duran Few bands have been as influential as Duran Duran in the 1980s. The British kings of the new wave...

Who is she - the woman from the cover of the legendary Black Sabbath album

The woman on the cover of the Black Sabbath album - who is she: history and facts The 1970 release of Black Sabbath's debut album changed the music industry forever. This...
Related Articles

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

Домой Музыканты Кардинал мировой рэп-индустрии: биография Dr. Dre

Кардинал мировой рэп-индустрии: биография Dr. Dre

0
Кардинал мировой рэп-индустрии: биография Dr. Dre
Dr. Dre – известнейший американский рэпер

Как парень из Комптона стал важнейшей фигурой в хип-хоп-культуре

Dr. Dre – один из известнейших и успешнейших рэп-исполнителей и продюсеров нашего времени, также считается отцом музыкального стиля джи-фанк (стиль хип-хопа Западного побережья, зародился в 1990-х годах в Калифорнии, США). Его жизненный путь был тяжёлым и тернистым, но благодаря всем трудностям мы знаем Dr. Dre таким, каким он есть сейчас.

Dr. Dre, 2021 год
Dr. Dre, 2021 год

Детство и юность

Андре Ромелл Янг (настоящее имя музыканта) родился 18 февраля 1965 года в городе с криминальной славой – Комптоне (округ Лос-Анджелеса). Верна Янг родила сына в 16 лет от Теодора Янга, увлекавшегося творчеством музыкальной группы The Romells. Именно в честь названия группы Андре получил своё второе имя. После рождения сына родители заключили союз. Однако, когда юному Андре было 3 года, родители развелись из-за разногласий в семье.

Верна внесла весомый вклад в развитие музыкального таланта Андре. Когда мальчику было всего 4 года, он играл роль диджея на семейных вечеринках. Мать давала ему небольшой список треков, который юный рэпер должен был включить на празднике. Верна была под впечатлением, как умело сын крутил пленку, демонстрируя различные трюки. Уже тогда мать заметила его талант.

Dr. Dre
Dr. Dre

Музыкант проживал в неблагополучном городе, где процветала наркоторговля и насилие. В 1976 году Андре впервые пошел в школу «Vanguard Junior High School», однако вскоре её пришлось поменять на «Roosevelt Junior High School» из-за высокой активности приступных группировок. Затем мать музыканта вышла за Кертиса Крэйона. В их паре появилось на свет три дочери и один сын. Талант к музыке передался не только Dr. Dre, но и его младшему брату Warren G., который в настоящее время является популярным рэпером Западного Побережья.

В 1979 году юный музыкант учился в школе «Centennial High School», которую позже был вынужден сменить из-за низкой успеваемости. Тогда Андре перевелся в «Fremont High School», где проучился до конца учёбы. В свои последние школьные годы музыкант решил попробовать устроиться авиакомпанию, однако, после неудачной попытки Андре стал диск-жокеем и проработал там до завершения старшей школы.

В 1981 году подруга Дре Лиза Джонсон заявила, что ждет ребёнка. На тот момент музыканту только исполнилось 16 лет. Мальчика назвали Кёртисом. Сына Дре взяла под опеку мать ребенка, и на протяжении 20 лет Андре не виделся с ним.

Dr. Dre – известнейший американский рэпер
Dr. Dre – известнейший американский рэпер

Музыкальная карьера

Поначалу рэперу приходилось тяжело. Он много работал и почти никогда не отдыхал. И все это ради того, чтобы занять то место, на котором он находится сейчас. В начале его пути пробиться на радиостанции было очень тяжело.

В 17 лет музыкант начал посещать местные клубы, где наблюдал выступления различных диджеев и рэперов. Вскоре, вдохновившись их творчеством, Андре устроился диджеем в один из клубов. Тогда он взял себе псевдоним Dr. J в честь псевдонима любимого баскетболиста и легенды Джулиуса Ирвинга (известен как Dr. J.). Слава Андре быстро разошлась по округе и вскоре его пригласили в группу диджеев World Class Wreckin’ Cru. Члены группы носили специфические костюмы похожие на докторские. Вскоре исполнитель поменял свой псевдоним на Dr. Dre – смесь предыдущего и своего первого имени. Андре чувствовал, что занимается тем, чем должен, будто бы нашел своё место.

Однако когда музыканту исполнился 21 год, он решил уйти из диджеинга, имея более грандиозные планы на будущее. В 1986 году Андре познакомился с рэпером Ice Cube (О’Ши Джексоном). Вместе они записали пару песен для рэп-лейбла под названием Ruthless Records.

Dr. Dre – известнейший американский рэпер, наши дни
Dr. Dre – известнейший американский рэпер, наши дни

Несмотря на масштабные планы, у Дре не было денег на их реализацию. Вскоре рэпер нашел единомышленников и еще нескольких людей, которые были готовы выделить средства на то, что он хотел сделать. Одним из них был Эрик Линн Райт (известен под псевдонимом Eazy-E). Эрик был местным наркоторговцем, который пытался пробиться в музыку, однако не достиг большого успеха, пока не связался с Доктором Дре. Вместе они организовали группу, куда пригласили еще пару диджеев. Музыкальная группа называлась N.W.A. «Niggas With Attitudes».

Музыканты писали песни в стиле гангстерского рэпа. Их треки были наполнены насилием, бедностью, развратом и наркотиками. N.W.A. быстро обрела популярность благодаря своей специфике и несхожести на предшественников жанра. Отдельно стоит сказать об альбоме «Straight Outta Compton» и состоящей в ней песне «Fuck The Police», которые быстро стали известными без какой-либо рекламы на радио и телевидении.

Позже из-за определенных денежных разногласий Dr. Dre и Ice Cube пришлось покинуть группу. Вскоре после ухода Андре начал свое сотрудничество с известным бизнесменом, гангстером, а также владельцем лейбла Death Row Records Шугом Найтом. В 1991 году Андре записал свой первый сингл, вошедший в саундтрек кинофильма «Под прикрытием». Вышедший вскоре дебютный альбом «The Chronic» стал настоящим прорывом. Именно в нем исполнитель продемонстрировал новый, самостоятельно созданный стиль рэп-музыки не только с точки зрения инструментала, но и содержимого.

Dr. Dre – известнейший американский рэпер, наши дни.jpg
Dr. Dre – известнейший американский рэпер, наши дни

В 1992 году Dr. Dre создал трек под названием «Let Me Ride», за который получил музыкальную премию «Грэмми» за лучшее сольное рэп-исполнение. Кроме авторской деятельности, Dr. Dre проявил себя как продюсер, занявшись популярным музыкальным альбомом Снуп Догга «Doggystyle», который моментально оказался на первой строчке еженедельного американского музыкального журнала Billboard. Помимо этого Дре приложил руку к альбомам множества рэперов, таких как Эминем, 50 Cent, 2Pac и других. В 1994 году Dr. Dre также спродюсировал треки к таким кинофильмам, как «Above the Rim» и «Murder Was the Case».

Деятельность Дре в контракте с Шугом Найтом не была продолжительной. Уже в 1995-м Дре начал сотрудничество с Тупаком. Позже Андре решил создать собственный лэйбл, который назвал «Aftermath Entertainment». Лэйбл в дальнейшем сыграл важную роль в жизни рэпера, преумножив его популярность в несколько раз.

Третий сольный альбом «Detox» был долгожданным среди поклонников Дре со всего мира. Это сборник, над которым музыкант работал много лет. Дата его выхода многократно переносилась, однако поклонники так и не дождались выхода «мифического» альбома.

Dr. Dre на одном из выступлений
Dr. Dre на одном из выступлений

Теперь давайте послушаем одни из самых узнаваемых песен Dr. Dre.

NWA «Straight Outta Compton», 1988 год

Песня «Straight Outta Compton» является главным синглом дебютного альбома N.W.A с таким же названием. Данный трек попал на 19-е место в рейтинге 100 лучших рэп-песен сайта About.com. После выхода, песня была запрещена на многих радиостанциях, поэтому попала в чарты лишь спустя 27 лет от даты релиза.

Dr. Dre «Keep Their Heads Ringing», 1995 год

В 1995 году была выпущена песня «Keep Their Heads Ringing», которая вошла в альбом «Friday». Трек был создан совестно с Нэнси Флетчер и был награжден MTV VMA за лучшее рэп видео.

Dr. Dre & 2Pac «California Love», 1995 год

«California Love» – одна из двух песен альбома «All Eyez on Me», спродюсированных Dr. Dre. Выпуск трека связан с выходом Тупака из тюрьмы после заключения на один год. Появление «California Love» вызвал настоящую бурю эмоций среди поклонников. Первые две недели сингл не сходил с вершины чарта Billboard Hot 100, а также был номинирован на многие музыкальные премии.

Dr. Dre & Snoop Dog «Next Episode», 1999 год

«Next Episode» – сингл из альбома «2001», созданный совместно с Snoop Dogg, Nate Dogg и Kurupt. В данном треке присутствует множество отсылок к другому творению Доктора Дре – «California Love». Первоначальная версия текста и бита песни выглядела иначе, чем сейчас. Также немного отличалось само название – на обложке трека была надпись «Tha Next Episode».

 

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

− 6 = 2