Author:

Category:

Jeff Lynne - All about the musician and composer ...

The most important thing in the life of a musical genius...

Full Biography of Jeff Lynne

Arranger, songwriter and producer - Jeff Lynne is best known as one of the founding members of the Electric Light Orchestra.

Jeff Lynn is from the West of England. He began his musical career as a guitarist in local bands, and then, in the early 1970s, he formed his own, known as the Electric Light Orchestra. Not achieving the desired success, "ELO" blew up the scene, released over thirty hit singles, but in 1986 they officially disbanded.

This period brought Lynn success at the start of his production career. Jeff collaborated with famous music stars - George Harrison, Tom Petty, Roy Orbison and Brian Wilson. Soon, with the participation of Lynn, they founded the supergroup "The Traveling Wilburys", whose collection was nominated for a Grammy.

Now, Lynn is engaged in producing, simultaneously releasing new albums by Electric Light Orchestra.

Path to glory

Jeff Lynn
Jeff Lynn

Geoff Lynn was born in Birmingham, England's West Country on December 30, 1947. From early childhood he was attracted to music. Already in his teens, Lynn established himself as an outstanding guitarist and was in great demand on the local scene. He played in several regional bands before joining the Nightriders in 1966. Lynn soon became the leader of a group that later changed its name to Idle Race, releasing The Birthday Party in 1968. For Lynn as a producer, he became the debut. However, when none of the released albums made much of an impact, Lynn left Idle Race to join another popular Birmingham rock act. - "Move", which soon included former Idle Race guitarist Roy Wood.

While Move was a success and its singles hit the UK charts more than once, Lynn and Wood began to conceive a new project that would allow them to realize their shared love of the classics within the framework of pop/rock performance. The new project was called "Electric Light Orchestra" (ELO). The group's first few albums, released in the early 1970s, were quite good. However, they were only distant hints of the stunning success that awaited Lynn and his comrades in the second half of the decade.

Jeff Lynne: "Mr. Blue Sky"

Jeff Lynn
Jeff Lynn

After the release of the first album, Wood left the Electric Light Orchestra, leaving all production and songwriting to Lynn. The taste of success came only with the release of "Eldorado" (1974), which reached No. 16 in America.

A year later, the platinum album "Face the Music" was released, which for a long time remained in the top ten, giving rise to hits famous today. - "Evil Woman" and "Strange Magic".

But that was just the beginning for ELO. For several years, the musicians produced hit after hit: "A New World Record" (1976) - their first platinum album to reach number 5 thanks to the high-profile singles "Livin' Thing", "Telephone Line" and "Do Ya". Multi-platinum "Out of the Blue" (1977) with the singles "Sweet Talkin Woman" and "Mr. Blue Sky" also peaked at #5.

The single "Mr. Blue Sky" shocked the audience, hitting the top 40. ELO ended the late 1970s with heavy disco - "Discovery" (1979). It was this album that introduced the public to the hit single "Don 'Bring Me Down", which for a long time kept at 4 positions in the US charts and is a big hit today.

As the new decade dawned, Lynn worked on many new projects. So, he became a co-author and producer of the soundtrack for John Farrar's Xanadu (1980), in which the charming Olivia Newton-John played the main role. Although the film itself did not receive much recognition among the audience, the soundtrack became a popular hit and became a top 10 single in the US and UK. The song "Magic", which took first place, was not by Lynn, but his tracks such as "I'm Alive" and "All Over The World" were included in the top twenty.

Over the next few years, three albums were released: the studio concept "Time" (1981) became a No. 1 hit in America, "Secret Messages" (1983), which took the 4th position in the UK and "Balance of Power" (1986). After the release of the latter, which, by the way, took 9th place in the UK and entered the top 50 chart in America, Electric Light Orchestra officially disbanded. Having recorded about thirty top charting singles in America and the UK, the band was simultaneously frustrated that their hits never reached number one.

To read: ELO: through "time" and space...

Produced by The Traveling Wilburys

Jeff Lynn
Jeff Lynn

By the time the Electric Light Orchestra collapsed, Lynn had established a reputation for himself as an excellent songwriter and producer, which led him to a number of impressive and high-profile alliances with major award-winning music stars. In 1987, Lynn worked with George Harrison on the release of the album Cloud Nine, 4 of the 11 songs from the album hit the Top 20 UK Top 20 singles, and Jeff Lynn co-wrote all four: "I Got My Mind Set on You", "Cloud Nine", "When We Was Fab" and "This Is Love".

Lynn's collaboration with Harrison did not go unnoticed. Soon, the musicians created the supergroup The Traveling Wilburys, which released two albums, one of which turned out to be a Grammy nominee. Its participants were Bob Dylan, Roy Orbison, Tom Petty, Harrison and Lynn himself. In parallel, the latter also produced the track "Let It Shine" for Brian Wilson's self-titled solo album (1988) recorded with the Beach Boys, worked with Orbison on his last album, Mystery Girl (1989), and also - over Newman's Land of Dreams (1988).

However, it was the collaboration with Tom Petty that led Lynn to create one of his most successful productions. - "Full Moon Fever", as well as the sequel to "Great Wide Open".

The compilations co-produced by Lynn and Petty featured popular hits "I Won't Back Down", "Into the Great Wide Open", "Learning to Fly" and "Free Fallin". These singles, co-written with Lynn, are some of the highlights of Petty's illustrious career.

Past and present

Jeff Lynne and the Beatles
Jeff Lynne and the Beatles

Lynn's most notable efforts appear in the long-awaited Beatles serial anthology, in which Lynn assisted George Harrison, Paul McCartney and Ringo Starr in creating new John Lennon recordings. -"Free as a Bird" and "Real Love". After these fruitful years of collaboration, in 1990 Lynn released his first solo album Armchair Theatre, after which he returned to work on the film. McCartney soon chose Lynn to help him produce Flaming Pie.

After winning the legal battle to retain the rights to use the ELO name, Lynn kicked off the second millennium with a new album, Electric Light Orchestra. - Zoom.

Cover of ELO - Zoom
Cover of ELO - Zoom

He also continued his collaboration with George Harrison on his Brainwashed album and completed the recording on his own after Harrison's death (2001). In 2006, Lynn again teamed up with Petty to co-produce his third solo album, Highway Companion. Three years later, he produced several songs for Regina Spektor's album Far (2009), which rose to No. 3 in America.

Lynn's latest work has been a return to the past. In 2012, on the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the founding of the Electric Light Orchestra, the musician released the album Mr. Blue Sky", in which ELO songs were re-recorded, accompanied by a documentary of the same name. In the same year, he released "Long Wave", after which, in 2015, he returned to work on "Alone in the Universe".

Jeff Lynn with family
Jeff Lynn with family

Concert Electric Light Orchestra - Wembley Or Bust in 2017

10kFollowers

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Related Articles

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Автор:

Категория:

Джефф Линн (Jeff Lynne) – Всё о музыканте и композиторе…

Самое главное из жизни музыкального гения...

Полная биография Джеффа Линна

Аранжировщик, автор песен и продюсер  Джефф Линн больше известен как один из основателей «Electric Light Orchestra».

Родиной Джеффа Линна является запад Англии. Свою музыкальную карьеру он начал строить в качестве гитариста в местных группах, а затем, в начале 1970-х, сформировал собственную, известную под названием Electric Light Orchestra. Не достигнув желаемого успеха, «ELO» взорвали сцену, выпустили свыше тридцати хитовых синглов, но в 1986 году официально распались.

Этот период принёс Линну успех на старте продюсерской карьеры. Джефф сотрудничал с известными музыкальными звёздами  Джорджем Харрисоном, Томом Петти, Роем Орбисоном и Брайаном Уилсоном. Вскоре, при участии Линна, ими была основана супергруппа «The Traveling Wilburys», чей сборник номинировался на Грэмми.

Сейчас, Линн занимается продюсированием, параллельно выпуская новые альбомы Electric Light Orchestra.

Путь к славе

Джефф Линн
Джефф Линн

Джефф Линн родился в Бирмингеме, западный участок Англии, 30 декабря 1947 года. С раннего детства его манила музыка. Уже в подростковом возрасте Линн зарекомендовал себя как выдающийся гитарист и был очень востребован на местной сцене. Он играл в нескольких региональных группах, прежде чем в 1966 году присоединился к «Nightriders». Вскоре Линн стал лидером группы, которая позже сменила название на «Idle Race», выпустив в 1968 году альбом «The Birthday Party». Для Линна как для продюсера он стал дебютным. Однако, когда ни один из выпущенных альбомов не оказал на аудиторию большого влияния, Линн покинул Idle Race, чтобы присоединиться к другому популярному Бирмингемскому рок-коллективу  «Move», в состав которого в скором времени вошёл бывший гитарист Idle Race Рой Вуд.

В то время как Move пользовалась успехом и её синглы не раз попадали в чарты Великобритании, Линн и Вуд начали задумывать новый проект, который позволил бы им реализовать их общую любовь к классике в рамках поп/рок исполнения. Новый проект получил название «Electric Light Orchestra» (ELO). Несколько первых альбомов группы, выпущенные в начале 1970-х годов, были достаточно хорошими. Однако они были лишь отдалёнными намёками на тот ошеломительный успех, который ожидал Линна и его товарищей во второй половине десятилетия.

Джефф Линн: «Мистер голубое небо»

Джефф Линн
Джефф Линн

После выхода первого альбома Вуд покинул Electric Light Orchestra, оставив всё продюсирование и авторство песен Линну. Вкус успеха пришёл лишь с выпуском «Eldorado» (1974), достигшего №16 в Америке.

Годом позже вышел платиновый альбом «Face the Music», который долгое время удерживался в десятке, породив знаменитые сегодня хиты  «Evil Woman» и «Strange Magic».

Но это было только началом для ELO. На протяжении нескольких лет музыканты производили хит за хитом: «A New World Record» (1976)  их первый платиновый альбом, достигший 5 позиции благодаря громким синглам «Livin ‘Thing», «Telephone Line» и «Do Ya». Мультиплатиновый «Out of the Blue» (1977) с синглами «Sweet Talkin Woman» и «Mr. Blue Sky» также достиг №5.

Сингл «Мистер голубое небо» потряс аудиторию, попав в топ 40. Конец 1970-х ELO завершила тяжёлым диско  «Discovery» (1979). Именно этот альбом представил публике хитовый сингл «Don ‘Bring Me Down», который долгое время держался на 4 позиции в чартах США и является громким хитом и сегодня.

С наступлением нового десятилетия Линн работал над множеством новых проектов. Так, он стал соавтором и продюсером саундтрека к фильму Джона Фаррара «Ксанаду» (1980), главную роль в котором сыграла обворожительная Оливия Ньютон-Джон. Хотя сам фильм и не получил большого признания среди аудитории, саундтрек стал популярным хитом и вошёл в 10 лучших синглов США и Великобритании. Песня «Magic», которая заняла первое место, не принадлежала Линну, однако такие его треки, как «I’m Alive» и «All Over The World», были включены в двадцатку лучших.

В течении последующих нескольких лет вышло три альбома: студийный концептуальный «Time» (1981) ставший хитом №1 в Америке, «Secret Messages» (1983), занявший 4 позицию в Великобритании и «Balance of Power» (1986). После выхода последнего, который, кстати, занял 9 место в Великобритании и вошел в чарт-топпер 50 Америки, Electric Light Orchestra официально распались. Записав около тридцати отборных синглов, входивших в лучшие чарты Америки и Великобритании, одновременно группа чувствовала разочарование от того, что их хиты никогда не становились номером один.

Читать: ELO: сквозь «время» и пространство…

Производство «The Traveling Wilburys»

Джефф Линн
Джефф Линн

К моменту распада Electric Light Orchestra Линн создал себе репутацию великолепного автора песен и продюсера, что привело его к целому ряду впечатляющих и громких союзов с крупными музыкальными звёздами, отмеченными высокими наградами. В 1987 году Линн работал с Джорджем Харрисоном над выпуском альбома «Cloud Nine», 4 песни из 11 с альбома попали в Топ 20 лучших синглов Англии, и Джефф Линн был соавтором всех четырёх: «I Got My Mind Set on You», «Cloud Nine», «When We Was Fab» и «This Is Love».

Сотрудничество Линна с Харрисоном не прошло бесследно. Вскоре, музыкантами была создана супергруппа «The Traveling Wilburys», выпустившая два альбома, один из которых оказался номинантом Грэмми. Её участниками стали Боб Дилан, Рой Орбисон, Том Петти, Харрисон и сам Линн. Параллельно этому, последний также продюсировал трек «Let It Shine» для одноимённого сольного альбома Брайана Уилсона (1988) записанного с «Beach Boys», работал с Орбисоном над его последним альбомом «Mystery Girl» (1989), а также  над альбомом Ньюмана «Land of Dreams» (1988).

Однако именно сотрудничество с Томом Петти привело Линна к созданию одной из самых успешных его продюсерских работ  «Full Moon Fever», а также продолжению к «Great Wide Open».

Совместно спродюсированные Линном и Петти сборники показали популярные хиты «I Won’t Back Down», «Into the Great Wide Open», «Learning to Fly» и «Free Fallin». Эти синглы, записанные в соавторстве с Линном, являются одними из основных моментов прославленной карьеры Петти.

Прошлое и настоящее

Джефф Линн и Битлз
Джефф Линн и Битлз

Наиболее заметные усилия Линна проявляются в долгожданной серийной антологии Битлз, в которой Линн помогал Джорджу Харрисону, Полу Маккартни и Ринго Старру в создании новых записей Джона Леннона «Free as a Bird» и «Real Love». После этих плодотворных лет сотрудничества, в 1990 году Линн выпустил свой первый сольный альбом «Armchair Theatre», после чего вернулся к работе над фильмом. Вскоре Маккартни выбрал Линна для того, чтобы тот помог ему с производством «Flaming Pie».

После победы в юридической битве за сохранение прав на использование названия ELO Линн начал второе тысячелетие выпуском нового альбома Electric Light Orchestra «Zoom».

Обложка ELO – Zoom
Обложка ELO – Zoom

Он также продолжил сотрудничество с Джорджем Харрисоном, работая над его альбомом «Brainwashed», и самостоятельно завершил запись после смерти Харрисона (2001). В 2006 году Линн снова объединился с Петти для со-продюсерства над третьим сольным альбомом «Highway Companion». Три года спустя он спродюсировал несколько песен для альбома Регины Спектор «Far» (2009), поднявшегося до No 3 в Америке.

Последние работы Линна были возвращением в прошлое. В 2012 году, к 40-летию основания Electric Light Orchestra, музыкант выпустил альбом «Mr. Blue Sky», в котором были перезаписаны песни ELO, сопровождаемые одноимённым документальным фильмом. В этом же году он выпустил «Long Wave», после чего, в 2015, вернулся к работе над «Alone in the Universe».

Джефф Линн с семьей
Джефф Линн с семьей

Концерт Electric Light Orchestra – Wembley Or Bust в 2017-ом

10kFollowers

Классические альбомы молодых музыкантов, которые бросили вызов возрасту и всему миру

Классика, выпущенная подростками: альбомы, представленные молодыми музыкантами и ставшие шедеврами Всем битлам было за 20, когда они записали серию альбомов, изменивших мир рок-н-ролла. Но это...

Сочетание силы и утончённой красоты – вспоминаем Томми Болина

Вспоминаем Томми Болина, одну из самых молодых легенд гитары Во время последнего живого выступления Томми Болина на разогреве у Джеффа Бека, 3 декабря 1976 года,...

Тони Айомми – легенда тяжёлого звука и просто «самый крутой ребёнок на блоке»

Тони Айомми и секрет его легендарно известного стиля игры Человек в чёрном, чьё уникальное звучание восходит к несчастному случаю – Тони Айомми переписал историю рока,...

Похожие статьи

«Истерия»: как Def Leppard довели мир до безумия

История альбома «Hysteria» – культовой классики Def Leppard Пластинка «Hysteria», наполненная хитами, по-прежнему считается определяющим моментом в карьере Def Leppard и остаётся такой же актуальной...

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...