Author:

Category:

The last time Jimmy Page and Robert Plant performed on the same stage

While plans for a reunion seem more distant than ever, we can at least enjoy their last show together at London's O2 Arena...

The story of one performance: Jimmy Page and Robert Plant - the last time on the same stage

Led Zeppelin - a cult group in the history of rock, which had a huge impact on both their contemporaries and many followers and even modern performers! They broke into the music arena at the end 60s years, and already in the second half 70s were real icons... All four members were masters of their craft, but the group in particular was glorified Jimmy Page and Robert Plant: virtuoso guitarist and blond "God of Rock" with ethereal vocals - these two seemed to be ahead of their time, and their creative union seemed to be made in heaven ... They became idols, and after Zeppelin they continued to create gorgeous music ... And there is one curious story when these two performed together for the last time on one scene...

How Page and Plant found each other

Robert Plant (left) and Jimmy Page (right) of Led Zeppelin at a concert in Chicago, Illinois. Photo: Jim Sammaria
Robert Plant (left) and Jimmy Page (right) of Led Zeppelin at a concert in Chicago, Illinois. Photo: Jim Sammaria

When the guitar virtuoso Jimmy Page formed Led Zeppelin in 1968 year, he struggled to put together a new band after The Yardbirds broke up ... Initially, this new group was called The New Yardbirds, and was intended only to fulfill contractual obligations at the end of the tour, however - its huge potential was visible to the naked eye. It didn't take great critics to realize that these guys from the UK have a big future going far beyond the local scene...

Page along with the original Yardbirds including Eric Clapton, were the main players in the London sessions at the time! And being interested in creating a new version of The Yardbirds, Jimmy wanted some kind of supergroup with Jeff Beck, Keith Moon and John Entwistle. Of course Led Zeppelin would look and sound very different if she really evolved along with this line-up. But everything happened as it happened ... And, most likely, for the better! As it turns out, this particular roster of musicians will not be available, and instead less experienced but no less virtuoso musicians will join Page's ranks, namely John Bonham and John Paul Jones. But there was one last piece of the puzzle: they needed a vocalist...

Momentarily considered for this position Terry Reedwhen Page invited him to sing for the band. But Reed, however, had other plans - he was supposed to go on tour with Rolling Stones across America. However, he recommended Robert Plante, and even personally introduced the brilliant singer to Jimmy. Page was instantly enamored with Plant's abilities and was completely taken aback by the fact that he hadn't hit it off yet! Thus was born the legendary Led Zeppelin...

First difficulties...

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin

New Yardbirds completed the tour and went into a studio financed entirely by Page, leaving them independent of any label's bureaucracy. This culminated in the eponymous debut Zeppelin in 1969 year! The record was a huge success, which gave the band the opportunity to make themselves known: potential labels were literally "breaking in their doors ..." But as it happens in life, black stripes are replaced by white ones: after a long series of successful recordings that pioneered the early examples of hard rock and metal , in 1980 drummer John Bonham passed away, and the band had to think about their future...

While Page led Zeppelin to early success with their innovative songwriting, the band eventually developed into a close-knit collective in regards to writing their material, in particular the rhythm section between Bonham's drumming and Page's rhythm playing. Therefore, it is not surprising that after death Bonham Zep were hesitant to continue... However, they reunited several times.

History of reunions

The group did reunite several times. Their first reunion took place in 1981 the year the group was formed The Honeydrippers, which included Robert Plant and Jimmy Page. The Honeydrippers had a different musical vision, which likely offset the risk of continuing Zeppelin without Bonham. This group has only released one album.

The next two reunions will take place first in 1985 year, when all three surviving members will unite with Phil Collins, Tony Thompson and Paul Martinez. IN 1988 year the group reunited again, but this time with their son John Bonham, Jasonplaying drums. That being said, the members of Led came to the conclusion that both reunions were very disjointed and unsatisfying...

In 2007, this composition appeared again with Jason Bonham on drums: the show was called Celebration Day at London's O2 Arena. Unbeknownst to them at the time, this was the last time Page and Plant would perform together on the same stage. There were plans to tour after this performance, but Plant had other ideas...

Jimmy Page's opinion

Robert Plant and Jimmy Page performing in Philadelphia, 1985
Robert Plant and Jimmy Page performing in Philadelphia, 1985

In an interview with NME Page expressed dissatisfaction with Plant's ambiguity. According to the guitarist, in a minute Plante agreed, and another minute later he said that he was too busy with his solo project ...

“Last year, Robert [Plant] said he wasn't doing anything in 2014 and asked what the other two guys thought? Well, he knows what the other guys are thinking…,” Page said. “Everyone would like to play more shows for the band. He just plays games and I'm sick of it, to be honest… I don't sing, so I can't help it…”

Jimmy Page
Jimmy Page

In its turn Plante put forward his own version of events:

“I told them I was busy and they would just have to wait,” he recalled in 2014. “Eventually, I would come to my senses… But what’s even more discouraging is that Jimmy used it against me…”

Jimmy Page and Robert Plant
Jimmy Page and Robert Plant

While plans for a reunion seem more distant than ever, we can at least enjoy their last concert together at the London O2 Arena.

10kFollowers

Classic albums by young musicians who have defied age and the world

Classics released by teenagers: albums presented by young musicians that became masterpieces The Beatles were all in their 20s when they recorded a series of albums that changed the world of rock 'n' roll. But that ...

The combination of strength and refined beauty - remember Tommy Bolin

Remembering Tommy Bolin, one of guitar's youngest legends During Tommy Bolin's last live performance to open for Jeff Beck, December 3, 1976,...

Tony Iommi is a heavy sound legend and simply "the coolest kid on the block

Tony Iommi and the secret of his legendary playing style The Man in Black, whose unique sound dates back to an unfortunate accident--Tony Iommi has rewritten rock history,...

Related Articles

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Автор:

Категория:

Последний раз, когда Джимми Пейдж и Роберт Плант выступили на одной сцене

Хотя планы на воссоединение кажутся более далёкими, чем когда-либо, по крайней мере, мы можем насладиться их последним совместным концертом на лондонской O2 Arena...

История одного выступления: Джимми Пейдж и Роберт Плант – последний раз на одной сцене

Led Zeppelin — культовая группа за всю историю рока, оказавшая огромное влияние как на своих современников, так и на многих последователей и даже современных исполнителей! Они ворвались на музыкальную арену в конце 60-х годов, и уже во второй половине 70-х были настоящими иконами… Все четверо участников были мастерами своего дела, но в особенности группу прославили Джимми Пейдж и Роберт Плант: виртуозный гитарист и белокурый «Бог рока» с неземным вокалом — эти двое, казалось, опередили своё время, а их творческий союз словно был заключен на небесах… Они стали идолами, и после Zeppelin продолжили создавать шикарную музыку… И есть одна любопытная история, когда эти двое в последний раз выступили вместе на одной сцене…

Как Пейдж и Плант нашли друг друга

Роберт Плант (слева) и Джимми Пейдж (справа) из Led Zeppelin, на концерте в Чикаго, штат Иллинойс. Фото: Джим Саммария
Роберт Плант (слева) и Джимми Пейдж (справа) из Led Zeppelin, на концерте в Чикаго, штат Иллинойс. Фото: Джим Саммария

Когда гитарист-виртуоз Джимми Пейдж сформировал Led Zeppelin в 1968 году, он изо всех сил пытался собрать новую группу после того, как The Yardbirds распалась… Изначально эта новая группа называлась The New Yardbirds, и была предназначена лишь для выполнения договорных обязательств по завершению тура, однако — её огромный потенциал был виден невооруженным глазом. Не нужно было быть великими критиками, чтобы понять, что у этих парней из Великобритании большое будущее, выходящее далеко за пределы местной сцены…

Пейдж вместе с оригинальными Yardbirds, включая Эрика Клэптона, были главными игроками сессий в Лондоне в то время! И будучи заинтересованным в создании новой версии The Yardbirds, Джимми хотел эдакую супергруппу с Джеффом Беком, Китом Муном и Джоном Энтвистлом. Разумеется, Led Zeppelin выглядела бы и звучала совсем иначе, если бы она действительно развивалась вместе с этим составом. Но всё случилось, как случилось… И, скорее всего, к лучшему! Как выяснилось, этот конкретный список музыкантов не будет доступен, и вместо этого к рядам Пейджа присоединятся менее опытные, но не менее виртуозные музыканты, а именно Джон Бонэм и Джон Пол Джонс. Но оставался последний кусок головоломки: им нужен был вокалист…

На мгновение на эту должность рассматривали Терри Рида, когда Пейдж предложил ему спеть для группы. Но у Рида, однако, были иные планы — он должен был отправиться в турне с Rolling Stones по Америке. Тем не менее, он порекомендовал Роберта Планта, и даже лично познакомил гениального певца с Джимми. Пейдж был мгновенно очарован способностями Планта и был совершенно ошеломлён тем фактом, что он ещё не добился успеха! Так родилась легендарная Led Zeppelin…

Первые трудности…

Led Zeppelin
Led Zeppelin

New Yardbirds завершили тур и отправились в студию, полностью финансируемую Пейджем, в результате чего они были независимы от бюрократии какого-либо лейбла. Кульминацией этого стал одноимённый дебют Zeppelin в 1969 году! Пластинка имела огромный успех, что дало группе возможность заявить о себе: потенциальные лейблы буквально «ломились в их двери…» Но как это бывает в жизни, чёрные полосы сменяют белые: после долгой серии успешных записей, ставших пионерами ранних образцов хард-рока и металла, в 1980 году барабанщик Джон Бонэм скончался, и группе пришлось задуматься о своём будущем…

В то время как Пейдж привёл Zeppelin к раннему успеху своим новаторским сочинением песен, группа в конечном итоге превратилась в сплоченный коллектив в отношении написания своего материала, в частности ритм-секции между игрой Бонэма на барабанах и ритм-игрой Пейджа. Поэтому неудивительно, что после смерти Бонэма Zep не решались продолжать… Однако — они несколько раз воссоединялись.

История воссоединений

Группа действительно несколько раз воссоединялась. Первое их воссоединение произошло в 1981 году, когда была сформирована группа The Honeydrippers, в которую вошли Роберт Плант и Джимми Пейдж. У Honeydrippers было иное музыкальное видение, которое, вероятно, компенсировало риск продолжения Zeppelin без Бонэма. Эта группа выпустила только один альбом.

Следующие два воссоединения состоятся сначала в 1985 году, когда все трое выживших участников объединятся с Филом Коллинзом, Тони Томпсоном и Полом Мартинесом. В 1988 году группа снова воссоединилась, но на этот раз с сыном Джона Бонэма, Джейсоном, играющим на ударных. При этом участники Led пришли к выводу, что оба воссоединения были очень разрозненными и неудовлетворительными…

В 2007 году снова появился этот состав с Джейсоном Бонэмом на барабанах: шоу называлось «Праздничный день» на лондонской арене O2. В то время они не знали, что это был последний раз, когда Пейдж и Плант выступали вместе на одной сцене. Были планы поехать в турне после этого выступления, но Плант высказал другие идеи…

Мнение Джимми Пейджа

Роберт Плант и Джимми Пейдж во время выступления в Филадельфии, 1985 год
Роберт Плант и Джимми Пейдж во время выступления в Филадельфии, 1985 год

В интервью NME Пейдж выразил недовольство двусмысленностью Планта. По словам гитариста, через минуту Плант соглашался, а через другую минуту он говорил, что слишком занят своим сольным проектом…

«В прошлом году Роберт (Плант) сказал, что ничего не будет делать в 2014 году, и поинтересовался, что думают двое других парней? Что ж, он знает, что думают другие парни…», — сказал Пейдж. «Все хотели бы отыграть для группы больше концертов. Он просто играет в игры, и мне это надоело, если честно… Я не пою, поэтому ничего не могу с этим поделать…»

Джимми Пейдж
Джимми Пейдж

В свою очередь Плант выдвинул собственную версию событий:

«Я сказал им, что я занят, и им просто придётся подождать», — вспоминал он в 2014 году. «В конце концов, я бы пришёл в себя… Но что ещё более обескураживает, так это то, что Джимми использовал это против меня…»

Джимми Пейдж и Роберт Плант
Джимми Пейдж и Роберт Плант

Хотя планы на воссоединение кажутся более далёкими, чем когда-либо, по крайней мере, мы можем насладиться их последним совместным концертом на лондонской O2 Arena.

10kFollowers

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Похожие статьи

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...

Им нет равных – вспоминаем легендарных джазовых исполнителей, которым пытались подражать миллионы

Вспоминаем лучших джазовых исполнителей за всю историю Многие описывают джазовую музыку как ритмичную, эмоциональную, свободную и плавную. Этот легендарно известный и вот уже долгие десятилетия...