Author:
Category:

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Few people know, but when John was young, he loved to dance! He even taught one of his sons to break-dance! Here's a fact that hardly anyone expected to find out!

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen

John Deacon - bass legend Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history in terms of both sound and aesthetics. His playing style was inspired by dance music and funk, which in many ways defined the band's sound and worldwide success. Deacon also wrote some of the iconic Queen hits and undoubtedly made a tremendous contribution and had a great influence on his contemporaries and followers.

But when we talk about Queen, we first of all mention Freddie MercuryAnd then Brian May with Roger Taylor... And only at the end we remember the bass player, realizing that we know almost nothing about him - and with all his merits! Here are some of the most interesting facts from the biography John Deacon

The influence of the Beatles and the "lack of impression" of Queen

The Beatles
The Beatles

In fact, Deacon wasn't planning on to become a musician. As a teenager, he was literally "fanatical" about electronics and actively studied the field. At the same time, he willingly practiced what he learned - for example, John personally modified a reel-to-reel tape recorder to record songs played on the radio! Who knows, maybe the world would have heard of the great scientist if it were not for The BeatlesJohn was fascinated by their music, he reached for the guitar and couldn't give it up. Fascinated by their music, John reached for the guitar and couldn't give it up... There was a time when he went to study in London and left his "fighting 4-string friend" at home in the dormitory town of Audby. But he couldn't last long without playing it, and asked his mother to send him his favorite unit.

FROM Queen Deacon met at the height of the '70s, and by his own admission, was not impressed:

"I went to their concert in the fall of 1970. Honestly, the band didn't make the slightest impression on me: they were all dressed in black, the light was too dim... I couldn't see anything! Just dark silhouettes on the stage... That's my impression".

The youngest on the team of geniuses

The old lineup (from right to left): Brian May, Roger Taylor, Freddie, Mercury, John Deacon
From right to left: Brian May, Roger Taylor, Freddie, Mercury, John Deacon

But fate did its work, and John became important link the band that the whole world would later love! Deacon was not only the most timid, but also the youngest member of Queen: when he joined the line-up he was only 19 years!

Nevertheless, Deacon was not inferior to his colleagues: he wrote some of the band's most famous hits, such as "Another One Bites the Dust" and "I Want to Break Free"! He also composed "You're My Best Friend," "Spread Your Wings," "Back Chat," and "One Year of Love.

He lost his father early and brought his daughter to tears

John Deacon
John Deacon

He lost his father at the age of 11 years.. Arthur Deacon was a loving father who took John fishing, watched trains with him and introduced his son to electrical engineering. He also shared his passion for music with John. His death was a great blow to the boy...

In the future, John himself became a loving father six children! He used to take his wife Veronica and children on tour with him in the wave of success, but stopped when they got older so as not to interfere with their education and personal development. He also invited the family to music video shoots, and once that turned to tears: when the little daughter saw her daddy in a strange costume for "I Want to Break Free"and she got frightened and cried! It took a long time to calm her down...

Shy Dancer

John Deacon
John Deacon

John is very shy. Even at the height of his fame, he hardly ever gave interviews. He was also prone to stage fright. It is known that before the concert at the Live Aid He had a real nervous breakdown. He was also tired from touring, and sometimes even got sick when he returned home.

https://youtu.be/EjXetWK-Ur8

Few people know, but as a young man John loved to dance! He even taught one of his sons to break-dance! That's a fact I don't think anyone expected to find out!

Freddie's most sensitive and intimate companion

John Deacon and Freddie Mercury
John Deacon and Freddie Mercury

As we have already mentioned, Deacon was the most junior a member of Queen. He was also extremely shy, so Freddie took him under his wing. He supported John in songwriting, and personally, and they were good friends.

When Mercury was gone, Deacon was crushed. He was the first to notice the traces of Kaposi sarcoma on his comrade's leg, and when Freddy hardly left his bed - he did not visit him, because it could have turned into a violent fit of hysteria with tears...

He disowned Queen +

Legendary Four: Roger Taylor, Brian May, Freddie Mercury and John Deacon
Legendary Four: Roger Taylor, Brian May, Freddie Mercury and John Deacon

After Freddy's death, he recanted from Queen + - that is, from the idea of reviving the band with a different vocalist. Deacon was also not present at the official ceremony for the induction of the members of Queen into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, and in general cut short connections with ex-colleagues.

He hasn't appeared in public since 1997, and his former bandmates haven't seen him in decades. The only contact they have is email to discuss business. On other matters, John almost never answers.

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Автор:
Категория:

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Мало кто знает, но в молодости Джон любил танцевать! Он даже учил одного из своих сыновей брейк-дансу! Вот уж факт, который вряд ли кто-то ожидал узнать!

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen

Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории как в плане звучания, так и в плане эстетики. Его стиль игры был вдохновлён танцевальной музыкой и фанком, что во многом определило звук группы и её мировой успех. Дикон также написал одни из знаковых хитов «Королевы» и, бесспорно, внёс огромный вклад и оказал большое влияние на современников и последователей.

Но когда мы говорим о Queen, мы в первую очередь упоминаем Фредди Меркьюри, затем Брайана Мэя с Роджером Тейлором… И лишь напоследок вспоминаем о басисте, осознавая, что практически ничего о нём не знаем – и это при всех его заслугах! Вот некоторые наиболее интересные факты из биографии Джона Дикона

Влияние «Битлз» и «отсутствие впечатления» от Queen

The Beatles
The Beatles

На самом деле Дикон не планировал становиться музыкантом. Подростком он буквально «фанател» от электроники и активно изучал эту сферу. При этом он охотно практиковал полученные знания – к примеру, Джон лично модифицировал катушечный магнитофон для записи проигрываемых на радио песен! Кто знает, может мир услышал бы о великом учёном, если бы не «Битлз», которые оказали на Дикона колоссальное влияние! Восхищённый их музыкой, Джон потянулся к гитаре, и уже не смог от неё отказаться… Было время, когда он уехал учиться в Лондон, и оставил свою «боевую 4-струнную подругу» дома, в спальном городке Одби. Но долго без игры не продержался, и попросил мать переслать любимый агрегат.

С Queen Дикон познакомился в самом расцвете 70-х, и по его собственным признаниям – не остался впечатлён:

«Я побывал на их концерте осенью 1970 года. Честно сказать – группа не произвела на меня ни малейшего впечатления: они все были одеты в чёрное, свет был слишком тусклый… Я практически ничего не разглядел! Лишь тёмные силуэты на сцене… Вот такие впечатления».

Самый младший в команде гениев

Старый состав (справа налево): Брайан Мэй, Роджер Тейлор, Фредди, Меркьюри, Джон Дикон
Справа налево: Брайан Мэй, Роджер Тейлор, Фредди, Меркьюри, Джон Дикон

Но судьба сделала своё дело, и Джон стал важным звеном группы, которую впоследствии полюбит весь мир! Дикон оказался самым не только робким, но и младшим участником Queen: когда он примкнул к составу, ему было всего 19 лет!

Тем не менее Дикон не уступал коллегам: его перу принадлежат одни из известнейших хитов группы, такие как «Another One Bites the Dust» и «I Want to Break Free»! Он также сочинил «You’re My Best Friend», «Spread Your Wings», «Back Chat», «One Year of Love».

Он рано потерял отца и довёл свою дочь до слёз

Джон Дикон
Джон Дикон

Он потерял отца в возрасте 11 лет. Артур Дикон был любящим отцом, который водил Джона на рыбалку, наблюдал вместе с ним за поездами и познакомил сына с электротехникой. Он также поделился своей страстью к музыке с Джоном. Его смерть стала большим ударом для мальчика…

В будущем сам Джон стал любящим отцом шестерых детей! На волне успеха он брал с собой жену Веронику и детей в турне, но перестал, когда они стали старше, чтобы не мешать их образованию и личностному развитию. Он также приглашал семью на съёмки клипов, и однажды это обернулось слезами: когда маленькая дочь увидела папу в странном костюме для «I Want to Break Free», она испугалась и расплакалась! Малышку пришлось долго успокаивать…

Застенчивый танцор

Джон Дикон
Джон Дикон

Джон очень застенчив. Даже на пике славы он практически не давал интервью. Он также был склонен к боязни сцены. Известно, что перед концертом на Live Aid у него случился настоящий нервный срыв. Он также уставал от гастролей, и иногда даже заболевал по возвращении домой.

https://youtu.be/EjXetWK-Ur8

Мало кто знает, но в молодости Джон любил танцевать! Он даже учил одного из своих сыновей брейк-дансу! Вот уж факт, который вряд ли кто-то ожидал узнать!

Самый чувствительный и близкий товарищ Фредди

Джон Дикон и Фредди Меркьюри
Джон Дикон и Фредди Меркьюри

Как мы уже упомянули, Дикон был самым младшим участником Queen. Он также был крайне застенчив, и поэтому Фредди взял его под своё крыло. Он поддерживал Джона в написании песен, и в личном плане, и они были хорошими друзьями.

Когда Меркьюри не стало, Дикон был раздавлен. Он первым заметил следы саркомы капоши на ноге товарища, и когда Фредди практически не покидал кровать – он его не навещал, потому что это могло обернуться сильным приступом истерики со слезами…

Он отрёкся от Queen +

Легендарная четвёрка: Роджер Тейлор, Брайан Мэй, Фредди Меркьюри и Джон Дикон
Легендарная четвёрка: Роджер Тейлор, Брайан Мэй, Фредди Меркьюри и Джон Дикон

После смерти Фредди он отрёкся от Queen + – то есть от идеи возрождения группы с другим вокалистом. Дикон также не присутствовал на официальной церемонии включения участников группы Queen в Зал славы рок-н-ролла, и в целом оборвал связи с экс-коллегами.

Он не появлялся на публике с 1997 года, и его бывшие товарищи по группе не видели его десятилетиями. Единственный контакт, который у них есть, это электронная почта для обсуждения бизнеса. По другим вопросам Джон почти никогда не отвечает.

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...
Похожие статьи

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...