Author:
Category:

Why Beatle John Lennon Didn't Like Mick Jagger

“In those early years, we had a lot of rivalry and a bit of disagreement, but in the end we always remained friends. I like to think we're still alive because those were some of the greatest times of our lives and I'm really proud to have them inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame!"

The reason Lennon didn't like Rolling Stone's Mick Jagger

John Lennon - legend of the music scene 60s - 70s years, a cult musician, a member of the no less iconic Liverpool Four The Beatles. Mick Jagger - another significant hero of the rock scene of those years, who, together with his team Rolling Stones conquered the world music scene, becoming the authority for most of the followers... And few things have been documented in more detail in the history of rock and roll than the original rivalry between The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. A lot of it had to do with their battles for fame and popularity, but one interview suggests it was a lot worse than most people think... In conversation with Rolling Stone John Lennon was cruel in his assessment Mick Jagger, but were these just hyperbolic comments or was the "poisonous vitriol" genuine...?

The Beatles and The Rolling Stones - friend or foe

Mick Jagger and Paul McCartney
Mick Jagger and Paul McCartney

These two groups have never been real enemies, but Lennon never felt comfortable on the same stage with Jagger.

John Lennon and Mick Jagger, two iconic musicians...
John Lennon and Mick Jagger, two iconic musicians...

It is known that thanks to George Harrison The Rolling Stones signed their first record deal, and Lennon, along with Keith Richards even formed a short-lived supergroup called Dirty Mac for the famous TV show Rock and Roll Circus TV!

Richards still speaks fondly of Lennon, and a strong friendship has developed between them ... The guitarist even agreed with Lennon's criticism that The Stones copied the album "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band for your "Their Satanic Majesties Request", although he has confirmed that he is not a fan of either record.

Their Satanic Majesties Request (Rolling Stones music album)
Their Satanic Majesties Request (Rolling Stones music album)

But… Jagger and Lennon never shared such a friendly bond.

Scandalous interview with Lennon

Mick Jagger and John Lennon...
Mick Jagger and John Lennon...

The most obvious reason for hostility between two musicians is when Lennon unleashed an unfounded personal tirade against the Stones' lead singer. He named Jagger "joke" and used disgusting insults while talking to Rolling Stones in 1971 year ... Actually, this is how it was:

“I think there is too much hype around all this. I like “Honky Tonk Woman”, but I think Mick is a joke, with all these pediculous dancing… No, I repeat, I like it, and I’ll even probably go to see his video and everything, like everyone else. But in fact, I will think that everything he does is a joke ... "

Mick Jagger and John Lennon
Mick Jagger and John Lennon

"We saw each other a little when Allen first came - I think Mick was jealous," Lennon continued. "I've always been very respectful of Mick and the Stones in general, but he said a lot of harsh things about the Beatles, which offends me because, you know, I can knock the Beatles down, but I can't let Mick Jagger knock them down!"

Lennon did not end there, and his rant was far from over... He added contemptuously:

“I'd like to just list what we did and what the Stones did two months later on every fucking album! Everything we fucking did... Mick does the same thing - he imitates us! And I'd like one of you to point it out already! You already know perfectly well that Satanic Majesties is Pepper, "We Love You" is the most fucking bullshit, it's "All You Need Is Love" ... I resent the fact that the Stones look like revolutionaries, but the Beatles do not! »

Lennon is free to talk about music The Rolling Stones whatever he wants, but a personal attack on Jagger suggests there was more to his comments than meets the eye… The Beatle concluded by saying:

“He is clearly upset by how big the Beatles are compared to him: he could not come to terms with it. I resent it because we even wrote his second fucking record for him! Mick said, "The world brings money." We didn't get any money from it. Basically, you know…”

Conclusion…

Paul McCartney and Mick Jagger
Paul McCartney and Mick Jagger

In the early days of both bands, there was some friendship between them. The Beatles even gave The Stones one of their songs, which they wouldn't do if they didn't love them as people. However ... somewhere in the future, Lennon's position has changed, and it seems that The Rolling Stones and The Beatles there was no way to correct this situation ...

They were different people, and although the hatred may have been too strong on the part Lennon, Jagger really gave his consent when he was honored to contribute The Beatles in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988 year ... During his speech, the leader of The Stones touchingly remarked:

“In those early years, we had a lot of rivalry and a bit of disagreement, but in the end we always remained friends. I like to think we're still alive because those were some of the greatest times of our lives and I'm really proud to have them inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame!"

John Lennon and Mick Jagger...
John Lennon and Mick Jagger...

Respect and admiration Jagger Lennon as an artist, this is something that no one can doubt. Another question is whether Lennon fully reproduced this love? Although they hung out in the same places and with the same people in the early days, the two musicians' friendship didn't seem to be strong enough to recover from the verbal beatings...

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Автор:
Категория:

Почему культовый «битл» Джон Леннон не любил Мика Джаггера

«В те ранние годы у нас было много соперничества и немного разногласий, но в итоге мы всегда оставались друзьями. Мне нравится думать, что мы всё ещё живы, потому что это были одни из величайших времён в нашей жизни, и я действительно горжусь тем, что привёл их в Зал славы рок-н-ролла!»

Причина, по которой Леннон недолюбливал Мика Джаггера из Rolling Stone

Джон Леннон — легенда музыкальной сцены 60-х — 70-х годов, культовый музыкант, участник не менее культовой ливерпульской четвёрки The Beatles. Мик Джаггер — ещё один значимый герой рок-сцены тех лет, который вместе со своей командой Rolling Stones покорил мировую музыкальную арену, став авторитетом для большинства последователей… И мало что было задокументировано более подробно в истории рок-н-ролла, чем изначальное соперничество между The Beatles и The Rolling Stones. Во многом — это было связано с их битвами за славу и популярность, но одно интервью предполагает, что всё было намного хуже, чем многие думают… В разговоре с Rolling Stone Джон Леннон был жесток в своей оценке Мика Джаггера, но были ли это просто гиперболические комментарии или «ядовитый купорос» был подлинным…?

The Beatles и The Rolling Stones – друзья или враги

Мик Джаггер и Пол Маккартни
Мик Джаггер и Пол Маккартни

Эти две группы никогда не были настоящими врагами, но Леннон никогда не чувствовал себя комфортно на одной сцене с Джаггером.

Джон Леннон и Мик Джаггер, два культовых музыканта...
Джон Леннон и Мик Джаггер, два культовых музыканта…

Известно, что именно благодаря Джорджу Харрисону The Rolling Stones заключили свой первый контракт со звукозаписывающей компанией, а Леннон вместе с Китом Ричардсом даже сформировал недолговечную супергруппу под названием Dirty Mac для знаменитого телешоу «Rock and Roll Circus TV»!

Ричардс до сих пор с любовью отзывается о Ленноне, и между ними сложилась крепкая дружба… Гитарист даже согласился с критикой Леннона по поводу того, что The Stones скопировали альбом «Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band» для своего «Their Satanic Majesties Request», хотя он и подтвердил, что не является поклонником ни одной из этих пластинок.

Their Satanic Majesties Request (музыкальный альбом Rolling Stones)
Their Satanic Majesties Request (музыкальный альбом Rolling Stones)

Однако… Джаггер и Леннон никогда не разделяли подобных дружеских узы.

Скандальное интервью Леннона

Мик Джаггер и Джон Леннон...
Мик Джаггер и Джон Леннон…

Самая очевидная причина враждебности между двумя музыкантами — это когда Леннон развязал необоснованную личную тираду против вокалиста The Stones. Он назвал Джаггера «шуткой» и использовал отвратительные оскорбления во время разговора с Rolling Stones в 1971 году… Собственно, вот как это было:

«Я думаю, что вокруг всего этого слишком много шумихи. Мне нравится «Honky Tonk Woman», но я думаю, что Мик — это шутка, со всеми этими педикулезными танцами… Нет, повторюсь, мне это нравится, и я даже, наверное, пойду посмотреть его видео и всё такое, как и все. Но на самом деле я буду думать, что всё, что он делает, это шутка…»

Мик Джаггер и Джон Леннон
Мик Джаггер и Джон Леннон

«Мы немного видели друг друга, когда Аллен только приходил — я думаю, Мик завидовал», — продолжил Леннон. «Я всегда очень уважительно относился к Мику и Стоунз в целом, но он говорил много резких вещей о Битлз, что меня обижает, потому что, знаете, я могу сбить Битлз, но не могу позволять Мику Джаггеру сбить с толку их!»

Леннон на этом не закончил, и его напыщенная речь была далека от завершения… Он с презрением добавил:

«Я хотел бы просто перечислить, что мы делали и что Stones делали два месяца спустя на каждом грёбаном альбоме! Всё, что мы, чёрт возьми, делали… Мик делает то же самое — он подражает нам! И я бы хотел, чтобы один из вас указал уже на это! Вы и так прекрасно знаете, что Satanic Majesties — это Пеппер, «We Love You» — это самая чёртова чушь, это «All You Need Is Love»… Я негодую по поводу того, что Stones похожи на революционеров, а Beatles — нет!»

Леннон может свободно говорить о музыке The Rolling Stones всё, что ему хочется, но личная атака на Джаггера предполагает, что в его комментариях было больше, чем кажется на первый взгляд… В заключение битл сказал:

«Он явно расстроен тем, насколько велики «Битлз» по сравнению с ним: он так и не смог с этим смириться. Я возмущён этим, потому что даже его вторую грёбаную пластинку мы написали для него! Мик сказал: «Мир приносит деньги». Мы не получали никаких денег от этого. В общем-то, вы знаете…»

Заключение…

Пол Маккартни и Мик Джаггер
Пол Маккартни и Мик Джаггер

В первые дни существования обеих групп между ними была некоторая дружба. The Beatles даже подарили The Stones одну из своих песен, чего они бы не сделали, если бы не любили их как людей. Однако… где-то в будущем позиция Леннона изменилась, и, похоже, у The Rolling Stones и The Beatles не было возможности исправить данное положение…

Это были разные люди, и хотя ненависть, возможно, была слишком сильна со стороны Леннона, Джаггер действительно дал своё согласие, когда удостоился чести внести The Beatles в Зал славы рок-н-ролла в 1988 году… Во время своего выступления лидер The Stones трогательно заметил:

«В те ранние годы у нас было много соперничества и немного разногласий, но в итоге мы всегда оставались друзьями. Мне нравится думать, что мы всё ещё живы, потому что это были одни из величайших времён в нашей жизни, и я действительно горжусь тем, что привёл их в Зал славы рок-н-ролла!»

Джон Леннон и Мик Джаггер...
Джон Леннон и Мик Джаггер…

Уважение и восхищение Джаггером Леннона как художника — это то, в чём никто не может сомневаться. Другой вопрос, полностью ли воспроизвёл эту любовь Леннон? Хотя в первые дни они тусовались в одних и тех же местах и с одними и теми же людьми, дружба двух музыкантов, казалось, была недостаточно крепкой, чтобы оправиться от словесных избиений…

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...