Author:
Category:

Biography of John Meyer, American guitarist with three multi-platinum albums

Breaking into the music business with his acoustic style, Meyer steadily expanded his approach in the years that followed, embracing everything from blues-rock to contemporary trends...

John Mayer's story: from the early years to a resounding breakthrough in music

John Meyer - is a well-known American songwriter and performer, guitarist and keyboardist, as well as a music producer. He has three multi-platinum albums to his credit - Room for Squares, Heavier Things, and Continuumas well as seven prizes Grammy Awards! Having burst into the music business with his acoustic style, in the following years Meyer steadily expanded his approach to encompass everything - From blues-rock to modern trends! He managed to create pop music for a more demanding audience by adding jazz chords and clever turns of phrase in his songwriting... As a result his combination turned out to be quite popular, as evidenced by the three times platinum Room for Squares! But even after his success Meyer continued to experiment, diluting each new album with touches of rock, blues and soul... He worked with such masters as Eric Clapton, B.B. King, Buddy Guy, Herbie Hancock... In doing so. John Meyer retained enough of a pop/rock sound to continue his domination of the charts, making him one of the most popular songwriters of the decade...

Getting started

Born in Connecticut in 1977teenager Meyer I got really interested in the blues... Already. By the age of 20 his electric guitar skills were enough to get him into Berklee College of Music. True - he would later drop out in the name of music, and begin his career as a songwriter in Atlanta... Working alongside a former classmate Clay Cook, John frequented local coffeehouses and soon began co-writing material that combined pleasant pop/rock with unexpected flourishes...

But as is often the case - there came a moment when the paths of buddies diverged: Cook joined the Marshall Tucker Band and went on tour, and Meyer... Meyer became a solo artist. He recorded a couple of his own tracks (plus a couple of songs co-written with Cook), arranged it all nicely, and released an EP called Inside Wants Out. This is where his ascent began...

First contract and first big breakthrough

John Mayer
John Mayer

In the early noughties Meyer made a deal with Aware Records, and the same year he began recording his debut album with producer John Alagíaknown for his work with Dave Matthews and Ben Folds. And if . Inside Wants Out was clearly an acoustic album, then Room for Squares was already more extensive, as several of Meyer's old songs were given new arrangements for radio. Released in 2001 on labels Aware and Columbia Records, the album quickly launched John's career: "No such Thing" and "Your Body Is a Wonderland" were among the top 20 hits!

When Meyer went on tour in support of the album, his considerable talent as lead guitarist (a skill that was downplayed during the recording of Room for Squares) flourished, leading to a display of blues solos that entered, later, into the live album Any Given Thursday 2003 year. That same year Meyer won his first Grammy Award... He would return to the Grammy Awards two years later, this time to win a couple of awards for soulful ballads (like the ballad "Daughters."):

Despite its commercial and critical success, the interest Meyer to other genres convinced him to take a brief break from pop music. During this period he tested his instrumental skills by collaborating with blues artists (Eric Clapton, B.B. King, Buddy Guy) and jazz legends (John Scofield, Herbie Hancock). Later he put together his own trio, with which he recorded his only album Try!

Going back to the roots...

John Mayer
John Mayer

John Meyer returned to his solo career, releasing 2006 album Continuum: Warmly received by critics, on this record Meyer focused on blues, pop and contemporary soul. "Gravity." had modest success as a single, but "Waiting on the World to Change" turned out to be the commercial highlight of the album, hitting the top 20 in February 2007 and winning a Grammy that same month! And soon Meyer released his biggest hit, titled "Say." (later this song would also win a Grammy...):

New albums and... scandals

Mayer returned to the studio in 2009 and recorded Battle Studies with a single "Heartbreak Warfare:

The album - based on a smooth, adult contemporary sound Continuum - sold well, but its release marked a difficult period for the public image Mayer: The musician was criticized for comments he made about ex-girlfriends Jessica Simpson and Jennifer Aniston During the interview for the Rolling Stone and Playboy... John subsequently deleted his Twitter account and took a break from public appearances and interviews.

John Mayer
John Mayer

In 2011, during the recording of his fifth studio album, Meyer had surgery on his vocal cords... It was only after the surgery that he completed the album and debuted the title single "Shadow Days.":

Born and Raised demonstrated a sound with a more indigenous, folk and rustic sound than his previous works... Born and Raised was also the first Meyer album to top the chart for more than two weeks Billboard 200.

"Paradise Valley."

John Mayer, Paradise Valley
John Mayer, Paradise Valley

In 2013, Meyer returned to the studio with Don Was.to record his sixth album Paradise Valleywhich will continue to explore the folk style launched by the Born and Raised... After releasing the record, Meyer went on tour in support of the album. He then performed with Dead & Companyreleased The Search for Everything: Wave OneBut... in 2017, the musician underwent an appendectomy.

The band reunited in 2018. In May of that year, Meyer released a standalone single "New Light.". 2019 brought two more non-album singles, starting with the mostly acoustic "I Guess I Just Feel Like"which was followed in September by "Carry Me Away".

At the beginning of 2021, several singles in the style of 80s pop musicincluding "Last Train Home" and "New Light"which later appeared on the full-length album Sob Rock!

Who sang "Circles on the Water" better: Daria Stavrovich or Kristina Kosheleva

"Circles on the Water": the best performance of the song, biography of the performers, photos Often songs that have long been iconic are performed by novice artists. Then the compositions are given a second breath, and some...

How Will Smith first met Michael Jackson

The story of meeting Will Smith and Michael Jackson If you call the two names Will Smith and Michael Jackson, it's not immediately apparent that there is a connection between these...

"Didn't want to, but became part of the story" - Abbey Road cover man

Paul Cole is the man on the cover of Abbey Road: History and Facts It's been over half a century since the Beatles released their masterpiece "Abbey...
Related Articles

Simon Le Bon - Top 6 Facts About the Duran Duran Vocalist

Simon Le Bon - interesting facts about the vocalist of Duran Duran Few bands have been as influential as Duran Duran in the 1980s. The British kings of the new wave...

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Автор:

Категория:

Биография Джона Мейера, американского гитариста с тремя мультиплатиновыми альбомами

Ворвавшись в музыкальный бизнес со своим акустическим стилем, в последующие годы Мейер неуклонно расширял свой подход, охватив всё — от блюз-рока до современных тенденций...

История Джона Мейера: от ранних лет до оглушительного прорыва в музыке

Джон Мейер — известный американский автор-песенник и исполнитель, гитарист и клавишник, а также музыкальный продюсер. На его счету три мультиплатиновых альбома — Room for Squares, Heavier Things и Continuum, а также семь премий «Грэмми»! Ворвавшись в музыкальный бизнес со своим акустическим стилем, в последующие годы Мейер неуклонно расширял свой подход, охватив всё — от блюз-рока до современных тенденций! Ему удалось создать поп-музыку для более взыскательной аудитории путём добавления джазовых аккордов и грамотного оборота фраз в своём песенном мастерстве… В результате его комбинация оказалась довольно популярной, о чём свидетельствует трижды платиновый Room for Squares! Но даже после успеха Мейер продолжил экспериментировать, разбавляя каждый свой новый альбом оттенками рока, блюза и соула… Он работал с такими мэтрами, как Эрик Клэптон, Би Би Кинг, Бадди Гай, Херби Хэнкок… При этом Джон Мейер сохранил достаточно поп / рок-звучания, продолжив своё господство в чартах, что сделало его одним из самых популярных авторов песен десятилетия…

Начало пути

Родившись в Коннектикуте в 1977 году, подростком Мейер не на шутку заинтересовался блюзом… Уже к 20-ти годам его навыков игры на электрогитаре было достаточно, чтобы поступить в Музыкальный колледж Беркли. Правда — позже он бросит учёбу во имя музыки, и начнёт свою карьеру в качестве автора песен в Атланте… Работая вместе с бывшим одноклассником Клэем Куком, Джон частенько посещал местные кофейни и вскоре начал соавторство в написании материала, в котором приятный поп / рок сочетался с неожиданными расцветами…

Но как это часто бывает — наступил момент, когда пути приятелей разошлись: Кук присоединился к Marshall Tucker Band и отправился гастролировать, а Мейер… Мейер стал сольным исполнителем. Он записал пару своих треков (плюс пару песен, написанных совместно с Куком), всё это красиво оформил и выпустил EP под названием Inside Wants Out. С этого и началось его восхождение…

Первый контракт и первый большой прорыв

Джон Мейер (John Mayer)
Джон Мейер (John Mayer)

В начале нулевых Мейер заключил сделку с Aware Records, и в том же году началась запись его дебютного альбома с продюсером John Alagía, известным своей работой с Дэйвом Мэтьюсом и Беном Фолдсом. И если Inside Wants Out был явно акустическим альбомом, то Room for Squares оказался уже более обширным, поскольку несколько старых песен Мейера получили новые аранжировки для радио. Выпущенный в 2001 году на лейблах Aware и Columbia Records, альбом быстро положил начало карьере Джона: «No such Thing» и «Your Body Is a Wonderland» вошли в топ-20 хитов!

Когда Мейер отправился гастролировать в поддержку альбома, его значительный талант как ведущего гитариста (навык, который был преуменьшен во время записи Room for Squares) процветал, что привело к демонстрации блюзовых соло, вошедших, впоследствии, в живой альбом Any Given Thursday 2003 года. В том же году Мейер получил свою первую премию Грэмми… Он ещё вернётся на церемонию вручения Грэмми через два года, на этот раз, чтобы получить пару наград за душевные баллады (например, за балладу «Daughters»):

Несмотря на коммерческий успех и успех среди критиков, интерес Мейера к другим жанрам убедил его ненадолго отдохнуть от поп-музыки. В этот период он испытал свои инструментальные навыки, сотрудничая с блюзовыми исполнителями (Эрик Клэптон, Би Би Кинг, Бадди Гай) и легендами джаза (Джон Скофилд, Херби Хэнкок). Позже он собрал собственное трио, с которым записал единственный альбом Try!

Возвращение к корням…

Джон Мейер (John Mayer)
Джон Мейер (John Mayer)

Джон Мейер вернулся к своей сольной карьере, выпустив в 2006 году альбом Continuum: тепло принятая критиками, на этой пластинке Мейер сосредоточился на блюзе, поп-музыке и современном соуле. «Gravity» имел скромный успех в качестве сингла, но «Waiting on the World to Change» оказался коммерческой изюминкой альбома, попав в топ-20 в феврале 2007 года и выиграв Грэмми в том же месяце! А вскоре Мейер выпустил самый большой свой хит под названием «Say» (позже эта песня также получит Грэмми…):

Новые альбомы и… скандалы

Майер вернулся в студию в 2009 году и записал Battle Studies с синглом «Heartbreak Warfare»:

Альбом — основанный на гладком, взрослом современном звучании Continuum — хорошо продавался, однако его выпуск ознаменовал тяжёлый период для общественного имиджа Майера: музыканта критиковали за комментарии, которые он делал в адрес бывших подруг Джессики Симпсон и Дженнифер Энистон во время интервью для Rolling Stone и Playboy… Впоследствии Джон удалил свой аккаунт в Твиттере и взял паузу, чтобы не появляться на публике и не давать интервью.

Джон Мейер (John Mayer)
Джон Мейер (John Mayer)

В 2011 году, во время записи своего пятого студийного альбома, Мейер перенёс операцию на голосовые связки… Лишь после операции он завершил работу над альбомом и дебютировал с заглавным синглом «Shadow Days»:

Born and Raised продемонстрировал звучание с более коренным, народным и деревенским звучанием, чем его предыдущие работы… Born and Raised стал также первым альбомом Мейера, который более двух недель занимал первое место в чарте Billboard 200.

«Райская долина»

Джон Мейер (John Mayer), альбом Paradise Valley
Джон Мейер (John Mayer), альбом Paradise Valley

В 2013 году Мейер вернулся в студию с Доном Уосом, чтобы записать свой шестой альбом Paradise Valley, который продолжит исследовать фолк-стиль, запущенный Born and Raised… Выпустив пластинку, Мейер отправился гастролировать в поддержку альбома. Затем он выступал с Dead & Company, выпустил The Search for Everything: Wave One, но… в 2017 году музыкант перенёс аппендэктомию.

Группа воссоединилась в 2018 году. В мае того же года Мейер выпустил отдельный сингл «New Light». 2019 год принёс ещё два неальбомных сингла, начиная с в основном акустического «I Guess I Just Feel Like», за которым в сентябре последовал «Carry Me Away».

В начале 2021 года появилось несколько синглов в стиле поп-музыки 80-х, в том числе «Last Train Home» и «New Light», которые позже появились на полнометражном альбоме Sob Rock!

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

+ 89 = 94

Soak — «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «If I Never Know You Like This Again» (2022) от Soak  Ирландский музыкант Брайди Моднс-Уотсон, более известный под псевдонимом Soak поделился со слушателями своим...

«Та самая блондинка из АББЫ»: Агнета Фэльтског в удивительных фактах

Интересные факты о любимой блондинке из ABBA Агнете Фэльтског Агнета Фэльтског – горячо любимая публикой певица, которая обрела статус мировой звезды в составе ABBA. Попала...

А вы помните хит Slade, который полюбили только в нашей стране

«Ooh La La in L.A.»: Почему одна из самых любимых в России песен Slade не снискала признания за рубежом «Ooh La La in L.A.» –...

Похожие статьи

Женские поп-группы, от которых в начале 2000-х было сложно скрыться

Хотели вы этого или нет, но вы их слушали: вспоминаем самые популярные женские поп-группы начала нулевых В народе такие группы давно окрестили «конвейерными». А некоторые...

SepticFlesh — «Modern Primitives» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Modern Primitives» (2022) от SepticFlesh Греческая метал-группа SepticFlesh поделилась со слушателями своим одиннадцатым по счёту студийным альбомом, который получил название «Modern Primitives» (2022). Премьера пластинки...

Suede — «Autofiction»: Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Autofiction» от Suede Британская музыкальная группа Suede анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Autofiction». Выход пластинки запланирован 16 сентября 2022 года, в качестве...

Shabaka — «African Culture» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «African Culture» (2022) от Shabaka  Шабака Хатчингс, выступающий под псевдонимом Shabaka выпустил новый сольный альбом, который получил название «African Culture» (2022). Пластинка за короткое...

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...

The Cure — «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022) от The Cure  Рок-группа из Англии The Cure анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Songs Of A Lost...

Топ-6 песен в исполнении невероятного Нодди Холдера

Песни, которые перенесут вас в молодость – Топ лучших вокальных моментов Нодди Холдера Нодди Холдер навсегда поселился в сердцах отечественных слушателей! Вместе с группой Slade...

Arms and Sleepers — «Former Kingdoms» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Former Kingdoms» (2022) от Arms and Sleepers Американская музыкальная группа Arms and Sleepers поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Former...

Шесть самых известных песен Олега Газманова

Лучшие песни Олега Газманова Олег Газманов - очень талантливый артист. Он и актер, и поэт, и продюсер. Из-за этого его музыку недооценивают. Но, несмотря на...