Author:

Category:

About the Eagles and their behind-the-scenes dramas

These behind-the-scenes stories from the Los Angeles Eagles show what rock idols had to go through to tell America "Take It Easy"!

What You Might Not Know About The Eagles From Los Angeles: Curious Facts About The Eagles

Eagles - a great American rock band from Los Angelesformed at the beginning 1970's years. One "Eagles" just love it while others consider them one of the greatest rock bands of all time! One way or another, and their work has greatly influenced modern popular music, and this is an iron fact. At the height of their fame, they were wildly successful and sold millions of their records around the world, however ... few people know that behind the scenes the group led a more intense and controversial lifestyle than their easy songs would suggest ... A decade that spawned a sea of great hits and sold-out shows, was also marked by quarrels, fights and addictions of the participants ... A rapidly changing line-up The Eagles and the egos that tore the band members apart have become an integral part of the history of rock and roll. These behind-the-scenes stories from the Los Angeles Eagles show what rock idols had to go through to tell America "Take It Easy"!

Glenn Fry quarreled with Randy Meisner because of his poor health

The Eagles singer and bassist Randy Meisner (Randy Meisner)
The Eagles singer and bassist Randy Meisner (Randy Meisner)

Randy Meisner was in the spotlight Eagles after taking over lead vocals on their hit "Take it to the Limit"! It is known that Meisner could hardly endure long tours, not to mention the fact that he had to deal with frantic Don Henley and Glenn Fry… One night in 1977 Randy felt ill and exhausted after a long performance and the encores that followed. When he refused to go on stage for the third time in a row (for an encore), Fry allegedly went berserk...

He called Meisner a "goat" and began to pester him, spreading his arms. Then he threw a towel in Meisner's face...

Glenn Fry and Don Felder nearly got into a fight on stage

Vocalist, guitarist and keyboardist of "The Eagles" Glenn Frey (Glenn Frey)
Vocalist, guitarist and keyboardist of "The Eagles" Glenn Frey (Glenn Frey)

In summer 1980 of the year Glenn Frye gave a concert Eagles in favor of California Senator Alan Cranston, which irritated the politically uninterested Don Felder. Felder dropped some unflattering words to the senator, thereby provoking Fry into a conflict ... The drama really flared up on stage when Felder declared: "Just three songs, and you're done, buddy!" Meanwhile, Fry recalled thinking, "Once this is over, I'll finish him off..."

By the way: the scandal of these two was so lively that the sound engineers had to turn off the microphone fry between songs. At the end of the speech Felder prevented a fight by smashing his guitar in desperation! A few days later, the band broke up...

Their manager didn't let them win a Grammy for Hotel California

Eagles "Hotel California" Album Cover
Eagles "Hotel California" Album Cover

Album Hotel California was nominated for a Grammy Award 1978 of the year in the "Album of the Year" nomination, but the manager Eagles, Irving Azoff, that wasn't very impressive... He allegedly didn't allow the group to attend the awards ceremony, as the victory was not guaranteed...

In the end, the Eagles won, but none of the band members were present at the ceremony to accept the award. Azoff released a statement saying that Eagles were too busy working on a new album, ending it with the words: “This is the future. Hotel California is the past!” After death Glenn Fry in 2016 his former bandmates accepted a Grammy for their album 1976 of the year.

They recorded their last album separately

The Eagles
The Eagles

After the collapse Eagles owed one more album to Asylum Records, which teamed up with Elektra Records. They decided to release an album of "live" tracks, Eagles Liveto fulfill his obligation, but this required new recordings ...

By this time, the band members reportedly hated each other to the point of refusing to meet even for short sessions. For this reason, the producer Bill Shimchik allegedly had to collect harmonies by phone and by mail ...

Eagles members secretly erased Don Felder's vocals

The Eagles
The Eagles

Don Felder started his career as a guitarist for the Eagles in 1974 year. He later got a chance to sing on the track "Victim of Love" for the legendary album Hotel California! Felder co-wrote the song and recorded take after take to get it right, but his bandmates didn't like it... Glenn Fry would later say:

“Despite all his talents, Don was never a singer…”

Their manager Irving Azoff, invited Felder to dinner as a front while the other members Eagles erased his vocals from the track. And although Felder eventually learned the truth and admitted that the end result was indeed better, he apparently never forgot about the deception ...

They refused to record two songs for $2 million

In process Eagles Live label Asylum made every effort to resolve the differences of the group members. Members Eagles there was even an offer of $2 million to record two new songs for the album! However… the antagonism between the band members was too great and the Eagles rejected such a tempting offer.

Joe Walsh once allegedly glued hotel room furniture to the ceiling.

Joe Walsh "The Eagles"
Joe Walsh "The Eagles"

guitar player Eagles Joe Walsh was known for his rebellious lifestyle! Memoirs of a Manager David Spero:

“One day I went to visit Walsh and found him sleeping next to the window sill in a huge house that had no furniture except for a car seat and a piano! On the road, he was a special person ... Real life was not easy for him ... "

Also, according to Spero, Walsh could glue all the furniture in the hotel room to the ceiling and use a chainsaw to rearrange the chairs and tables in the manager's hotel room Eagles by Irving Azoff

For former members there was no turning back

Singer, guitarist and mandolinist "The Eagles" Bernie Leadon (Bernie Leadon)
Singer, guitarist and mandolinist "The Eagles" Bernie Leadon (Bernie Leadon)

Despite the popularity Eagles, former members were rarely allowed to return to the group ... So, one of the founders Randy Meisner offered his services several times, including for one show in Los Angeles, but was consistently turned down. The only exception to this rule was the band's induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1998 and the time they allowed Bernie Leadon perform as a guest during their tour 2013 of the year.

Don Felder never considered the Eagles to be his comrades.

Donald Felder (Don Felder) "The Eagles"
Donald Felder (Don Felder) "The Eagles"

In one of his interviews Don Felder shared:

“You know, I admire a band like U2 who share brotherly love and despite the money still care about the music… This has never happened and never will with the Eagles. I find it ironic that a group with a name that stands for freedom in America is ruled by nothing but money!”

10kFollowers

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Related Articles

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

Автор:

Категория:

Про Eagles и их «закулисные драмы»

Эти закулисные истории «Орлов» из Лос-Анджелеса показывают, через что пришлось пройти рок-кумирам, чтобы рассказать Америке «Take It Easy»!

То, чего вы могли не знать про «Орлов» из Лос-Анджелеса: любопытные факты о группе Eagles

Eagles — великолепная американская рок-группа из Лос-Анджелеса, образованная в начале 1970-х годов. Одним «Иглз» просто нравятся, в то время как другие считают их одной из величайших рок-групп всех времён! Так или иначе, а их творчество сильно повлияло на современную популярную музыку, и это — железный факт. На пике славы они были безумно успешны и продали миллионы своих пластинок по всему миру, однако… мало кто знает, что за кулисами группа вела более напряжённый и спорный образ жизни, чем можно было предположить, отталкиваясь от их лёгких песен… Десятилетие, породившее море суперхитов и аншлаговых шоу, также было отмечено ссорами, драками и зависимостями участников… Быстро меняющийся состав The Eagles и эго, разлучившее членов группы, стали неотъемлемой частью истории рок-н-ролла. Эти закулисные истории «Орлов» из Лос-Анджелеса показывают, через что пришлось пройти рок-кумирам, чтобы рассказать Америке «Take It Easy»!

Гленн Фрай скандалил с Рэнди Майснером из-за его плохого самочувствия

Певец и басист «The Eagles» Randy Meisner (Рэнди Мейснер)
Певец и басист «The Eagles» Randy Meisner (Рэнди Мейснер)

Рэнди Майснер был в центре внимания Eagles после того, как взял на себя ведущий вокал в их хите «Take It to the Limit»! Известно, что Майснер с трудом переносил длительные гастроли, не говоря уже о том, что ему приходилось иметь дело с неистовыми Доном Хенли и Гленном Фраем… Однажды ночью в 1977 году Рэнди почувствовал себя больным и измученным после долгого выступления и последовавших за ним выходов на бис. Когда он отказался выйти на сцену в третий раз подряд (на бис), Фрай якобы пришёл в ярость…

Он назвал Майснера «козлом» и стал к нему приставать, распуская руки. После он бросил в лицо Майснеру полотенце…

Гленн Фрай и Дон Фелдер чуть не устроили драку на сцене

Вокалист, гитарист и клавишник «The Eagles» Glenn Frey (Гленн Фрай)
Вокалист, гитарист и клавишник «The Eagles» Glenn Frey (Гленн Фрай)

Летом 1980 года Гленн Фрай устроил концерт Eagles в пользу сенатора от Калифорнии Алана Крэнстона, чем вызвал раздражение у политически незаинтересованного Дона Фелдера. Фелдер обронил несколько нелестных слов в адрес сенатора, тем самым спровоцировав Фрая на конфликт… Драма поистине разгорелась на сцене, когда Фелдер заявил: «Всего три песни, и тебе конце, приятель!» Между тем, Фрай вспомнил, как думал: «Как только это закончится, я прикончу его…»

К слову: скандал этих двоих был настолько оживлённым, что звукооператорам приходилось выключать микрофон Фрая между песнями. В конце выступления Фелдер предотвратил драку, в отчаянии разбив гитару! Несколько дней спустя группа распалась…

Их менеджер не позволил им получить Грэмми за Hotel California

Обложка альбома Eagles «Hotel California»
Обложка альбома Eagles «Hotel California»

Альбом Hotel California был номинирован на премию «Грэмми» 1978 года в номинации «Альбом года», однако менеджера Eagles, Ирвинга Азоффа, это не очень впечатлило… Он якобы не позволил группе присутствовать на церемонии вручения, так как победа не была гарантированной…

В конце концов, Eagles победили, но никто из участников группы не присутствовал на церемонии, чтобы принять награду. Азофф опубликовал заявление, в котором говорилось, что Eagles были слишком заняты работой над новым альбомом, завершив его словами: «Это будущее. Hotel California — это прошлое!» После смерти Гленна Фрая в 2016 году его бывшие товарищи по группе приняли Грэмми за свой альбом 1976 года.

Они записывали свой последний альбом по отдельности

The Eagles
The Eagles

После распада Eagles остались должны ещё одним альбомом Asylum Records, которая объединилась с Elektra Records. Они решили выпустить альбом «живых» треков, Eagles Live, чтобы выполнить своё обязательство, но для этого потребовались новые записи…

К этому времени участники группы, как сообщается, ненавидели друг друга до такой степени, что отказывались встречаться даже на короткие сессии. По этой причине продюсеру Биллу Шимчику якобы пришлось собирать гармонии по телефону и по почте…

Члены Eagles тайно стёрли вокал Дона Фелдера

Группа The Eagles
Группа The Eagles

Дон Фелдер начал свою карьеру в качестве гитариста Eagles в 1974 году. Позже он получил шанс спеть на треке «Victim of Love» для легендарного альбома Hotel California! Фелдер был соавтором песни и записывал дубль за дублем, чтобы добиться правильного звучания, но его товарищам по группе это не нравилось… Позже Гленн Фрай скажет:

«Несмотря на все свои таланты, Дон никогда не был певцом…»

Их менеджер, Ирвинг Азофф, пригласил Фелдера на ужин в качестве прикрытия, в то время как другие участники Eagles стёрли его вокал с трека. И хотя Фелдер в конце концов узнал правду и признал, что конечный результат оказался действительно лучше, он, очевидно, никогда не забывал об обмане…

Они отказались записать две песни за 2 млн долларов

В процессе создания Eagles Live лейбл Asylum приложил все усилия, чтобы разрешить разногласия участников группы. Членам Eagles даже было предложено 2 миллиона долларов за запись двух новых песен для альбома! Однако… антагонизм между участниками группы был слишком велик и Eagles отклонили столь заманчивое предложение.

Джо Уолш однажды якобы приклеил мебель гостиничного номера к потолку

Joe Walsh (Джо Уолш)«The Eagles»
Joe Walsh (Джо Уолш)«The Eagles»

Гитарист Eagles Джо Уолш был известен своим бунтарским образом жизни! Из воспоминаний менеджера Дэвида Сперо:

«Однажды я пришёл в гости к Уолшу и обнаружил, что он спит рядом с подоконником в огромном доме, в котором не было мебели, за исключением автокресла и пианино! В дороге он был особенным человеком… Реальная жизнь давалась ему нелегко…»

Также, со слов Сперо, Уолш мог приклеить всю мебель в гостиничном номере к потолку и использовать бензопилу, чтобы переставить стулья и столы в гостиничном номере менеджера Eagles Ирвинга Азоффа

Для бывших участников не было пути назад

Певец, гитарист и мандолинист «The Eagles» Bernie Leadon (Берни Лидон)
Певец, гитарист и мандолинист «The Eagles» Bernie Leadon (Берни Лидон)

Несмотря на популярность Eagles, бывшим участникам редко позволяли вернуться в группу… Так, один из основателей Рэнди Майснер предлагал свои услуги несколько раз, в том числе для одного шоу в Лос-Анджелесе, но ему постоянно отказывали. Единственным исключением из этого правила было включение группы в Зал славы рок-н-ролла в 1998 году и время, когда они позволили Берни Лидону выступать в качестве гостя во время их тура 2013 года.

Дон Фелдер никогда не считал Eagles товарищами

Donald Felder (Дон Фелдер) «The Eagles»
Donald Felder (Дон Фелдер) «The Eagles»

В одном из своих интервью Дон Фелдер делился:

«Знаете, я восхищаюсь такой группой, как U2, которые разделяют братскую любовь и, несмотря на деньги, все ещё заботятся о музыке… Такого никогда не было и никогда не будет с Eagles. Я нахожу иронию в том, что группой с названием, которое выступает за свободу в Америке, правят одни лишь деньги!»

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...