Author:
Category:

From pop artist to church pastor - the story of the great "soul singer" Al Greene

Whether singing praises to God or celebrating the temporary joys of life, Al Green remains one of the last great "soul singers"...

The Al Green Story: Early Years, Success, Religion

Al Green American singer, famous in 1970's years with such hits as "Take Me to the River", "Tired of Being Alone", "I'm Still in Love with You" and many others! However… the tragic incident involving his girlfriend made Albert Leornes (real name of the artist) pastor. Today he is called "one of the most gifted purveyors of soul music"! And the list of awards for this man really seems endless: Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, 11 Grammy Awards, BMI Icon and Kennedy Center Awards… No wonder Al Green included in the prestigious list of the greatest performers of all time according to Rolling Stone magazine ...

Considered the last true successor Sam Cooke and Otis Redding, Al Green has built a long and prolific career as a pop and gospel singer... His pop and religious writings have won praise from musicians and critics alike. Green has a voice that is really capable of rich blues tone and high falsetto screams! However, the artist easily conveys plaintive emotions without a sharp delivery or guttural technique. His sexy silky vocals earned him a streak of millions of sales in 1970's years!

After leaving popular music in 1980 he became a member of the ministry and a gospel singer. And his return to pop music and the appearance of his songs in documentaries and film soundtracks again attracted everyone's attention to him.

Early years

Al Green in his youth
Al Green in his youth

Albert Green was born April 13, 1946 years in Forrest City, Arkansas. As a teenager, he and his brothers Walter, William and Robert - formed an evangelical quartet The Green Brothers. Although he sang in a gospel group, Green had a passion for both religious and popular music. He once stated:

“Sam Cooke, Jackie Wilson - I didn't see much difference between sacred and secular music. If they sang with feeling, from the bottom of their hearts, I loved their music…”

In 12 years old Green moved with his family to Grand Rapids, Michigan, a city about 180 miles west of Detroit. Four years later, he and some of his high school friends formed the pop group Creations. IN 1967 year the group renamed to Al Green and the Soulmates, recorded a pop hit "Back Up Train" for the Hotline label: the song climbed to number five on the R&B charts and number 41 on the Billboard charts. Despite the success of the song, the group itself did not become successful and soon broke up ...

Getting started

Al Green
Al Green

In 1968 Green performed at the club in Midland, Texas, with the support of the leader of the Memphis Orchestra Willie Mitchell (who became the star of his time with a remake of the instrumental King Curtis "Soul Serenade"). Impressed by talent Greena, Mitchell, who was part-time and producer Hi Records in Memphis, invited the young singer to sign with the label, promising that he could make Green a star in just over a year! About six months later, Green arrived in Memphis. Together, Green and Mitchell sought to create a style that combined pop and soul. Detroit Motown with the home atmosphere of the Memphis label Stax: they were striving for a black and white synthesis in which black soul was mixed with white pop music ... The musical formula proposed by Mitchell and Green turned out to be an outstanding combination ... In 1968, a cover of the song was released Beatles "I Want to Hold Your Hand", but only when Green recorded a remake of the Temptations hit "I Can't Get Next to You", he has established himself as a pop music star!

As for the next single "Tired of Being Alone", then this time Mitchell strove for a more subtle sound in Green's voice:

“We started working on trying to get him to sing softer… We started coming up with jazzy chords and it just clicked!”

So, to the accompaniment of a relaxed and tasteful guitar part Tiny Hodges, "Tired of Being Alone" turned into Green's first big hit...

Hit number one

Al Green, 1972 LP Let's Stay Together
Al Green, 1972 LP Let's Stay Together

Green's title song from 1972 LP Let's Stay Together brought him his first number one hit! The record itself solidified Green's direction. Modeled after Sam Cooke and Otis Reddinghe set his own style...

In 1972 The year also saw the release of Green's best-selling album, I'm still in love with you: with the exception of a symbolic cover on "Pretty Woman" by Roy Orbison, the record is a perfect demonstration of Green's talent... For example, in the popular and exciting number "Love and Happiness" he portrays the dual role of preacher and soul singer, creating pop classics...

In 1974 Greene released a record Al Green Explores Your Mind on the Hi label. In the same year, his career took a sharp turn. As he climbed out of the bath at his home, Green's girlfriend poured a pot of boiling cereal over him, causing second-degree burns to his back and arms...Then the young woman did the irreparable: as a result, she died...Recovering from the physical and emotional shock of the incident with a highly publicized ex-girlfriend, Green recorded a record Full Of Fire (1976).

In 1977 year Green broke up with Mitchell and recorded the critically acclaimed LP The Belle Album: The album was noted for Green's acoustic and electric guitar playing and inventive sound engineering. IN 1978 year the musician released Truth N' Time, LP which included gospel songs "Blow Me Down" and "King of All", as well as religious treatment of the song Burt Bacharach "Say a Little Prayer for Me".

Religion

Al Green...
Al Green...

In the end 1970's Green purchased his own church in Memphisby becoming the pastor of the institution. In 1980 he left popular music to devote himself to religion. This greatly surprised his former producer Mitchell, who stated:

“I had no idea he was going to be a preacher, but he was always religious…”

By myself Green said:

“I have to divide my time between singing and my church in Memphis, and well, I do my best to cope with this task ... And I have to devote enough time to each case, which is sometimes difficult. I preach in the church every second Sunday, and we have so many members…”

A new religious direction led Green to a modern record of the gospel. Green's voice is present on the albums Higher Plane (1981) and Precious Lord (1982). In 1982, Green also starred in the production "Your arms are too short to fight God" with Patti Labelle. He signed with A&M Records in 1985 year and recorded three albums for this label. Green also continued to delight the audience with his live performance... Green constantly switched between control and selflessness: he jumped and paced, grimaced, stood with seemingly limp hands and then moved on to preaching gestures. A documentary was released in 1987 "The Gospel According to Green": The 94-minute documentary featured live recordings and interviews with Green and Mitchell. Most notable are Mitchell's recollections of his studio experience with this soul icon...

Return to popular music

Al Green
Al Green

TO 1993 year Green again began to record variety material, and the following year starred in the musical film "Rhythm, Country and Blues", dedicated to the musical cultures of Memphis and Nashville. The duet featured on the film's soundtrack Green and Lyle Lovett "Funny How Time Slips Away".

By the end 1990s Green overcame the decline in his album sales and began to enjoy great popularity with fans. Song "Take to Me the River" became, as a result, his most famous composition! And his hit 1970's years "Let's Stay Together" regained attention when it appeared on the soundtrack of the 1994 film "Crime novel".

His career received a new impetus in 1999 the year he appeared in the popular television series "Ellie McBeal", performing his 1972 song "How Can You Mend a Broken Heart?". In 2003, Green worked with his old mate Willie Mitchell at his old Hi Records studio to release I Can't Stop: On this well-received album, Green successfully returned to the sound that made him famous in the 1970s. This is evident when listening to tracks such as "I Can't Stop" and "Not Tonight". At the same time, he has received recognition for the wide range of his work, being inducted into the Gospel Hall of Fame and the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2004...

Conclusion

Through fame, religious times and self-reinvention as a pop artist, Green has remained a dynamic artist whose abilities easily cross the boundaries of secular and religious music. Unlike your mentor Sam Cookwho left the church at the end 1950s years to start a career in pop music, Green left a successful musical career to devote himself to God and the church… For many, his transition from pop music to the gospel is a sign of inner unrest… However, singing the praises of God or celebrating the temporary joys of life , Al Green remains one of the last great "singers of the soul"...

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

От поп-артиста до пастора церкви – история великого «певца души» Эла Грина

Воспевая хвалу Богу или празднуя временные радости жизни, Эл Грин остаётся одним из последних великих «певцов души»...

История Эла Грина: ранние годы, успех, религия

Эл Грин — американский певец, прославившийся в 1970-х годах такими хитами, как «Take Me to the River», «Tired of Being Alone», «I’m Still in Love with You» и многими другими! Однако… трагический инцидент, связанный с его девушкой, сделал Альберта Леорнеса (настоящее имя артиста) пастором. Сегодня его называют «одним из самых одарённых поставщиков соул-музыки»! А список наград этого человека действительно кажется бесконечным: Зал славы рок-н-ролла, 11 премий «Грэмми», награды BMI Icon и Кеннеди-центра… Недаром Эл Грин входит в престижный список величайших исполнителей всех времён по версии журнала Rolling Stone…

Считающийся последним истинным преемником Сэма Кука и Отиса Реддинга, Эл Грин построил долгую и плодотворную карьеру в качестве поп-певца и певца госпел… Его эстрадные и религиозные произведения заслужили похвалу как со стороны музыкантов, так и со стороны критиков. Грин обладает голосом, который, действительно способен на насыщенный блюзовый тон и высокие крики фальцетом! Однако — артист с лёгкостью передаёт жалобные эмоции без резкой подачи или гортанной техники. Его сексуальный шёлковый вокал принёс ему череду миллионов продаж в 1970-х годах!

После ухода из популярной музыки в 1980 году он стал членом служения и певцом госпел. А его возвращение к поп-музыке и появление его песен в документальных фильмах и саундтреках к кинолентам снова привлекло к нему всеобщее внимание.

Ранние годы

Эл Грин в молодости
Эл Грин в молодости

Альберт Грин родился 13 апреля 1946 года в Форрест-Сити, штат Арканзас. Подростком он и его братья — Уолтер, Уильям и Роберт — сформировали евангельский квартет The Green Brothers. И хотя он пел в группе госпел, Грин испытывал тягу как к религиозной, так и к популярной музыке. Однажды он заявил:

«Сэм Кук, Джеки Уилсон — я не видел значительных различий между духовной и светской музыкой. Если они пели с чувством, от всего сердца, я любил их музыку…»

В 12 лет Грин переехал со своей семьёй в Гранд-Рапидс, штат Мичиган, город примерно в 180 милях к западу от Детройта. Четыре года спустя он и несколько его школьных друзей создали поп-группу Creations. В 1967 году группа, переименованная в Al Green and the Soulmates, записала поп-хит «Back Up Train» для лейбла Hotline: песня поднялась на пятое место в чартах R&B и на 41 место в чартах Billboard. Несмотря на успех песни, сама группа так и не стала успешной и вскоре распалась…

Начало пути

Эл Грин
Эл Грин

В 1968 году Грин выступал в клубе в Мидленде, штат Техас, при поддержке руководителя мемфисского оркестра Уилли Митчелла (который стал звездой своего времени с ремейком инструментальной песни Кинга Кёртиса «Soul Serenade»). Впечатлённый талантом Грина, Митчелл, который был по совместительству и продюсером Hi Records в Мемфисе, пригласил молодого певца записаться на лейбле, пообещав, что он сможет сделать Грина звездой чуть более чем за год! Примерно через полгода Грин прибыл в Мемфис. Вместе Грин и Митчелл стремились создать стиль, который сочетал бы поп-соул Детройтского Motown с домашней атмосферой мемфисского лейбла Stax: они стремились к чёрно-белому синтезу, в котором чёрный соул смешался был с белой поп-музыкой… Музыкальная формула, предложенная Митчеллом и Грином, оказалась выдающимся сочетанием… В 1968 году вышел кавер на песню Beatles «I Want Hold Your Hand», но только когда Грин записал ремейк хита Temptations «I Can’t Get Next to You», он зарекомендовал себя как звезда поп-музыки!

Что касается следующего сингла «Tired of Being Alone», то на этот раз Митчелл стремился к более тонкому звучанию в голосе Грина:

«Мы начали работать, пытаясь заставить его петь мягче… Мы начали придумывать джазовые аккорды — и это просто щёлкнуло!»

Так, под аккомпанемент расслабленной и со вкусом выполненной гитарной партии Тини Ходжеса, «Tired of Being Alone» превратился в первый большой хит Грина…

Хит номер один

Эл Грин, LP 1972 года Let's Stay Together
Эл Грин, LP 1972 года Let’s Stay Together

Заглавная песня Грина из LP 1972 года Let’s Stay Together принесла ему его первый хит номер один! Сама пластинка укрепила направление Грина. По образцу Сэма Кука и Отиса Реддинга, он установил свой собственный стиль…

В 1972 году также был выпущен самый продаваемый альбом Грина — I’m Still in Love with You: за исключением символического кавера на «Pretty Woman» Роя Орбисона, пластинка является прекрасной демонстрацией таланта Грина… Например, в популярном и волнующем номере «Love and Happiness» он изображает двойную роль проповедника и соул-певца, создавая классику поп-музыки…

В 1974 году Грин выпустил пластинку Al Green Explores Your Mind на лейбле Hi. В том же году его карьера резко упала. Когда он вылезал из ванны в своём доме, подруга Грина вылила на него котелок с кипящей крупой, вызвав ожоги второй степени на его спине и руках… Затем молодая женщина совершила непоправимое: в результате этого её не стало… Оправившись от физического и эмоционального шока от инцидента с бывшей девушкой, получившего широкую огласку, Грин записал пластинку Full Of Fire (1976).

В 1977 году Грин расстался с Митчеллом и записал получивший признание критиков LP The Belle Album: альбом был отмечен игрой Грина на акустической и электрогитаре и изобретательной звуковой техникой. В 1978 году музыкант выпустил Truth N ‘Time, LP, в который вошли госпел-песни «Blow Me Down» и «King of All», а также религиозная обработка песни Берта Бакарака «Say a Little Prayer for Me».

Религия

Эл Грин...
Эл Грин…

В конце 1970-х годов Грин приобрёл собственную церковь в Мемфисе, став пастором данного учреждения. В 1980 году он оставил популярную музыку, чтобы посвятить себя религии. Это очень удивило его бывшего продюсера Митчелла, который заявил:

«Я понятия не имел, что он собирается стать проповедником, но он всегда был религиозным…»

Сам Грин рассказывал:

«Я должен делить своё время между пением и моей церковью в Мемфисе, и что ж, я делаю всё возможное, чтобы справиться с этой задачей… И я должен уделять достаточно времени каждому делу, что иногда бывает трудно. Я проповедую в церкви каждое второе воскресенье, а у нас так много членов…»

Новое религиозное направление привело Грина к современной записи Евангелия. Голос Грина присутствует на альбомах Higher Plane (1981) и Precious Lord (1982). В 1982 году Грин также снялся в постановке «Ваши руки слишком коротки, чтобы драться с Богом» с Патти Лабель. Он подписал контракт с A&M Records в 1985 году и записал для этого лейбла три альбома. Грин также продолжал восхищать публику живым исполнением… Грин постоянно переключался между контролем и самоотверженностью: он прыгал и расхаживал, гримасничал, стоял с, казалось бы, безвольными руками и затем переходил к проповеднической жестикуляции. В 1987 году был выпущен документальный фильм «Евангелие от Грина»: в 94-минутной документальной ленте были представлены концертные записи и интервью с Грином и Митчеллом. Наиболее примечательными являются воспоминания Митчелла о его опыте работы в студии с этой иконой соула…

Возвращение к популярной музыке

Эл Грин
Эл Грин

К 1993 году Грин снова начал записывать эстрадный материал, а в следующем году снялся в музыкальном фильме «Ритм, кантри и блюз», посвященном музыкальным культурам Мемфиса и Нэшвилла. В саундтрек к фильму вошёл дуэт Грина и Лайла Ловетта «Funny How Time Slips Away».

К концу 1990-х Грин преодолел падение продаж его альбомов и начал пользоваться большой популярностью у фанатов. Песня «Take to Me the River» стала, в результате, его самой известной композицией! А его хит 1970-х годов «Let’s Stay Together» вновь привлёк к себе внимание, когда вошёл в саундтрек к фильму 1994 года «Криминальное чтиво».

Его карьера получила новый импульс в 1999 году, когда он появился в популярном телесериале «Элли МакБил», исполнив свою песню 1972 года «How Can You Mend a Broken Heart?». В 2003 году Грин работал со своим старым товарищем Уилли Митчеллом в своей старой студии Hi Records над выпуском I Can’t Stop: на этом альбоме, получившем хорошие отзывы, Грин успешно вернулся к звучанию, сделавшему его известным в 1970-х. Это очевидно при прослушивании таких треков, как «I Can’t Stop» и «Not Tonight». В то же время он получил признание за широкий спектр своей работы, будучи введённым в Зал славы Евангелия и Зал славы авторов песен в 2004 году…

Заключение

Благодаря славе, религиозным временам и самовосстановлению в качестве исполнителя поп-музыки, Грин оставался динамичным артистом, чьи способности легко пересекают границы светской и религиозной музыки. В отличие от своего наставника Сэма Кука, который покинул церковь в конце 1950-х годов, чтобы начать карьеру в поп-музыке, Грин оставил успешную музыкальную карьеру, чтобы посвятить себя Богу и церкви… Для многих его переход от поп-музыки к Евангелию является признаком внутреннего беспокойства… Тем не менее, воспевая хвалу Богу или празднуя временные радости жизни, Эл Грин остаётся одним из последних великих «певцов души»…

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...