Author:

Category:

How Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon had one of the strangest White House meetings ever

“We were puzzled. For the first time he traveled alone - without a single bodyguard. Elvis didn't even know his phone number and didn't have a lot of cash on him!"

The story of one strange meeting between Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon at the White House

In 1970 year in America there were few people more famous than Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon. AND king of rock and roll, and the President U.S.A were on top of the world and… just a few years away from their dramatic downfall. Rather, that is why the photo of their handshake in the oval office has such weight today. Such a meeting may seem mundane for a celebrity like Presley. However… the outrageous details of this meeting and how it happened qualify it as one of the craziest Elvis stories ever! So: first things first...

Extreme trip to Washington

Elvis Presley
Elvis Presley

By the end 60s, after working in the film industry, Presley refocused his career on music. During this period, he also became prone to prescription pill use and erratic behavior... One day in December 1970 year, Presley was very upset that his father and wife found it unnecessary to spend $100,000 for Christmas gifts. After an argument with them, he went to the airport in Memphis, Tennessee, and boarded a plane bound for to Washington DCwhere he rented a hotel room.

He soon lost interest in the city and returned to the airport, jumping on a plane bound for to Los Angeles, California. He stayed in California for one day before deciding he had important business in the nation's capital... Presley's wife, Priscilla, recalled:

“We were puzzled. For the first time he traveled alone - without a single bodyguard. Elvis didn't even know his phone number and didn't have a lot of cash on him!"

Priscilla and Elvis Presley on their wedding day
Priscilla and Elvis Presley on their wedding day

Letter to the President

After boarding an overnight flight in Washington DC, Presley decided to make a formal request to meet with the President Richard Nixon in writing ... Here is a small excerpt from a letter he hastily scribbled:

“Dear Mr. President, I - Elvis Presley - admire you and have great respect for your work ... I believe that you, sir, are among the ten outstanding people of America! I have a personal gift for you that I would like to present to you…”

Elvis Presley
Elvis Presley

In his letter to the President Presley expressed concern for the future of the country. In particular, the musician was concerned about the ever-evolving counterculture movement and its impact on young people, and did not hesitate to name those he considered especially dangerous, adding:

“I have no worries or other motives, except for helping the state ... I don’t want to be given a high-profile title or an appointed position. I can and will do more good if I become a federal agent-at-large…”

Elvis Presley, photo: Roger Marshutz
Elvis Presley, photo: Roger Marshutz

In your letter Presley announced his intention to stay at a local hotel under a pseudonym John Burroughsuntil they meet. The King of Rock 'n' Roll provided the exact address, adding:

“I am registered under the name John Burroughs. I'll be here for as long as it takes to get the powers of a federal agent..."

Nixon reaction

Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon, the famous handshake...
Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon, the famous handshake...

After the letter Presley was delivered to the White House, President Nixon agreed to meet with him that same day. Although he himself was allegedly not enthusiastic about the idea of meeting with the king of rock and roll, his aides convinced him that Presley represented an attractive opportunity to connect with the youth of the country. The meeting was scheduled for 12:30 in the Oval Office, but Presley showed up half an hour early ... Remarkably, he tried to enter the White House with a Colt 45 gauge.

Dubious gift...

Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon, legendary meeting at the White House
Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon, legendary meeting at the White House

Presley tried to enter White House with a Colt 45 caliber! The product of the Second World War, as promised in his letter, was intended as a gift to the president. Presley was forced by White House security to hand over .45 rounds of ammunition to them before he was allowed in. The gift also included silver bullets, and the Secret Service reportedly "looked rather vaguely at it".

Unfortunately, there is no recording of the dialogue (let alone video evidence of the meeting) between Presley and the president ... The only documentation of their meeting is a note compiled by Bad Krogh, a Nixon official who witnessed it. Krog wrote:

“Presley very emotionally proved to the president that he was “on his side.” He kept repeating that he wanted to be useful, that he wanted to restore respect for the country. He mentioned that he was just a poor boy from Tennessee who got a lot from his country, for which in some way he wanted to repay ... "

Presley vs... The Beatles

Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon, iconic meeting at the White House
Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon, iconic meeting at the White House

According to Krogh, Presley was not afraid to shed light on a particular group that, in his opinion, was doing a disservice to America: and this group were The Beatles. Elvis spent a lot of time meeting with the president speaking out against the British group, and most interestingly, Nixon fully agreed with his assessment:

“Presley indicated that he believed the Beatles were a real force in the anti-American spirit. He said that the Beatles came to this country, made their money, and then returned to England, where they promoted an anti-American theme. The President nodded in agreement and expressed some surprise…” Krogh’s note said.

Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon
Elvis Presley and Richard Nixon

The meeting ended with Bad Krog called "an unexpected, spontaneous gesture" - Presley hugged the president and they both shook hands. Nixon then turned to Krogh and asked, "Can we give him a badge?" The answer was yes. However ... the federal badge issued to Presley functioned as nothing more than a souvenir. But that hasn't stopped the king of rock and roll from calling himself a "federal agent-at-large." But why Elvis Presley it took a sharp turn "federal agent"?

Priscilla version

The incomparable king of rock and roll Elvis Presley and his wife Priscilla Presley
The incomparable king of rock and roll Elvis Presley and his wife Priscilla Presley

According to Presley's wife, it was all a scheme to legally import banned substances into foreign countries... Priscilla stated that Presley's intentions were less than honest when he went to the White House in order to receive a federal badge. In her memoirs, she wrote:

“The official badge represented for him a kind of supreme authority… For him, it meant legal entry into any country, both with weapons and with any substances he desired…”

10kFollowers

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Related Articles

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

Автор:

Категория:

Как Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон провели одну из самых странных встреч в Белом доме за всю историю

«Мы были озадачены. Впервые он путешествовал один — без единого телохранителя. Элвис даже не знал своего номера телефона и не имел при себе крупных наличных!»

История одной странной встречи Элвиса Пресли и Ричарда Никсона в Белом доме

В 1970 году в Америке было мало людей, более известных, чем Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон. И король рок-н-ролла, и президент Соединённых Штатов были на вершине мира и… всего в нескольких годах от их драматического падения. Скорее, именно поэтому фото их рукопожатия в Овальном кабинете имеет такой вес сегодня. Такая встреча может показаться обыденной для такой знаменитости, как Пресли. Однако… возмутительные подробности этой встречи и того, как она произошла, квалифицируют её как одну из самых безумных историй об Элвисе! Итак: обо всём по порядку…

Экстремальное путешествие в Вашингтон

Элвис Пресли (Elvis Presley)
Элвис Пресли (Elvis Presley)

К концу 60-х, после работы в киноиндустрии, Пресли снова сосредоточил свою карьеру на музыке. В этот период он также стал склонен к употреблению рецептурных таблеток и беспорядочному поведению… Однажды, в декабре 1970 года, Пресли был сильно расстроен тем, что его отец и жена сочли излишним тратить 100 000 долларов на рождественские подарки. После ссоры с ними он отправился в аэропорт Мемфиса, штат Теннесси, и сел в самолёт, направлявшийся в Вашингтон, округ Колумбия, где он снял номер в отеле.

Вскоре он потерял интерес к городу и вернулся в аэропорт, запрыгнув в самолёт, направлявшийся в Лос-Анджелес, штат Калифорния. Он пробыл в Калифорнии один день, прежде чем решил, что у него есть важные дела в столице страны… Жена Пресли, Присцилла, вспоминала:

«Мы были озадачены. Впервые он путешествовал один — без единого телохранителя. Элвис даже не знал своего номера телефона и не имел при себе крупных наличных!»

Присцилла и Элвис Пресли в день своей свадьбы
Присцилла и Элвис Пресли в день своей свадьбы

Письмо президенту

После посадки на ночной рейс в Вашингтон, округ Колумбия, Пресли решил сделать официальный запрос о встрече с президентом Ричардом Никсоном в письменной форме… Вот небольшой отрывок из поспешно нацарапанного им письма:

«Уважаемый господин Президент, я — Элвис Пресли — восхищаюсь вами и очень уважаю ваш труд… Я считаю, что вы, сэр, входите в десятку выдающихся людей Америки! У меня есть для вас личный подарок, который я хотел бы преподнести вам…»

Элвис Пресли (Elvis Presley)
Элвис Пресли (Elvis Presley)

В своём письме президенту Пресли выразил беспокойство за будущее страны. В частности, музыканта беспокоило постоянно развивающееся движение контркультуры и его влияние на молодёжь, и он, не колеблясь, назвал тех, кого он считал особенно опасными, добавив:

«У меня нет никаких забот или других мотивов, кроме помощи государству… Я не хочу, чтобы мне давали громкий титул или назначенную должность. Я могу и буду делать больше пользы, если стану федеральным агентом по особым поручениям…»

Элвис Пресли, фото: Роджер Маршутц
Элвис Пресли, фото: Роджер Маршутц

В своём письме Пресли заявил о своём намерении остановиться в местной гостинице под псевдонимом Джон Берроуз, пока они не встретятся. Король рок-н-ролла указал точный адрес, добавив:

«Я зарегистрирован под именем Джон Берроуз. Я буду здесь столько времени, сколько потребуется, чтобы получить полномочия федерального агента…»

Реакция Никсона

Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон, знаменитое рукопожатие...
Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон, знаменитое рукопожатие…

После того как письмо Пресли было доставлено в Белый дом, президент Никсон согласился встретиться с ним в тот же день. Хотя сам он якобы и не был в восторге от идеи встречи с королём рок-н-ролла, его помощники убедили его, что Пресли представляет собой привлекательную возможность установить связь с молодёжью страны. Встреча была назначена на 12:30 в Овальном кабинете, но Пресли появился на полчаса раньше… Примечательно, но он пытался войти в Белый дом с кольтом 45-го калибра.

Сомнительный подарок…

Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон, легендарная встреча в Белом доме
Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон, легендарная встреча в Белом доме

Пресли попытался войти в Белый дом с кольтом 45-го калибра! Изделие времён Второй мировой войной, как и было обещано в его письме, предназначалось в качестве подарка президенту. Служба безопасности Белого дома заставила Пресли отдать им патроны 45-го калибра, прежде чем ему разрешили войти. В подарок также входили серебряные пули, и Секретная служба, как сообщается, «довольно смутно на это смотрела».

К сожалению, никакой записи диалога (а уж тем более видеодоказательства встречи) Пресли и президента не существует… Единственная документация об их встрече — записка, составленная Бадом Крогом, официальным лицом Никсона, который был её свидетелем. Крог писал:

«Пресли очень эмоционально доказывал президенту, что он «на его стороне». Он всё время повторял, что хочет быть полезным, что хочет восстановить уважение к стране. Он упомянул, что он был просто бедным мальчиком из Теннесси, который получил от своей страны много, за что в некотором роде хотел отплатить…»

Пресли против… «Битлз»

Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон, культовая встреча в Белом доме
Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон, культовая встреча в Белом доме

Согласно Крогу, Пресли не боялся пролить свет на конкретную группу, которая, по его мнению, оказывала медвежью услугу Америке: и этой группой были «Битлз». Элвис уделил много времени при встрече с президентом, выступая против британской группы, и, что самое интересное, Никсон полностью согласился с его оценкой:

«Пресли указал, что, по его мнению, «Битлз» были реальной силой антиамериканского духа. Он сказал, что Битлз приехали в эту страну, заработали свои деньги, а затем вернулись в Англию, где продвигали антиамериканскую тему. Президент согласно кивнул и выразил некоторое удивление…» — говорилось в записке Крога.

Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон
Элвис Пресли и Ричард Никсон

Встреча закончилась тем, что Бад Крог назвал «неожиданным, спонтанным жестом» — Пресли обнял президента и они оба пожали друг другу руки. Затем Никсон повернулся к Крогу и спросил: «Мы можем дать ему значок?» Ответ был утвердительным. Однако… федеральный значок, выданный Пресли, функционировал не более чем сувенир. Но это не помешало королю рок-н-ролла называть себя «федеральным агентом по особым поручениям». Но зачем Элвису Пресли резко понадобилось становиться «федеральным агентом»?

Версия Присциллы

Несравненный король рок-н-ролла Элвис Пресли и его супруга Присцилла Пресли
Несравненный король рок-н-ролла Элвис Пресли и его супруга Присцилла Пресли

По словам жены Пресли, всё это была схема легального ввоза запрещённых веществ в зарубежные страны… Присцилла заявила, что намерения Пресли были менее чем честными, когда он отправился в Белый дом с целью получить федеральный значок. В своих мемуарах она написала:

«Официальный значок представлял для него своего рода высшую власть… Для него это означало законный въезд в любую страну, как с оружием, так и с любыми веществами, которые он пожелает…»

10kFollowers

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Похожие статьи

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...

Им нет равных – вспоминаем легендарных джазовых исполнителей, которым пытались подражать миллионы

Вспоминаем лучших джазовых исполнителей за всю историю Многие описывают джазовую музыку как ритмичную, эмоциональную, свободную и плавную. Этот легендарно известный и вот уже долгие десятилетия...