Author:
Category:

Eric Burdon (Eric Burdon) - All about the musician: a complete biography

About the legendary vocalist...

Eric Burdon Story: Biography and Facts

Eric Burdon is known to the world not only as the frontman of the British band The Animals. The musician is reputed to be one of the greatest white-skinned blues performers ever to exist in the history of music!

Eric Burdon: Blues Founder of The House of the Rising Sun

Eric Burdon self-portrait, 1964
Eric Burdon self-portrait, 1964

Eric Burdon grew up in a poor family, so from childhood he was well acquainted with poverty and the shadow side of life: gambling, drugs, dubious companies. The pioneer of British rhythm and blues during the Second World War was born on May 11, 1941, in the industrial center of Newcastle upon Tyne in the north of England.

“From birth, I screamed blues songs so loud that they could be heard even during a Nazi air raid,” the musician once said in an interview with Hollywood Soapbox.

Success with The Animals

Eric Burdon (far left) and the Animals, 1966.
Eric Burdon (far left) and the Animals, 1966.

The mid-60s was the peak of their career for the blues team The Animals: the mega-hit "House of the Rising Sun" stormed the top charts in several countries, including the UK and the USA. The most interesting thing is that, according to Burdon himself, it took him about fifteen minutes to record this thing that thundered all over the world!

In addition to the "House of the Rising Sun", the group's repertoire is rich in other no less famous hits. A vivid example is "Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood", which later became the title for one of Burdon's many biographies, as well as the single "We Gotta Get Out This Place", which has become a kind of unofficial anthem for the team.

The departure of Alan Price and new changes

Alan Price, The Animals
Alan Price, The Animals

In 1965, their permanent keyboardist Alan Price left the band, at the same time taking the rights to the world-famous "House of the Rising Sun", which caused serious damage to the band. Until 1966, The Animals kept afloat with the last of their strength. With the departure of Price, the composition of the group constantly changed.

Once Burdon confessed to the Australian edition of the Sydney Morning Herald:

“When I first heard Muddy Waters, I was very young, but I firmly decided for myself what I wanted to do.”

In the early 60s, during the era of protests against racial segregation and the Vietnam War, Eric managed to make his dreams come true. In 1961, he performed with Alexis Corner's Blues Incorporated, which led him to meet keyboardist Alan Price. Later, the guys formed a fruitful tandem, as a result of which in 1963 the world learned about a new rhythm and blues ensemble - The Animals.

The era of drug addiction and career decline

Burdon went in a new direction and released "Eric Burdon and War" in 1969.
Burdon went in a new direction and released "Eric Burdon and War" in 1969.

In the late 60s, Burdon's repertoire was replenished with such pensions as "When I Was Young" and "Monterey". The latter, by the way, was dedicated to the musician's LSD trip to the Monterey Pop Festival in 1967. Perhaps it was drugs that became the determining factor that ultimately influenced both Burdon's success and his fall ...

In 1969, the singer met the group The Night Shift. He was fascinated by their funk blues, which inspired him to form his own new funk rock band War. Already with the release of the first album "Eric Burdon Declarations War", the team quickly gained popularity and recognition of the general public.

The beginning of the 70s was the period of the fall and career collapse of Burdon, and only in 1977 the blues performer was lucky. During those years, Eric settled with his wife and daughter in Germany, where American blues was once again making its way to the top of the music scene. After hearing the sound of Burdon, German rock musician Udo Lindenberg was impressed and invited the British singer on a joint tour. But the drugs again made themselves felt. Because of them, Burdon was even arrested by German police in 1983. Only with the help of former colleagues and just loyal friends from The Animals, the singer managed to return to the States, but career advancement, apparently, hit a glass ceiling. Even at home, he was no longer able to win his former success and recognition ...

A glimpse of new rays of glory

Eric Burdon & Brian Auger Band - Access All Areas - Live - 1993
Eric Burdon & Brian Auger Band - Access All Areas - Live - 1993

In pursuit of blinding glory, Burdon had to sit in the shadow of other musicians right up to the 90s. It was during this period that "Access All Areas", written by Burdon in tandem with Brian Auger, became the gem of the singer's later repertoire, winning worldwide success. From that moment on, Eric Burdon once again found himself in the rays of glory both on the music scene and in the minds of millions of fans. And in 1995, The Animals were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Burdon's career as a blues musician has gone through many ups and downs. Experimenting with a range of musical styles, Eric has worked in tandem with acclaimed musicians such as Chuck Berry, Jimi Hendrix, Bo Diddley and Ray Charles. And communication with each of these blues geniuses influenced the sound of Burdon: the musician learned to use his voice to the fullest, which made him unique!

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:
Категория:

Eric Burdon (Эрик Бёрдон) – Всё о музыканте: полная биография

О легендарном вокалисте...

История Эрика Бёрдона: биография и факты

Эрик Бёрдон знаком миру не только в качестве фронтмена британского коллектива The Animals. Музыкант слывёт одним из величайших блюзовых исполнителей с белой кожей, когда-либо существовавших за всю историю музыки!

Эрик Бёрдон: блюзовый основатель «Дома восходящего солнца»

Эрик Бёрдон на автопортрете, 1964
Эрик Бёрдон на автопортрете, 1964

Эрик Бёрдон вырос в бедной семье, поэтому с детского возраста был хорошо знаком с нищетой и теневой стороной жизни: азартными играми, наркотиками, сомнительными компаниями. Родился пионер британского ритм-энд-блюза во время Второй Мировой войны, 11 мая 1941 года, в промышленном центре Ньюкасл-апон-Тайн на севере Англии.

«С рождения я кричал блюзовые песни так громко, что их было слышно даже во время воздушного налёта нацистов», — сказал музыкант однажды в интервью с «Hollywood Soapbox».

Успех с The Animals

Eric Burdon (крайний с лева) и группа the Animals, 1966.
Eric Burdon (крайний с лева) и группа the Animals, 1966.

Середина 60-х стала для блюзовой команды «The Animals» апогеем карьеры: мега-хит «House of the Rising Sun» штурмовал топ-чарты ряда стран, включая Великобританию и США. Самое интересное, что, по словам самого Бёрдона, на запись этой прогремевшей на весь мир вещи у него ушло около пятнадцати минут!

Помимо «Дома восходящего солнца», репертуар группы богат и другими не менее прославленными хитами. Ярким примером служит «Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood», выступившая впоследствии названием для одной из многочисленных биографий Бёрдона, а также сингл «We Gotta Get Out This Place», который закрепился в качестве своеобразного неофициального гимна команды.

Уход Алана Прайса и новые перемены

Alan Price, «The Animals»
Alan Price, «The Animals»

В 1965 году группу покинул их бессменный клавишник Алан Прайс, заодно прихватив и права на всемирно прославленную «House of the Rising Sun», что нанесло коллективу серьёзный ущерб. До 1966-го «The Animals» из последних сил держались на плаву. С уходом Прайса состав группы постоянно менялся.

Как-то раз Бёрдон признался австралийскому изданию «Sydney Morning Herald»:

«Когда я впервые услышал Мадди Уотерса, я был очень молод, но твёрдо для себя решил, чем хочу заниматься».

В начале 60-х, в эпоху протестов против расовой сегрегации и войны во Вьетнаме, Эрику удалось-таки воплотить мечты в реальность. В 1961 году он выступал с группой Алексиса Корнера Blues Incorporated, благодаря чему и познакомился с клавишником Аланом Прайсом. Позже у ребят сложился плодотворный тандем, в результате которого в 1963 году мир узнал о новом ритм-энд-блюз ансамбле — The Animals.

Эпоха наркотической зависимости и карьерного спада

Бёрдон отправился в новое направление и в 1969 году выпустил “Eric Burdon and War”
Бёрдон отправился в новое направление и в 1969 году выпустил “Eric Burdon and War”

В конце 60-х репертуар Бёрдона пополнился такими пенсями, как «When I Was Young» и «Monterey». Последняя, кстати, была посвящена ЛСД-путешествию музыканта на поп-фестиваль в Монтерее в 1967 году. Возможно, именно наркотики и стали определяющим фактором, который в конце концов повлиял как на успех Бёрдона, так и на его падение…

В 1969 году певец познакомился с группой «The Night Shift». Он был очарован их фанк-блюзом, который вдохновил его на создание собственной новой фанк-рок группы «War». Уже с выпуском первого альбома «Eric Burdon Declares War» команда быстро завоевала популярность и признание широкой публики.

Начало 70-х стало периодом падения и карьерного краха Бёрдона, и лишь в 1977 году блюзовому исполнителю улыбнулась удача. В те годы Эрик поселился со своей женой и дочерью в Германии, где американский блюз снова пробирался к лидирующим позициям на музыкальной сцене. Услышав звучание Бёрдона, немецкий рок-музыкант Удо Линденберг остался под впечатлением и пригласил британского певца в совместное турне. Но наркотики снова дали о себе знать. Из-за них Бёрдон даже был арестован немецкими полицейскими в 1983 году. Только с помощью бывших коллег и просто преданных друзей из «The Animals» певцу удалось вернуться в Штаты, но карьерное продвижение, видимо, упёрлось в стеклянный потолок. Даже на родине он больше не смог завоевать былого успеха и признания…

Проблеск новых лучей славы

Eric Burdon & Brian Auger Band - Access All Areas - Live – 1993
Eric Burdon & Brian Auger Band – Access All Areas – Live – 1993

В погоне за ослепляющими лучами славы Бёрдону пришлось отсиживаться в тени других музыкантов аж до 90-х годов. Именно в этот период «Access All Areas», написанная Бёрдоном в тандеме с Брайаном Огером, стала бриллиантом позднего репертуара певца, завоевав всемирный успех. С того момента Эрик Бёрдон снова оказался в лучах славы как на музыкальной сцене, так и в умах миллионов поклонников. А в 1995 году «The Animals» были введены в Зал славы рок-н-ролла.

Карьера Бёрдона как блюз-музыканта пережила множество взлётов и падений. Экспериментируя с рядом музыкальных стилей, Эрик работал в тандеме с такими прославленными музыкантами, как Чак Берри, Джими Хендрикс, Бо Диддли и Рэй Чарльз. И общение с каждым из этих блюзовых гениев повлияло на звучание Бёрдона: музыкант научился использовать свой голос во всю мощь, что сделало его уникальным!

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...
Похожие статьи

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...