Author:
Category:

'Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime': A Touching Ballad Written in 15 Minutes for Years of Success

"The lyrics were born by themselves... At that moment I was interested in philosophy, and that influenced the lyrics, the mood of the song to a certain extent... I wouldn't say it was a love ballad at all. For me it was something like "a man changes, wants to find the root of his inner confusion, strives to become a better person..." So it's more of a philosophical track than a love track."

Interesting facts about the hit "The Korgis," the leader of cover versions among sad songs

"Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime" - trending hit of the 80swhich was a worthy addition to the repertoire "The Korgis.". This song has become the band's calling card. It was written by the band's lead singer James Warren. Over time, the popularity of the track only grew, and many artists made their own cover versions. What is the secret of the ballad's enormous success?

History of creation

The Korgis
The Korgis

"Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime" - is one of those songs that, despite its meager and primitive lyrics, managed to make it to the top of the charts. According to the author himself, it took him a long time to write this timeless hit. no more than 15 minutes! Warren simply sang the first thing that came into his head. However, this ballad owes its popularity not so much to the lyrics as to its unique sound. The keys, the strings, it all came together to give an incredible sonic effect!

The ballad has Warren there is a second, less popular version with slightly different lyrics. It was made into a music video with with an interesting storylinewhich has a slightly ironic character.

As for the origin story, this track has a short one. James Warren says:

"The lyrics were born by themselves... At that moment I was interested in philosophy, and that to a certain extent influenced the lyrics, the mood of the song... I won't say that it was a completely love ballad. For me it was something like "a man changes, wants to find the root of his inner confusion, strives to become a better person..." So it's more of a philosophical track than a love track."

Against this backdrop, fans began to put forward their own versions the birth of the hit. Thus, there is a legend that Warren dedicated the song to the murder of John Lennon. But there are inconsistencywhich casts doubts: "Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime" saw the light in May 1980while the iconic Beatle was gone in December.

The secret of success

The Korgis
The Korgis

A poor story, primitive lyrics... One can't help but wonder what the secret to success is. "Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime"? How did this ballad become a timeless hitwhich is still being sung to this day? The answer is obvious: it's all the fault of original sound. It's hard to call this song an ordinary pop track, at least because it features a Japanese musical instrument. koto. There is also a violin here. No wonder that in the distant 80s such a tune caught the attention of the general public! And true music lovers are sure to notice that "Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime" bears the imprint of prog rock.

Before founding "The Korgis, James Warren played along with Andy Davis in "Stackridge.". The band was mainly focused on prog-rock, and among its major accomplishments was closing the first festival in Glastonbury! Nevertheless, Warren was always attracted by easy and simple music, and eventually he formed The Korgis. Davis, who at first perceived the new project with sincere enthusiasm, quickly grew cold to it. He left the band during the recording of Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime. However, Warren's experience of being in "Stackridge." has made itself felt and affected the sound of the track.

Other versions and the best covers

Shortly after graduation. "Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime" was a source of inspiration for many musicians. It's hard to say exactly how many times it has been re-sung. For example, the American artist's version Beca (Beck), recorded for the film "Eternal Sunshine of the Pure Mind" (2004), gave the original a second life! Beck's performance has a special romanticism, soulfulness, and tenderness... All this was to the listeners' liking, and as a result, the cover has gained a huge popularity!

 

Over the decades. "Everybody's Got to Learn Sometime" has been sung over an unbelievable number of times! Here are the most interesting and successful interpretations!

The group's version deserves special attention "Army of Lovers. She is endowed with a kind of joy...

A particularly successful cover of the British trio "Baby D.": It reached number three on the national chart and even made the top 20 in a number of countries!

However, the most unexpected and original cover was the version by the Russian band "Forum".

Of course, this version can hardly be called cover: composer Alexander Morozov left only a recognizable melody and applied to the music the poetry of the Soviet poet Nikolai Rubtsov. Nevertheless, the sound and mood of the compositions are similar.

"Mongol Shudan - domestic kings of anarcho-rock

Mongol Shuudan" band: history of creation, cast, best songs, interesting facts, influence Russian rock is a unique genre, which gave the domestic listener a huge collection of material, which can be the envy of...

A Real People's Idol: Joe Dassin and Russia

All about Joe Dassin: early years, hits and love for Russia Despite the fact that many artists often left Russia because they were not given...

The best Ken Hensley album that Uriah Heep fans don't listen to, but remember by heart

Everything about the album "Proud Words on a Dusty Shelf": creation history, tracks, success It's not uncommon for musicians who have been playing in a band for a long time to want to start a solo activity. Some of the...
Related Articles

Brooke Shields was disappointed - who George Michael really dedicated "Careless Whisper" to

"Careless Whisper": The greatest hit of the '80s, the story of its creation, and George Michael's main inspiration Oh that "Careless Whisper," which has touched the hearts of millions of listeners from all...

Luciano Pavarotti: the story of Italy's iconic lyrical tenor

Biography of Italian singer Luciano Pavarotti: childhood, career, heritage Melodic Italy gave the world its most musical language and added many colors to the musical-theatrical genre of opera. In spite of...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Автор:

Категория:

«Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime»: многолетний успех трогательной баллады, написанной за 15 минут

«Слова родились сами собой... На тот момент мне была интересна философия, и это в определённой мере повлияло на лирику, настроение песни... Не скажу, что это была совершенно любовная баллада. Для меня это было что-то вроде «человек меняется, хочет найти корень своего внутреннего замешательства, стремится стать лучше...» Так что — это скорее философский трек, нежели любовный»

Интересные факты о хите «The Korgis», лидере кавер-версий среди грустных песен

«Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime» — популярный хит 80-х, который достойно украсил репертуар «The Korgis». Данная композиция стала визитной карточкой коллектива. Написана она была солистом группы Джеймсом Уорреном. Со временем популярность трека толька росла, и многие артисты сделали свои кавер-версии. Предлагаем узнать, в чём секрет колоссального успеха трогательной баллады?

История создания

Группа «The Korgis»
Группа «The Korgis»

«Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime» — одна из тех песен, которые несмотря на скудный и примитивный текст смогли выбиться в лидирующие позиции чартов. По словам самого автора, на написание нестареющего хита у него ушло не больше 15 минут! Уоррен просто пел то, что первым приходило в голову. Однако своей популярностью данная баллада обязана не столько лирике, сколько уникальному звучанию. Клавиши, струнные — всё это слилось воедино и дало невероятный звуковой эффект!

У баллады Уоррена есть вторая, менее популярная версия с немного изменённым текстом. На неё был снят клип с интересным сюжетом, который обладает слегка ироничным характером.

Что касается истории происхождения, то у данного трека она короткая. Джеймс Уоррен рассказывает:

«Слова родились сами собой… На тот момент мне была интересна философия, и это в определённой мере повлияло на лирику, настроение песни… Не скажу, что это была совершенно любовная баллада. Для меня это было что-то вроде «человек меняется, хочет найти корень своего внутреннего замешательства, стремится стать лучше…» Так что  это скорее философский трек, нежели любовный».

На фоне этого поклонники начали выдвигать собственные версии рождения хита. Так, существует легенда, что Уоррен посвятил данную композицию убийству Джона Леннона. Но здесь есть несостыковка, которая заставляет усомниться: «Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime» увидела свет в мае 1980 года, в то время как культового битла не стало в декабре.

Секрет успеха

Группа «The Korgis»
Группа «The Korgis»

Скудная история, примитивная лирика… Невольно встаёт вопрос: так в чём же секрет успеха «Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime»? Как эта баллада превратилась в нестареющий хит, который не перестают перепевать по сей день? Ответ очевиден: всему виной оригинальное звучание. Назвать данную композицию обычным поп-треком сложно — как минимум потому, что в ней задействован японский музыкальный инструмент кото. Здесь также есть скрипка. Неудивительно, что в далёких 80-х подобная мелодия привлекла внимание широкой публики! А истинные меломаны непременно обратили своё внимание, что на «Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime» лежит отпечаток прог-рока.

Прежде чем основать «The Korgis», Джеймс Уоррен играл вместе с Энди Дэвисом в «Stackridge». Группа в основном была нацелена на прог-рок, а в числе её главных достижений было закрытие первого фестиваля в Гластонбери! Тем не менее Уоррена всегда манила лёгкая и простая музыка, и в конечном итоге он сформировал «The Korgis». Дэвис, который поначалу воспринял новый проект с искренним энтузиазмом, быстро охладел к нему. Он покинул бэнд во время записи «Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime». Однако опыт пребывания Уоррена в «Stackridge» дал о себе знать и сказался на звучании трека.

Другие версии и лучшие каверы

Вскоре после выпуска «Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime» стала источником вдохновения для многих музыкантов. Сложно точно сказать, сколько раз её перепевали. Так, версия американского артиста Бека (Beck), записанная для киноленты «Вечное сияние чистого разума» (2004), подарила оригиналу вторую жизнь! Исполнение Бека наделено особым романтизмом, проникновенностью и нежностью… Всё это пришлось слушателям по душе, и в итоге кавер обрёл огромную популярность!

 

За прошедшие десятилетия «Everybody’s Got to Learn Sometime» перепевали невероятное количество раз! Предлагаем вашему вниманию наиболее интересные и успешные интерпретации!

Отдельного внимания заслуживает версия группы «Army of Lovers». Она наделена некой радостью…

Особенно успешным оказался кавер британского трио «Baby D»: он занял третью строчку в национальном чарте и даже вошёл в топ-20 ряда стран!

Однако самым неожиданным и оригинальным кавером стала версия российской группы «Форум».

Конечно, данную версию трудно назвать кавером: композитор Александр Морозов оставил лишь узнаваемую мелодию и наложил на музыку стихи советского поэта Николая Рубцова. Тем не менее звучание и настроение композиций схожи.

9kFollowers

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Похожие статьи

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...

«Рано ушла, но оставила яркий след» – история Янки Дягилевой

Яркая представительница отечественного андеграунда – история Янки Дягилевой Янка Дягилева вошла в историю как яркая представительница сибирского андеграунда, женщина, которая на протяжении своей короткой карьеры...

Нодди Холдер – «Мысли вслух»: о юности, знакомстве с Фредди Меркьюри и знаменитой шляпе с зеркалами

О чём думает Нодди Холдер: интересные высказывания, мысли и воспоминания, факты Нодди Холдер относится к тем музыкантам, которые не нуждаются в представлении. В далёких 60-х...

Рэнди Роадс: печальная история амбициозного гитариста Оззи Осборна

Как взошла звезда Рэнди Роадса – одного из самых амбициозных гитаристов в истории Рэнди Роадс вошёл в историю как американский гитарист-виртуоз, автор песен и просто...

Шестёрка классических «идеальных» рок-альбомов без плохих песен

Эти альбомы идеальны – безупречная классика рока, в которой нет места слабым песням Альбом любимой группы или артиста, под завязку забитый добротными песнями! Что может...

Вспоминаем лучшие треки непревзойдённого Жан-Мишеля Жарра

Топ лучших композиций «пионера-электронщика» Жан-Мишеля Жарра по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Жан-Мишель Жарр по праву носит титул одного из пионеров электронной музыки. Гений своего ремесла,...

О чём на самом деле поётся в песне «Родная» группы «Калинов Мост»

История одной песни: «Родная» – создание, смысл и интересные факты Группу «Калинов Мост» знает практически каждый, как нам кажется, отечественный слушатель. Образованный в середине 80-х,...

Drake — «Honestly, Nevermind» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Honestly, Nevermind» (2022) от Drake 17 июня 2022 года канадский певец и автор песен Drake поделился своим долгожданным и достаточно неожиданным альбомом под названием...