Author:
Category:

Evil Ways (1969) - Santana: song history

Santana's performance and performance of "Evil Ways" at the Woodstock festival made a huge impression on the audience! They haven't released their first album yet, but they've made a name for themselves playing shows on the West Coast... Fantastic!

The story of "Evil Ways" by Santana...

"Evil Ways" is a famous hit by the Mexican-American rock band Santana, which became the pearl of their self-titled debut album in 1969 ... It is noteworthy that "Evil Ways" was originally recorded by jazz percussionist Willy Bobo in 1965 (and released as part of the album Bobo motion). The author was Clarence "Sonny" Henry, a jazz guitarist and songwriter. Written in simple verse form, the composition was also recorded by The Village Callers.

Released as a single, "Evil Ways" became the group's first hit! The single broke into America's Top 10, peaking at number nine on the Billboard Hot 100! Curiously, with the release of the debut album Santana, the authorship of the track passed to Jimmie Zack (Jimmie Zack & The Blues Rockers) - a midwestern rockabilly artist who recorded a song with the same name in 1960 (however, it was not the same song as Santana)… Let's remember the history of the timeless hit of the 60s!

How was the hit...

Santana band, 1969, Woodstock
Santana band, 1969, Woodstock

For many years, music lovers have been convinced that "Evil Ways" is performed by Carlos Santana himself! But... it's not. This song features Gregg Raleigh on lead vocals (he also plays a Hammond organ solo in the middle of the track), while Carlos provides guitar solos and backing vocals. By the way: Santana's solo in "Evil Ways" is about 90 seconds long...

The lyrics of "Evil Ways" are a story from the perspective of a man in love, an appeal addressed to his woman. The hero of the song feels like a complete fool - jealous and upset that his lover is hanging out with her friends, while he does not receive any attention from her ... He warns her that he will leave if this behavior continues:

"Baby when I come home baby
I see the extinguished light and cold food ...
You're shaking, baby
With Jean and Joan, and who knows who else...
I'm tired of waiting and being fooled.
I will find someone with whom I will not feel like a clown!
This can't go on anymore…”

"Evil Ways" was originally written by jazz percussionist Willy Bobo with Clarence "Sonny" Henry: Bobo was a Latin Jazz percussionist who was a big influence on Santana and played on some of their tracks in the late 70s...

"He was one of the first to try to combine Latin American music and blues on a record," Carlos Santana said in an interview. "He did it before us because we did it on the street and he already did it on records."

Santana (Woodstock, 1969)
Santana (Woodstock, 1969)

Santana's performance and performance of "Evil Ways" at the Woodstock festival made a huge impression on the audience! They haven't released their first album yet, but they've made a name for themselves playing shows on the West Coast... Fantastic!

Why Evil Ways?

The debut album Santana was released two weeks later amid positive reviews from the Woodstock press. Oddly enough, it was "Jingo" and not "Evil Ways" that was chosen as the first single: rhythmic and energetic, it reached #56 in America! The next single was "Evil Ways", which broke into the Top 10 ... At the end of the year, an edited version of "Evil Ways" was released, which brought Santana her first big success. A slick and stylized version of Willy Bobo's song smoothes over the original rough edges, confirming Carlos Santana's comments that they made music for whites. White or Black is a surprisingly dense song that succinctly packs Santana's sound into (perhaps) its most compelling form... Let's talk about the single.

Evil Ways (1969) - Santana (single cover)
Evil Ways (1969) - Santana (single cover)

The B-side is "Waiting", the song that launched Santana's seminal Woodstock performance. The studio version isn't as bright as the live version, but at that point, every Santana song was a magical call to exotic sounds. In the UK, "Jin-Go-La-Ba" was chosen as the B-side. Out of secondary interest, "Evil Ways" was initially misattributed to Jimmy Zach, who wrote a very different song called "Evil Ways" many years ago. It was most likely the work of lazy archivists who simply leafed through the songwriters catalog until they found a suitable name, as it is impossible for Santana not to know the source of the song... Released on a 7" single, "Evil Ways" reached No. 9 on the charts USA.

Similar to "Love Potion No. nine"

It wasn't long before critics, as well as listeners, began to notice the striking similarity between "Evil Ways" and the 1959 "Love Potion No. nine". The song was written by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller - a famous songwriting duo who wrote hits for Elvis Presley himself! In the mid-60s, shortly before Woodstock, Love Potion No. 9" was performed by The Searchers: it was this performance that made it an incredibly popular hit ...

If you carefully study both records - "Evil Ways" and "Love Potion No. 9" - you can find a lot of similarities ... For example, in the chorus! The melody and character of the performance sound very similar, with the only difference being that "Love Potion No. 9" sounds more energetic and positive than the slightly punchy "Evil Ways"... The tempo of "Evil Ways" is a little more slow. The guitar solo faded towards the end of the track, while "Love Potion No. 9" you can hear it somewhere in the middle... It's hard to call it plagiarism, but there is no point in arguing about the similarity of these two compositions.

Success, impact...

After Woodstock "Evil Ways" became a famous hit that repeatedly inspired performers and sound artists to improvise boldly! So, for example, in 1970, Johnny Mathis released his version: his cover hit the Cash Box rating at number 118. In the mid-90s, "Evil Ways" was performed by the alternative rock band Rusted Root: their version was included in the soundtrack to movie "Home for the Holidays". Moreover, this was not the last time that "Evil Ways" was used in cinema: in 2001, the composition complemented the cult "Fast and the Furious" ...

Conclusion

"Evil Ways" is a bright track with interesting lyrics and an incomparable performance by Santana... Having performed this song at Woodstock, the band snatched a lucky ticket to the future! We can say that then, at the 1969 festival, it was one of the most memorable performances on stage ... And, fortunately, it has not lost its magic to this day.

Who is she - the woman from the cover of the legendary Black Sabbath album

The woman on the cover of the Black Sabbath album - who is she: history and facts The 1970 release of Black Sabbath's debut album changed the music industry forever. This...

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Автор:
Категория:

Evil Ways (1969) – Santana: история песни

Выступление Santana и исполнение «Evil Ways» на фестивале Вудсток произвели огромное впечатление на публику! Они ещё не выпустили свой первый альбом, но сделали себе имя, дав концерты на Западном побережье... Фантастика!

История «Evil Ways» группы Santana…

«Evil Ways» — знаменитый хит мексикано-американской рок-группы Santana, который стал жемчужиной их одноимённого дебютного альбома 1969 года… Примечательно то, что первоначально «Evil Ways» была записана джазовым перкуссионистом Вилли Бобо в 1965 году (и выпущена в рамках альбома Bobo Motion). Автором же стал Кларенс «Сонни» Генри — джазовый гитарист и автор песен. Написанная в простой стихотворной форме композиция также была записана группой The Village Callers.

Выпущенный на сингле, «Evil Ways» стал первым хитом для группы! Сингл ворвался в Топ-10 Америки, достигнув девятой строчки в Billboard Hot 100! Любопытно, но с выпуском дебютного альбома Santana авторство трека перешло к Джимми Заку (Jimmie Zack & The Blues Rockers) — рокабилли-исполнителю со Среднего Запада, который в 1960 году записал песню с таким же названием (однако это была не та песня, что у Santana)… Вспомним историю вневременного хита 60-х!

Как создавался хит…

Группа Santana, 1969 год, Вудсток
Группа Santana, 1969 год, Вудсток

На протяжении многих лет меломаны были уверены, что «Evil Ways» исполняет сам Карлос Сантана! Но… это не так. Ведущий вокал в этой песне принадлежит Греггу Роли (он также играет соло на органе Hammond в середине трека), в то время как Карлос исполняет гитарное соло и бэк-вокал. К слову: соло Сантаны в «Evil Ways» длится примерно 90 секунд…

Лирика «Evil Ways» — это история от лица влюблённого мужчины, обращение, адресованное его женщине. Герой песни чувствует себя полным дураком — ревнивым и расстроенным из-за того, что его возлюбленная тусуется со своими друзьями, в то время как он не получает от неё никакого внимания… Он предупреждает её, что уйдет, если такое поведение продолжится:

«Крошка, когда я прихожу домой, малышка
Вижу потухший свет и холодную еду…
Ты шляешься, детка
С Жаном и Джоаной, и кто знает с кем ещё…
Я устаю от ожидания и одурачивания.
Я найду кого-то, с кем я не буду чувствовать себя клоуном!
Это не может больше продолжаться…»

Первоначально «Evil Ways» была написана джазовым перкуссионистом Вилли Бобо с Кларенс «Сонни» Генри: Бобо был перкуссионистом в стиле Latin Jazz, который оказал большое влияние на Сантану и сыграл на некоторых из их треков в конце 70-х годов…

«Он был одним из первых, кто попытался совместить латиноамериканскую музыку и блюз на пластинке», — сказал Карлос Сантана в своём интервью. «Он сделал это до нас, потому что мы делали это на улице, а он уже делал это на записях».

Santana (Вудсток, 1969)
Santana (Вудсток, 1969)

Выступление Santana и исполнение «Evil Ways» на фестивале Вудсток произвели огромное впечатление на публику! Они ещё не выпустили свой первый альбом, но сделали себе имя, дав концерты на Западном побережье… Фантастика!

Почему именно «Evil Ways»?

Дебютный альбом Santana был выпущен двумя неделями позже на фоне множества положительных отзывов прессы Вудстока. Как ни странно, именно «Jingo», а не «Evil Ways» был выбран первым синглом: ритмичный и энергичный, он достиг 56-го места в Америке! Следующим синглом стал «Evil Ways», ворвавшийся в Топ-10… В конце года была выпущена отредактированная версия «Evil Ways», которая принесла Сантане первый большой успех. Изящная и стилизованная версия песни Вилли Бобо сглаживает оригинальные острые углы, подтверждая комментарии Карлоса Сантаны о том, что они создавали музыку для белых. Белая или чёрная — это удивительно плотная песня, которая лаконично упаковывает звучание Сантаны в (возможно) самой привлекательной форме… Поговорим о сингле.

Evil Ways (1969) – Santana (обложка сингла)
Evil Ways (1969) – Santana (обложка сингла)

Сторона B — это «Waiting», песня, которая положила начало основополагающему выступлению Santana на Вудстоке. Студийная версия не такая яркая, как концертная, но на тот момент любая песня Сантаны была волшебным вызовом экзотических звуков. В Великобритании стороной B была выбрана «Jin-Go-La-Ba». Из второстепенного интереса, «Evil Ways» изначально ошибочно приписали Джимми Заку, который много лет назад написал совсем другую песню под названием «Evil Ways». Скорее всего, это была работа ленивых архивистов, которые просто перелистывали каталог авторов песен, пока не нашли подходящее имя, поскольку невозможно, чтобы Сантана не знал источник песни… Выпущен на 7-дюймовом сингле, «Evil Ways» достиг 9-го места в чартах США.

Сходство с «Love Potion No. 9»

Очень скоро критики, как и слушатели, начали отмечать поразительное сходство «Evil Ways» с композицией 1959 года «Love Potion No. 9». Песня была написана Джерри Лейбером и Майком Столлером — известным авторским дуэтом, писавшим хиты для самого Элвиса Пресли! В середине 60-х, незадолго до Вудстока, «Love Potion No. 9» была исполнена группой The Searchers: именно это исполнение сделало её невероятно популярным хитом…

Если внимательно изучить обе записи — «Evil Ways» и «Love Potion No. 9» — можно найти немало сходств… Например, в припеве! Мелодия и характер исполнения звучат очень похоже, с разницей лишь в том, что «Love Potion No. 9» звучит более энергично и позитивно, нежели слегка напористая «Evil Ways»… Темп «Evil Ways» немного более замедленный. Гитарное соло ушло в конец трека, в то время как в «Love Potion No. 9» его можно слышать где-то в середине… Назвать это плагиатом сложно, однако сходство этих двух композиций нет смысла оспаривать.

Успех, влияние…

После Вудстока «Evil Ways» стала известным хитом, который неоднократно вдохновлял исполнителей и художников звука на смелые импровизации! Так, к примеру, в 1970 году свою версию выпустил Джонни Мэтис: его кавер попал в рейтинг Cash Box под номером 118. В середине 90-х «Evil Ways» была исполнена альтернативной рок-группой Rusted Root: их версия была включена в саундтрек к фильму «Домой на праздники». Причём это был не последний раз, когда «Evil Ways» использовалась в кинематографе: в 2001 году композиция дополнила культовый «Форсаж»…

Заключение

«Evil Ways» — это яркий трек с интересной лирикой и бесподобным исполнением в лице Santana… Исполнив эту песню на Вудстоке, группа вырвала себе счастливый билет в будущее! Можно сказать, что тогда, на фестивале 1969 года, это было одно из самых запоминающихся выступлений на сцене… И, к счастью, оно не утратило своего волшебства по сей день.

Всё об альбоме The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

Новый альбом The Comet Is Coming — Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022): список треков, история, слушать онлайн У британского джазового трио (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) вышел...

«Легендарные бунтари» – вспоминаем самых «безумных» вокалистов из мира панк-рока

Самые возмутительные солисты за всю историю панк-рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music» Панк-рок всегда был злым – эдаким «дерзким младшим двоюродным братом» в рок-семье. Родившийся...

Топ-5 важнейших пластинок в жанре метал по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Лучшие альбомы в жанре метал: список, исполнители, история и факты, треки Мало кто задумывается об этом, но конфликт, который США разожгли во Вьетнаме, напрямую повлиял...
Похожие статьи

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...