Author:

Category:

Curious facts about rock and roll that most people don't know

Many curious facts about him have unfortunately been forgotten... But that's why the selection below promises to be interesting!

What didn't you know about rock 'n' roll? The most interesting facts about the history of one of the oldest and most influential genres

Rock ' n ' Roll almost everyone loves it! This genre is truly beautiful and very interesting, because it has a vivid history, deeply rooted in American music... However - how exactly did it come about? Rock ' n ' Roll was widespread in America in the late 1940s and early 1950s. It was based on elements of African-American and so-called "white" genres, including rhythm and blues and country. Remarkably, even after so many years rock 'n' roll is still popular in the 21st century...It is still thriving as a genre! True... many curious facts about it have, unfortunately, been forgotten... In fact, that's why the selection below promises to be interesting!

Sister Rosetta Tharp is known as "the godmother of rock and roll.

Rosetta Tharp
Rosetta Tharp

You probably haven't heard of this woman before, but Sister Rosetta Tharp known as the pioneer of rock 'n' roll! Remarkably, in Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Tharpe wasn't inducted until 2018, many years after her death... Many musicians said it was outrageous, and that Rosetta Tharpe should have been inducted into the Hall of Fame much earlier...

In the first half twentieth century Her music was so popular that soon many people began to call her "the godmother of rock 'n' roll"! And this loud title is fully justified: and it's not only in the exciting combination of gospel and rock'n'roll, but also in the innovative guitar playing technique! Using heavy distortion on her electric guitar, Tharpe has managed to bring gospel and spiritual music into the spotlight, and turn it into mainstream! By the way: her unique technique played a huge role in shaping the genre of British blues music. in the 1960s and in the formation of the genre known as electric blues...

There would be no rock and roll without Chuck Berry

Chuck Berry
Chuck Berry

Once upon a time, the iconic Beatle John Lennon noticed:

"If you want to give rock and roll another name, you can call it Chuck Berry!"

Undoubtedly, the legendary Chuck Berry played a crucial role in refining and transforming rhythm and blues music into rock and roll. Not surprisingly, he carries the title "father." of this genre...

Stevie Nicks is the only woman to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice

Stevie Nicks
Stevie Nicks

Legend Fleetwood Macand also a successful solo singer, Stevie Nicks has been recognized as one of the "The 100 Greatest Songwriters of All Time" by Rolling Stone! However, the most curious achievement of her career is that she was included in Rock and Roll Hall of Fame twice! By the way: Nix is the only woman who managed to achieve this! It happened in 1998 and 2019 years...

"Wabash Cannonball" is a song that is considered one of the earliest sources that influenced the genre

It is unlikely that this composition is familiar to modern music lovers, however - "Wabash Cannonball." is generally considered one of the earliest songs to influence the genre! The roots of "Wabash Cannonball" go back to 1882 year, into the genre of American folk music: the work tells of a scenic journey...

This work became famous more than 40 years later, as performed by Carter Family! Subsequently, it entered the repertoire of such legends as Johnny Cash, Leon Russell and others.

Ledbelly allegedly released from prison by writing a song for the governor

Huddy William Ledbetter
Huddy William Ledbetter

Huddy William Ledbetterbetter known as simply LedbellyHe was an American singer who played several genres, including blues, rock, folk and even gospel! But that was not the only thing that made him famous...

During his first imprisonment Ledbetter was convicted of killing a relative. He tried to escape from prison, but after a failed attempt he supposedly decided to become a model prisoner in hopes of finding his way out of prison through good behavior... And at Lead Belly really got a chance! He was repeatedly offered to sing for the governor of Texas, Pat Neff.. Taking advantage of this good fortune, Leadbetter composed a song which he often sang to the governor, begging for pardon and release. After a year of singing for the governor, Lead Belly was pardoned and released from prison...

Huddy William Ledbetter
Huddy William Ledbetter

Five years later Huddy William was imprisoned again, this time because of a stabbing incident. It is alleged that he was released a second time because he wrote a song again and sang it to another governor asking for his release. However, according to reports, Lead Belly was allowed to apply for early release because the prison was facing financial difficulties due to the Great Depression.

"The "King of Rock and Roll," Elvis Presley was the "anti-Kumtor.

Elvis Presley
Elvis Presley

Today Elvis Presley known as one of the most iconic stars in rock 'n' roll history... "king." of the genre because of his energetic performances and charismatic personality, and, all in all, that makes him one of the most significant and influential musicians of the 20th century! Presley's good looks and distinctive sound drew considerable attention to him, and major shows in America were very eager to get him on their side... So, in 1956 year, Elvis signed a commercial deal worth $50,000 into three separate speeches on The Ed Sullivan Show

According to the data, at first Sullivan Didn't want to host a rising star on his show because of the sexualized music and some obscene dance gestures, which in 1950s were considered scandalous... However, after Sullivan's competitor got more hits after taking on Presley, Sullivan decided to go against his principles... The first appearance Presley on his show went well, but the second one... it shocked American viewers, who were uncomfortable seeing such a thought-provoking performance on television.

Elvis Presley
Elvis Presley

A lot of people In Nashville and St. Louis were so upset (they thought Presley's performance might have ruined their children) that they hung and burned an effigy of the musician! It's worth noting that this didn't stop Presley from returning for his third and final performance, which was met with less hostility (all because he was only shown waist-deep...)

Ronnie James Dio popularized the "rock goat

Ronnie James Dio
Ronnie James Dio

"Rock Goat." - The famous gesture of greeting, widely known in the world of rock... It is believed that it is the Ronnie James Dio popularized the gesture, but some sources claim that Gene Simmons was the first to use this sign... In his 2002 autobiography Simmons stated that he was the one who popularized the "rock goat"! But... was he?

Gene Simmons. Photo: Michael Putland
Gene Simmons. Photo: Michael Putland

According to DioHe was introduced to this gesture by his grandmother. At the beginning of his career the rocker decided to make this symbol fashionable. Dio explained in an interview 2001 of the year that he doesn't think he was the first to invent the gesture, but that he was the first to make it a trend - definitely.

A curious fact is that in the 2017 year Simmons tried to register this symbol as his own creation, but in less than two weeks he withdrew his claim. I wonder why?

Frank Sinatra was against rock and roll

Frank Sinatra with Kim Novak and Rita Hayvors
Frank Sinatra with Kim Novak and Rita Hayvors

Throughout the history of rock, many people have criticized the genre, but one of the most famous people who condemned it was Frank Sinatra. And who would have thought that this man was vs. rock 'n' roll... But it really is. В 1957 In the year, Sinatra wrote a short article for the French magazine Western World. In the article he discusses the state of American music, and as for rock 'n' roll - he had nothing but contempt for the genre... Here is a short excerpt:

"My only deep regret is the relentless insistence of record and movie companies on choosing the most violent, ugly, degenerate, vicious form of expression that I have ever had the displeasure of hearing--naturally, I mean most of rock and roll. It evokes almost entirely negative and destructive reactions in young people. It smells fake! Thanks to almost idiotic repetitions and sly, obscene - actually dirty - lyrics, this music manages to be combative for everyone! It's a rancid aphrodisiac that I regret..."

10kFollowers

Classic albums by young musicians who have defied age and the world

Classics released by teenagers: albums presented by young musicians that became masterpieces The Beatles were all in their 20s when they recorded a series of albums that changed the world of rock 'n' roll. But that ...

The combination of strength and refined beauty - remember Tommy Bolin

Remembering Tommy Bolin, one of guitar's youngest legends During Tommy Bolin's last live performance to open for Jeff Beck, December 3, 1976,...

Tony Iommi is a heavy sound legend and simply "the coolest kid on the block

Tony Iommi and the secret of his legendary playing style The Man in Black, whose unique sound dates back to an unfortunate accident--Tony Iommi has rewritten rock history,...

Related Articles

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Автор:

Категория:

Любопытные факты о рок-н-ролле, о которых не знает большинство людей

Многие любопытные факты о нём были, к сожалению, забыты... Но именно поэтому подборка ниже обещает быть интересной!

Чего вы ещё не знали о рок-н-ролле? Самые интересные факты об истории одного из самых старых и влиятельных жанров

Рок-н-ролл любят практически все! Данный жанр поистине прекрасен и очень интересен, так как имеет яркую историю, глубоко уходящую корнями в американскую музыку… Однако — как именно он появился? Рок-н-ролл получил широкое распространение в Америке в конце 1940-х — начале 1950-х годов. В его основу были положены элементы афроамериканских и так называемых «белых» жанров, среди которых ритм-н-блюз и кантри. Примечательно, но даже спустя такое огромное количество лет рок-н-ролл всё ещё популярен в XXI веке… Он всё ещё успешно процветает как жанр! Правда… многие любопытные факты о нём были, к сожалению, забыты… Собственно, именно поэтому подборка ниже обещает быть интересной!

Сестра Розетта Тарп известна как «крёстная мать рок-н-ролла»

Розетта Тарп
Розетта Тарп

Скорее всего, вы не слышали про эту женщину ранее, однако Сестра Розетта Тарп известна как пионер рок-н-ролла! Примечательно, но в Зал славы рок-н-ролла Тарп ввели лишь в 2018 году, спустя много лет после её смерти… Многие музыканты заявили, что это возмутительно, и что Розетта Тарп должна была войти в Зал славы гораздо раньше…

В первой половине XX века её музыка была популярна настолько, что вскоре многие стали называть её «крёстной матерью рок-н-ролла»! И этот громкий титул полностью оправдан: и дело тут не только в захватывающем сочетании госпела и рок-н-ролла, но и в новаторской технике игры на гитаре! Используя тяжёлый дисторшн на своей электрогитаре, Тарп сумела вывести госпел и духовную музыку в центр внимания, и превратить её в мейнстрим! К слову: её уникальная техника сыграла огромную роль в формировании жанра британской блюзовой музыки в 1960-х годах и в становлении жанра, известного как электрик-блюз…

Без Чака Берри не было бы рок-н-ролла

Чак Берри
Чак Берри

Как-то раз культовый битл Джон Леннон заметил:

«Если вы хотите дать рок-н-роллу другое имя, то можете назвать его Чак Берри!»

Бесспорно, легендарный Чак Берри сыграл важнейшую роль в совершенствовании и превращении ритм-н-блюзовой музыки в рок-н-ролл. Неудивительно, что он носит титул «отца» данного жанра…

Стиви Никс — единственная женщина, дважды попавшая в Зал славы рок-н-ролла

Стиви Никс
Стиви Никс

Легенда Fleetwood Mac, а также успешная сольная певица, Стиви Никс была признана одной из «100 лучших авторов песен всех времён» по версии Rolling Stone! Однако самое любопытное достижение в её карьере — это то, что она была включена в Зал славы рок-н-ролла дважды! К слову: Никс является единственной женщиной, которой удалось этого достичь! Произошло это в 1998-ом и 2019-ом годах…

«Wabash Cannonball» – песня, которая считается одним из самых ранних источников, повлиявших на жанр

Вряд ли эта композиция знакома современным меломанам, однако — «Wabash Cannonball» принято считать одной из ранних песен, оказавших влияние на жанр! Своими корнями «Wabash Cannonball» уходит в 1882 год, в жанр американской народной музыки: произведение рассказывает о живописном путешествии…

Известность пришла к этому произведению спустя более 40 лет, в исполнении Carter Family! Впоследствии она вошла в репертуар таких легенд, как Джонни Кэш, Леон Расселл и другие.

Ледбелли якобы освободился из тюрьмы, написав песню для губернатора

Хадди Уильям Ледбеттер
Хадди Уильям Ледбеттер

Хадди Уильям Ледбеттер, более известный как просто Ледбелли, был американским певцом, игравшим в нескольких жанрах, включая блюз, рок, фолк и даже госпел! Однако — широко прославился он не только этим…

Во время своего первого тюремного заключения Ледбеттер был осуждён за убийство родственника. Он пытался сбежать из тюрьмы, но после неудачной попытки он якобы решил стать образцовым заключённым в надежде найти выход из тюрьмы через хорошее поведение… И у Lead Belly действительно появился шанс! Ему неоднократно предлагали петь для губернатора Техаса, Пэта Неффа. Воспользовавшись этой удачей, Ледбеттер сочинил песню, которую он часто пел губернатору, умоляя о прощении и освобождении. После года пения для губернатора Lead Belly был помилован и освобождён из тюрьмы…

Хадди Уильям Ледбеттер
Хадди Уильям Ледбеттер

Пять лет спустя Хадди Уильям снова оказался в тюрьме, на этот раз из-за инцидента с ножевым ранением. Утверждается, что он был освобождён во второй раз, потому что снова написал песню и спел её другому губернатору с просьбой о его освобождении. Однако, согласно сообщениям, Lead Belly было разрешено подать заявление о досрочном освобождении из-за того, что тюрьма столкнулась с финансовыми трудностями из-за Великой депрессии.

«Король рок-н-ролла» Элвис Пресли был «анти-кумиром»

Элвис Пресли
Элвис Пресли

Сегодня Элвис Пресли известен как одна из самых знаковых звёзд в истории рок-н-ролла… Его называют «королём» данного жанра из-за его энергичных выступлений и харизматической личности, и, в целом, это делает его одним из самых значительных и влиятельных музыкантов XX века! Красивая внешность и отличительное звучание Пресли привлекли к нему значительное внимание, и крупные шоу в Америке очень хотели привлечь его на свою сторону… Так, в 1956 году Элвис подписал коммерческую сделку на сумму 50 000 долларов на три отдельных выступления на шоу Эда Салливана

Согласно данным, поначалу Салливан не хотел принимать восходящую звезду на своём шоу из-за сексуализированной музыки и несколько непристойных танцевальных жестов, которые в 1950-х считались скандальными… Однако после того, как конкурент Салливана получил больше просмотров после того, как принял Пресли, Салливан решил пойти против своих принципов… Первое появление Пресли на его шоу прошло хорошо, однако второе… оно шокировало американских зрителей, которым было неприятно видеть такое наводящее на размышления представление по телевидению.

Элвис Пресли (Elvis Presley)
Элвис Пресли (Elvis Presley)

Множество людей в Нэшвилле и Сент-Луисе были настолько расстроены (по их мнению, выступление Пресли могло испортить их детей), что они повесили и сожгли чучело музыканта! Стоит отметить, что это не помешало Пресли вернуться на своё третье и последнее выступление, которое было встречено с меньшей враждебностью (всё потому что его показывали только по пояс…)

Ронни Джеймс Дио популяризировал «рок-козу»

Ронни Джеймс Дио
Ронни Джеймс Дио

«Рок-коза» — знаменитый жест приветствия, широко известный в мире рока… Принято считать, что именно Ронни Джеймс Дио популяризировал данный жест, однако некоторые источники утверждают, что Джин Симмонс был первым, кто использовал этот знак… В своей автобиографии 2002 года Симмонс заявил, что именно он популяризировал «рок-козу»! Но… так ли это?

Джин Симмонс. Фото: Майкл Путланд
Джин Симмонс. Фото: Майкл Путланд

По словам Дио, с этим жестом его познакомила ещё бабушка. В начале своей карьеры рокер решил сделать этот символ модным. Дио объяснил в интервью 2001 года, что он не думает, что он первый изобрёл данный жест, но что он был первым, кто сделал его трендом, — безусловно.

Любопытный факт: в 2017 году Симмонс попытался зарегистрировать этот символ как своё творение, но менее чем через две недели отозвал иск. Интересно почему?

Фрэнк Синатра был против рок-н-ролла

Фрэнк Синатра с Ким Новак и Ритой Хэйворз
Фрэнк Синатра с Ким Новак и Ритой Хэйворз

На протяжении всей истории рока многие критиковали этот жанр, но одним из самых известных людей, осуждавших его, был Фрэнк Синатра. И кто бы мог подумать, что этот человек был против рок-н-ролла… Но это действительно так. В 1957 году Синатра написал небольшую статью для французского журнала Western World. В статье он обсуждает состояние американской музыки, и что касается рок-н-ролла — у него не было ничего, кроме презрения к этому жанру… Вот небольшой отрывок:

«Моё единственное глубокое сожаление — это безжалостная настойчивость звукозаписывающих и кинокомпаний на избрании самой жестокой, уродливой, дегенеративной, порочной формы выражения, которую мне было неприятно слышать — естественно, я имею в виду большую часть рок-н-ролла. Это вызывает почти полностью отрицательные и деструктивные реакции у молодых людей. Пахнет фальшивкой! Благодаря почти идиотским повторениям и хитрой, непристойной — на самом деле грязной — лирике эта музыка умудряется быть боевой для всех! Это прогорклый афродизиак, о котором я сожалею…»

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...