Author:
Category:

Go Your Own Way (1977) - Fleetwood Mac - All about the song ...

The story of Go Your Own Way is songs about love and parting.

The history of the song "Go Your Own Way" (Go your own way ...)

"Go Your Own Way" is a famous hit by the British-American rock band Fleetwood Mac. The composition was released as part of the Rumors album in 1977. Very quickly, the track gained popularity on both sides of the Atlantic! Written and performed by Lindsey Buckingham, it was the band's first top ten hit in the US! The song was also critically acclaimed and was later included in Rolling Stone magazine's "Greatest Rock Songs of All Time" list! The track was recorded in three separate studios, and in general - it took about 4 months to complete! As is the case with most of the tracks from the Rumors album, all the instrumental parts were recorded separately (and then overdubbed) ... As for the lyrics, “Go Your Own Way” is a romanticized breakup song.

A bit about the album: why is Rumors considered the most unique Fleetwood Mac record?

Rumours by Fleetwood Mac is included in the lists of the "best albums of the 70s" and "best albums of all time", and is also one of the best-selling records in history ... The disc includes real masterpieces of rock music: "Dreams", "You Make Loving Fun", "The Chain" and others... The album also includes the composition "Go Your Own Way", which will be discussed today.

During the recording of Rumors, there was a rather tense atmosphere in the band. It was during this period that Christine and John McVie separated after 8 years of marriage, and Mick Fleetwood was in prostration after he found out that his wife was cheating on him ... As for Lindsey Buckingham and Stevie Nicks, this couple was going through a stormy romance, accompanied by eternal convergence - partings. As if each of them periodically flipped a toggle switch on / off.

6vold27qmncjhgq6u2jentwpxe
Lindsey Buckingham and Christine McVie today

However, despite the nervousness of the musicians, Rumours was recorded. Furthermore! It is generally accepted that it was thanks to the emotional intensity during the recording period that the album became the pinnacle of Fleetwood Mac's work!

48134b3c6e654a87ad7d29c33fdae318
Stevie Nicks

Writing Go Your Own Way…

Regarding the track "Go Your Own Way"then Lindsey Buckingham wrote it as an appeal to Stevie. It was his vision of their difficult relationship. There is a line in the song: Packing up, shacking up is all you want to do Stevie was angered by these words, and she demanded that Lindsey cross them out, but he did not do this ...

“I was very offended when he told the whole world that “packing things and parting” with people is all I want. He knew it wasn't true. It was written in anger. Every time these words were heard from the stage, I wanted to kill him. He knew this too, and deliberately pressed on the pain point. It looked like: "I will make you suffer for leaving me." And I suffered,” Stevie said in a 2015 interview with SOS.

Fleetwood Mac have always been known for writing about drama within the group, and "Go Your Own Way" is no exception. In turn, Lindsey Buckingham said:

“That song, Go Your Own Way, started out almost like a stream of consciousness… The lyrics were the beginning of my conversation with Stevie…”

It is noteworthy that Buckingham not only took on the role of poet, but also orchestrated many of the instrumental parts of Fleetwood Mac songs. After writing the lyrics for "Go Your Own Way", he began to form the basis of the song... It's worth noting that the song was inspired by the Rolling Stones' "Street Fighting Man". Today, "Go Your Own Way" is known as a guitar track, and it really is: basically, the track is six-string oriented... Lindsey Buckingham originally wanted to take two completely different guitar sounds, one "dirty" and one "clean", and combine them together to create one rich guitar part. At the same time, he managed to maintain an upbeat tone, while at the same time emphasizing the emotionally controversial lyrics in the chorus ... The bitterness of poetic lyrics is often lost in this song. Later, in years to come, the heavy and personal "Go Your Own Way" would become Fleetwood Mac's hallmark of every live concert! The band will perform this ballad without a hint of the resentment that fed it ... As, in fact, the composition "Dreams" - a message from Buckingham from Stevie Nicks! As the performer herself says:

“'Dreams' and 'Go Your Own Way' are what I call 'twin songs'. It's the same song written by two people about the same relationship..."

According to Buckingham, while writing "Go Your Own Way", he not only revealed his feelings about the recent end of a relationship, but also realized the overall importance of the song as a way to "accept the fact that there are far more global problems than personal ...

Success, impact...

It was the first single from Rumors and became one of the band's best-selling singles... Later, National Car Rental used it in commercials as part of an advertising campaign based on the title. In addition, "Go Your Own Way" was Fleetwood Mac's only number one inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a genre-shaping song! As Stevie Nicks said in an interview: "Destruction leads to writing good things." And it's really hard to argue with this belief... Without a doubt, "Go Your Own Way" is a really good thing that boasts a beautiful pop melody, exquisite vocal harmonies, dynamic chorus and Buckingham's brilliant guitar solo... Today, more than 40 years later, the composition is still a big hit, which often becomes a source of inspiration and the basis for creating often amazing covers!

Conclusion…

"Go Your Own Way", although it sounds cheerful and melodic, is one of the saddest breakup songs. Lindsey was head over heels in love with Stevie Nicks, and she wanted something different from life. And Buckingham poured out his pain through simple but beautiful lyrics: I would give you my world if you want it, but if you won't take it from me, you can just go your own way…/I would give you my world if you want it, but if you don't want to take it, you can go your own way...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Автор:

Категория:

Go Your Own Way (1977) – Fleetwood Mac – Всё о песне…

История Go Your Own Way – песни о любви и расставании.

История песни «Go Your Own Way» (Иди своим путём…)

«Go Your Own Way» — знаменитый хит британо-американской рок-группы Fleetwood Mac. Композиция вышла в рамках альбома Rumors в 1977 году. Очень быстро трек завоевал популярность по обе стороны Атлантики! Написанный и исполненный Линдси Бакингемом, он стал первым хитом коллектива, ворвавшимся в десятку лучших в США! Песня также была тепло принята критиками, а позже она вошла в список «величайших рок-песен всех времен» журнала Rolling Stone! Трек записывался в трёх отдельных студиях, и в целом — на него ушло около 4-х месяцев! Как и в случае с большинством треков с альбома Rumors, все инструментальные партии записывались отдельно (после чего накладывались друг на друга)… Что касается лирики, то «Go Your Own Way» — это романтизированная песня о расставании.

Немного об альбоме: почему Rumours считается самой уникальной записью Fleetwood Mac?

Альбом Rumours рок-группы Fleetwood Mac входит в списки «лучших альбомов 70-х» и «лучших альбомов всех времён», а также является одной из самых продаваемых пластинок в истории… Диск включает настоящие шедевры рок-музыки: «Dreams», «You Make Loving Fun», «The Chain» и другие… В альбом также вошла и композиция «Go Your Own Way», о которой сегодня и пойдёт речь.

Во время записи Rumours в группе царила довольно напряжённая атмосфера. Именно в это период Кристин и Джон МакВи разошлись после 8 лет брака, а Мик Флитвуд находился в прострации после того как узнал, что его жена изменяет ему… Что же касается Линдси Бакингема и Стиви Никс, то эта парочка переживала бурный роман, сопровождавшийся вечными схождениями-расставаниями. Словно каждый из них периодически щёлкал тумблером вкл/выкл.

6vold27qmncjhgq6u2jentwpxe
Линдси Бакингем и Кристин МакВи в наши дни

Однако, несмотря на нервозность музыкантов, Rumours был-таки записан. Более того! Принято считать, что именно благодаря эмоциональному накалу в период записи альбом и стал-таки вершиной творчества Fleetwood Mac!

48134b3c6e654a87ad7d29c33fdae318
Стиви Никс

Написание Go Your Own Way…

Что касается трека «Go Your Own Way»то Линдси Бакингем написал его как обращение к Стиви. Это было его видение их непростых отношений. В песне есть строчка: Packing up, shacking up is all you want to do/Собрать вещи, расстаться, это всё что тебе хочется сделать. Стиви эти слова разозлили, и она требовала, чтобы Линдси вычеркнул их, но он не стал этого делать…

«Я очень обиделась, когда он заявил на весь мир, что «собирать вещи и расставаться» с людьми — это все, что я хочу. Он знал, что это не правда. Это было написано в гневе. Каждый раз, когда эти слова звучали со сцены, мне хотелось убить его. Он знал и это, и специально давил на болевую точку. Это выглядело как: «Я заставлю тебя страдать за то, что ты бросила меня». И я страдала», — рассказывала Стиви в 2015 году в интервью SOS.

Fleetwood Mac всегда были известны тем, что писали о драме внутри группы, и «Go Your Own Way» не исключение. В свою очередь Линдси Бакингем сказал:

«Эта песня, «Иди своей дорогой», началась почти как «поток сознания»… Текст был началом моего разговора со Стиви…»

Примечательно то, что Бакингем не только взял на себя роль поэта, но и оркестровал многие инструментальные партии песен Fleetwood Mac. После написания текста к «Go Your Own Way», он начал составлять основу песни… Стоит заметить, что песня была вдохновлена «Street Fighting Man» группы Rolling Stones. Сегодня «Go Your Own Way» известна как гитарная композиция, и это действительно так: в основном, трек ориентирован на шестиструнным инструмент… Изначально Линдси Бакингем хотел взять два совершенно разных гитарных звука, один «грязный» и один «чистый», и соединить их вместе, чтобы создать одну богатую гитарную партию. При этом ему удалось сохранить приподнятый тон, одновременно подчеркивая эмоционально противоречивую лирику в припеве… В этой песне часто теряется горечь стихотворной лирики. Позже, через годы, тяжёлая и личная «Go Your Own Way» станет для Fleetwood Mac визитной карточкой каждого живого концерта! Группа будет исполнять эту балладу без намека на негодование, которое ее питало… Как, собственно, и композицию «Dreams» — послание Бакингему от Стиви Никс! Как говорит сама исполнительница:

««Dreams» и «Go Your Own Way» — это то, что я называю «песнями-близнецами». Это одна и та же песня, написанная двумя людьми об одних и тех же отношениях…»

Со слов Бакингема, во время написания «Go Your Own Way» он не только раскрыл свои чувства, связанные с недавним прекращением отношений, но и осознал общую важность песни как способа «принять тот факт, что существуют куда более глобальные проблемы, помимо личных…

Успех, влияние…

Это был первый сингл с альбома Rumors, который стал одним из самых продаваемых за всю историю группы… Позже компания National Car Rental использовала его в рекламных роликах как часть рекламной кампании, основанной на названии. Помимо этого, «Go Your Own Way» стал для Fleetwood Mac единственным номером один, вошедшим в Зал славы рок-н-ролла как песня, сформировавшая данный жанр! Как сказала в своём интервью Стиви Никс: «Разрушение ведет к написанию хороших вещей». И с этим убеждением действительно трудно поспорить… Без сомнения, «Go Your Own Way» — действительно хорошая вещь, которая может похвастаться красивой поп-мелодией, изысканными вокальными гармониями, динамичным припевом и блестящим гитарным соло Бакингема… Сегодня, спустя более чем 40 лет, композиция по-прежнему остаётся большим хитом, который часто становится источником вдохновения и основой для создания зачастую потрясающих каверов!

Заключение…

«Go Your Own Way», хоть и звучит бодро и мелодично, – одна из самых грустных песен о расставании. Линдси был по уши влюблён в Стиви Никс, а она хотела от жизни чего-то другого. И свою боль Бакингем выплеснул через простую, но красивую лирику: I would give you my world if you want it, but if you won’t take it from me, you can just go your own way…/Я бы отдал тебе мой мир, если ты этого захочешь, но если ты не хочешь взять его, ты можешь идти своим путём…

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...