Author:

Category:

Do you remember the main theme from the movie "Ghostbusters" - about the song "Ghostbusters"

At first, the musician was suspicious of this task, however, he eventually wrote the song in just a few days! Luckily, Ray found inspiration that same evening...

One Song Story - "Ghostbusters" by Ray Parker Jr. (from the movie "Ghostbusters")

The film "Ghostbusters" 1984 of the year is perfectly familiar to everyone (well, or almost ...) And no less than the action-packed line, the audience remembered its main theme - a charming track ghost busters performed Ray Parker Jr.! The song quickly gained popularity, and soon after the release (less than 2 months) took the first line of the chart Billboard Hot 100! Not without intrigue: a lawsuit was filed against Ray Parker Jr.! Actually, first things first… How did the Ghostbusters theme come about, and what does it have to do with it? Huey Lewis and his group The News? Let's start studying!

How it all began - background and prerequisites

Poster for the film "Ghostbusters" (1984)
Poster for the film "Ghostbusters" (1984)

ghost busters - theme music for a film featuring stars such as Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Harold Ramis, Sigourney Weaver and others. According to the stories Ray Parker Jr., the filmmakers approached him with a request to write and record a musical theme for their motion picture. The musician recalls that he had about two days to work, and ... it seemed impossible, if only because the name of the cult fantasy comedy seemed impossible to include in the lyrics of the song, not to mention the title ... And no matter how Parker Jr. resisted, producer Ivan Reitman insisted on it. At first, the musician was suspicious of this task, however, he eventually wrote the song in just a few days! Luckily, Ray found inspiration that same evening! Actually, his word:

“Late in the evening, I turned on the TV and came across this cheap advertisement for a local service. And then it dawned on me! I suddenly remembered that there was a similar ad for a fictional business in the movie! Soon I was writing lyrics for Ghostbusters. I imagined this track in the form of a pseudo-advertisement that a business could order as a promotion ... "

Ray Parker Jr.
Ray Parker Jr.

In another interview, many years after the release of the film and the single, Ray Parker Jr. reasoned:

“Today it sounds… usually, simple. Simply because you have already heard and know this song. But if someone told you to write an entire song based on the words "Ghostbusters", it would be quite a difficult task for you! That was the hardest part, getting the name on the song…”

Parker added that he asked his girlfriend and her friends to shout out the title of the chorus as he didn't want to sing it. A renowned session musician, he played most of the instruments on the track.

Well: if you believe the estimates of experts, it is the musical theme ghost busters added to box office 20 million dollars! It sounds pretty weighty... Especially considering the fact that this track was born from a "cheap" (as he himself put it) Ray Parker JR) a television advertisement from one of the local services ...

Trial

Huey Lewis
Huey Lewis

Few people know, but Ray Parker Jr. was not the first candidate in the list of filmmakers! The first proposal to record the topic was received Lindsey Buckingham, which - by that time - had already proven itself well, however ... he refused, saying that he did not want to be known as a soundtrack performer. But as it turned out, not only he was on the list of candidates ...

Once the film hit the big screens, Huey Lewis sued Ray Parker Jr., accusing him of plagiarism (there is an obvious similarity of the melody in "Ghostbusters" and the song "I Want a New Drug"). It turned out that Lewis also tried his hand at writing the theme, however ... all his efforts were in vain, and the producers rejected his candidacy. And what was his surprise when he heard a painfully familiar melody in the film "Ghostbusters"repeating his own song released less than six months ago!

In the end, the parties came to a mutual agreement out of court. At first, the amount was not disclosed (the musicians signed a confidentiality agreement), but many years later Huey Lewis lifted the veil of secrecy: it turned out Parker paid him about 5 million dollars! After that now Ray sued Lewis for violating the confidentiality agreement… He would later say:

“I got a lot of money from this!”

Ray Parker Jr.
Ray Parker Jr.

Only in 2004 year, the situation with plagiarism cleared up: the filmmakers admitted that they used the song "I Want a New Drug" as temporary background music in many scenes… They later transferred the materials Parker (with track Lewis in the background), and, apparently, he was very inspired ...

Music video

The actress took part in the filming of the music video Cindy Harrellthat haunts the ghost Parker

The clip ends with Parker and the movie stars are dancing in the streets New York! Remarkably, the film crew closed Times Squarehowever… we can still see a significant crowd of people in the background!

10kFollowers

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Related Articles

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

"I'm the Best Bassist in the World": Remembering Jaco Pastorius, one of the most legendary bassists in history

Jaco Pastorius - the story of his ascent, his "conquest of the world with the bass" and his tragic finale Jaco Pastorius is a bright, brilliant and very brazen bassist who became a legend. His name is...

They have no equal - let's remember the legendary jazz performers that millions of people have tried to imitate

Remembering the best jazz artists of all time Many describe jazz music as rhythmic, emotional, free and fluid. This legendarily famous and for many decades now...

Geezer Butler: surprising facts about the "unholy" Black Sabbath bassist

What You Didn't Know About Geezer Butler - Top Surprising Facts About the Black Sabbath Legend Geezer Butler is a Black Sabbath legend and the most "unholy"...

The Worst Hard Rock Albums by Fuzz Music Magazine

Why These Are The Worst Albums In Hard Rock History Commercialism isn't so bad, but only if it's "tasteful" and "in moderation. It's...

"The maestro of progressive metal" - meet John Petrucci

A little history of John Petrucci, one of the best guitarists of our time Progressive rock was a product of psychedelic rock. It was more of an instrumental and compositional approach to...

Randy California: a hero who admires fortitude and great guitar playing

Remembering Randy California, one of the legendary guitarists of the last century Randy California is one of the most legendary guitarists and the greatest father-heroes in history. He was brilliant and...

Rory Gallagher and his wonderful acoustic style

Remembering one of the greatest guitarists Rory Gallagher Rory Gallagher passed away in 1995, and the world literally gasped and was sadly horrified: he was truly...

Автор:

Категория:

А вы помните главную тему из фильма «Охотники за привидениями» – о песне «Ghostbusters»

Поначалу музыкант с подозрением относился к этому заданию, однако — в конечном итоге написал песню всего за несколько дней! К счастью, вдохновение само нашло Рэя в тот же вечер...

История одной песни – «Ghostbusters» Рэя Паркера-младшего (из фильма «Охотники за привидениями»)

Фильм «Охотники за привидениями» 1984 года прекрасно знаком каждому (ну или почти…) И не менее, чем остросюжетная линия, запомнилась зрителям главная его тема — очаровательный трек «Ghostbusters» в исполнении Рэя Паркера-младшего! Песня быстро приобрела известность, и вскоре после выхода (менее чем за 2 месяца) заняла первую строчку чарта Billboard Hot 100! Не обошлось и без интриг: на Рэя Паркера-младшего был подан судебный иск! Собственно, обо всём по порядку… Как появилась тема «Ghostbusters», и причём тут Хьюи Льюис и его группа The News? Приступим к изучению!

С чего всё начиналось – фон и предпосылки

Афиша фильма «Охотники за привидениями» (1984)
Афиша фильма «Охотники за привидениями» (1984)

«Ghostbusters» — музыкальная тема для фильма с участием таких звёзд, как Билл Мюррей, Дэн Эйкройд, Гарольд Рамис, Сигурни Уивер и других. По рассказам Рэя Паркера-младшего, создатели фильма обратились к нему с просьбой написать и записать музыкальную тему для их кинокартины. Музыкант вспоминает, что на работу у него было порядка двух дней, и… она казалась невыполнимой хотя бы потому, что название культовой фэнтези-комедии казалось невозможным включить в текст песни, не говоря уже о названии… И как бы Паркер-младший не сопротивлялся, режиссёр Айван Райтман настоял на своём. Поначалу музыкант с подозрением относился к этому заданию, однако — в конечном итоге написал песню всего за несколько дней! К счастью, вдохновение само нашло Рэя в тот же вечер! Собственно, ему слово:

«Поздним вечером я включил телевизор, и наткнулся на эту дешёвую рекламу местной службы. И тут меня осенило! Я резко вспомнил, что в фильме была аналогичная реклама для вымышленного бизнеса! Вскоре я уже писал текст для «Ghostbusters». Я представлял этот трек в виде псевдорекламы, которую бизнес мог бы заказать в качестве промоушена…»

Рэй Паркер младший
Рэй Паркер младший

В другом своём интервью, уже много лет спустя после выхода фильма и сингла, Рэй Паркер-младший рассуждал:

«Сегодня это звучит… обычно, просто. Просто потому, что вы уже слышали и знаете эту песню. Но если бы кто-то сказал вам написать целую песню, отталкиваясь от слов «Охотники за привидениями», это оказалось бы довольно сложным для вас заданием! Это была самая сложная часть — получить название в песне…»

Паркер добавил, что он попросил свою девушку и её друзей выкрикивать название припева, так как он не хотел его петь. Известный сессионный музыкант, он играл на большинстве инструментов на треке.

Что ж: если верить оценкам экспертов, именно музыкальная тема «Ghostbusters» добавила к кассовым сборам 20 миллионов долларов! Звучит довольно весомо… Особенно, учитывая тот факт, что родился данный трек из «дешёвой» (как выразился сам Ray Parker JR) телевизионной рекламы одной из местных служб…

Судебное разбирательство

Хьюи Льюис
Хьюи Льюис

Мало кто знает, но Рэй Паркер-младший был далеко не первой кандидатурой в списке создателей фильма! Первое предложение записать тему поступило Линдси Бакингему, который — к тому моменту — уже хорошо себя зарекомендовал, однако… он дал отказ, заявив, что не хотел прослыть исполнителем саундтреков. Но как оказалось, в списке кандидатов был не только он…

Как только фильм вышел на большие экраны, Хьюи Льюис подал в суд Рэя Паркера-младшего, обвинив его в плагиате (присутствует очевидная схожесть мелодии в «Ghostbusters» и песне «I Want a New Drug»). Выяснилось, что Льюис тоже пробовал свои силы в написании темы, однако… все его старания были тщетны, и продюсеры отвергли его кандидатуру. И каково же было его удивление, когда он услышал до боли знакомую мелодию в фильме «Охотники за привидениями», повторяющую его собственную песню, выпущенную менее чем полгода назад!

В конце концов, стороны пришли к обоюдному согласию во внесудебном порядке. Поначалу сумма не разглашалась (музыкантами было подписано соглашение о конфиденциальности), однако много лет спустя Хьюи Льюис приоткрыл завесу тайны: оказалось, Паркер заплатил ему около 5-ти миллионов долларов! После этого теперь уже Рэй подал в суд на Льюиса за нарушение соглашения о конфиденциальности… Позже он скажет:

«Я получил на этом много денег!»

Рэй Паркер младший
Рэй Паркер младший

Лишь в 2004 году ситуация с плагиатом прояснилась: создатели фильма признались, что использовали песню «I Want a New Drug» в качестве временной фоновой музыки во многих сценах… Позже они передали материалы Паркеру (с треком Льюиса на заднем плане), и, по всей видимости, тот очень вдохновился…

Музыкальное видео

В съёмках музыкального ролика приняла участие актриса Синди Харрелл, который не дает покоя призрак Паркера

Клип заканчивается тем, что Паркер и звёзды фильма танцуют на улицах Нью-Йорка! Примечательно, но съёмочная группа закрыла Times Square, однако… на заднем плане мы всё ещё можем видеть значительную толпу людей!

9kFollowers

RY X — «Blood Moon» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Blood Moon» (2022) от RY X Рай Каминг, более известный под псевдонимом RY X поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который получил название «Blood...

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Похожие статьи

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...