Author:
Category:

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

How to write quality viral songs and what is the secret of modern rappers' success? Find out from the hero of our article, Swedish rapper Young Lin, who released his most recognizable track as a teenager. The complicated path from slum boy to famous rapper for you today.

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. 

What is behind the success of the world's stars - quality production, talent, or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that the popularity of some artists increases after a long time? after the release of their tracks? This fate haunts more than one generation of musicians, including the hero of our article. Today, let's find out how rapper Yung Lean The fact that his tracks are light and sweet at first glance makes him popular on the Internet.

Why did the song become popular? 

Yung Lean
Yung Lean

Song "Ginseng Strip 2002." Swedish rapper Yung Lean was released on a mini-album Lavender in 2013. The producer was a friend and colleague of the musician Yung Gud. The clip of the same name on the YouTube video-hosting site became popular in the year of the track's release, but received mixed reviews. Journalist John Bromwich wrote about mediocre the manner in which the song is sung, and that the singer looks more like a fanatical schoolboy who recorded parody to gangster rap. He also noted that Lin's lyrics are unnatural and even look clumsy in symbiosis with his movements performed in the video. Cecilia Morales, a journalist for The Ithacan, wrote that the musician gained notoriety for producing other videos that are so bad they are even good.

The song became more popular thanks to the viral trend of the TikTok. One line from "Ginseng Strip 2002" was taken by users to express devotion to something or someone: "Bitches come and go (brah), but you know I stay. Lin's song was filmed over 10 million rollers in TicToc.

Who is Young Lin?

Young Lean x Sad Boys Type Beat LeanBoyz
Young Lean x Sad Boys Type Beat LeanBoyz

Junatan Aron Leander Hastadknown by his stage name Yung Lean, was born in Minsk in 1996 to the Swedish poet Kristoffer Leandoer and the human rights activist Elsa Hastad. His maternal grandfather, Arnold Wesker, was a playwright of British-Jewish descent. Three years later, Unathan's family moved to Stockholmwhere the boy spent his teenage years. Lin grew up in the Södermalm neighborhood, long considered a working-class abode. It was also called "slum area.". During his high school years, Hustad was repeatedly spotted using drugs; at age 15, was sentenced to probation for smoking marijuana.

You could say that following his father, the boy began to show an interest in writing lyrics, but for the most part his work was influenced by 50 Cent and his 2003 debut album Get Rich or Die Tryin', as well as rappers Mitt Kvarter and Nas.

Who the Swedish ghetto is behind

Yung Lean and Swedish rapper Bladee
Yung Lean and Swedish rapper Bladee

A friend of Young Lin's Yung GudI met him back in 2012. It was he who became producer Lin's debut album.

Hood talked about the first time he met Hasted in his book How I First Met Young Lin. They met in the park and had a few beers, and afterwards they decided to do something musically and cool. That's how the track came about. "Oreomilkshake, made literally in the basement of Young Lin's house. Listeners note that Hood's lush and melodic beats were the perfect complement to Hasted's lyrics.

Young Hood admits that Lin's work makes people feel any the sensesWhether it's joy or anger, this is the young rapper's greatest virtue.

In addition to Young, Lina Goode has collaborated with rappers S-Type, Deniro Farrar, produced an additional recording of the singer's track "Strange Love". Halsey from the gift edition of her debut album.

A lot of songs, both from mixtapes and studio albums, Lin has recorded with the rapper BladeeThe band Drain Gang, a member of the band Drain Gang. There are about 6 of their joint tracks on Lin's releases alone. It's worth noting that Hustead had time to collaborate with ASAP Ferg. and Travis Scott.

What is this song really about?

Yang Lin at the Manage Cookie concert
Yang Lin at the Manage Cookie concert

Based on the translation of the viral lines of the song, we can say that the song has a rather prosaic meaning: the singer says that no matter what, he will stand by his "bro.". However, the light motif of the track and these lines do not tell about the strong friendship of the guys from the ghetto.

Mimicking his idols, to whom the musician turned in his early years, Lin sings about the most rapper things: drugs, clubs, and girls. The theme of drugs runs through Young Lin's life and work - in his early years, addiction began to take a turn, and in 2015, the rapper was hospitalized with an overdose when he was in Miami recording his 2nd studio album. The title of the track translates to "Ginseng Stripe." - is a slang term for a drug in the form of a white powder.

The composition "Ginseng Strip 2002" is based on a fairly simple formula, classic for claud-rap: a slightly lazy reading about drugs and depression, swaggered movements and pop culture references. If you read the lyrics, you might take the manner of his writing to be humorous, even unpleasant, but that didn't stop the musician from gathering an audience with the 2002 single "Ginseng Strip".

As of now, the number of views on Young Lin's music video is over 78 million.

They sang about the things that surrounded people in the 90's - let's remember the main hits of «Combination»: Top 5

Top 5 best songs of the band Combination Cult for the generation of "deficit" 90's band "Combination" began its activity in the late 80's. Despite the years that have passed, at heart...

The charming Emmylou Harris is a country music legend

Country singer Emmylou Harris: biography, art, discography, awards Folk and country music are often left behind the popularity that other genres of music have, particularly rock or hip-hop....

They sang about something that touched everyone: «Combination» - the most relevant pop band of the 90s

Everything about the band "Combination": creation history, concerts, contemporaries At the turn of the 80's and 90's a lot is changing on the domestic scene. In the place of strict and touching songs...
Related Articles

More than fellow members: iconic bands that never changed the lineup

Rock bands that never changed their lineup - list, photos and names, interesting facts The history of music knows a huge number of rock bands. This form of music-making is currently...

That song from «The Bodyguard»: the meaning is deeper

All about the song "I Will Always Love You": creation history, performance, success It often happens that between artists who perform the same song, but in different styles,...

Valery Didyulya was left without music

Valery Didiuli's Muse: how the musician's family broke up Often celebrity couples try not to give publicity to disagreements within the family. But sooner or later the stars also need ...

"What I'd Say" is a chic rock 'n' roll from Jose Feliciano that will cheer anyone up

Musician Jose Feliciano - discography of the great guitarist, creativity, awards Nowadays Latin American musicians are reaching a new level: they easily conquer the world stage and acquire...

Muddy Waters and Mick Jagger rock out on stage - the best collab in blues history

Bluesmen Muddy Waters and Mick Jagger: biography, collaboration, joint performance Collaborations between rock musicians are not a new phenomenon. The Beatles and Eric Clapton, Queen and David...

The story of a sweet-voiced beauty: Hope Sandoval

All about singer Hope Sandoval: youth, star rise and success Sometimes underground artists don't want to become famous because the big labels that find them after some...

The Residents - the most mysterious rock band in history

All about the band The Residents: the history of emergence, mystique and style In the music industry, there are quite a few musicians who have become popular due to their originality. Such performers are usually...

Автор:
Категория:

Милая песня оказалась гангста-рэпом из Швеции: рассказываем про Ginseng Strip 2002

Как писать качественные вирусные песни и в чем секрет успеха современных рэперов? Узнайте у героя нашей статьи - шведского рэпера Янг Лина, который выпустил свой самый узнаваемый трек будучи еще подростком. Сложный путь от мальчика из трущоб до известного рэпера сегодня для вас.

Yung Lean – популярность, песни, биография музыканта. 

Что стоит за успехом мировых звезд – качественный продакшн, талант или нечто иное? Тогда как объяснить то, что популярность некоторых артистов возрастает через большое время после релиза их треков? Такая судьба преследует не одно поколение музыкантов, в том числе и героя нашей статьи. Сегодня узнаем, как рэпер Yung Lean обрел популярность в интернете и какой смысл несут его легкие и милые на первый взгляд треки.

Почему песня стала популярной? 

Yung Lean
Yung Lean

Песня «Ginseng Strip 2002» шведского рэпера Yung Lean вышла на мини-альбоме Lavender в 2013 году. Продюсером стал друг и коллега музыканта Yung Gud. Одноименный клип на видео-хостинге YouTube снискал популярность еще в год релиза трека, однако получил неоднозначные оценки. Журналист Джон Бромвич написал о посредственной манере исполнения песни, и о том, что певец больше походит на фанатичного школьника, записавшего пародию на гангстерский рэп. Также он отметил, что лирика Лина неестественна и даже выглядит неуклюже в симбиозе с его движениями, исполняющимися в видеоролике. Сесилия Моралес, журналистка The Ithacan, написала, что музыкант получил известность благодаря продюсированию других клипов, которые настолько плохи, что даже хороши.

Более широкую популярность композиция обрела благодаря вирусному тренду на нее в TikTok. Одну строчку из «Ginseng Strip 2002» пользователи взяли для выражения преданности чему-либо или кому-либо: «Bitches come and go (brah), but you know I stay». На песню Лина было снято свыше 10 миллионов роликов в ТикТок.

Кто такой Янг Лин?

Young Lean x Sad Boys Type Beat LeanBoyz
Young Lean x Sad Boys Type Beat LeanBoyz

Юнатан Арон Леандёр Хастад, известный под сценическим именем Yung Lean, родился в Минске в 1996 году в семье шведского поэта  Кристоффера Леандоера и правозащитницы Эльзы Хастад. Его дедушка по матери – Арнольд Вескер, – был драматургом британско-еврейского происхождения. Через 3 года семья Юнатана переехала в Стокгольм, где мальчик провел свои юношеские годы. Лин вырос в районе Седермальм, который долгое время считался обителью рабочего класса. Также его называли «районом трущоб». Во время учебы в средней школе Хастад не раз был замечен за употреблением наркотиков; в возрасте 15 лет за курение марихуаны был приговорен к испытательному сроку.

Можно сказать, что вслед за отцом мальчик стал проявлять интерес к написанию текстов, но в большинстве своем на его творчество повлияли 50 Cent и его дебютный альбом «Get Rich or Die Tryin’» 2003 года, а также рэперы Mitt Kvarter и Nas.

За кем стоит шведское гетто

Yung Lean и шведский рэпер Bladee
Yung Lean и шведский рэпер Bladee

Друг Янг Лина – Yung Gud, – познакомился с ним в далеком 2012 году. Именно он стал продюсером дебютного альбома Лина.

Гуд рассказывал о первой встрече с Хастедом в своей книге «Как я впервые встретил Янг Лина». Они встретились в парке и выпили немного пива, а после решили сделать что-то музыкально и классное. Так появился трек «Oreomilkshake», сделанный буквально в подвале дома Янг Лина. Слушатели отмечают, что сочные и мелодичные биты Гуда были прекрасным дополнением к текстам Хастеда.

Янг Гуд признается, что творчество Лина заставляет людей испытывать какие-либо чувства, – будь то радость или злость, – и в этом есть главное достоинство молодого рэпера.

Кроме Янг Лина Гуд сотрудничал с рэперами S-Type, Deniro Farrar, продюсировал дополнительную запись трека «Strange Love» певицы Холзи с подарочного издания ее дебютного альбома.

Множество песен, как с микстейпов, так и со студийных альбомов, Лин записал с рэпером Bladee, участником коллектива «Drain Gang». Только на релизах Лина их совместных треков насчитывается около 6. Стоит отметить, что Хастед успел посотрудничать с ASAP Ferg и Travis Scott.

О чем на самом деле эта песня?

Янг Лин на концерте Manage Cookie
Янг Лин на концерте Manage Cookie

Исходя из перевода вирусных строчек песни можно сказать, что песня несет в себе смысл довольно прозаичный: певец говорит о том, что несмотря ни на что, он будет рядом со своим «бро». Однако легкий мотив трека и эти строчки не рассказывают о крепкой дружбе парней из гетто.

Подражая своим кумирам, к которым музыкант обращался еще в ранние годы, Лин поет о самых что ни на есть рэперских вещах: наркотиках, клубах и девушках. Тема наркотиков красной нитью проходит через жизнь и творчество Янг Лина – в его ранние годы зависимость начала принимать обороты, а в 2015 году рэпер был госпитализирован с передозировкой, когда был в Майами и записывал свой 2 студийный альбом. Название трека с английского переводится как «Полоска женьшеня» – это сленговое обозначение наркотического средства в виде белого порошка.

Композиция «Ginseng Strip 2002» строится на довольно простой формуле, классической для клауд-рэпа: слегка ленивое чтение о наркотиках и депрессии, размазанные движения и отсылки к поп-культуре. Если вчитаться в текст, можно принять манеру его написания за шутливую, даже неприятную, однако это не помешало музыканту собрать аудиторию с синглом «Ginseng Strip 2002».

На данным момент количество просмотров на клипе Янг Лина насчитывается свыше 78 миллионов.

Как сложилась карьера Сергея Захарова после тюрьмы: непростая история знаменитого баритона СССР

Жизненный путь эстрадного певца Сергея Захарова Эстрада появилась в 60-х годах прошлого столетия как неповторимый стиль советской песни. По сравнению с современной российской поп-музыкой она...

«Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: последняя песня, исполненная королём Пресли

Всё о песне «Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain»: когда и кем была исполнена, история и каверы Потеря кумиров всегда очень травматичное событие, но как...

Лемми Килмистер и его лучшие роли в кино

Всё о Лемми Килмистере: успех группы, роли в кино, байопик о легенде Рок-звёзды, сделавшие музыку своей жизнью и внёсшие огромный вклад в развитие жанра, проявляли...
Похожие статьи

Знаменитый хит группы «Ноль», клип к которому видел каждый

История песни «Иду, курю» группы «Ноль»: интересные факты, клип «Песня о безответной любви к Родине» – альбом с безусловными хитами, который входит в число знаковых...

В составе рок-групп они были мировыми легендами, но «соло» позабылись даже поклонникам

Участники культовых рок-групп, которые пытались, но не сумели построить ослепительную сольную карьеру Историй о том, как после ухода из группы музыканты сумели построить ослепительную сольную...

Она подарила детство: вспоминаем легендарную Елену Камбурову

Всё о Елене Камбуровой: детство, развитие творчества, известность Не каждый зритель может по достоинству оценить душевный вклад артиста в творчество, однако есть люди, которые понимают...

Он исполнил лучшие хиты начала 2000-х – где сегодня Сергей Жуков

Всё о Сергее Жукове: ранние годы, создание группы, факты В 90-е годы в России происходят колоссальные изменения. Новый виток истории рождается и в музыке: на...

Крутые песни Цоя, которые слышали только самые преданные поклонники

Малоизвестные песни Цоя, которые могут претендовать на звание хитов «Кино» – одна из самых необычных групп в истории русского рока. С одной стороны – ею...

Крутые каверы на хиты русского рока и одна прекрасная пародия – Топ-6

«Звёздные» кавер-версии на знаменитые композиции русского рока Каверы сейчас проживают в музыкальном бизнесе «новую жизнь». Некоторые перепевки становятся настолько известными, что затмевают оригинальные композиции. Так,...

Где сегодня «Земляне» – группа, чьи хиты напевал весь СССР

Все о группе «Земляне»: история создания, творчество, хиты У групп, начавших свою историю во времена Советского Союза, история богата событиями. Сейчас можно найти не так...

Британские рокеры, которых обожали в СССР

Топ британских рокеров, которых обожали в СССР Несмотря на все запреты и трудности, вызванные «добычей» пластинок с подобной музыкой, в Советском Союзе зарубежный рок-н-ролл просто...

Gibson: история одного бренда, который чуть не утратил доверие рок-звёзд

Gibson: история создания бренда, успехи и неудачи В истории каждой знаменитой фирмы есть свои взлеты и падения. Практически невозможно найти бренд, который на протяжении всего...