Author:
Category:

Happy Nation (1992) - Ace of Base - All about the song

"This is an anti-fascist song! You could say that 'Happy Nation' is an anthem of life..."

A hit from the '90s that everyone remembers. The Happy Nation Story

"Happy Nation" is a world famous hit of Ace of Base, first released in Scandinavia in 1992. Today this song is well known to every listener - both to true "old-school" and modern generation of music lovers: it is often used in TV, various entertaining commercials, and simply does not disappear from the radio for several decades already! And no wonder: the hit-track has a bright positive sound! Simply said - it's hard not to dance to this tune... It's a dance pop hit with a medium tempo. It also has a strong influence of such genres as reggae-fusion and Euro-house.

Upon release, the song quickly conquered the world! The track Ace of Base topped several countries, including Denmark and France. It also greatly influenced the promotion of the album of the same name, the world circulation of which has long exceeded the mark of 20 million copies... And today, thanks to its lively and attractive sound, this song continues to find its listener! Let's talk about how the timeless bestseller was created...

Background, recording...

Ace Of Base
Ace Of Base

The future dance hit of all time was written by the founders of Ace of Base - Junas Berggren and Ulf Ekberg. It is noteworthy that the lyrics include several languages at once: the usual English and... Latin! So, the first verse in Latin is sung by Junas himself, and the rest of the song is sung by his sister Lynn Berggren, the lead singer of the band.

"Laudate omnes gentes laudate
Magnificat en secula
Et anima mea laudate
Magnificat en secuala.../

 

Praise the people, praise the people.
Great at all times.
And praise my soul -
Great at all times..."

As for the supposedly "mysterious message" embedded in the song, Ulf Ekberg himself stated that "Happy Nation" is addressed to "all those people who always say how bad things are..." The band also added that the song was written as a response to rumors about Eckberg's past ties to neo-Nazi skinheads:

"This is an anti-fascist song! You could say 'Happy Nation' is an anthem of life..."

A little bit about the album...

Happy Nation (Ace Of Base album)
Happy Nation (Ace Of Base album)

Before moving on to the worldwide success of "Happy Nation" and the music video, it's worth mentioning a bit about the album, which is widely known by the same name...

Happy Nation (which, by the way, means "Happy Nation") was the band's debut album! It was released towards the end of 1992, and... it was a great success for the Swedish band! In the first year alone, 8 million copies were sold in the United States! All in all, Happy Nation's worldwide circulation is more than 20 million copies...

A year later, the album was re-released in the USA: this time it was called The Sign, and it included 4 bonus tracks. The re-release was also a resounding success in the West: The Sign became the best selling album in America in 1994! And three hit tracks from it (including the one of the same name) topped not only the national Billboard, but also most European countries... However it was the instantly catchy track "Happy Nation" that became the trademark of Ace of Base...

World success!

Ace Of Base
Ace Of Base

After its release, the single "Happy Nation" quickly found its listener. The track was warmly received by the critics, who unanimously recognized it as the "pearl" of the whole album! Many noted the fact that this composition "gives a positive way of thinking about how we should treat each other and live in the world of people...". And indeed: "Happy Nation" has both a sense of soul and dance... And at the same time - the track will be just right for any dancefloor! The rare musical aesthetic that made Ace of Base famous far beyond their homeland... Many listeners (as well as critics) said that this tune proves the fact that Ace of Base is something more substantial than just an ABBA clone. It was a real success...

Pretty fast "Happy Nation" got into the European hit parades... As a result the track became the leader of several countries, getting into the top ten of Eurochart Hot 100... After this tremendous success the song got the gold status in Germany with the sales of more than 250 thousand copies... In France "Happy Nation" became silver.

Music clip…

The band Ace Of Base...
The band Ace Of Base...

The music video for the song was filmed in Gothenburg, in the early winter of 1993. In the early shots we see a burning candle, the flame of which rushes aside... In the clip there are many different ancient symbols (peace sign, yin-yang and others...), pictures, inscriptions and hieroglyphs... There are also scary shots, like the atomic bomb explosion, people walking... When everything calms down, the candle shown in the very beginning of the clip goes out. Actually, let's see:

So far, the music video has garnered over 60 million views! The director was Matt Broadley. He also shot the music video for another hit of the band, which is known as "All That She Wants".

All About The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022)

The Comet Is Coming - Hyper-Dimensional Expansion Beam (2022) new album: track list, history, listen online The British jazz trio (Danalogue, Betamax, Shabaka Hutchings) has released...

"Legendary Rebels" - recalling the craziest vocalists of the punk rock world

The most outrageous soloists in the history of punk rock, according to Fuzz Music magazine Punk rock has always been evil - a kind of "cocky little cousin" in the rock family. Born ...

Top 5 most important records in the metal genre according to Fuzz Music magazine

The best albums in the metal genre: list, artists, history and facts, tracks Few people think about it, but the conflict that the U.S. fomented in Vietnam directly affected...
Related Articles

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Автор:

Категория:

Happy Nation (1992) – Ace of Base – Всё о песне

«Это — антифашистская песня! Можно сказать, что «Happy Nation» — это гимн жизни...»

Хит из 90-х, который помнит каждый. История «Happy Nation»

«Happy Nation» — всемирно известный хит группы Ace of Base, впервые выпущенный в Скандинавии в 1992 году. Сегодня эта песня прекрасно знакома каждому слушателю — как истинным «олдскулам», так и современному поколению меломанов: она часто используется в телевидении, различных развлекательных роликах, да и просто не исчезает с радио вот уже несколько десятилетий! И это неудивительно: хит-трек обладает ярким позитивным звучанием! Проще говоря — сложно удержаться, чтобы не станцевать под эту мелодию… Это танцевальный поп-хит, выдержанный среднем темпе. В нём также присутствует сильное влияние таких жанров, как регги-фьюжн и евро-хаус.

После выпуска песня быстро завоевала весь мир! Трек Ace of Base лидировал в нескольких странах, включая Данию и Францию. Он также существенно повлиял на продвижение одноимённого альбома, мировой тираж которого давно превысил отметку 20 млн копий… И сегодня, благодаря своему живому и привлекательному звучанию, эта песня продолжает находить своего слушателя! Поговорим о том, как создавался нестареющий бестселлер…

Фон, запись…

Группа Ace Of Base
Группа Ace Of Base

Будущий танцевальный хит на все времена был написан основателями Ace of Base — Юнасом Берггреном и Ульфом Экбергом. Примечательно то, что текст песни включает несколько языков сразу: привычный английский и… латинский! Так, первый куплет на латыне поёт сам Юнас, а остальную часть песни — его сестра Линн Берггрен, солистка группы.

«Laudate omnes gentes laudate
Magnificat en secula
Et anima mea laudate
Magnificat en secuala…/

 

Славьте народ, славьте —
Великий во все времена.
И славьте мою душу —
Великую во все времена…»

Что касается якобы «таинственного послания», заложенного в эту песню, то сам Ульф Экберг заявил, что «Happy Nation» адресована «всем тем людям, которые постоянно говорят, как всё плохо…» Группа также добавила, что песня была написана в качестве ответа на слухи о связи в прошлом Экберга с неонацистскими скинхедами:

«Это — антифашистская песня! Можно сказать, что «Happy Nation» — это гимн жизни…»

Немного об альбоме…

Happy Nation (альбом Ace Of Base)
Happy Nation (альбом Ace Of Base)

Прежде чем перейти к мировому успеху «Happy Nation» и музыкальному клипу, стоит немного упомянуть об альбоме, который широко известен под тем же названием…

Happy Nation (что, кстати, в переводе с английского означает «Счастливая нация») стал для группы дебютным альбомом! Он вышел ближе к концу 1992 года, и… обернулся для шведского коллектива большим успехом! Только за первый год на территории Соединённых Штатов было продано 8 млн копий! В целом, мировой тираж Happy Nation составляет более 20 млн копий…

Годом позже альбом был переиздан в США: на этот раз он получил название The Sign, и в него вошло 4 бонусных трека. Переиздание также снискало оглушительный успех на Западе: The Sign стал самым продаваемым альбомом в Америке за 1994 год! А три хит-трека из него (включая одноимённый) лидировали не только в национальном Billboard, но и в большинстве европейских стран… Однако именно мгновенно запоминающийся трек «Happy Nation» стал визитной карточкой Ace of Base…

Мировой успех!

Ace Of Base
Ace Of Base

После выпуска сингл «Happy Nation» быстро нашёл своего слушателя. Трек был тепло воспринят критиками, которые единогласно признали его «жемчужиной» всего альбома! Многие отметили тот факт, что данная композиция «дарит позитивный образ мышления в отношении того, как мы должны относиться друг к другу и жить в мире людей…» И действительно: в «Happy Nation» есть и чувство души, и танца… И при этом — трек будет как нельзя кстати на любом танцполе! Редчайшая музыкальная эстетика, которая прославила Ace of Base далеко за пределами родины… Многие слушатели (как и критики) отметили, что эта мелодия доказывает тот факт, что Ace of Base — что-то более существенное, чем просто клон ABBA. Это был настоящий успех…

Довольно быстро «Happy Nation» проник в европейские хит-парады… В результате трек стал лидером нескольких стран, попав в десятку лучших Eurochart Hot 100… После столь грандиозного успеха песня была удостоена золотого статуса на территории Германии с продажами более 250 тысяч копий… Во Франции «Happy Nation» стал серебряным.

Музыкальный клип…

Группа Ace Of Base...
Группа Ace Of Base…

Клип к песне был снят в Гётеборге, в начале зимы 1993 года. На ранних кадрах мы видим горящую свечу, пламя которой устремляется в сторону… В клипе присутствует много различных древних символов (знак мира, инь-янь и другие…), картин, надписей и иероглифов… Здесь также использованы страшные кадры, например — взрыв атомной бомбы, ходьба людей… Когда всё затихает, показанная в самом начале клипа свеча гаснет. Собственно, посмотрим:

На данный момент клип собрал более 60 млн просмотров! Режиссёром выступил Мэтт Бродли. Он же снимал клип к ещё одному хиту группы, который известен под названием «All That She Wants».

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ СВОЙ КОММЕНТАРИЙ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

1 + 5 =

Everything Everything — «Raw Data Feel» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Raw Data Feel» (2022) от Everything Everything 20 мая 2022 года британская музыкальная группа Everything Everything поделилась своим новым альбомом, который получил оригинальное название...

The Cure — «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Songs Of A Lost World» (2022) от The Cure  Рок-группа из Англии The Cure анонсировала свой новый альбом, который получил название «Songs Of A Lost...

Топ-6 песен в исполнении невероятного Нодди Холдера

Песни, которые перенесут вас в молодость – Топ лучших вокальных моментов Нодди Холдера Нодди Холдер навсегда поселился в сердцах отечественных слушателей! Вместе с группой Slade...

Похожие статьи

Arms and Sleepers — «Former Kingdoms» (2022): интересные факты об альбоме

Альбом «Former Kingdoms» (2022) от Arms and Sleepers Американская музыкальная группа Arms and Sleepers поделилась со слушателями своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил название «Former...

Шесть самых известных песен Олега Газманова

Лучшие песни Олега Газманова Олег Газманов - очень талантливый артист. Он и актер, и поэт, и продюсер. Из-за этого его музыку недооценивают. Но, несмотря на...

Самые гениальные авторы песен в русском роке – Часть первая

Кто они, гении пера в русском роке: Часть первая Рок, как и любой жанр, нуждается в толковых авторах. Вот только в отличие от поп-музыки или...

«Время колокольчиков» – Печальная судьба выдающегося русского поэта Александра Башлачёва

Печальная судьба Александра Башлачёва: Вспоминаем биографию, факты и главные хиты Александр Башлачёв вошёл в историю русского рока как музыкант, бард, автор и исполнитель. Он также...

Low Kick Collective — «Coma Berenices» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «Coma Berenices» (2022) от Low Kick Collective Экспериментальный проект Low Kick Collective поделился своим новым студийным альбомом, который получил уникальное название «Coma Berenices» (2022)....

Три любимых хита Baccara

Вспоминаем главные хиты Baccara Названная в честь очень красивого сорта розы, женская поп-группа Baccara пользовалась большой популярностью на рубеже 70-х – 80-х годов! В нашей...

Чем корейские поп-музыканты отличаются от наших: Разница колоссальная

Отличия корейских поп-музыкантов от российских Если раньше был популярен рок, то уже к началу 90-ых годов популярность целиком и полностью принадлежала диско. А в последние...

Джоан Осборн и её вневременная классика «One of Us»

История одной проникновенной песни – как родилась «One of Us», самый громкий хит Джоан Осборн «Один из нас» – такое название получила песня, которая прославила...

Три хита Ottawan, под которые отрывались на дискотеках

Топ лучших песен группы Ottawan, которые звучали на каждой дискотеке В начале 80-х хиты этого диско-дуэта звучали практически по всему миру! Проект Ottawan был образован...