Author:
Category:

Jimmy Page's classic solo that turned out to be an "afterthought"

The result is something perfect and unique, which is exactly what the guitarist wanted. This experiment largely determined the sound of the band's subsequent albums...

How Jimmy Page Inspired the 'Heartbreaker' Solo

Quite often, the most famous songs, or beautiful fragments of them, are born quite by accident. At some point, the musician is suddenly visited by a thought, inspiration… And this moment is like some kind of magic: very easily and carelessly, something amazing and completely sublime comes out from under the pen… And this applies not only to texts. Such a moment can come when a genius nervously clutches a guitar or sits at a piano - there are a lot of similar stories, and they are all fascinating in their own way! One of them refers to Jimmy Page - the guitarist of the cult band "Led Zeppelin". Page rarely left his instrument alone for long, as he was a frequent recipient of those magical drops of sudden insight. And one day he composed a classic solo, which, in his own words, was "afterthought".

"Heartbreaker" is the fifth track from the group's second album "Led Zeppelin II". Today, the song is included in Rolling Stone magazine's famous list of "The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time". All members of the band were listed as the authors of the masterpiece, but the memorable solo is the merit of Page, and today we will talk in more detail about the moment of his birth ...

Background and background

Led Zeppelin II second studio album cover
The cover of the second studio album «Led Zeppelin II»

The band's second album was written in a particularly stressful time for "Zeppelin" time. In the end 60s years, the British rock team enjoyed their ascent to the top of the world Olympus: Zeppelin made four tours in America and Europe and were at the peak of their glory! But the downside of success was that the band spent a lot of time on the road… The musicians often jammed to somehow pass the days. Not surprisingly, quite a few songs from "Led Zeppelin II" are a consequence of these extended improvisational sessions. Some were recorded in the US, others in the UK... Almost all of the material from the disc was born during the cult tour.

Page and his fellow members wanted to quickly record and release a second album, being at the peak of fame. For this reason, they were forced to carve out chunks of time wherever they could. They once played a sold-out show at the Fillmore East in New York and immediately rushed to the studio! It was night, but the musicians did not think to rest. It is this urgency that drives the record, which showcases the band's evolving musical style...

How did the solo come about?

Incredible Led Zeppelin II recording at Olympic Studios, April 19, 1969
Incredible "Led Zeppelin II" recorded at Olympic Studios, April 19, 1969

When the band arrived at the studio, Page immediately began composing parts. There were many variations, but they were not the same. At some point, it dawned on the guitarist, and a vivid example of his sudden inspiration was a solo for "Heartbreaker"! According to Jimmy himself, it was pure improvisation, which seemed to be born out of nowhere.

Jimmy Page
Jimmy Page

"Led Zeppelin" looking for something that would give the track a much needed edge. A word to the genius himself:

“It was a random thought that suddenly came to my mind. In my melodies, I always tried to do something that no one else had! Something that no one thought about ... The most interesting thing about this solo is that it appeared after we had completed work on the track. It was an afterthought... We recorded it already in another studio. You may have noticed that the sound of the guitar is quite different," Jimmy Page commented in a 1993 interview.

Unique feature

Jimmy Page
Jimmy Page

And indeed: in terms of tonality, the solo differs markedly from the whole track. To record it, Page used Gibson Les Paul, which he connected to the stack "Marshall". The result is something perfect and unique, which is exactly what the guitarist wanted. This experiment largely determined the sound of the band's subsequent albums! But the most interesting thing is that all this splendor was born from an “afterthought”.

Interesting Facts

The story of "No Quarter" (Led Zeppelin)
The story of "No Quarter" ("Led Zeppelin")
  • Subsequently, guitar page solo Named one of the "greatest guitar solos of all time" by Guitar World magazine.
  • "Heartbreaker" is one of two songs "Led Zeppelin", which the band constantly performed at their live performances until the early 80s. In the early 70s, the band often began concerts with Immigrant Song and smoothly transitioned to "Heartbreaker".

  • The track is recorded live in the film The Song Remains the Same.
  • The group presented their cover Nirvana. Performed at one of the concerts, later he entered the collection Sliver the Best of the Box.

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...

"Narodnik" with dreadlocks: how a guy from a small town in Tula broke into television

Shaman - Success Story, Hate from Detractors, Best Songs The path of every screen star begins with a bright flash. The hero of today's article, a musician under the pseudonym ...
Related Articles

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Top 5 iconic rock albums that turned into a nightmare

Legendary rock albums that turned into a nightmare to record At first glance, being a rock star seems like the nicest job in the world! Your job is just to compose...

The Perfect Songs That Started Hard Rock

The Tracks That Started Hard Rock - Top of the Best After the legendary "Summer of Love," rock 'n' roll grew more and more confidently and confidently spiked. It seemed that the "soft" era of The Beatles and...

Домой Жанры Рок Классическое соло Джимми Пейджа, которое оказалось «запоздалой мыслью»

Классическое соло Джимми Пейджа, которое оказалось «запоздалой мыслью»

0
Классическое соло Джимми Пейджа, которое оказалось «запоздалой мыслью»
Джимми Пейдж в молодости...

Как Джимми Пейдж вдохновился на соло из «Heartbreaker»

Довольно часто самые известные песни или прекрасные фрагменты из них, рождаются совершенно случайно. В какое-то мгновение музыканта резко посещает мысль, вдохновение… И этот момент походит на некое волшебство: очень легко и беззаботно из-под пера выходит нечто потрясающее и совершенно возвышенное… И это касается не только текстов. Такой момент может наступить, когда гений нервно сжимает в руках гитару или сидит за пианино — подобных историй масса, и все они увлекательны по-своему! Одна из них относится к Джимми Пейджу — гитаристу культовой группы «Led Zeppelin». Пейдж редко оставлял свой инструмент в одиночестве надолго, так как был частым получателем этих волшебных капель внезапного озарения. И однажды он сочинил классическое соло, которое, по его собственным словам, было «запоздалой мыслью».

«Heartbreaker» — пятый трек со второго альбома группы «Led Zeppelin II». Сегодня композиция входит в известный список журнала Rolling Stone «500 величайших песен всех времён». В качестве авторов шедевра были указаны все участники коллектива, однако запоминающееся соло — заслуга Пейджа, и сегодня мы более детально поговорим о моменте его рождения…

Фон и предпосылки

Обложка второго студийного альбома Led Zeppelin II
Обложка второго студийного альбома «Led Zeppelin II»

Второй альбом группы был написан в особенно напряжённое для «Зеппелин» время. В конце 60-х годов британская рок-команда наслаждалась своим восхождением на вершину мирового олимпа: «Zeppelin» совершили четыре тура по Америке и Европе и находились на пике своей славы! Но обратная сторона успеха заключалась в том, что группа проводила очень много времени в дороге… Музыканты часто джемовали, чтобы как-то скоротать будни. Неудивительно, что довольно многие песни из «Led Zeppelin II» являются следствием этих расширенных импровизационных сессий. Одни были записаны в США, другие — в Великобритании… Почти весь материал с пластинки родился во время культового турне.

Пейдж и его коллеги по составу хотели поскорее записать и выпустить второй альбом, будучи на пике славы. По этой причине они были вынуждены выкроить куски времени везде, где могли. Однажды они отыграли аншлаговое шоу в Fillmore East в Нью-Йорке и тут же ринулись в студию! Была ночь, но музыканты не думали отдыхать. Именно эта срочность движет пластинкой, которая продемонстрировала развивающийся музыкальный стиль группы…

Как появилось соло?

Невероятные Led Zeppelin II на записи в Olympic Studios, 19 апреля 1969
Невероятные «Led Zeppelin II» на записи в Olympic Studios, 19 апреля 1969

Когда группа прибыла в студию, Пейдж сразу же начал сочинять партии. Вариаций было множество, но всё было не то. В какой-то момент гитариста осенило, и ярким примером его внезапного вдохновения стало соло для «Heartbreaker»! По словам самого Джимми, это была чистая импровизация, которая родилась, казалось бы, из ниоткуда.

Джимми Пейдж
Джимми Пейдж

«Led Zeppelin» искали что-то, что придало бы треку столь необходимое преимущество. Слово самому гению:

«Это была случайная мысль, которая резко пришла мне в голову. В своих мелодиях я всегда старался сделать что-то такое, чего ещё не было ни у кого! Что-то такое, о чём никто и не думал… Самое интересное в этом соло то, что возникло оно уже после того, как мы завершили работу над треком. Это было запоздалой мыслью… Мы записали его уже в другой студии. Вы, возможно, могли заметить, что звучание гитары значительно отличается», — прокомментировал Джимми Пейдж в интервью 1993 года.

Уникальная особенность

Джимми Пейдж
Джимми Пейдж

И действительно: по тональности соло заметно отличается от всего трека. Для его записи Пейдж использовал «Gibson Les Paul», который он подключил к стеку «Marshall». В результате получилось нечто совершенное и уникальное, чего и добивался гитарист. Этот эксперимент во многом определил звучание последующих альбомов группы! Но самое интересное всё же то, что всё это великолепие родилось из «запоздалой мысли».

Интересные факты

История «No Quarter» (Led Zeppelin)
История «No Quarter» («Led Zeppelin»)
  • Впоследствии гитарное соло Пейджа вошло в список «величайших гитарных соло всех времён» по версии журнала «Guitar World».
  • «Heartbreaker» является одной из двух песен «Led Zeppelin», которую группа постоянно исполняла на своих живых выступлениях вплоть до начала 80-х годов. В начале 70-х коллектив часто начинал концерты с «Immigrant Song» и плавно переходил в «Heartbreaker».

  • Живая запись трека звучит в фильме «Песня остаётся всё такой же».
  • Свой кавер представила группа «Nirvana». Исполненный на одном из концертов, впоследствии он вошёл в сборник «Sliver the Best of the Box».

9kFollowers

ОСТАВЬТЕ ОТВЕТ

Пожалуйста, введите ваш комментарий!
пожалуйста, введите ваше имя здесь

4 + 6 =