Author:

Category:

"Hotel California," where Jethro Tull checked in first, and then the Eagles

"I know it's the same chord sequence. I can hear it. But at the same time it's a different size, a different tone, a different context. "Hotel California" is an amazing song, great! I'm very happy for them that they were able to do something like that! Although sometimes in jest I hint that I take 'Hotel California' as a kind of tribute..."

What the famous song "Hotel California" by the Eagles is really about, and why its story is connected to Jethro Tull

"Hotel California." - timeless classics of the band Eagles. The song was released in 1977 and quickly found success! To this day it still carries weight: for many music lovers the acquaintance with the works of American rockers begins with this composition. And at the end of the 90's the readers of the magazine Guitarist recognized guitar solo from Hotel California the best in history!

Yes, the solo in this song is really beautiful. And it's no wonder it's been around so much for decades. noise! Often Eagles fans blame other musicians in plagiarism - I think it's a very familiar motif. From "California", apparently. And if you are one of those who have caught yourself thinking of plagiarizing "Hotel California" quite by accident, we can surprise you very much: it is quite possible that the Eagles themselves are behind peccadillo! But first things first.

What is this place - Hotel California

Eagles "Hotel California" Album Cover
Eagles "Hotel California" Album Cover

Despite the beautiful title, this song is not at all about how wonderful it is to live in California! On the contrary, the Eagles decided to show flip side This "bohemian oasis," of which many artists speak in no uncertain terms of the true the American dream

"Some people dance so they don't forget themselves,
And some people want to forget everything..."

The composition script is very cinematic: The protagonist was tired from his long wanderings in the desert. Stupefied by substances, he began to drown in his sleep and when he heard a bell ringing, he saw "her. Anyway - he didn't know if it was heaven or hell, but he found himself in a place called "Hotel California.". It's a bizarre world, glamorous but also frightening...

"They gathered to feast.
They stabbed the creature with their steel knives..."

The hero is so ScaredI was so surprised that he rushed away - he wanted to get out of the place immediately! But gatekeeper told him sparingly:

"You can vacate the room at any time,
But you can never leave!"

Don Henley
Don Henley

What real meaning of these undoubtedly powerful lines? In his interview Don Henley said:

"This song is about the dark side of the American dream, about the excesses that turn people into animals. You could say it's the end of innocence!"

The delightful Laurie Rodkin
The delightful Laurie Rodkin

Some lines are also inspired by Henley's breakup with Lori Rodkin - a jewelry designer from Los Angeles, who at one time saved the actor's Robert Downey Jr from addiction and its serious consequences! But that's another story.

Ian Anderson of Jethro Tull and the charge of plagiarism

Young Ian Anderson
Young Ian Anderson

When the single Hotel California was released, the audience practically had no chance: the listeners were absolutely delighted with such powerful, heartfelt, mysterious and frightening lyrics! But there was one person who immediately smelled something wrong... And it turned out to be Ian Anderson, group leader Jethro Tull. After listening to the sensational hit, Anderson caught himself thinking that it reminded him of one of his own songs! It's about "We Used To Know" 1969. Ian is sure the chord sequence used is the same! Listen, evaluate, and compare:

Yes, something similar in sound indeed eat. But it can hardly be called plagiarism. It's more like. tribute on the part of the Eagles. Or a sudden burst of inspiration... The fact is that in 1972 bands toured together! Anderson himself admitted:

"Maybe they caught something in that song at the time that was particularly appealing to them, and they didn't realize it themselves. And then, after a while, that inspiration came out in 'Hotel California.

But there is a very interesting point here: the fact is that the tour dates from 1972whereas Don Felder - the main composer of the song - only joined the Eagles in 1974! Of course, as a friend of Bernie Lydon he could have attended one of the performances... However, in his interview Felder states: before this incident he never heard "We Used To Know," and I wasn't interested in Jethro Tull at all!

Lastly

Eagles
Eagles

We think it's hard to accuse "Hotel California" of plagiarism. No matter how you look at it, these songs different. But even if the famous "Hotel California" had really been inspired by "We Used To Know," it would not have been at all did not take away of its splendor and grandeur. As for Anderson, he is very much flattering this similarity:

"I know it's the same chord sequence. I can hear it. But at the same time it's a different size, a different tone, a different context. "Hotel California" is an amazing song, great! I'm very happy for them that they were able to do something like that! Although sometimes in jest I hint that I take 'Hotel California' as a kind of tribute..."

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

«Отель Калифорния», в который сперва заселились Jethro Tull, а уже потом Eagles

«Я знаю, что это та же самая последовательность аккордов. Я слышу это. Но вместе с тем это другой размер, другая тональность, другой контекст. «Hotel California» – это потрясающая песня, великая! Я очень рад за них, что им удалось сотворить нечто подобное! Хотя иногда в шутку и намекаю на то, что принимаю «Hotel California» как своего рода дань уважения...»

О чём на самом деле знаменитая песня «Отель Калифорния» группы Eagles, и почему её история связана с Jethro Tull

«Отель Калифорния» – вечная классика группы Eagles. Песня вышла в 1977 году и быстро обрела успех! По сей день она имеет вес: для многих меломанов знакомство с творчеством американских рокеров начинается именно с этой композиции. А на закате 90-х читатели журнала Guitarist признали гитарное соло из «Hotel California» лучшим в истории!

Да, соло в этой песне действительно прекрасное. И неудивительно, что вот уже не одно десятилетие вокруг него столько шума! Частенько поклонники Eagles обвиняют других музыкантов в плагиате – мол, уж слишком знакомый мотив. Из «Калифорнии», по всей видимости. И если вы относитесь к числу тех, кто совершенно случайно ловил себя на мысли плагиата «Hotel California», мы можем вас сильно удивить: вполне возможно, что и за самими Eagles есть грешок! Но обо всём по порядку.

Что это за место такое – отель «Калифорния»

Обложка альбома Eagles «Hotel California»
Обложка альбома Eagles «Hotel California»

Несмотря на красивое название, эта песня вовсе не о том, как же чудесно жить в Калифорнии! Напротив – участники Eagles решили показать обратную сторону этого «богемного оазиса», о котором многие художники говорят не иначе, как об истинной американской мечте

«Некоторые танцуют, чтобы не забыться,
А некоторые – чтобы обо всём забыть…»

Сценарий композиции очень кинематографический: главный герой утомился от длительных странствий по пустыне. Одурманенный веществами, он начал тонуть во сне и, услышав звон колокола, увидел «её». В общем – он не понял, рай это или ад, но он очутился в месте под названием «Отель Калифорния». Это причудливый мир, гламурный, но вместе с тем пугающий…

«Они собрались, чтобы пировать.
Они закалывали тварь своими стальными ножами…»

Герой настолько испугался, что бросился прочь – ему захотелось немедленно покинуть это место! Но сторож скупо сказал ему:

«Вы можете освободить номер в любое время,
Но вы никогда не сможете уйти!»

Дон Хенли
Дон Хенли

Каков подлинный смысл этих безусловно мощных строк? В своём интервью Дон Хенли сказал:

«Эта песня о тёмной стороне американской мечты, об излишествах, которые превращают людей в животных. Можно сказать – это конец невинности!»

Восхитительная Лори Родкин
Восхитительная Лори Родкин

Некоторые строчки также вдохновлены расставанием Хенли с Лори Родкин – дизайнером ювелирных изделий из Лос-Анджелеса, которая в своё время спасла актёра Роберта Дауни-младшего от зависимости и её серьёзных последствий! Но это уже другая история.

Иэн Андерсон из Jethro Tull и обвинение в плагиате

Молодой Иэн Андерсон
Молодой Иэн Андерсон

Когда сингл «Hotel California» был выпущен, у публики практически не было шанса: слушатели остались в полном восторге от столь мощной, проникновенной, загадочной и пугающей лирики! Но был человек, который сразу почуял что-то неладное… И им оказался Иэн Андерсон, лидер группы Jethro Tull. Послушав нашумевший хит, Андерсон поймал себя на мысли, что он напоминает ему одну из его собственных песен! Речь о «We Used To Know» 1969 года. Иэн уверен, что последовательность аккордов использована та же самая! Слушаем, оцениваем и сравниваем:

Да, нечто похожее в звучании действительно есть. Но вряд ли это можно назвать плагиатом. Скорее – дань уважения со стороны Eagles. Ну или внезапный порыв вдохновения… Дело в том, что в 1972 году группы гастролировали вместе! Сам Андерсон признавал:

«Возможно, тогда они уловили в этой песне что-то особенно привлекательное для себя, и сами этого не осознали. И вот, спустя некоторое время это вдохновение вылилось в «Hotel California».

Но здесь есть весьма интересный момент: дело в том, что тур датируется 1972 годом, в то время как Дон Фелдер – основной композитор песни – присоединился к Eagles лишь в 1974-м! Конечно, как друг Берни Лидона он мог посетить одно из выступлений… Однако в своём интервью Фелдер заявляет: до этого инцидента он никогда не слышал «We Used To Know», да и не интересовался творчеством Jethro Tull вообще!

Напоследок

Eagles
Eagles

Мы считаем, что «Hotel California» сложно обвинить в плагиате. Всё же как ни крути – а эти песни разные. Но даже если бы знаменитый «Отель Калифорния» действительно был вдохновлён «We Used To Know», то это нисколько бы не отняло его великолепия и величия. Что касается Андерсона, то ему очень даже льстит данная схожесть:

«Я знаю, что это та же самая последовательность аккордов. Я слышу это. Но вместе с тем это другой размер, другая тональность, другой контекст. «Hotel California» – это потрясающая песня, великая! Я очень рад за них, что им удалось сотворить нечто подобное! Хотя иногда в шутку и намекаю на то, что принимаю «Hotel California» как своего рода дань уважения…»

9kFollowers

Волшебство, проникающее в душу: топ самых волнительных гитарных соло по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Наиболее проникновенные гитарные соло за всю историю Часто мы видим списки «топ лучших гитарных соло», и ими уже мало кого удивишь, если говорить откровенно. Лучшие...

«Только Россия»: Ольга Кормухина о жизни, любви и Алле Пугачёвой

Ольга Кормухина: о чём думает «отечественная Тина Тёрнер» – удивительные факты и глубокие мысли певицы Ольга Кормухина – харизматичная, мудрая, талантливая. Она – наша гордость:...

Яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории – Часть вторая

Московская рок-лаборатория – продолжаем вспоминать наиболее интересных представителей Сегодня мы продолжим говорить о самых ярких, неординарных и по-своему уникальных группах, которые прославили Московскую рок-лабораторию! Эти...

Похожие статьи

Наиболее яркие и неординарные представители московской рок-лаборатории

Московская рок-лаборатория – вспоминаем наиболее интересных представителей Часто «рыская» по Интернету, натыкаешься на уже легендарно известное словосочетание: «Ленинградский Рок-клуб». В него входили многие культовые отечественные...

James Vincent McMorrow — «The Less I Knew» (2022): Всё об альбоме

Альбом «The Less I Knew» (2022) от James Vincent McMorrow Джеймс Винсент Макморроу поделился со слушателями своим новым альбомом, который называется «The Less I Knew»...

Интересные факты о легендах R.E.M.

R.E.M. – чего вы ещё не знали о легендарной группе Группа R.E.M. оказала большое влияние – она по праву считается одной из наиболее важных в...

«Полиция нравов» уже здесь – как сложилась судьба участниц

Осторожно, «Полиция нравов»: вспоминаем одну из самых эпатажных отечественных групп 90-х Этот женский дуэт вошёл в историю как самый эпатажный на отечественной сцене 90-х! «Полиция...

«Добро пожаловать на Пикник» – история одной великолепной группы

История группы «Пикник» – начало пути, творчество, феномен «Пикник» – одна из самых необычных групп. Многие слушатели удивляются, когда узнают, что её история началась в...

За что мы любим Джеффа Бека, или коротко о том, почему он гений

Почему Джефф Бек – легенда захватывающей игры на гитаре Когда Джефф Бек берёт в руки свою гитару и начинает играть, вряд ли мы можем услышать...

Эти альбомы чуть «не уничтожили» своих создателей, но в результате стали легендарными

Легендарные альбомы, которые чуть «не развалили» своих создателей Вряд ли при прослушивании любимого альбома кто-то из нас задумывается о том, как он создавался. Мы просто...

Самые сильные вокалисты в русском роке по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Рассказываем о самых сильных и неподражаемых вокалистах в русском роке Насколько важную роль вокалист играет в рок-группе? Ну, как нам кажется – практически абсолютную! Может...

«Рано ушла, но оставила яркий след» – история Янки Дягилевой

Яркая представительница отечественного андеграунда – история Янки Дягилевой Янка Дягилева вошла в историю как яркая представительница сибирского андеграунда, женщина, которая на протяжении своей короткой карьеры...