Author:
Category:

She sounded in the film "The Woman in Red" - the story of the love ballad "I Just Called to Say I Love You" by Stevie Wonder

"But today there really is something important, In these three words that I have to tell you..."

One Hit Story: "I Just Called to Say I Love You" from The Woman in Red

"I Just Called to Say I Love You" famous romantic hit by Stevie Wonderreleased in 1984 year. The song quickly became an international hit, topping America, England and many other countries. By the way: for Wonder, she became the only number one in UK (The love ballad held the number one spot for six weeks!). As a result, the composition was awarded "Oscar", and not only! She is known to many for comedy. "Woman in red", romantic tape Gene Wilder, which includes other creations of the musician ... However, some details regarding this song remain a mystery to music lovers ... It's time to fix it!

idea, recording

I Just Called to Say I Love You (1984) - Stevie Wonder - single cover
I Just Called to Say I Love You (1984) - Stevie Wonder - single cover

Exactly "I Just Called to Say I Love You" remains the most commercially successful creation Stevie Wonder: the composition topped the record 19 charts! It was written, produced and performed by the artist himself, however - between the soul singer, his former partner Lee Garrett and Lloyd Chiat a conflict arose as to who actually wrote this delightful thing ... Chiat claimed in a lawsuit that he wrote the ballad with Garrett long before it was released ... But in the end, Wonder won the proceedings.

Stevie Wonder to receive prestigious Israeli wolf prize
Stevie Wonder to receive prestigious Israeli wolf prize

As for the lyrics, as befits a romanticized ballad, "I Just Called to Say I Love You" about love. Its plot is completed on an unexpected phone call: throughout the song Wonder lists calendar events that might prompt someone to call a loved one…

"But today there is really something important,
In these three words that I have to tell you…”

At the same time, the musician declares that not a single event - be it New Year or Halloween - shouldn't be a reason. If you want to tell someone that you love him, then just go ahead and say it, without relying on any reason!

"I just called to say that I love you,
And I feel it with all my heart…”

Clip

Subsequently, a video was shot, the plot of the music video is very simple, but at the same time very attractive: during a concert Stevie singing into a telephone receiver, sitting at the piano in a beautiful white suit ... The video was recorded in August 1984, during a performance in Rotterdam Ahoy, The Netherlands. We look:

Success

The song was successful thanks to the film "Woman in red", which she entered along with other Wonder compositions. Shortly after its release, the single entered the top 10 of the R&B chart, and also topped the charts. Billboard Hot 100! Concerning UK, then there "I Just Called to Say I Love You" became the leader, staying at the top for 6 weeks: it is noteworthy, but this is the only solo single Wonder on the territory of this country ... In addition to all the above achievements, the ballad was awarded such prestigious awards as Golden Globe, Oscar and premium "American Film Academy"!

Film popularity

The most famous moment of using this ballad in the cinema was a comedy film. "Woman in red"! It is thanks to this that the composition received awards (as the best song for the film). "Woman in red" - comedy 80s, which, although it did not have wild success, nevertheless found its audience. The plot of the film revolves around the characters Charlotte and Teddy Pierce: The story begins with Teddy ending up in nothing but his underwear outside a charming girl's bedroom window, and it's all on TV! How did a grown man end up in such a ridiculous situation? It's all because of the passion he has for the stunning beauty Charlotte...

Interesting Facts

  • Among the compositions that the ballad Wonder confidently won awards "Oscar"turned out to be the soundtrack from the movie "Ghostbusters". It is noteworthy, but the musician dedicated his award Nelson Mandela - a South African statesman and politician who was behind bars at that moment ... Authorities South Africa quickly reacted to such a generous gesture, and soon Wonder's music was banned in the country ...
  • The composition is mentioned in the film "Fanatic"when a music store clerk convinces a client not to give his daughter this single: in his words, this is very tasteless sentimental rubbish ...
  • Wonder sang a ballad a few after M diedMichael Jackson, his close friend ... In one of the lines he sang: "Michael - know I'm here and I love you..."

The delightful Gloria Estefan in Amazing Facts

Gloria Estefan - everything about the singer: childhood, career, songs and music videos, interesting facts Gloria Estefan is one of the greatest singers in history. This woman possesses...

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Автор:
Категория:

Она звучала в фильме «Женщина в красном» – история любовной баллады «I Just Called to Say I Love You» Стиви Уандера

«Но сегодня действительно есть нечто важное, В этих трёх словах, которые я должен тебе сказать...»

История одного хита: «I Just Called to Say I Love You» из кинофильма «Женщина в красном»

«I Just Called to Say I Love You» — знаменитый романтический хит Стиви Уандера, выпущенный в 1984 году. Песня быстро стала международным хитом, став лидером Америки, Англии и многих других стран. К слову: для Уандера она стала единственным номером один в Великобритании (любовная баллада удерживала первую позицию на протяжении шести недель!). В результате композиция была награждена «Оскаром», и не только! Многим она известна по комедии «Женщина в красном», романтической ленте Джина Уайлдера, в которую вошли и другие творения музыканта… Однако некоторые подробности, касаемо этой песни, остаются для меломанов тайной… Пришло время исправить это!

Идея, запись

I Just Called to Say I Love You (1984) – Стиви Уандер – обложка сингла
I Just Called to Say I Love You (1984) – Стиви Уандер – обложка сингла

Именно «I Just Called to Say I Love You» остаётся самым успешным в коммерческом плане творением Стиви Уандера: композиция возглавила рекордные 19 чартов! Написана, спродюсирована и исполнена она была самим артистом, однако — между соул-певцом, его бывшим напарником Ли Гарреттом и Ллойдом Чиатом возник конфликт относительно того, кто на самом деле написал эту восхитительную вещь… Чиат заявил в судебном иске, что вместе с Гарреттом написал балладу ещё задолго до её выхода… Но в конечном итоге разбирательство выиграл Уандер.

Стиви Уандер получит престижную израильскую премию wolf prize
Стиви Уандер получит престижную израильскую премию wolf prize

Что касается лирики, то, как и подобает романтизированной балладе, «I Just Called to Say I Love You» о любви. Сюжет её заверчен на неожиданном телефонном звонке: на протяжении всей песни Уандер перечисляет события в календаре, которые могут побудить кого-то позвонить любимому человеку…

«Но сегодня действительно есть нечто важное,
В этих трёх словах, которые я должен тебе сказать…»

При этом музыкант заявляет, что ни одно событие — будь то Новый год или Хэллоуин — не должно служить поводом. Если вы хотите сказать кому-то, что любите его, то просто возьмите и скажите, не опираясь на какой-либо повод!

«Я просто позвонил сказать, что я тебя люблю,
И я чувствую это всем сердцем…»

Клип

Впоследствии был снят клип, сюжет музыкального ролика очень прост, но в то же время очень привлекателен: во время концерта Стиви поёт в телефонную трубку, сидя за фортепиано в красивом белом костюме… Записано видео было в августе 1984 года, во время выступления в Rotterdam Ahoy, Нидерланды. Смотрим:

Успех

Песня обрела успех благодаря фильму «Женщина в красном», в который она вошла вместе с другими композициями Уандера. Вскоре после выхода сингл вошёл в топ-10 R&B чарта, а также лидировал в Billboard Hot 100! Что касается Великобритании, то там «I Just Called to Say I Love You» стала лидером, продержавшись на вершине 6 недель: примечательно, но это единственный сольный сингл Уандера на территории этой страны… Помимо всех перечисленных достижений, баллада была награждена такими престижными премиями, как «Золотой глобус», «Оскар» и премия «Американской киноакадемии»!

Популярность в кино

Наиболее известным моментом использования данной баллады в кино стал комедийный фильм «Женщина в красном»! Именно благодаря этому композиция получила награды (как лучшая песня к фильму). «Женщина в красном» — комедия 80-х, которая хоть и не имела дикого успеха, однако своего зрителя всё же нашла. Сюжет кинокартины вращается вокруг героев Шарлотт и Тедди Пирса: история начинается с того, что Тедди оказывается в одном лишь нижнем белье за окном спальни очаровательной девушки, и всё это снимает телевидение! Как взрослый мужчина оказался в столь нелепой ситуации? Всему виной страсть, которую он питает к сногсшибательной красотке Шарлотт…

Интересные факты

  • Среди композиций, которые баллада Уандера уверенно обошла на премии вручения «Оскар», оказался саундтрек из фильма «Охотники за привидениями». Примечательно, но свою награду музыкант посвятил Нельсону Манделе — южноафриканскому государственному и политическому деятелю, находившемуся в тот момент за решёткой… Власти ЮАР быстро среагировали на столь щедрый жест, и вскоре музыка Уандера была запрещена в стране…
  • Композиция упоминается в киноленте «Фанатик», когда продавец в музыкальном магазинчике убеждает клиента не дарить дочери этот сингл: с его слов, это очень безвкусный сентиментальный мусор…
  • Уандер исполнил балладу через несколько после того, как не стало Майкла Джексона, его близкого друга… В одной из строчек он спел: «Майкл — знай, я здесь, и я люблю тебя…»

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...
Похожие статьи

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...