Author:
Category:

The story of one touching song by Glen Campbell: the real idea behind "I'm Not Gonna Miss You"

In fact, "I'm Not Gonna Miss You" is Glen Campbell's last recording: it was the last time the artist and musician was in the studio hanging out with old recording buddies from the Wrecking Crew...

The history of the song "I'm Not Gonna Miss You" by Glen Campbell: background, meaning and prerequisites, success

"I'm Not Gonna Miss You" - a touching song that worthily adorned the discography of the deceased Glen Campbell, an American actor, singer and guitarist whose early recordings blurred the lines between country music and traditional pop music… Co-written with Julian Raymond and recorded with The Wrecking Crew, this composition was included in the soundtrack to the documentary "Glen Campbell: I'll Be Myself" 2014 of the year. At the end of his life, Campbell suffered from Alzheimer's disease, and James Keach's tape pays special attention to this ... Remarkably, on the record "I'm Not Gonna Miss You" and the shooting of the film fell on the last tour of the artist.

Essentially, "I'm Not Gonna Miss You" - this is the last post Glen Campbell: this was the last time the artist and musician was in the studio, where he spent time with old recording buddies from Wrecking Crew... The idea of the song came to Raymond, already mentioned above, and the day spent recording it was used as one of the final scenes of the film. But first things first.

History of creation - background and background

Glen Campbell
Glen Campbell

Glen Campbell - a talented American actor, guitarist, singer ... He had a great influence on the foreign stage, however ... in 2011 year, the artist said that he was struggling with Alzheimer's disease.

Unfortunately, the disease turned out to be stronger, and by 2014 it had progressed to such an extent that Campbell was forced to leave the stage and be constantly in a medical institution under the supervision of doctors. And the melody "I'm Not Gonna Miss You" is the last he ever recorded...

Glen Campbell
Glen Campbell

The track was featured on the soundtrack of the film. "Glen Campbell: I'll Be Myself" 2014 year, which tells about the life, career and illness of the artist ... The song itself not only refers to his struggle with Alzheimer's disease, but is also a message to his wife and children. A very warm and touching message... But how did the idea come about? "I'm Not Gonna Miss You"?

Promotional poster for Glen Campbell: I'll Be Myself
Promotional poster for Glen Campbell: I'll Be Myself

During the last tour Campbell, Julian Raymond kept a diary of what Glen told him when he was inspired... As a result, a conversation between them led to an idea for a song! Campbell's words formed the basis "I'm Not Gonna Miss You". Actually, he contributed to the melody. At the same time, Raymond walked with him through the whole process hand in hand. In the end, this song caught even the most fleeting thoughts of Campbell ...

Memories of Raymond

Glen Campbell (4)
Glen Campbell (4)

In fact - the recording of Campbell's last tune was initiated Julian Raymond. He later pitched the idea of recording the song to the director James Keach, who eventually decided to use the studio footage as the final scenes of the documentary. Here's what Raymond had to say about inspiration "I'm Not Gonna Miss You":

“Campbell went through a difficult period: people constantly asked him about Alzheimer's disease and what he thought about it. He didn't talk much about it, but one day he came up to me and said, “I don't know what everyone is so worried about. Anyway, I'm not going to miss anyone…"

Heartfelt lyrics full of love...

Glen Campbell
Glen Campbell

Well, despite the cold title, this song includes very touching lyrics addressed to the wife and children. Campbell. Glen turns to his wife Kimberly Woolenwhen he sings:

“You are the last person I will love.
You are the last face I will remember.
And the most important thing -
I won't miss you..."

Recording and success

Glen Campbell
Glen Campbell

Despite Campbell's grave condition, the song was recorded in one day! It took only four takes… Recording "I'm Not Gonna Miss You" took place at the beginning 2013 years in Los Angeles (after the artist completed his last tour), featuring The Wrecking Crew, a group of musicians with whom Glen previously collaborated. The song will later be featured on the soundtrack of Keach's documentary, which premiered October 24, 2014 of the year.

After leaving "I'm Not Gonna Miss You" broke into the top 50 of the country chart! At the Grammy Awards in 2015 this heartfelt melody was recognized as the best song in the country style. The track was also nominated for an Oscar! During the ceremony, it was performed Tim McGraw. Before announcing the speech, Gwyneth Paltrow said:

"Faced with the prospect of fading memories, Glen Campbell decided to record his last song to tell his wife and kids how much he loves them before it's too late..."

Glen Campbell is gone August 8, 2017 year: a great artist died at the 81st year of his life ...

Music video

We bring to your attention a music video that appeared on the official YouTube channel of the artist October 8, 2014 of the year:

The clip is a selection of frames and episodes from the life Glen Campbell and his family, as well as moments from the studio in which the artist last recorded ... In 7 years, this touching video has gained 15 million views.

Who sang "Circles on the Water" better: Daria Stavrovich or Kristina Kosheleva

"Circles on the Water": the best performance of the song, biography of the performers, photos Often songs that have long been iconic are performed by novice artists. Then the compositions are given a second breath, and some...

How Will Smith first met Michael Jackson

The story of meeting Will Smith and Michael Jackson If you call the two names Will Smith and Michael Jackson, it's not immediately apparent that there is a connection between these...

"Didn't want to, but became part of the story" - Abbey Road cover man

Paul Cole is the man on the cover of Abbey Road: History and Facts It's been over half a century since the Beatles released their masterpiece "Abbey...
Related Articles

Simon Le Bon - Top 6 Facts About the Duran Duran Vocalist

Simon Le Bon - interesting facts about the vocalist of Duran Duran Few bands have been as influential as Duran Duran in the 1980s. The British kings of the new wave...

Cute song turned out to be gangsta rap from Sweden: a story about Ginseng Strip 2002

Yung Lean - popularity, songs, biography of the musician. What is behind the success of world stars - quality production, talent or something else? Then how do you explain the fact that...

Top 15 greatest pop singers of all time according to Fuzz Music magazine

The greatest and best pop singers in the history of music Music history is rich and varied in terms of its faces. It knows many high-profile names that have stood as...

"Paranoid": a Black Sabbath cult classic written in minutes

Black Sabbath's hit "Paranoid": history and facts It's no secret that some of the most legendary works were born in a matter of minutes. In general they say that brevity is...

Kirkorov was Michael Jackson's "friend": fiction or truth

Friendship between Michael Jackson and Philip Kirkorov Michael Jackson is an American pop king who has made a tremendous contribution to music history. However, many myths have always centered around him,...

Автор:
Категория:

История одной трогательной песни Глена Кэмпбелла: реальная идея «I’m Not Gonna Miss You»

По сути, «I'm Not Gonna Miss You» — это последняя запись Глена Кэмпбелла: это был последний раз, когда артист и музыкант находился в студии, где проводил время со старыми приятелями по записи из Wrecking Crew...

История песни «I’m Not Gonna Miss You» Глена Кэмпбелла: фон, смысл и предпосылки, успех

«I’m Not Gonna Miss You» — трогательная песня, достойно украсившая дискографию покойного Глена Кэмпбелла, американского актёра, певца и гитариста, ранние записи которого размыли границы между кантри-музыкой и традиционной эстрадой… Написанная в соавторстве с Джулианом Реймондом и записанная с группой The Wrecking Crew, эта композиция вошла в саундтрек к документальному фильму «Глен Кэмпбелл: Я буду собой» 2014 года. На закате жизни Кэмпбелл страдал болезнью Альцгеймера, и лента Джеймса Кича уделяет этому особое внимание… Примечательно, на запись «I’m Not Gonna Miss You» и съёмки фильма выпали на последний тур артиста.

По сути, «I’m Not Gonna Miss You» — это последняя запись Глена Кэмпбелла: это был последний раз, когда артист и музыкант находился в студии, где проводил время со старыми приятелями по записи из Wrecking Crew… Идея песни пришла в голову уже упомянутому выше Реймонду, а день, потраченный на её запись, был использован как одна из заключительных сцен фильма. Но — обо всём по порядку.

История создания – фон и предпосылки

Глен Кэмпбелл
Глен Кэмпбелл

Глен Кэмпбелл — талантливый американский актёр, гитарист, певец… Он оказал большое влияние на зарубежную эстраду, однако… в 2011 году артист сообщил, что борется с болезнью Альцгеймера.

К сожалению, недуг оказался сильнее, и уже к 2014 году прогрессировал до такой степени, что Кэмпбелл был вынужден покинуть сцену и постоянно находиться в лечебном учреждении под контролем врачей. И мелодия «I’m Not Gonna Miss You» является последней, которую он когда-либо записал…

Глен Кэмпбелл
Глен Кэмпбелл

Трек вошёл в саундтрек к фильму «Глен Кэмпбелл: Я буду собой» 2014 года, в котором рассказывается о жизни, карьере и заболевании артиста… Сама песня не только отсылает к его борьбе с болезнью Альцгеймера, но и является посланием его жене и детям. Очень тёплым и трогательным посланием… Но как же возникла идея «I’m Not Gonna Miss You»?

Рекламный плакат фильма «Глен Кэмпбелл: Я буду собой»
Рекламный плакат фильма «Глен Кэмпбелл: Я буду собой»

Во время последнего турне Кэмпбелла, Джулиан Реймонд вёл дневник того, что рассказывал ему Глен будучи вдохновлённым… В итоге разговор между ними привёл к возникновению идеи для песни! Слова Кэмпбелла легли в основу «I’m Not Gonna Miss You». Собственно, он внёс свой вклад и в мелодию. При этом Реймонд шёл с ним через весь этот процесс рука об руку. В итоге эта песня уловила даже самые мимолётные мысли Кэмпбелла…

Воспоминания Реймонда

Глен Кэмпбелл (4)
Глен Кэмпбелл (4)

По сути — запись последней мелодии Кэмпбелла была инициирована Джулианом Реймондом. Позже он предложил идею записи песни режиссёру Джеймсу Кичу, который в конце концов решил использовать отснятый в студии материал в качестве финальных сцен документального фильма. Вот что Реймонд рассказал о вдохновении «I’m Not Gonna Miss You»:

«У Кэмпбелла был тяжёлый период: люди постоянно спрашивали его о болезни Альцгеймера и о том, что он о ней думает. Он не особо много об этом говорил, но однажды подошёл ко мне и сказал: «Я не знаю, что всех так беспокоит. В любом случае, я не собираюсь скучать по кому-либо…»»

Проникновенная лирика полна любви…

Глен Кэмпбелл
Глен Кэмпбелл

Что ж, несмотря на холодное название, эта песня включает очень трогательную лирику, адресованную жене и детям Кэмпбелла. Глен обращается к своей супруге, Кимберли Вулен, когда поёт:

«Ты последний человек, которого я буду любить.
Ты последнее лицо, которое я буду помнить.
И самое главное —
Я не буду скучать по тебе…»

Запись и успех

Глен Кэмпбелл
Глен Кэмпбелл

Несмотря на тяжёлое состояние Кэмпбелла, песня была записана за один день! Ушло на это всего четыре дубля… Запись «I’m Not Gonna Miss You» проходила в начале 2013 года в Лос-Анджелесе (после того, как артист завершил свой последний тур), с участием The Wrecking Crew, группы музыкантов, с которой Глен ранее сотрудничал. Позже песня войдёт в саундтрек к документальному фильму Кича, премьера которого состоялась 24 октября 2014 года.

После выхода «I’m Not Gonna Miss You» ворвалась в топ-50 кантри-чарта! На церемонии вручения премии Грэмми в 2015 году эта проникновенная мелодия была признана лучшей песней в стиле кантри. Трек также был номинирован на Оскар! Во время церемонии его исполнил Тим Макгро. Прежде чем объявить выступление, Гвинет Пэлтроу сказала:

«Столкнувшись с перспективой угасания воспоминаний, Глен Кэмпбелл решил записать свою последнюю песню, чтобы сказать жене и детям, как сильно он их любит, пока не стало слишком поздно…»

Глена Кэмпбелла не стало 8 августа 2017 года: великолепный артист скончался на 81-ом году жизни…

Музыкальное видео

Предлагаем вашему вниманию музыкальное видео, появившееся на официальном YouTube-канале артиста 8 октября 2014 года:

Клип представляет собой подборку кадров и эпизодов из жизни Глена Кэмпбелла и его семьи, а также моменты из студии, в которой артист в последний раз записывался… За 7 лет это трогательное видео набрало 15 млн просмотров.

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...
Похожие статьи

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...

Топ величайших женских рок-групп в истории по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Культовые женские рок-группы, которые заслуживают внимания Рок – любимый музыкальный жанр миллионов людей по всему миру! И что самое приятное – в этом направлении каждый...

Аланна Майлз – красотка, подарившая миру хит про «Чёрный бархат»

Вспоминаем Аланну Майлз, исполнительницу хита «Black Velvet» Иногда кажется, что на достижение цели может уйти целая жизнь. Помимо необходимого таланта, требуется самоотверженность, жертвенность и пламенная...

А вы помните Thin Lizzy – лучшие песни легендарной рок-группы

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Thin Lizzy, легендарной классической рок-группы Когда видишь известную рок-н-ролльную группу в очень юном возрасте, становишься её фанатом на всю жизнь. Именно так...

Топ-6 лучших британских артистов за всю историю рока по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Шестёрка культовых британских артистов, перевернувших историю рока Великобритания подарила нам массу талантов, неогранённых алмазов и самородков, простых выходцев из промышленных глубинок, которые доказали всему миру,...

Чего вы ещё не знали о мировой легенде Мирей Матьё – рассказываем историю, полную удивительных эпизодов

История Мирей Матьё в фактах: от ранних лет до мировой славы Одна из легендарнейших французских певиц в истории, Мирей Матьё завоевала свой статус легенды полностью...