Author:
Category:

Iggy Pop's Crazy Antics That Are Legendary

“At some point, Iggy started running around the tables. All the tables were lined with glasses of alcohol, and then he suddenly fell ... All the glass shattered, and Iggy Pop fell right into these fragments. There were a lot of them, so much so that his body was instantly covered with many wounds. We were worried and started suggesting that he stop the show. But he refused. He continued to perform, and we were all left in amazement ... "

Iggy Pop in the most incredible and crazy facts

Iggy Pop - American rock vocalist, one of the pioneers and gurus of alternative rock. He deserves the title godfather of punk rock and grunge, and influential music publications call him living legend.

However, Pop is known not only for his musical prowess and compelling stage presence, but also for his wild antics – and not just offstage. Throughout his career, substance use has been an integral part of his lifestyle. As a result, Iggy and the band "The Stooges" became one of the most infamous figures in history who shocked the conservative public.

He got into a fight with bikers during a 1974 show.

Iggy Pop
Iggy Pop

This sad and at the same time crazy story happened in 1974 year when "The Stooges" performed in Warren, Michigan. For about 45 minutes the band played "Louie Louie" by Richard Berry. At the same time, the original text was replaced with vulgar insults directed towards bikers. This soon infuriated the public. After that, a far from sober Pop jumped off the stage and took one of the bikers by the breasts. The madness has begun...

A truly spectacular 1973 show

Iggy Pop posed for Dior in a women's dress
Iggy Pop posed for Dior in a women's dress

Promoting the release of their third album Raw Power in 1973, "The Stooges" played four nights at the club "Max's Kansas City" in New York. This place was widely known for being frequented Andy Warhol and other prominent figures in the New York art scene. However, one evening, Iggy eclipsed everyone ... with his blood. From the recollections of an eyewitness:

“At some point, Iggy started running around the tables. All the tables were lined with glasses of alcohol, and then he suddenly fell ... All the glass shattered, and Iggy Pop fell right into these fragments. There were a lot of them, so much so that his body was instantly covered with many wounds. We were worried and started suggesting that he stop the show. But he refused. Pop continued to perform, and we were all left in amazement.”

In hospital Iggy went only the next day. The doctor stitched him up, commenting that the wounds were really very deep.

He fed his girlfriend's dogs sedatives

Bebe Buell and Iggy Pop
Bebe Buell and Iggy Pop

Early 1970s American fashion model and singer Bibi Buell was Iggy Pop's girlfriend. The musician often stayed with her overnight, cooked breakfasts and even cleaned the house, which sounds like fantastic! Iggy also took care of Bibi's two dogs, and the girl was sure that she could completely rely on her boyfriend. But one day, Pop brought her to a state of horror.

Bibi Buell
Bibi Buell

Buell went to the shooting and asked Iggy sit with her pets. He gladly agreed. Returning home late at night, the girl was so tired that she stretched out on the bed and fell asleep. But after a few moments, she was awakened by water seeping through the ceiling. She ran upstairs to find Iggy in the overflowing tub with her two dogs! All three showed no signs of life. After bringing Pop back to consciousness, Bibi finally got him to answer the question of what had happened:

"I just gave them some sedatives," Pop muttered.

Bebe Buell and Iggy Pop
Bebe Buell and Iggy Pop

We were talking about serious drugs, so Bibi immediately grabbed the dogs and took them to the emergency room. There, the doctors assured her that the animals just needed to sleep.

He threw a watermelon into the crowd and gave a fan a concussion

Iggy Pop
Iggy Pop

It was a hot day when "The Stooges" preparing for a performance on Lake St. Clair. The band were eating watermelons backstage and when the moment came they hurried to the stage. Iggy hesitated, but eventually joined his colleagues, but not empty-handed: he went up to the stage with a whole watermelon in his hands, which in a moment flew safely into the crowd. The giant berry hit the fan right in the head and caused a concussion.

It is also noteworthy that this was the first concert Scott Thurston with The Stooges.

He "treated" fans with peanut butter

Iggy Pop in his youth
Iggy Pop in his youth

Iggy Popa can rightfully be called a showman, because his manner of interacting with the public is priceless. Yes, during the show "The Stooges" at the 1970 Cincinnati Festival, Pop jumped off the stage into the crowd.

One of the fans handed him a jar of peanut butter, which quickly found a use: first, Iggy threw butter into the crowd, and then smeared it with it, making heart-rending screams.

He went to the toilet right on stage

Iggy Pop
Iggy Pop

Day July 3, 1973 forever entered the history of rock as the most bizarre. That day Iggy was as aggressive as ever. But that's when everyone realized that throwing watermelon and spa treatments using peanut butter is not the craziest thing you can expect from this person. Pop went to the toilet right on stage. And it was not an accident - he specially chose a place for this business behind the amplifiers. Marshall. Dressed only in swimming trunks and knee-high boots, he ran for the combos and immediately got down to business. When he finished, he ran out from behind the amplifiers and began to throw the results of his absence into the crowd.

He had an affair with a schoolgirl

Iggy Pop
Iggy Pop

For the first time Iggy married in 1968 year, aged 21 years old. His chosen one was Wendy Weisberg. However, their union lasted about a month, after which the couple divorced. From the memoirs of Pop himself, he was very happy about this:

“I was free again. I could roam the streets like before!”

Iggy Pop
Iggy Pop

In this period Iggy began to communicate closely with teenagers, trying to understand what they were interested in, in order to apply their knowledge in new tracks. Yes, he met Betsy:

“I have never seen anything like it. She was very pretty. She was the exact opposite of my wife - blond, white as snow. She was thirteen, and she looked at me shrewdly…”

Diana Ankudinova: The Story of a Young but Already Hotly Loved Russian Performer

Singer Diana Ankudinova: full biography, facts, childhood and career, songs, personal life, interviews Diana Ankudinova - still so young, but already hotly loved by millions of singers....

Jazz beauty Diane Kroll and her success story

Diane Kroll - biography and facts: childhood, career, personal life, songs and music videos Diane Kroll is a Canadian jazz singer and pianist, winner of five Grammy Awards...

The story of one supergroup: The Hollywood Vampires, which included "a rock 'n' roll man, a shock-rock king, and a Caribbean pirate."

The Hollywood Vampires, or how the supergroup Hollywood Vampires (Alice Cooper, Johnny Depp and Joe Perry) was formed The Hollywood Vampires are the ultimate supergroup! Founded in 2015...
Related Articles

"The Favorite Voice of Nightwish - Tarja Turunen: Life Story and Facts

Tarja Turunen: full biography, interesting facts, best songs and clips, personal life Journalists and the public have dubbed her the "Finnish nightingale," and if you've listened to her songs,...

The story of the red-haired "rebel" and simply beautiful Belinda Carlyle

The admirable Belinda Carlyle in amazing facts: biography, life story, career, struggles with addiction Belinda Carlyle was born a rebel at heart. As a teenager, she went through a lot -...

Remember Thin Lizzy legend, the charismatic Phil Lynott

Legendary Thin Lizzy vocalist Phil Lynott and his story: biography, facts, personal life, songs He was gone too early, at the age of 36: the reason was...

They are called "Van Halen of the 21st Century" - Meet the rock band Deraps

Deraps: history, songs and videos, interesting facts, similarities with Van Halen Deraps is a band that evokes nostalgia for powerful classic rock. Founded completely by accident,...

The story of Billy Idol, the main punk rocker of Generation X

"Generation X," or the amazing luck of Billy Idol The advent of MTV in the '80s made London punk Billy Idol one of the stars of that era! Inspired by Sex Pistols performances,...

Top Women's Rock Bands in History by Fuzz Music Magazine

Cult female rock bands that deserve attention Rock is a favorite music genre of millions of people around the world! And the best part is - in this direction every...

Alanna Miles, the beauty who gave the world the hit about "Black Velvet.

A look back at Alanna Miles, performer of the hit song "Black Velvet. Sometimes it seems like it can take a lifetime to achieve a goal. In addition to the necessary talent, it takes dedication, sacrifice, and a fiery...

Do you remember Thin Lizzy - the legendary rock band's best songs

Remembering the best songs of Thin Lizzy, the legendary classic rock band When you see a famous rock and roll band at a very young age, you become a lifelong fan. That's right...

Автор:
Категория:

Безумные выходки Игги Попа, о которых слагают легенды

«В какой-то момент Игги начал бегать по столам. Все столы были уставлены бокалами с алкоголем, и вот он внезапно упал... Всё стекло разбилось вдребезги, и Игги Поп упал прямо в эти осколки. Их было очень много, настолько, что его тело мгновенно покрылось множеством ран. Мы были обеспокоены и начали предлагать ему остановить шоу. Но он отказался. Он продолжил выступать, а мы все остались в изумлении...»

Игги Поп в самых невероятных и безумных фактах

Игги Поп — американский рок-вокалист, один из зачинателей и гуру альтернативного рока. Он заслуженно носит титул крёстного отца панк-рока и гранжа, а влиятельные музыкальные издания называют его живой легендой.

Однако Поп известен не только музыкальным мастерством и притягательным сценическим присутствием, но и безумными выходками — причём не только за пределами сцены. На протяжении всей карьеры употребление психоактивных веществ было неотъемлемой частью его образа жизни. В результате Игги и группа «The Stooges» стали одной из самых печально известных фигур в истории, которые вводили консервативную публику в шок.

Он завязал драку с байкерами во время шоу 1974 года

Игги Поп
Игги Поп

Эта печальная и одновременно безумная история случилась в 1974 году, когда «The Stooges» выступали в Уоррене, штат Мичиган. Примерно 45 минут группа играла «Louie Louie» Ричарда Берри. При этом оригинальный текст был заменён на вульгарные оскорбления, направленные в сторону байкеров. Вскоре это привело публику в ярость. После этого далеко не трезвый Поп спрыгнул со сцены и взял одного из байкеров за грудки. Началось безумие…

Поистине зрелищное шоу 1973 года

Игги Поп снялся для Dior в женском платье
Игги Поп снялся для «Dior» в женском платье

Продвигая выпуск своего третьего альбома «Raw Power» в 1973 году, «The Stooges» отыграли четыре вечера в клубе «Max’s Kansas City» в Нью-Йорке. Это место было широко известно тем, что его часто посещали Энди Уорхол и другие видные деятели нью-йоркской арт-сцены. Однако в один из вечеров Игги затмил всех… своей кровью. Из воспоминаний очевидца:

«В какой-то момент Игги начал бегать по столам. Все столы были уставлены бокалами с алкоголем, и вот он внезапно упал… Всё стекло разбилось вдребезги, и Игги Поп упал прямо в эти осколки. Их было очень много, настолько, что его тело мгновенно покрылось множеством ран. Мы были обеспокоены и начали предлагать ему остановить шоу. Но он отказался. Поп продолжил выступать, а мы все остались в изумлении».

В больницу Игги отправился лишь на следующий день. Врач наложил ему швы, прокомментировав, что раны были действительно очень глубокие.

Он накормил собак своей подруги успокоительными

Биби Бьюэлл и Игги Поп
Биби Бьюэлл и Игги Поп

В начале 70-х американская фотомодель и певица Биби Бьюэлл была девушкой Игги Попа. Музыкант часто оставался у неё ночевать, готовил завтраки и даже убирался в доме, что звучит как фантастика! Игги также заботился о двух собаках Биби, и девушка была уверена, что полностью может положиться на бойфренда. Но однажды Поп довёл её до состояния ужаса.

Биби Бьюэлл
Биби Бьюэлл

Бьюэлл отправилась на съёмки и попросила Игги посидеть с её питомцами. Тот с удовольствием согласился. Вернувшись домой поздно ночью, девушка так устала, что растянулась на кровати и заснула. Но уже спустя несколько мгновений её разбудила вода, просачивающаяся через потолок. Она побежала наверх и обнаружила, что Игги лежит в переполненной ванне с двумя её собаками! Все трое не подавали признаков жизни. Приведя Попа в сознание, Биби наконец добилась от него ответа на вопрос, что же случилось:

«Я просто дал им немного успокоительного», — пробормотал Поп.

Биби Бьюэлл и Игги Поп
Биби Бьюэлл и Игги Поп

Речь шла о серьёзных препаратах, поэтому Биби незамедлительно схватила собак и повезла в отделение неотложной помощи. Там врачи заверили её, что животным просто нужно проспаться.

Он кинул арбуз в толпу и нанёс поклоннице сотрясение мозга

Игги Поп
Игги Поп

Стоял жаркий день, когда «The Stooges» готовились к выступлению на озере Сен-Клер. Группа поедала за кулисами арбузы и, когда наступил момент, поспешила выйти на сцену. Игги замешкался, но в конце концов присоединился к коллегам, да не с пустыми руками: он поднялся на сцену с целым арбузом в руках, который через мгновение благополучно полетел в толпу. Гигантская ягода угодила поклоннице прямо в голову и вызвала сотрясение мозга.

Примечательно и то, что это был первый концерт Скотта Тёрстона с «The Stooges».

Он «угостил» фанатов арахисовым маслом

Игги Поп в молодости
Игги Поп в молодости

Игги Попа по праву можно назвать шоуменом, ведь его манера взаимодействия с публикой бесценна. Так, во время выступления «The Stooges» на фестивале в Цинциннати в 1970 году Поп прыгнул со сцены в толпу.

Один из фанатов вручил ему банку с арахисовым маслом, которому быстро нашлось применение: сначала Игги бросался маслом в толпу, а после намазался им, издавая при этом душераздирающие вопли.

Он сходил в туалет прямо на сцене

Игги Поп
Игги Поп

День 3 июля 1973 года навсегда вошёл в историю рока как самый причудливый. В тот день Игги был как никогда агрессивен. Но именно тогда все поняли, что метание арбуза и спа-процедуры с использованием арахисового масла — это ещё не самое безумное, чего можно ожидать от этого человека. Поп сходил в туалет прямо на сцене. И это не было случайностью — он специально выбрал для этого дела местечко за усилителями Marshall. Одетый только в плавки и сапоги по колено, он побежал за комбики и немедля приступил к делу. Когда он закончил, то выбежал из-за усилителей и начал кидать в толпу результаты своего отсутствия.

У него был роман со школьницей

Игги Поп
Игги Поп

Впервые Игги женился в 1968 году, в возрасте 21 года. Его избранницей стала Венди Вайсберг. Однако их союз длился около месяца, после чего пара развелась. Из воспоминаний самого Попа, он был очень счастлив этому:

«Я снова был свободен. Я мог бродить по улицам, как раньше!»

Игги Поп
Игги Поп

В этот период Игги начал плотно общаться с подростками, пытаясь понять, чем они интересовались, чтобы применить свои знания в новых треках. Так, он познакомился с Бэтси:

«Я никогда не видел ничего подобного. Она была очень хорошенькой. Она была полной противоположностью моей жены — белокурой, белой как снег. Ей было тринадцать, и она проницательно посмотрела на меня…»

Как R.E.M. «промурчали» в чартах, или история их дебютного альбома «Murmur»

Дебютный альбом R.E.M. «Murmur» и его история: полный обзор, интересные факты, список треков Несмотря на то, что путь к славе R.E.M. начали в самом расцвете...

«Скрытая облаками» – вспоминаем один из любимых альбомов Pink Floyd Ника Мейсона

История альбома «Obscured by Clouds» группы Pink Floyd: запись, факты, успех и треки Эта пластинка – далеко не самая популярная работа Pink Floyd. Однако они...

Восхитительная Глория Эстефан в удивительных фактах

Глория Эстефан – всё о певице: детство, карьера, песни и клипы, интересные факты Глория Эстефан – одна из величайших певиц в истории. Эта женщина обладает...
Похожие статьи

Диана Анкудинова: история юной, но уже горячо любимой российской исполнительницы

Певица Диана Анкудинова: полная биография, факты, детство и карьера, песни, личная жизнь, интервью Диана Анкудинова – ещё такая юная, но уже горячо любимая миллионами певица....

Джазовая красотка Дайана Кролл и её история успеха

Дайана Кролл – биография и факты: детство, карьера, личная жизнь, песни и клипы Дайана Кролл – канадская джазовая певица и пианистка, обладательница пяти премий «Грэмми»...

История одной супергруппы: Hollywood Vampires, в которую вошли «рок-н-ролльщик, король шок-рока и карибский пират»

Hollywood Vampires, или как образовалась супергруппа «Голливудские вампиры» (Элис Купер, Джонни Депп и Джо Перри) Hollywood Vampires – это самая настоящая супергруппа! Основанная в 2015...

Андрей «Свин» Панов: вспоминаем пионера отечественного панк-рока

Андрей Панов и история его жизни: от ранних лет и первых начинаний до успеха и смерти Андрей Панов – один из самых первых, и вместе...

«Любимый голос Nightwish» – Тарья Турунен: история жизни и факты

Тарья Турунен: полная биография, интересные факты, лучшие песни и клипы, личная жизнь Журналисты и публика окрестили её «финским соловьём», и если вы слушали её песни,...

История рыжеволосой «бунтарки» и просто красавицы Белинды Карлайл

Восхитительная Белинда Карлайл в удивительных фактах: биография, история жизни, карьера, борьба с зависимостями Белинда Карлайл родилась бунтаркой в душе. Подростком она прошла через многое –...

Вспоминаем легенду Thin Lizzy, харизматичного Фила Лайнотта

Легендарный вокалист Thin Lizzy Фил Лайнотт и его история: биография, факты, личная жизнь, песни Его не стало лишком рано, в возрасте 36 лет: причиной стала...

Их называют «Van Halen 21 века» – знакомимся с рок-группой Deraps

Группа Deraps: история, песни и клипы, интересные факты, сходство с Van Halen Deraps – группа, которая вызывает ностальгию по мощному классическому року. Основанная совершенно случайно,...

История Билли Айдола, главного панк-рокера «поколения Х»

«Поколение Х», или удивительное везение Билли Айдола Появление MTV в 80-х сделало лондонского панка Билли Айдола одной из звёзд той эпохи! Вдохновлённый выступлениями Sex Pistols,...