Author:

Category:

"Ah, What a Beauty" - the story of Ima Sumac, performer of "Hymn to the Sun"

"She never went out of character. Even in life she remained an exotic princess..."

In the footsteps of Ima Sumac: an exotic legend from Peru whose career was a Hollywood one

Ima Sumac - one of the most beautiful, exotic and brilliant singers of the 20th century. Not for nothing did her pseudonym translate as "Oh, what a beauty!". And some critics have identified Ima with "Peruvian bird.": Being a native of PeruThe woman had a voice with a unique range of almost five octaves! Sumac sounded magical and looked mysterious - that's why she was loved almost all over the world. By the way: there is a legend that the performer was a direct descendant of Atahualpa - the last emperor of the Incas.

During her career, Ima sold Tens of millions of records around the world and has become "a Hollywood legend."It was in Los Angeles that her exotic Peruvian image was born, which at first they actively tried to "reshape. As biographer Nicholas E. Limansky:

"Hollywood took this pretty girl who wanted to be a folk-song singer, dressed her up and gave her the title of princess."

Imitation Birds

Ima Sumac
Ima Sumac

Ima's childhood was spent on her parents' ranch near the Cajamarca Mountains in northern Peru, where the future icon was born. September 10, 1922. The girl never received a musical education, but learned to sing on her own, and in a very unconventional way: she imitated the birds! In many ways, this explains her unusual exotic style, which critics sometimes describe as "beyond human capabilities.".

Sumac has learned to masterfully manipulate her voice - expertly moving from incredibly low to cosmically high tones! This ability is particularly well demonstrated by the so-called "Hymn to the Sun." ("Virgin Of The Sun God"), which was much beloved in the USSR.

The young singer captivated local gawkers, and in the 1940s she went on to conquer the America.

Unyielding to Hollywood standards

Ima Sumac
Ima Sumac

In 1946, Ima and her husband By Moises Vivanco (with whom she divorced and got back together twice) have settled in New York. At first the couple and a cousin of Ima named Cholita Rivero performed as a trio, but that project was not very successful. At the end of the decade Sumac learned the delights of motherhood, but the woman was not going to abandon the dream of becoming a singer. Already in the early 50's her record is released "Voice of the Xtabay"which sold 100,000 copies and brought the "Peruvian bird" her first fame.

Ima's sound was indeed reminiscent of exotic birdsong. Coupled with the extravagant image and perky character, the young singer attracted attention in an instant. Her strong-willed temperament set Ima apart from a number of other singers of those years: managers literally demanded that Sumac dress according to "Hollywood standards."But she did not care about these standards. The woman built her dazzling image as a Peruvian princess, which she not only popularized in the world and in Los Angeles in particular, but also made a cult one.

"She paced the stage as if she had arrived to reclaim her empire, she demanded the unconditional attention of the audience," critics wrote.

Ima Sumac
Ima Sumac

Gradually Ima won the love of the world public. She performed in the best music halls of the world, and very often the audience watched her with their mouths wide open... Sumac also visited in the USSR: it is known that at the personal direction of Nikita Khrushchev the singer received royalties for her concerts in convertible currency during all six months of her tour in the Soviet Union!

Fading and Return to Popularity

Ima Sumac
Ima Sumac

At the turn of the '60s and '70s the popularity of the singer noticeably fadedIt was not until the late 1980s and early 1990s that it was possible to bring it back. A large role in this was played by movieswhich included Ima's songs. By the way: back in the early '60s Sumac's cosmic voice was heard in a Soviet movie "Planet of Storms."and earlier, in 1954, the singer herself made her film debut! She played Cory-Tiki in the adventure film The Mystery of the Incas.

There were concerts, recordings, including the album "Yma Rocks!" (1998) with previously unreleased rock compositions of the 70s. But the former glory was gone - the peak of the "Peruvian princess" popularity came in the 50s-60s.

Care and Legacy

Ima Sumac
Ima Sumac

The legend passed away in 2008 at the age of 86 in a Los Angeles nursing home. Less than a year before the tragedy, the artist had been diagnosed with cancer. The audience remembered this exotic diva exactly as she burst onto the world stage: beautiful, divine, incredible...

"She never went out of character. Even in life she remained an exotic princess," stressed foreign journalists.

Over the years, as those close to her emphasize, the woman's character became even more impudent. But at heart she was extremely fragile. As her days drew to a close, Ima continued to perform, just the same, In Los AngelesThe city that gave her her name. It was here that her story ended...

10kFollowers

"Hysteria: How Def Leppard drove the world to madness

History of the album "Hysteria" - the cult classic Def Leppard The hit-filled record "Hysteria" is still considered a defining moment in Def Leppard's career and remains just as relevant...

"Born Under a Bad Sign" - a look back at Albert King's timeless blues classic

How Albert King recorded "the eternal product of the blues" - "Born Under a Bad Sign" comes to mind You can adore the blues and Albert King, or you can relate to...

"Enough Tears," or Ozzy Osbourne's "first farewell" album

A timeless classic: "No More Tears" by Ozzy Osbourne For dedicated fans, Ozzy Osbourne's albums are all awesome! But for the wider global audience, who are not...

Related Articles

Mariah Carey: surprising facts about the beloved beauty

Mariah Carey - What You Didn't Know About Your Favorite Singer Mariah Carey is one of the most enchanting singers of our time, who has won the hearts of listeners not...

Amazing Facts about Roger Taylor

What you didn't know about Roger Taylor - surprising facts about the Queen drummer Roger Taylor is a "percussion legend" of Queen, the drummer who went on to become forever...

Best Rock Albums of 1984 by Fuzz Music magazine

Rock classics of the 20th century, encapsulated in the best albums of 1984 Today we decided to dive into a truly magical period, the year 1984, which was the year that...

What you didn't know about John Deacon, the quietest member of the most spectacular band of the 20th century

Interesting facts about the life of John Deacon, the bass legend of Queen John Deacon is the bass legend of Queen, one of the most (if not the most) spectacular and unique bands in history...

The Man Who Was Present at the "Birth" of Rock and Roll - Remembering Scotty Moore

Do you remember Scotty Moore, Elvis Presley's guitarist Before there was Jagger and Richards, Plante and Page, there was Elvis Presley and Scotty Moore. And if.

The magic of Queen on stage

Queen: Remembering the iconic band's epic performances Freddie once said: "Either there's magic or there isn't. That's the secret!". The Queen legend was definitely full of magic!

Top 5 hard rock albums that rewrote music history

These hard rock records rewrote music history - what's it about Let's take a little trip back in time: America, it's the early '70s. The legendarily famous and loud "Summer...

Top songs by Judas Priest, the dinosaurs of heavy metal

Remembering the best Judas Priest songs and their gorgeous music videos Judas Priest burst onto the rock and roll scene in 1974 with their debut album, Rocka...

Best Rock Albums of 1971 by Fuzz Music Magazine

20th century rock classics encapsulated in the best albums of 1971 The early 1970s is a very fascinating time, full of many events! But both intoxicating and tragic...

Автор:

Категория:

«Ах, какая красота» – история Имы Сумак, исполнительницы «Гимна Солнцу»

«Она никогда не выходила из образа. Даже в жизни она оставалась экзотической принцессой...»

По следам Имы Сумак: легенда экзотики из Перу, чья карьера была голливудской

Има Сумак – одна из самых красивых, экзотичных и гениальных певиц 20 века. Не зря её псевдоним переводится как «Ах, какая красота!». А некоторые критики отождествляли Иму с «перуанской птичкой»: будучи уроженкой Перу, женщина имела голос с уникальным диапазоном почти в пять октав! Звучала Сумак волшебно, выглядела загадочно – от этого её и полюбили чуть ли не во всём мире. К слову: существует легенда, якобы исполнительница была прямым потомком Атауальпы – последнего императора инков.

За свою карьеру Има продала десятки миллионов пластинок по всему миру и стала «голливудской легендой»: именно в Лос-Анджелесе и родился её экзотический перуанский образ, который первое время активно пытались «перекроить». Как подчёркивает биограф Николас Э. Лиманский:

«Голливуд взял эту симпатичную девушку, которая хотела быть певицей народных песен, нарядил её и подарил титул принцессы».

Подражательство птицам

Има Сумак
Има Сумак

Детство Имы прошло на родительском ранчо неподалёку от гор Кахамарки, на севере Перу – родилась будущая икона 10 сентября 1922 года. Музыкального образования девочка так и не получила, а училась петь сама, причём весьма нестандартным образом: она подражала птицам! Во многом, это объясняет её необычный экзотический стиль, который критики иногда охарактеризовывают как «выходящий за рамки человеческих возможностей».

Сумак научилась мастерски управлять своим голосом – искусно переходя от невероятно низких до космически высоких тонов! Особенно хорошо демонстрирует эти способности так называемый «Гимн Солнцу» («Virgin Of The Sun God»), который очень полюбили в СССР.

Юная певица очаровывала местных зевак, а в 1940-х отправилась покорять Америку.

Непоколебимость перед голливудскими стандартами

Има Сумак
Има Сумак

В 1946 году Има вместе со своим супругом Мойсесом Виванко (с которым она дважды разводилась и сходилась) обосновались в Нью-Йорке. Первое время пара и двоюродная сестра Имы по имени Чолита Риверо выступали как трио, но этот проект не имел особого успеха. На закате десятилетия Сумак познала прелести материнства, но забрасывать мечту стать певицей женщина не собиралась. Уже в начале 50-х выходит её пластинка «Voice of the Xtabay», которая разлетелась 100-тысячным тиражом и принесла «перуанской птичке» первую славу.

Звучание Имы действительно напоминало пение экзотических птиц. В купе с экстравагантным имиджем и бойким характером молодая певица в миг привлекла к себе внимание. Волевой нрав отличал Иму от ряда других певиц тех лет: менеджеры буквально требовали, чтобы Сумак одевалась по «стандартам Голливуда», но ей было совершенно плевать на эти стандарты. Женщина построила свой ослепительный образ перуанской принцессы, который не только популяризовала в мире и в Лос-Анджелесе в частности, но и сделала культовым.

«Она шагала по сцене так, как будто она прибыла, чтобы вернуть свою империю, она требовала безоговорочного внимания публики», – писали критики.

Има Сумак
Има Сумак

Постепенно Има завоевала любовь мировой публики. Она выступала в лучших музыкальных залах планеты, и очень часто зрители наблюдали за ней с широко раскрытыми ртами… Сумак также побывала в СССР: известно, что по личному указанию Никиты Хрущёва певица получала за свои концерты авторские отчисления в конвертируемой валюте в течение всех шести месяцев своих гастролей по Советскому Союзу!

Угасание и возвращение популярности

Има Сумак
Има Сумак

На рубеже 60-х – 70-х популярность певицы заметно угасла, и вернуть её удалось лишь в конце 80-х – начале 90-х. Большую роль в этом сыграли фильмы, в которых звучали песни Имы. К слову: ещё в начале 60-х космический голос Сумак прозвучал в советском фильме «Планета бурь», а ранее, в 1954 году, певица и сама дебютировала в кино! Она сыграла Кори-Тики в приключенческой ленте «Тайна инков».

Были концерты, записи, включая альбом «Yma Rocks!» (1998) с ранее невыпущенными рок-композициями 70-х. Но былой славы уже не было – пик популярности «перуанской принцессы» пришёлся на 50-е – 60-е годы.

Уход и наследие

Има Сумак
Има Сумак

Легенда скончалась в 2008 году в возрасте 86 лет в лос-анджелесском доме престарелых. Менее чем за год до трагедии у артистки был диагностирован рак. Публика запомнила эту экзотическую диву именно такой, какой она ворвалась на мировую арену: красивой, божественной, невероятной…

«Она никогда не выходила из образа. Даже в жизни она оставалась экзотической принцессой», – подчёркивают зарубежные журналисты.

С годами, как подчёркивают приближённые, характер женщины стал ещё более дерзким. Но в душе она была крайне хрупкой. На закате дней Има продолжала выступать – всё так же, в Лос-Анджелесе, городе, который подарил ей имя. Здесь же и завершилась её история…

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...