Author:

Category:

Little known details behind the scenes of Pink Floyd's 'The Wall'

“I’m not a drunkard, but I needed a drink before entering the site in the morning ... I just knew what was going to happen, and I knew that I had to mentally, let’s say, refresh myself in some way ...”

The cult film "The Wall" by Pink Floyd and little-known details about it

"The Wall." groups Pink Floyd considered by many to be one of the best albums ever released! The album was also made into a film, described by critics as a surreal incubus, drawing inspiration from both the record itself and the band's live experience... But few people know that the details that were left behind the scenes of the film "The Wall" were rather strange and places insane… Based on the classic album Pink Floyd 1979 the year that followed such hits as "Dark Side of the Moon" and "Animals", this film was inspired by the band's elaborate live performances and wild visions Roger Waters, vocalist and bassist Floyd. By the way: the movie was made Alan Parker and includes animated episodes created by Gerald Scarfe. But this is not the most interesting thing to tell about the iconic "Wall"...

Alan Parker says he "should never have taken on The Wall"

Images from the short film for the song "Another Brick in the Wall"
Images from the short film for the song "Another Brick in the Wall"

By the time he was invited to the team, the British director Alan Parker already had an impressive reputation in Hollywood! In fact, the guitarist of Pink Floyd David Gilmour once called his movie "Midnight Express" "The Dark Side of the Moon", which Parker found "very flattering..."

However, Parker did not want to take the reins of power over "The Wall." and later stated that he "should never have taken on this film ..." And although he later said that he was proud of the result, he also added:

“Looking back at the process, making the film was too tedious a task for me to get any pleasure from…”

Alan Parker
Alan Parker

Creative clashes between him, Roger Waters and animator Gerald Scarfe were a major source of Parker's "displeasure". He briefly described their union as follows:

“Three megalomaniacs creating in one room… It’s amazing that we have achieved something!”

But the most surprising, perhaps, is that initially "Wall" thought of as a completely different movie! Before Parker agreed to direct the project, he was attached to it as a producer, while directorial duties were entrusted to the cinematographer. Michael Serezina and already mentioned Gerald Scarfe. The film was supposed to include live footage of the band performing The Wall, but attempts to film five separate shows in Earl's Court in London did not give the desired results ...

"Neither Michael nor Gerald knew exactly what they were supposed to do," Parker later remarked.

Serezin eventually left the project, after which the film's concept was revised. As a result, they decided to refuse concert recordings, and Bob Geldof - vocalist The Boomtown Rats — replaced Roger Waters as Pink. They even re-recorded the original songs, turning "The Wall." into an abstract conceptual play...

Why the role of Pink was given to Geldof

The organizer of the festival is Bob Geldof. Photo: Steve Rapport
The organizer of the festival is Bob Geldof. Photo: Steve Rapport

Initially, the role of Pink - the main character, who from childhood protects himself from society, from the influence of the people around him, their morals and prejudices - was to be played by himself Roger Waters, however ... after a screen test, he was deemed unsuitable for the main role. As a music journalist noted Nick Kent:

"He (Waters) is incapable of projecting anything but a banal tantrum on stage, punching himself in the chest..."

Syd Barrett and Roger Waters
Syd Barrett and Roger Waters

Then for the role Pink was invited Bob Geldof. According to Parker, he was harder to convince Waters to let Geldof re-record his songs than to force him to give him the title role! Actually ... on the set Parker and Waters often clashed over creative differences. Parker described Waters' approach as "autocratic control of the whole process". Also, according to Alan Parker, Waters was "the only person in the whole world who really knew what the movie was about," but ... he was wrong. As it turned out, Waters himself does not quite understand the concept of his creation to this day:

“Gradually, the film becomes so strange ... I don’t know how to call it,” Waters admitted in an interview.

Bob Geldof decides to "pour fuel on the fire"

Bob Geldof in The Wall
Bob Geldof in The Wall

Remarkable, but at first Bob Geldof refused to participate in the project, saying that he did not like the music Pink Floyd! In the end, Parker managed to persuade him: the director was simply amazed by the screen test, in which Geldof performed a scene from "Midnight Express".

However, the difficulties that arose at the very beginning did not bode well for the future ... Already during the filming "The Wall" Geldof faced unusual obstacles: as it turned out, he could not swim and was afraid of blood. During the scene "Thin Ice" Pink swims and thrashes about in the hotel pool. Since Geldof could not swim, he was placed on a transparent plastic body mold similar to those used for the flight scenes in Superman 1978 of the year!

Bob Geldof
Bob Geldof

Geldof also had to face his fear of blood while filming the scene in which Pink shaves off all of his body hair - he had a $1 million insurance policy in case his eyebrows didn't grow back.

Bob Geldof shaves off his eyebrows...
Bob Geldof shaves off his eyebrows...

Worse than that Geldof accidentally cut himself while throwing a TV out of a window, and post-production kept the scene in the film.

There were real skinheads on the set

Still from the movie The Wall by Pink Floyd
Still from the movie The Wall by Pink Floyd

Few people know about this, but the film crew hired for the film 380 real skinheads! They specially hired members Tilbury Skins, a notorious rowdy gang based in a port city Tilbury on the Thames. One participant told the BBC in 1980 year:

“We did what we wanted and didn’t worry about anyone!”

Managing hundreds of skinheads on the set was, to put it mildly, not easy ... Dressed in a special livery, they went into pubs to wreak havoc there and disturb the locals ... Later Alan Parker described his difficult mission:

“I had to keep them from getting bored, but at the same time not to let them hit everyone in the head…”

Parker thought it would be difficult to capture the feel of a stage show.

The Wall Concert by Pink Floyd
The Wall Concert by Pink Floyd

Before filming "Walls" by Alan Parker and Michael Serezin flew to Germany to see Floyd live… The production used animation Gerald Scarfe and a huge, literal wall built on stage! Calling it "rock theater on a gigantic scale," Parker felt that matching—not to mention exceeding—a live show on tape would be a challenge.

Parker said that the group "created a theatrical sensation that would be difficult to improve within the confines of the conventional movie screen." Initially, the production team thought that the best way to simulate the spectacle of a live performance was to film actual concert footage. Struggling to adequately capture the tone of the tour, they turned the film into a lengthy, surreal music video that tells the story of "the descent Pink from the level of a rock icon to catatonic alienation and transformation into a megalomaniac dictator…”

Gerald Scarfe kept whiskey in the car to calm his nerves

Gerald Scarfe
Gerald Scarfe

Animator Gerald Scarfe provided the album cover and created a cool animation that played during live performances Pink Floyd… He was also asked to display his artistic talents in the film, resulting in Parker, Waters and Scarfe creatively clashed, and the situation escalated so much that Scarfe kept whiskey in his car to calm his nerves before filming:

“I’m not a drunkard, but I needed a drink before entering the site in the morning ... I just knew what was going to happen, and I knew that I had to mentally, let’s say, refresh myself in some way ...”

9kFollowers

RY X - "Blood Moon" (2022): interesting facts about the album

Blood Moon" album (2022) by RY X Ry Cuming, better known under the pseudonym RY X has shared with listeners his new album, which is titled "Blood...

Magic that touches the soul: Fuzz Music magazine's Top Exciting Guitar Solos

The most heartfelt guitar solos of all time Often we see lists of "top guitar solos," and they no longer surprise anyone, to be frank. The best...

"Only Russia": Olga Kormukhina about life, love, and Alla Pugacheva

Olga Kormukhina: what the "native Tina Turner" thinks about - amazing facts and deep thoughts of the singer Olga Kormukhina is charismatic, wise, talented. She is our pride:.

Related Articles

Bright and extraordinary representatives of the Moscow rock lab - Part Two

Moscow Rock Lab - we continue to remember the most interesting representatives Today we continue to talk about the brightest, most extraordinary and in their own way unique bands that made the Moscow Rock Lab famous! These...

The brightest and most unorthodox representatives of the Moscow rock lab

The Moscow Rock Lab - Let's Remember the Most Interesting Representatives Often "scouring" the Internet, you come across the already legendary phrase: "Leningrad Rock Club". It consisted of many iconic national...

James Vincent McMorrow - "The Less I Knew" (2022): Everything about the album

The Less I Knew" (2022) album by James Vincent McMorrow James Vincent McMorrow has shared with listeners his new album, called "The Less I Knew"...

Interesting facts about R.E.M. legends

R.E.M. - what you didn't know about the legendary band The band R.E.M. has had a great influence - it is rightly considered one of the most important in...

"Vice" is already here - how the participants' fate turned out

Beware of the Vice: a look back at one of the most flamboyant Russian bands of the 90s. This female duet went down in history as the most flamboyant in the domestic scene of the 90's! "Police ...

"Welcome to Picnic" - the story of a great band

History of the band "Picnik" - the beginning of the way, creativity, phenomenon "Picnic" is one of the most unusual bands. Many listeners are surprised when they learn that its history began in...

Why We Love Jeff Beck, or Briefly Why He's a Genius

Why Jeff Beck is a legend of exciting guitar playing When Jeff Beck picks up his guitar and starts playing, we can hardly hear...

These albums almost "destroyed" their creators, but became legendary as a result

Legendary albums that almost "ruined" their creators It's unlikely that when listening to a favorite album, any of us think about how it was created. We just...

The strongest vocalists in Russian rock according to Fuzz Music magazine

We tell you about the strongest and most inimitable vocalists in Russian rock How important a role does the vocalist play in a rock band? Well, as it seems to us - almost absolute! Maybe...

Автор:

Категория:

Малоизвестные детали, которые остались за кулисами фильма «The Wall» группы Pink Floyd

«Я не пьяница, но мне нужно было выпить перед тем, как войти утром на площадку... Просто я знал, что должно было произойти, и я знал, что должен морально, так скажем, подкрепиться каким-то образом...»

Культовый фильм «The Wall» группы Pink Floyd и малоизвестные подробности о нём

«The Wall» группы Pink Floyd многие считают одним из лучших альбомов, когда-либо выпущенных! По альбому также был снят фильм, охарактеризованный критиками как сюрреалистический инкуб, черпающий вдохновение как из самой пластинки, так и из концертного опыта группы… Но мало кто знает, что детали, которые остались за кулисами фильма «The Wall», были довольно странными и местами безумными… Основанный на классическом альбоме Pink Floyd 1979 года, который последовал за такими хитами, как «Dark Side of the Moon» и «Animals», этот фильм был вдохновлён тщательно продуманными живыми выступлениями группы и безумными видениями Роджера Уотерса, вокалиста и басиста Floyd. К слову: фильм был снят Аланом Паркером и включает в себя анимационные эпизоды, созданные Джеральдом Скарфом. Но это не самое интересное, что можно рассказать о культовой «Стене»…

По словам Алана Паркера, ему «никогда не следовало браться за The Wall»

Кадры из короткометражного фильма к песне «Another Brick in the Wall»
Кадры из короткометражного фильма к песне «Another Brick in the Wall»

К тому времени, когда его пригласили в команду, британский режиссёр Алан Паркер уже имел впечатляющую репутацию в Голливуде! Фактически, гитарист Pink Floyd Дэвид Гилмор однажды назвал его фильм «Полуночный экспресс» «Тёмной стороной луны», что Паркер нашёл «очень лестным…»

Однако Паркер не хотел брать бразды правления над «The Wall» и позже заявил, что ему «никогда не следовало браться за этот фильм…» И хотя впоследствии он говорил, что гордится результатом, он также добавлял:

«Оглядываясь на процесс — создание фильма было для меня слишком утомительным занятием, чтобы получить какое-либо удовольствие…»

Алан Паркер
Алан Паркер

Творческие столкновения между ним, Роджером Уотерсом и аниматором Джеральдом Скарфом были основным источником «неудовольствия» Паркера. Он кратко описал их союз следующим образом:

«Три человека, страдающих манией величия, творят в одной комнате… Удивительно, что мы чего-то достигли!»

Но самое удивительное, пожалуй, это то, что изначально «Стена» задумывалась как совершенно другой фильм! До того как Паркер согласился руководить проектом, он был прикреплён к нему в качестве продюсера, в то время как режиссёрские обязанности были возложены на оператора Майкла Серезина и уже упомянутого Джеральда Скарфа. Фильм должен был включать концертные кадры группы, исполняющей The Wall, но попытки снять пять отдельных шоу в Earl’s Court в Лондоне не дали нужных результатов…

«Ни Майкл, ни Джеральд не осознавали, что именно они должны делать», — заметил позже Паркер.

В конце концов Серезин покинул проект, после чего концепция фильма была пересмотрена. В итоге от концертных записей решили отказаться, а Боб Гелдоф — вокалист The Boomtown Rats — заменил Роджера Уотерса в роли Пинка. Они даже перезаписали оригинальные песни, превратив «The Wall» в абстрактную концептуальную пьесу…

Почему роль Пинка была отдана Гелдофу

Организатор фестиваля – Боб Гелдоф. Фото: Стив Раппорт
Организатор фестиваля – Боб Гелдоф. Фото: Стив Раппорт

Изначально роль Пинка — главного персонажа, который с детства ограждает себя от общества, от влияния окружающих его людей, их нравов и предрассудков — должен был сыграть сам Роджер Уотерс, однако… после кинопробы он был признан неподходящим для главной роли. Как заметил музыкальный журналист Ник Кент:

«Он (Уотерс) не способен проецировать ничего, кроме банальной истерики на сцене, избивая себя кулаками в грудь…»

Сид Барретт и Роджер Уотерс
Сид Барретт и Роджер Уотерс

Тогда на роль Пинка был приглашён Боб Гелдоф. По словам Паркера, ему было труднее убедить Уотерса позволить Гелдофу перезаписать его песни, чем заставить его передать ему главную роль! Собственно… на съёмочной площадке Паркер и Уотерс часто сталкивались из-за творческих разногласий. Паркер охарактеризовал подход Уотерса как «автократический контроль над всем процессом». Также, по словам Алана Паркера Уотерс был «единственным человеком во всём мире, который действительно знал, о чём идёт речь в фильме», но… он ошибался. Как выяснилось, сам Уотерс не совсем понимает концепцию своего творения по сей день:

«Постепенно фильм становится таким странным… Я не знаю, как бы это назвать», — признался Уотерс в одном из интервью.

Боб Гелдоф решает «подлить масла в огонь»

Боб Гелдоф в фильме The Wall
Боб Гелдоф в фильме The Wall

Примечательно, но поначалу Боб Гелдоф отказался от участия в проекте, заявив, что ему не нравится музыка Pink Floyd! В конце концов Паркеру удалось его уговорить: режиссёр был просто поражён кинопробой, в которой Гелдоф исполнил сцену из «Полуночного экспресса».

Однако трудности, возникшие в самом начале, не сулили ничего хорошего в дальнейшем… Уже во время съёмок «The Wall» Гелдоф столкнулся с необычными препятствиями: как выяснилось, он не умел плавать и боялся крови. Во время сцены «Тонкий лёд» Пинк плавает и мечется в бассейне отеля. Поскольку Гелдоф не умел плавать, его поместили на прозрачную пластиковую форму для тела, подобную тем, которые использовались для сцен полёта в Супермене 1978 года!

Боб Гелдоф
Боб Гелдоф

Гелдофу также пришлось столкнуться со своим страхом крови во время съёмок сцены, в которой Пинк сбривает все волосы на теле — у него был страховой полис на 1 миллион долларов на случай, если его брови не отрастут снова.

Боб Гелдоф сбривает брови...
Боб Гелдоф сбривает брови…

Хуже того, Гелдоф случайно порезался, выбросив телевизор из окна, и постпродакшн сохранил эту сцену в фильме.

На съёмочной площадке были настоящие скинхеды

Кадр из фильма The Wall группы Pink Floyd
Кадр из фильма The Wall группы Pink Floyd

Об этом мало кто знает, но съёмочная группа наняла для фильма 380 реальных скинхедов! Они специально наняли членов «Tilbury Skins», известной шумной банды, базирующейся в портовом городе Тилбери на Темзе. Один из участников сказал BBC в 1980 году:

«Мы делали то, что хотели, и ни о ком не беспокоились!»

Управлять сотнями скинхедов на съёмочной площадке было, мягко говоря, непросто… Одетые в специальную ливрею, они заходили в пабы, чтобы навести там хаос и побеспокоить местных жителей… Позже Алан Паркер описал свою нелёгкую миссию:

«Я должен был не дать им скучать, но в то же время не дать им ударить всех по голове…»

Паркер думал, что будет сложно запечатлеть ощущение сценического шоу

Концерт The Wall группы Pink Floyd
Концерт The Wall группы Pink Floyd

Перед съёмками «Стены» Алан Паркер и Майкл Серезин прилетели в Германию, чтобы посмотреть живое выступление Floyd… В постановке использовалась анимация Джеральда Скарфа и огромная, буквальная стена, построенная на сцене! Назвав это «рок-театром гигантских масштабов», Паркер считал, что сопоставление — не говоря уже о превышении — живого шоу на плёнке будет сложной задачей.

Паркер сказал, что группа «создала театральную сенсацию, которую было бы трудно улучшить в рамках обычного киноэкрана». Первоначально производственная группа думала, что лучший способ имитировать зрелище живого выступления — это снять реальные концертные кадры. Изо всех сил пытаясь адекватно передать тон тура, они превратили фильм в длинное сюрреалистическое музыкальное видео, рассказывающее историю о «спуске Пинка с уровня рок-иконы в кататоническое отчуждение и превращение в диктатора с манией величия…»

Джеральд Скарф держал виски в машине, чтобы успокоить нервы

Джеральд Скарф
Джеральд Скарф

Аниматор Джеральд Скарф предоставил обложку альбома и создал шикарную анимацию, которая воспроизводилась во время живых выступлений Pink Floyd… Его также попросили проявить свои художественные таланты в фильме, в результате чего Паркер, Уотерс и Скарф творчески столкнулись, и ситуация накалилась настолько, что Скарф держал виски в своей машине, чтобы успокаивать нервы перед съёмками:

«Я не пьяница, но мне нужно было выпить перед тем, как войти утром на площадку… Просто я знал, что должно было произойти, и я знал, что должен морально, так скажем, подкрепиться каким-то образом…»

10kFollowers

«Рождённый под дурным знаком» – вспоминаем вечную блюзовую классику Альберта Кинга

Как Альберт Кинг записал «вечный продукт блюза» – вспоминаем «Born Under a Bad Sign» Вы можете обожать блюз и Альберта Кинга, а можете относиться к...

«Хватит слёз», или «первый прощальный» альбом Оззи Осборна

Вспоминаем вечную классику: «No More Tears» Оззи Осборна Для преданных поклонников у Оззи Осборна все альбомы шикарны! Но для более широкой мировой публики, которая не...

Мэрайя Кэри: удивительные факты о любимой красотке

Мэрайя Кэри – чего вы ещё не знали о любимой певице Мэрайя Кэри – одна из самых обворожительных певиц современности, которая покорила сердца слушателей не...

Похожие статьи

Удивительные факты о Роджере Тейлоре

Чего вы ещё не знали о Роджере Тейлоре – рассказываем удивительные факты о барабанщике Queen Роджер Тейлор – «ударная легенда» Queen, барабанщик, который навсегда вошёл...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1984 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1984 года Сегодня мы решили погрузиться в поистине волшебный период, в 1984 год, который был годом, когда...

Чего вы ещё не знали о Джоне Диконе – самом тихом участнике самой фееричной группы 20 века

Интересные факты из жизни Джона Дикона, бас-легенды Queen Джон Дикон – бас-легенда Queen, одной из самых (если не самой) фееричных и уникальных групп в истории...

Человек, который присутствовал при «рождении» рок-н-ролла – вспоминаем Скотти Мура

А вы помните Скотти Мура, гитариста Элвиса Пресли Прежде чем появились Джаггер и Ричардс, Плант и Пейдж, были Элвис Пресли и Скотти Мур. И если...

Магия Queen на сцене

Queen: вспоминаем грандиозные выступления культовой группы Однажды Фредди сказал: «Либо есть магия, либо её нет. Вот и весь секрет!». Легенда Queen определённо была полна волшебства!...

Топ-5 хард-рок альбомов, которые переписали историю музыки

Эти хард-роковые пластинки переписали историю музыки – о чём речь Совершим маленькое путешествие в прошлое: Америка, на дворе начало 70-х. Легендарно известное и громкое «Лето...

Топ лучших песен Judas Priest – «динозавров хеви-метала»

Вспоминаем лучшие песни Judas Priest и шикарные клипы к ним Группа Judas Priest ворвалась на рок-н-ролльную сцену в 1974 году со своим дебютным альбомом «Rocka...

Лучшие рок-альбомы 1971 года по версии журнала «Fuzz Music»

Классика рока 20 века, заключенная в лучших альбомах 1971 года Начало 1970-х – весьма увлекательная пора, насыщенная множеством событий! Но как упоительного, так и трагического...

«Я – лучший басист в мире»: вспоминаем Джако Пасториуса, одного из легендарнейших бас-гитаристов в истории

Джако Пасториус – история восхождения, «покорение мира басом» и трагический финал Джако Пасториус – яркий, гениальный и весьма наглый басист, который стал легендой. Его имя...